DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration filed on 05/02/2025 is hereby acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 05/02/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the abbreviation AID and TID should be fully spelt out for first time occurrence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the number of spatial streams" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the number of spatial streams" in line 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "a common offset" in line 2. It is unclear if this “common offset” is the same or different from “a common offset” recited in claim 7 line 3.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a common offset" in line 2. It is unclear if this “common offset” is the same or different from “a common offset” recited in claim 17 line 2.
Claims 2-7, 9, 10 and 12-17, 19, 20 are rejected for at least its dependency on claim 1 and 11, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by VERMANI et al. (US 20250212062 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, VERMANI et al. discloses;
An enhanced link adaptation (eELA) method (Fig. 16, Abstract: “provides methods… for fast link adaptation (FLA)”) comprising:
receiving (Fig. 5, 16: Step 1605), by a responding device (Para. [0064], [0200]: wireless stations (STAs) 104/504) from a requesting device (Para. [0064], [0200]: wireless access point (AP) 102/502), a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) comprising an eELA request message (Fig. 5, 16, Para. [0121], [0201]: “AP 502 may transmit a first PPDU (such as the PPDU 510) including an FLA request message… The FLA[eELA] request message may include a request for one or more parameter values for a first quantity of spatial streams corresponding to the PPDU 510”; “the STA may receive a first PPDU including a FLA[eELA] request message”);
determining, by the responding device, an eELA feedback message (Fig. 5, 16, Para. [0119], [0124]: “the STA 504 may transmit a control response including the FLA feedback [eELA feedback message]. In some examples, the FLA feedback (such as one or more FLA elements) may be included in an MBA (such as an eMBA 512). In some examples, the FLA feedback may be included in a clear to send (CTS) message, an enhanced CTS (eCTS), or another message, as described in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 8-12”; “The STA 504 may transmit, in accordance with the FLA request message, an MBA message (such as one or more eMBAs 512). A first FLA elements in the MBA message may include one or more parameter values corresponding to the first quantity of spatial streams for the first PPDU. A second FLA element (or multiple additional FLA elements) may correspond to a second quantity of spatial streams (such as more spatial streams than the first quantity of spatial streams used to transmit the PPDU 510). The one or more FLA elements may be included in one or more fields (such as control feedback in a block ack (BA) information field) as described in greater detail with reference to FIG. 7. Each FLA element may include one or more parameter values. For example, each FLA element may include an MCS (such as a recommended MCS for the reported quantity of spatial streams), an indication of Nss (such as a quantity of spatial streams). The Nss indicator may be used to carry the number of streams in the measurement packet (such as, the first FLA element may include an Nss equal to the first quantity of streams used for the PPDU 510).” That is, STA 504 determines a FLA feedback message including varies information relating to the received PPDUs) comprising unequal quadrature amplitude modulation (UEQM) information across a plurality of spatial streams (Para. [0131], [0132]: “where unequal modulation (UEQM) is enabled…the FLA feedback information may include an indication of the MCS of the first stream and which UEQM pattern to use…”; “the FLA feedback information may include an MCS of the best spatial stream and one or more bits per stream indicating a modulation gap to the strongest stream for each stream (in the downward direction)”. That is, the FLA feedback information include varies UEQM information) based on at least the number of spatial streams derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU (Para. [0121], [0122], [0126]: “The STA 504 may perform measurements (such as using one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510) to determine a proposed (such as, a best) MCS for the first quantity of spatial streams”; “for a given configuration (such as, a given Nss [number of spatial streams], anchor MCS, QAM pattern, etc.), the receiver [STA 504] may calculate an effective SINR per stream” where (Para. [0121]) the “given configuration” is indicated or derived from “PPDU 510) That is, the FLA feedback information includes UEQM information of first quantity of spatial streams indicated or derived from measuring “one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510”); and
