DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 2 are presented for examination.
Priority
The Applicants’ claim for priority based on U.S. Provisional Application 63/087,327 filed on October 5, 2020 is duly noted by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,599,146 in view of Greiner et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0311335]
With regard to claim 1, U.S. Patent 11,599,146 meets all of the limitations except access the cloud backend via the portal. In the field of content management, Greiner et al. teaches:
access the cloud backend via the portal [a client device used for communicating with one or more servers and/or databases via a wired or wireless network (paragraph 0054) to an application store where the client device can connect to an application on a server through the application store (figure 1 and paragraph 0028)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of U.S. Patent No. 11,599,146 and Greiner et al. before the effective filing date to create a system where the wearable device is able to read an RFID tag and connect to a portal based upon the information stored in the RFID device to access an application for use wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for application store resource management (Greiner et al., paragraph 0002).
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,599,146 in view of Lim et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0167549]
With regard to claim 2, U.S. Patent 11,599,146 meets all of the limitations except the object comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) passive tag and the wearable device comprises an active RFID reader. In the field of wearable electronic devices, Lim et al. teaches:
the object comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) passive tag and the wearable device comprises an active RFID reader [an earpiece having an RFID tag that can be read by a worn RFID reader to capture the data on the RFID tag in the earpiece (figure 2, item 100 and figure 23, item E as well as paragraph 0142)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of U.S. Patent 11,599,146 and Lim et al. to create a system where a worn RFID reader is able to read an object having an RFID tag in order to capture the data on the RFID tag wherein the motivation to combine is to actuate the device using the interface of a wearable device (Lim et al., paragraph 0001).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “wearable device configured to” in claim 1. Support for this is found in figure 9, item 104 and paragraph 0102 where a wearable device has speakers and is worn by a user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0167549] in view of in view of Greiner et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0311335]
With regard to claim 1, Lim et al. meets the limitation of:
a wearable device configured to be worn by a user and an object [an earpiece having an RFID tag that can be read by a worn RFID reader to capture the data on the RFID tag in the earpiece (figure 2, item 100 and figure 23, item E as well as paragraph 0142)]
the wearable device configured to access [an earpiece having an RFID tag that can be read by a worn RFID reader to capture the data on the RFID tag in the earpiece (figure 2, item 100 and figure 23, item E as well as paragraph 0142)]
However, Lim et al. fails to disclose of a cloud backend, a cloud web portal, and access the cloud backend via the portal. In the field of content management, Greiner et al. teaches:
a cloud backend, a cloud web portal, and access the cloud backend via the portal [a client device used for communicating with one or more servers and/or databases via a wired or wireless network (paragraph 0054) to an application store where the client device can connect to an application on a server through the application store (figure 1 and paragraph 0028)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Lim et al. and Greiner et al. before the effective filing date to create a system where the wearable device is able to read an RFID tag and connect to a portal based upon the information stored in the RFID device to access an application for use wherein the motivation to combine is to create a system for application store resource management (Greiner et al., paragraph 0002).
With regard to claim 2, Lim et al. meets the limitations of:
the object comprises a radio frequency identification (RFID) passive tag and the wearable device comprises an active RFID reader [an earpiece having an RFID tag that can be read by a worn RFID reader to capture the data on the RFID tag in the earpiece (figure 2, item 100 and figure 23, item E as well as paragraph 0142)]
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 5,260,711 to Sterzer discloses a difference-in-time-of-arrival finders and signal sorter.
U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0182371 to Ashall et al. discloses a smartphone accessory for visually impaired or elderly users.
U.S. Patent 8,160,495 to Khedouri et al. discloses a wireless portable device for sharing digital content items.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMESHANAND MAHASE whose telephone number is (571) 270-7223. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Feild can be reached on 571-272-4090. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAMESHANAND MAHASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2689
/TRAVIS R HUNNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689