DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the communication filed on 08/19/2026. Claims 1—8 and 10—15 are currently pending.
Priority
The Applicant’s claim for benefit of EPO Patent Document Number EP24173785 filed on 05/02/2024, has been received and acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement received 05/02/2025 has been reviewed and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 08/19/2026 in response to the rejection of claims 1—15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in overcoming the rejections. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 1—15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn. Examiner notes that claim 9 is cancelled.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 08/19/2026 in response to the rejection of claims 1—10 and 12—15 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Response at page 6 states “[t]he step of changing a harvesting setting of the agricultural harvester (i.e., a physical process) based on an estimated position cannot be performed in the human mind. According to MPEP 2106, ‘Claims do not recite a mental process when they do not contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitations. See SRI Int'l, Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., 930 F.3d 1295, 1304 (Fed. Cir. 2019).’.” Examiner notes, as set forth in pages 6—7 of the Non-Final Rejection dated 06/23/2026, the limitation “adjusting the crop transfer process in dependence of the estimated status parameter,” was not identified as an abstract idea but rather a generic application that did not meet the requirements of a practical application as set forth in MPEP 2106.05 (f). Accordingly, the argument as identified above is moot because it misclassifies the limitation as an abstract idea when it was classified as an additional element. Moreover, as currently recited, any adjustment made with the harvester is not adequately linked to the outcome of the abstract idea. Generically changing the setting on a device in generic dependence on how something else generically moves is not a practical application.
Examples of limitations which do properly integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application include the limitations of Diehr. For example, the MPEP states “[i]n contrast, the additional elements in Diamond v. Diehr as a whole provided eligibility and did not merely recite calculating a cure time using the Arrhenius equation ‘in a rubber molding process’. Instead, the claim in Diehr recited specific limitations such as monitoring the elapsed time since the mold was closed, constantly measuring the temperature in the mold cavity, repetitively calculating a cure time by inputting the measured temperature into the Arrhenius equation, and opening the press automatically when the calculated cure time and the elapsed time are equivalent. 450 U.S. at 179, 209 USPQ at 5, n. 5. These specific limitations act in concert to transform raw, uncured rubber into cured molded rubber. 450 U.S. at 177-78, 209 USPQ at 4.” (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, the limitations of Diehr which integrated the abstract idea (e.g., calculations using the Arrhenius equation) into a practical application (e.g., opening the press automatically once the calculated cure time and elapsed time are equivalent) provided a more specific application which was directly tied to the outcome of the judicial exception than that of the instant claims. For example, Diehr did not merely state “changing a mold setting based on a calculated temperature.” Accordingly, the limitations directed to changing the harvester setting do not provide for a practical application of the judicial exception because the limitations are equivalent to a mere directive to apply the exception.
The Response at pages 6—7 further states “[m]oreover, the claimed ‘crop transfer process’ may be considered an additional element that amounts to an inventive process, as set forth in MPEP 2106.05, because the additional element (considered either alone or along with the other claimed elements) improves the functioning of an agricultural harvester and improves the crop transfer process in agriculture.” Examiner notes the limitation “crop transfer process” was identified as merely directing the claims to a field of use in which the abstract idea is applied which is maintained below. However, it is also worth noting that the limitation does not provide for improvements in the technology but rather improvements to the abstract ideas. For example, the claims do not provide a physically improved harvester. Accordingly, the argument that the limitation “crop transfer process” overcomes the eligibility requirement under 35 U.S.C. 101, is not persuasive. The rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained as modified below in view of the provided amendment.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 08/19/2026 in response to the rejection of claims 1—3, 6—8, and 12—15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive in part. For example, the provided amendments overcome the rejection of record; however, a modified rejection using the original reference to Puryk is provided below in view of the amendments.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 12, the Response at page 8 states “Puryk does not disclose estimating the position of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester at a further point in time, the further point in time being later than the different points in time, and the Office Action does not contain any explanations to the contrary.” Examiner notes that Puryk does disclose the recited limitations as set forth in the rejection below. Moreover, the limitation of “estimating… the position of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester at a further point in time,” was not required to occur in any of the claims as originally provided during examination and drafting of the Non-Final Office Action. The argument that the Non-Final Office Action did not provide a specific explanation regarding a previously unrequired limitation is effectively moot where a rejection and/or explanation for an unrequired limitation is not required to fully reject the claims. Accordingly, the arguments provided with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 12 are not persuasive and the provided amendments necessitate grounds for new rejection as set forth below.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 08/19/2026 in response to the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive in overcoming the rejection of record. However, the claims necessitate new grounds for rejection as provided below. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 to O’Connor is withdrawn and replaced with a revised rejection under 35 US.C. 102 to Kormann.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1—8 and 12—15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the USPTO’s eligibility analysis entails considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Independent claims 1 and 12 are directed to a method (process) and a system (machine or manufacture), respectively. As such, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention.