transmitting, from the responding device to the requesting device, the eELA feedback message (Fig. 5, 16, Para. [0124]: “The STA 504 may transmit, in accordance with the FLA request message, an MBA message (such as one or more eMBAs 512)” to the AP 502);
wherein the UEQM information indicates an effective Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) per spatial stream or a derivative of the effective SNR (Para. [0125], [0126], [0131], [0132]: “The FLA element may include an SNR margin or signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) margin (such as, to the recommended MCS level). Such an indication of an SNR or SINR margin may be helpful information in case the transmitter (such as the AP 502) makes a transmit power adjustment for the proposed quantity of spatial streams indicated in the second FLA element”; “the FLA element may include an indication of a per-stream SINR margin”; “where unequal modulation (UEQM) is enabled, such as a transmission beamformer deployment, spatial streams may be ordered in descending order (such as, from best SINR to worst SINR). In such examples, the FLA feedback transmitted by the STA 504 may include an indication of Nss (such as, a quantity of streams reported in the FLA element) and an MCS of the best stream (such as, the spatial stream with the best SINR)”; “where UEQM is enabled, such as an open-loop (OL) transmission deployment, spatial streams may not be ordered, and any spatial stream may correspond to the highest SINR…the FLA feedback information may include an index of the stream having the highest SINR. In some examples, the FLA feedback information also may include an MCS of the best spatial stream, and the SINR details to the other streams. In some examples, the FLA feedback information may include an MCS of the best spatial stream and one or more bits per stream indicating a modulation gap to the strongest stream for each stream (in the downward direction).” That is, the FLA/UEQM enabled feedback information includes FLA elements/UEQM information indicating “a per-stream SINR” or SNR margin).
Regarding Claim 11, VERMANI et al. discloses;
A communication device (Fig. 14: wireless communication device 1400) comprising:
a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly (Para. [0176]: “the wireless communication device 1400 includes…multiple RF chains or multiple transceivers”); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver (Para. [0176]: “the wireless communication device 1400 includes…one or more processors of the processing system include or implement one or more of the radios, RF chains or transceivers”) and configured to perform operations (Para. [0175]: “the wireless communication device 1400 is configured to perform the process 1600 described with reference to FIG. 16”) comprising:
receiving (Fig. 5, 16: Step 1605), via the transceiver (Para. [0176]: using multiple RF chains or multiple transceivers), a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) comprising an eELA request message (Fig. 5, 16, Para. [0121], [0201]: “AP 502 may transmit a first PPDU (such as the PPDU 510) including an FLA request message… The FLA[eELA] request message may include a request for one or more parameter values for a first quantity of spatial streams corresponding to the PPDU 510”; “the STA may receive a first PPDU including a FLA[eELA] request message”);
determining an eELA feedback message (Fig. 5, 16, Para. [0119], [0124]: “the STA 504 may transmit a control response including the FLA feedback [eELA feedback message]. In some examples, the FLA feedback (such as one or more FLA elements) may be included in an MBA (such as an eMBA 512). In some examples, the FLA feedback may be included in a clear to send (CTS) message, an enhanced CTS (eCTS), or another message, as described in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 8-12”; “The STA 504 may transmit, in accordance with the FLA request message, an MBA message (such as one or more eMBAs 512). A first FLA elements in the MBA message may include one or more parameter values corresponding to the first quantity of spatial streams for the first PPDU. A second FLA element (or multiple additional FLA elements) may correspond to a second quantity of spatial streams (such as more spatial streams than the first quantity of spatial streams used to transmit the PPDU 510). The one or more FLA elements may be included in one or more fields (such as control feedback in a block ack (BA) information field) as described in greater detail with reference to FIG. 7. Each FLA element may include one or more parameter values. For example, each FLA element may include an MCS (such as a recommended MCS for the reported quantity of spatial streams), an indication of Nss (such as a quantity of spatial streams). The Nss indicator may be used to carry the number of streams in the measurement packet (such as, the first FLA element may include an Nss equal to the first quantity of streams used for the