DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . All the claims have been examined on the basis of the merit of the claims.
Priority
The present application is a continuation of 18/607296 filed 03/15/2024 now patent 12411542 which claims priority from provisional applications: 63/453045 filed 03/17/2023; 63/453333 filed 03/20/2023; 63454937 filed 03/27/2023 and 63/496677 filed 03/15/2024. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2025 is considered and attached.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5 which depend on claim 1 do not “further specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed” as all the of the claimed limitations of claims 2-5 are found in claim 1. The dependent claim 6 depends on claim 5 and is also objected based on its dependency. Claims 12-15 which depend on claim 11 do not “further specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed” as all the of the claimed limitations of claims 12-15 are found in claim 11. The dependent claim 16 depends on claim 15 and is also objected based on its dependency.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 10-16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12411542 as outlined in the table below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated by the patent claims.
Present application
U.S. Patent No. 12411542
Claim 1
Claim 23
Claim 2
Claim 1
Claim 3
Claim 2
Claim 4
Claim 3
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 10
Claim 1
Claim 11
Claim 24
Claim 12
Claim 1
Claim 13
Claim2
Claim 14
Claim 3
Claim 15
Claim 6
Claim 16
Claim 7
Claim 20
Claim 24
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-13, 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by CHI et al. (US-20180136465-A1, hereinafter as CHI).
In regard to claims 1, 11, CHI discloses a system, One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions (para 0105, various embodiments described herein may be implemented in a computer-readable medium, a machine-readable medium, or similar medium using, for example, software, hardware, or any combination thereof), comprising: one or more image sensors; one or more microphones; an output device; at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a set of operations (fig.1, controller includes a display unit 151, para 0048, the input unit 120 includes a camera 121 for obtaining images or video, a microphone 122) comprising: generating, using the one or more image sensors, image data regarding an environment of a user; determining, based on the image data, an item of interest in the environment of the user (para 0030, figs. 3a-3e, in the mobile terminal and a controlling method thereof according to the present disclosure, an image of an object or product in which a user was interested in an actual environment is marked through a VR screen); receiving, using the one or more microphones, a user input from the user, wherein the user input comprises a command with respect to the item of interest, and wherein the command comprises a request for information regarding the item of interest (para 0180, fig. 6, if a third unput (e.g. a predetermined voice command..) for selecting a corresponding object is received in the state in which the image object 611 is marked as described above, the controller 180 may select corresponding object and); performing, using one or more machine learning models, the command with respect to the item of interest, wherein performing the command comprises generating output data using the one or more machine learning models, and wherein the output data (outputs an AR image 612 corresponding to the selected object through the display unit) comprises at least one of: an identity of the item of interest (only this limitation is read. Para 0180, a direction (e.g., a ‘speech bubble’) in which the selected object is located and a product name (e.g., ‘product 1’) of the selected object may be marked on the AR image 612), at least one of a make or a model of the item of interest, at least one of a size or a fit of the item of interest, at least one of a color or a style of the item of interest, an indication of at least one article of clothing to complement the item of interest; a nutritional value of the item of interest, one or more ingredients of the item of interest, one or more allergens of the item of interest, one or more serving sizes of the item of interest, at least one of a place of origin or a place of production of the item of interest, a recipe having the item of interest as an ingredient, an indication of at least one food item to complement the item of interest, or an indication of one or more retailers offering the item of interest for purchase; and presenting, using the output device, at least a portion of the output data to the user ((outputs an AR image 612 corresponding to the selected object through the display unit) These limitations appearing in an “or” or alternative or “at least one of” clause is not read).
In regard to claim 2, CHI discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the output data comprises at least one of: the identity of the item of interest (only this limitation is read. Para 0180, a direction (e.g., a ‘speech bubble’) in which the selected object is located and a product name (e.g., ‘product 1’) of the selected object may be marked on the AR image 612), or at least one of the make or the model of the item of interest.