If the claim recites a statutory category of invention, the claim requires further analysis in Step 2A. Step 2A of the 2019 Revised Patent SUBJECT Matter Eligibility Guidance is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception
Claim 1 recites abstract limitations including:
“processing the obtained image data… to determine a position of the first trailer relative to the aqricultural harvester at the different points in time” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept); and
“estimating, by the one or more computer processors, the position of the first trailer relative to the aqricultural harvester at a further point in time, the further point in time being later than the different points in time” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept).
Claim 12 recites abstract limitations including:
“process the obtained image data to determine a status parameter of the nearby trailer at different points in time” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept); and
“estimate the status parameter of the nearby trailer at a further point in time” (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations identified above constitute abstract ideas because they are directed to mental processes, mathematical concepts, or a combination thereof. For example, actions including making determinations and estimates are directed to steps which are performable with a human mind with or without the benefit of pen and paper. Additionally, the generation of determinations and estimates may benefit from the utilization of a mathematical concept. More specifically, nothing in the claim element precludes the aforementioned steps from practically being performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper. The mere recitation of generic computing elements does not take the claim out of the mental process grouping. Thus the claims recite one or more abstract ideas.
If the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon), the claim requires further analysis in Prong Two. In Prong Two, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
Claim 1 recites the additional element of:
“a crop transfer process” (e.g., directed to a field of use);
“an agricultural harvester” (e.g., directed to a field of use);
“a first trailer” (e.g., directed to a field of use);
“an optical sensor… to obtain image data” (e.g., directed to a specific data set which relates to extra-solution activity);
“one or more computer processors” (e.g., mere recitation of generic computer components is equivalent to reciting “apply it”);
“based on the determined positions of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester at the different points in time” (e.g., directed to a specific data set which relates to extra-solution activity); and
“changing, by the one or more computer processors, a harvestinq settinq of the aqricultural harvester to adjust the crop transfer process in dependence of the estimated position of the first trailer relative to the aqricultural harvester at the further point in time.” (e.g., a genericized application of the judicial exception equivalent to reciting “apply it”, additionally updating a setting in a processor does not require that the updated setting is executed).
Claim 12 recites the additional elements of:
“a crop transfer process” (e.g., directed to a field of use);
“an agricultural harvester” (e.g., directed to a field of use);
“a first trailer” (e.g., directed to a field of use);
“an optical sensor… to obtain image data” (e.g., extra-solution activity);
“one or more processors” (e.g., mere recitation of generic computer components is equivalent to reciting “apply it”);
“based on the determined positions of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester at the different points in time” (e.g., directed to a specific data set which relates to extra-solution activity); and
“change a harvestinq setting of the agricultural harvester to adjust the crop transfer process in dependence of the estimated position of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester at the further point in time” (e.g., a genericized application of the judicial exception equivalent to reciting “apply it”, additionally updating a setting in a processor does not require that the updated setting is executed).
The above identified limitations of claims 1 and 12 constitute additional elements. However, for the reasons identified above, and discussed further below, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the above identified additional elements do not integrate the identified judicial exceptions into a practical application.
If the additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application, then the claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, and requires further analysis under Step 2B to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself).
As identified above, claims 1 and 12 recite the additional elements of “a crop transfer process”; “an agricultural harvester”; and “a first trailer.” The foregoing additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and function to generally link the identified abstract ideas to a particular field of use. The MPEP states “[a]s explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible ‘simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use.’ Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Therefore the limitations directed to the additional elements “a crop transfer process”; “an agricultural harvester”; and “a nearby trailer,” do not integrate the above identified judicial exceptions into a practical application.