PPDU 510).” That is, STA 504 determines a FLA feedback message including varies information relating to the received PPDUs) comprising unequal quadrature amplitude modulation (UEQM) information across a plurality of spatial streams (Para. [0131], [0132]: “where unequal modulation (UEQM) is enabled…the FLA feedback information may include an indication of the MCS of the first stream and which UEQM pattern to use…”; “the FLA feedback information may include an MCS of the best spatial stream and one or more bits per stream indicating a modulation gap to the strongest stream for each stream (in the downward direction)”. That is, the FLA feedback information include varies UEQM information) based on at least the number of spatial streams derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU (Para. [0121], [0122], [0126]: “The STA 504 may perform measurements (such as using one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510) to determine a proposed (such as, a best) MCS for the first quantity of spatial streams”; “for a given configuration (such as, a given Nss [number of spatial streams], anchor MCS, QAM pattern, etc.), the receiver [STA 504] may calculate an effective SINR per stream” where (Para. [0121]) the “given configuration” is indicated or derived from “PPDU 510) That is, the FLA feedback information includes UEQM information of first quantity of spatial streams indicated or derived from measuring “one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510”); and
transmitting, via the transceiver (Para. [0176]: using multiple RF chains or multiple transceivers), the eELA feedback message (Fig. 5, 16, Para. [0124]: “The STA 504 may transmit, in accordance with the FLA request message, an MBA message (such as one or more eMBAs 512)” to the AP 502);
wherein the UEQM information indicates an effective Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) per spatial stream or a derivative of the effective SNR (Para. [0125], [0126], [0131], [0132]: “The FLA element may include an SNR margin or signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) margin (such as, to the recommended MCS level). Such an indication of an SNR or SINR margin may be helpful information in case the transmitter (such as the AP 502) makes a transmit power adjustment for the proposed quantity of spatial streams indicated in the second FLA element”; “the FLA element may include an indication of a per-stream SINR margin”; “where unequal modulation (UEQM) is enabled, such as a transmission beamformer deployment, spatial streams may be ordered in descending order (such as, from best SINR to worst SINR). In such examples, the FLA feedback transmitted by the STA 504 may include an indication of Nss (such as, a quantity of streams reported in the FLA element) and an MCS of the best stream (such as, the spatial stream with the best SINR)”; “where UEQM is enabled, such as an open-loop (OL) transmission deployment, spatial streams may not be ordered, and any spatial stream may correspond to the highest SINR…the FLA feedback information may include an index of the stream having the highest SINR. In some examples, the FLA feedback information also may include an MCS of the best spatial stream, and the SINR details to the other streams. In some examples, the FLA feedback information may include an MCS of the best spatial stream and one or more bits per stream indicating a modulation gap to the strongest stream for each stream (in the downward direction).” That is, the FLA/UEQM enabled feedback information includes FLA elements/UEQM information indicating “a per-stream SINR” or SNR margin).
Regarding Claim 3 and 13, VERMANI et al. discloses;
wherein determining the eELA feedback message comprising the UEQM information by the responding device comprises:
determining the UEQM information comprising a recommended modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and a margin-effective SNR per spatial stream by the responding device (Para. [0127]: “The first type of FLA element [UEQM information] may include a recommended, or anchor, MCS (such as, for a strongest stream) for one or more parameters (such as, an Nss, or QAM pattern) of a requesting packet. The FLA element [UEQM information] may include a per-stream SINR margin for supporting the MCS corresponding to the requesting packet) based on the number of spatial streams and a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) pattern derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU (Para. [0122]: “The STA 504 may perform measurements (such as using one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510) to determine a proposed (such as, a best) MCS for the first quantity of spatial streams.” That is, the FLA feedback information includes FLA element/UEQM information of first quantity of spatial streams, such as recommended MCS and per-stream SINR margin or per-stream SNR margin, that is derived from measuring “one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510”).