In regard to claim 3, CHI discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the output data comprises at least one of: at least one of the size or the fit of the item of interest, at least one of the color (only this limitation is read. Fig. 10b, color, size or price, Para [0181] the controller 180 may store, in the memory 170, information related to the selected object, e.g., at least one of a position at which the selected object is located, a user's visiting time, and corresponding product information (e.g., quantity information, color information, information related to purchase, etc.).) or the style of the item of interest, the indication of at least one article of clothing to complement the item of interest.
In regard to claim 5, CHI discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the output data comprises the indication of a retailer offering the item of interest for purchase (fig. 7B, store 1 or store 2 offering the item).
In regard to claim 6, CHI discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the output data further comprises at least one of: a distance of the retailer from the user, a purchase price associated with the item of interest at that retailer (fig. 9, purchase price 913), an availability of the item of interest at the retailer, or a shipping item associated with the item of interest by the retailer.
In regard to claim 7, CHI discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system comprises a smart phone (mobile terminal 100 can receive call and answer the call, para 0064 is therefore a smart phone by definition as equipped with communication protocols as described in para 0059-0063).
In regard to claim 10, CHI discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system comprises a wearable device (para 0064, wearable device).
In regard to claim 12, CHI discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the output data comprises at least one of: the identity of the item of interest (only this limitation is read. Para 0180, a direction (e.g., a ‘speech bubble’) in which the selected object is located and a product name (e.g., ‘product 1’) of the selected object may be marked on the AR image 612), or at least one of the make or the model of the item of interest.
In regard to claim 13, CHI discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the output data comprises at least one of: at least one of the size (fig. 10b, size, only this limitation is read) or the fit of the item of interest, at least one of the color or the style of the item of interest, the indication of at least one article of clothing to complement the item of interest.
In regard to claim 15, CHI discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the output data comprises the indication of a retailer offering the item of interest for purchase (fig. 7b, store 1 or store 2 offering the item for sale).
In regard to claim 16, CHI discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the output data further comprises at least one of: a distance of the retailer from the user, a purchase price associated with the item of interest at that retailer (only this limitation is read, fig.9, price), an availability of the item of interest at the retailer, or a shipping item associated with the item of interest by the retailer.
In regard to claim 17, CHI discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the electronic device comprises a smart phone (mobile terminal 100 can receive call and answer the call, para 0064 is therefore a smart phone by definition as equipped with communication protocols as described in para 0059-0063).
In regard to claim 20, CHI discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the electronic device comprises a wearable device (para 0064, wearable device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8-9, 14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHI in view of Connor et al. (US-20220415476-A1, hereinafter as Connor).
In regard to claims 4, 14, CHI discloses the system of claim 1, CHI discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, CHI does not disclose wherein the output data comprises at least one of: the nutritional value of the item of interest, the one or more ingredients of the item of interest, the one or more allergens of the item of interest, the one or more serving sizes of the item of interest, at least one of the place of origin or the place of production of the item of interest, the recipe having the item of interest as an ingredient, or the indication of at least one food item to complement the item of interest.
Connor discloses wherein the output data comprises at least one of: the nutritional value of the item of interest (only this limitation is read, para 0389-0390, the nutritional intake information can be shared by the system), the one or more ingredients of the item of interest, the one or more allergens of the item of interest, the one or more serving sizes of the item of interest, at least one of the place of origin or the place of production of the item of interest, the recipe having the item of interest as an ingredient, or the indication of at least one food item to complement the item of interest.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to use Connor’s teachings to provide nutritional information of a consumed food in CHI’s invention to include restaurant or food retailers in the VR system.
In regard to claims 8, 18, CHI discloses the system of claim 1, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, CHI does not disclose wherein the system comprises a tablet computer.
Connor discloses wherein the system comprises a tablet computer (para 0976, includes electronic tablet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to use Connor’s teachings to configure and provide these VR features in a tablet computer in CHI’s invention.
In regard to claims 9, 19, CHI discloses the system of claim 1, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, CHI does not disclose wherein the system comprises a laptop computer.
Connor discloses wherein the system comprises a laptop computer (para 0976, laptop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to use Connor’s teachings to configure and provide these VR features in a laptop computer in CHI’s invention.
Conclusion
/DEEPROSE SUBEDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627