Regarding Claim 4 and 14, VERMANI et al. discloses;
wherein determining the eELA feedback message comprising the UEQM information by the responding device comprises:
determining the UEQM information comprising a recommended modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) pattern, and a margin-effective SNR per spatial stream by the responding device (Para. [0128]: “The FLA element may include an Nss recommendation, a QAM pattern recommendation, or both, a recommended, or anchor, MCS (such as, for a strongest stream), for the recommended parameters (for the recommended Nss, or QAM pattern). The FLA element may include a per-stream SINR margin for supporting the recommended MCS”) based on the number of spatial streams derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU (Para. [0122]: “The STA 504 may perform measurements (such as using one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510) to determine a proposed (such as, a best) MCS for the first quantity of spatial streams.” That is, the FLA feedback information includes FLA element/UEQM information of first quantity of spatial streams, such as recommended MCS, QAM pattern and per-stream SINR margin or per-stream SNR margin, that is derived from measuring “one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510”).
Regarding Claim 5 and 15, VERMANI et al. discloses;
wherein determining the eELA feedback message comprising the UEQM information by the responding device comprises:
determining a margin-effective SNR per spatial stream by the responding device based on the number of spatial streams, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), and a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) pattern derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU (Para. [0126]: “for a given configuration (such as, a given Nss [number of spatial streams], anchor MCS, QAM pattern, etc.), the receiver [STA 504] may calculate an effective SINR per stream” where (Para. [0121]) the “given configuration” is indicated or derived from “PPDU 510).
Regarding Claim 6 and 16, VERMANI et al. discloses;
wherein determining the eELA feedback message comprising the UEQM information by the responding device comprises:
determining a recommended equal modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and a margin-effective SNR per spatial stream by the responding device (Para. [0128]: “The FLA element may include an Nss recommendation, a QAM pattern recommendation, or both, a recommended, or anchor, MCS (such as, for a strongest stream), for the recommended parameters (for the recommended Nss, or QAM pattern). The FLA element may include a per-stream SINR margin for supporting the recommended MCS”) based on the number of spatial streams derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU (Para. [0122]: “The STA 504 may perform measurements (such as using one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510) to determine a proposed (such as, a best) MCS for the first quantity of spatial streams.” That is, the FLA feedback information includes FLA element/UEQM information of first quantity of spatial streams, such as recommended MCS, QAM pattern and per-stream SINR margin or per-stream SNR margin, that is derived from measuring “one or more LTFs of the PPDU 510”).
Regarding Claim 7 and 17, VERMANI et al. discloses;
wherein determining the eELA feedback message comprising the UEQM information by the responding device comprises:
determining a common offset for the effective SNR per spatial stream and a delta-effective SNR per spatial stream by the responding device (Para. [0131]: “the FLA feedback transmitted by the STA 504 may include… offsets (such as, delta values) from the best SINR, to the lower SINRs of the respective additional streams… in the scenario of two spatial streams, an FLA element may indicate an MCS for the first spatial stream (such as, the best spatial stream), and an offset (such as, delta_1) from the SINR of the first stream to the SINR of the second spatial stream) based on the number of spatial streams and a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) pattern derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU (Para. [0126]: “for a given configuration (such as, a given Nss [number of spatial streams], anchor MCS, QAM pattern, etc.), the receiver may calculate an effective SINR per stream” where (Para. [0121]) the “given configuration” is indicated or derived from “PPDU 510), or the number of spatial streams derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU and a pre-designed high-ordered QAM (Para. [0126]: “for a given configuration (such as, a given Nss [number of spatial streams], anchor MCS, QAM pattern, etc.), the receiver may calculate an effective SINR per stream” where (Para. [0121]) the “given configuration” is indicated or derived from “PPDU 510).
Regarding Claim 9 and 19, VERMANI et al. discloses;
wherein determining the eELA feedback message comprising the UEQM information by the responding device comprises:
determining the effective SNR per spatial stream by the responding device (Para. [0128]: “The FLA element may include a per-stream SINR margin [the effective SNR per spatial stream] for supporting the recommended MCS”) based on the number of spatial streams and a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) pattern derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU (Para. [0126]: “for a given configuration (such as, a given Nss [number of spatial streams], anchor MCS, QAM pattern, etc.), the receiver may calculate an effective SINR per stream” where (Para. [0121]) the “given configuration” is indicated or derived from “PPDU 510), or the number of spatial streams derived from the eELA request message or the PPDU and a pre-designed high-ordered QAM (Para. [0126]: “for a given configuration (such as, a given Nss [number of spatial streams], anchor MCS, QAM pattern, etc.), the receiver may calculate an effective SINR per stream” where (Para. [0121]) the “given configuration” is indicated or derived from “PPDU 510).
Regarding Claim 10 and 20, VERMANI et al. discloses;
wherein the eELA feedback message is carried by a multi-station (Multi-STA) block ack frame (Fig. 5, 7, Para. [0047] [0061], [0142]: “a multi-STA block acknowledgment (MBA) message carries one or more FLA elements including FLA feedback information”; “the eMBA [an eMBA 700] may be an example of a message carrying FLA feedback information. Such FLA feedback information may be transmitted by a receiver in response to an FLA request message”), and wherein the eELA feedback message is contained within per AID TID Info subfield identified by a pair of AID and TID in the Multi-STA block ack frame (Fig. 7: AID TID Info subfield 716-a, 716-b identified by a pair of AID and TID, 716-a and 716-b, in the Multi-STA block ack frame 700), wherein the pair of AID and TID comprises a special AID (Para. [0100]: “assign each AID (and thus each STA 104) one or more RUs that can be used to send UL traffic to the AP 102.” That is, the assigned AID is special or unique to a respective STA 104 “that can be used to send UL traffic [such as the “multi-STA block acknowledgment (MBA) message [frame]” carrying “one or more FLA elements including FLA feedback information”] to the AP 102.” Hence, the AID TID pairs, 716-a and 716-b, in the eMBA 700 includes a assigned/special/unique AID to indicated to the AP 102 which STA 104/504 the UL traffic belongs to) or a special TID.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VERMANI et al. (US 20250212062 A1) in view of KWON et al. (US 20240380446 A1).
Regarding Claim 2 and 12, VERMANI et al. discloses all as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, however they do not teach;
wherein the effective SNR per spatial stream is derived from a received bit mutual information rate (RBIR) per spatial stream, and the RBIR per spatial stream is based on symbol level mutual information conditioned on a modulation order of a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) scheme.
On the other hand in the same field of endeavor ()
wherein the effective SNR per spatial stream is derived from a received bit mutual information rate (RBIR) per spatial stream (Para. [0144], [0149]: “The effective SNR mapping in accordance with RBIR algorithm may be given by Equation 12” and Equation 14), and the RBIR per spatial stream is based on symbol level mutual information conditioned on a modulation order of a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) scheme (Para. [0144], [0147], [0152]: “The RBIR effective SNR mapping (ESM) is one of the link adaptation techniques using symbol-level mutual information to enable PER estimation and MCS selection” where the MCS selection includes “Quadrature amplitude modulation.” See Table 1- “MCS Level” with corresponding QAM “Modulation” for “Required SNR (dB)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the determining of the “per-stream SINR” or “SNR margin” in VERMANI et al.’s invention can be derived in accordance with RBIR algorithm where the RBIR algorithm is based on using symbol-level mutual information condition on MCS of a QAM as taught by KWON et al. where doing so would (KWON et al., Para. [0036]) allow “to analyze the channel environment of each STA more accurately…also enables accurate MCS prediction…the amount of computation required for user group selection can be significantly reduced…thereby improving the performance of the MU-MIMO system.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AMNEET SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2633 /SAM K AHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2633