Claims 1 and 12 further recite the additional element of “an optical sensor… to obtain image data,” which constitutes insignificant extra-solution activity (e.g., mere data gathering) performed using a generically recited sensor. The MPEP states “[t]he term ‘extra-solution activity’ can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent.” (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Moreover, use of optical sensors including, specifically, lidar sensors, is known in the art of crop harvesting. For example, Issued Patent Application to Kemmer et al. (US 10670708 B2) states “[t]he lidar sensor 32, as is known, illuminates a targeted object with a laser light that may operate according to ultraviolet, visible, or near infrared light spectrums. The lidar sensor 32 is principally comprised of a laser, a scanner and optics to enable azimuth and elevation scans, a photodetector, a receiver, and a signal processor (though in some embodiments, signal processing may be performed by the controller 38). The lidar 32 generates a set of 3D data points (a point cloud) according to a coordinate system (e.g., x, y, z coordinates, though some embodiments may use a different coordinate system).” (Kemmer, Col. 6, Lines 54—64). To this end, the MPEP states “[i]f the additional element (or combination of elements) is a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field, for instance because it is an unconventional step that confines the claim to a particular useful application of the judicial exception, then this consideration favors eligibility. If, however, the additional element (or combination of elements) is no more than well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, which is recited at a high level of generality, then this consideration does not favor eligibility.” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Accordingly, the inclusion of a generically recited sensor (e.g., or even a specific well-known sensor) which performs data gathering necessary to perform the identified judicial exception cannot provide for a practical application of the abstract ideas because the limitations are directed to insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claims 1 and 12 further recite the additional element of “one or more computer processors” which, as claimed, is merely invoked as a tool to perform an existing process. Moreover, claim limitations directed to computer components or other machinery which function in their ordinary capacity does not integrate the identified judicial exceptions into a practical application. For example, the MPEP states “[w]hen determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words ‘apply it’ (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners may consider the following:… (2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).” (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Examiner submits that the limitations directed to the controller as recited in claim 12 are merely invoked as a tool to perform an existing process and do not provide for a practical application of the identified judicial exceptions.
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation “based on the determined positions of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester at the different points in time,” which is directed to selecting specific data for performing an abstract idea. Limitations which merely specify the data set/data type/content used to perform the identified abstract ideas where such limitations constitute court-identified insignificant extra-solution activity as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(g). For example, the MPEP states “[b]elow are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity: Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated: i. Limiting a database index to XML tags, Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indem. Co., 850 F.3d at 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d at 1937;… iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).” (MPEP 2106.05(g), Section 3). As such, limitations directed to specific data types or data sets used to perform an abstract idea amount to insignificant extra-solution activity and cannot provide for a practical application of the above identified judicial exceptions.
Claims 1 and 12 further recite the additional element of, or substantially similar to “changing, by the one or more computer processors, a harvestinq settinq of the aqricultural harvester to adjust the crop transfer process in dependence of the estimated position of the first trailer relative to the aqricultural harvester at the further point in time,” which constitutes mere instruction to apply an exception. To start, changing a setting in a computer does not require that the operation is actually modified according to the setting. Additionally, the relationship between what is determined (e.g., estimated future location of the first trailer) and the action taken (e.g., “changing… harvesting setting… in dependence on the estimate position of the first trailer…”) are too generically linked to provide for a practical application of the identified judicial exceptions. Regarding such limitations the MPEP states “[w]hen determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words ‘apply it’ (or an equivalent),… examiners may consider the following:… Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words ‘apply it’. See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, claiming a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1356, 119 USPQ2d at 1743.” (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitation directed to adjusting the crop transfer process constitutes mere instruction to apply an exception because the limitation does not include any limitations directed to: 1.) how the result is accomplished and/or 2.) the mechanism for accomplishing the result.
Accordingly, the limitations of claims 1 and 12 are merely directed to the idea of a solution or outcome and do not properly integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Examples of limitations which do properly integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application include the limitations of Diehr. For example, the MPEP states “[i]n contrast, the additional elements in Diamond v. Diehr as a whole provided eligibility and did not merely recite calculating a cure time using the Arrhenius equation ‘in a rubber molding process’. Instead, the claim in Diehr recited specific limitations such as monitoring the elapsed time since the mold was closed, constantly measuring the temperature in the mold cavity, repetitively calculating a cure time by inputting the measured temperature into the Arrhenius equation, and opening the press automatically when the calculated cure time and the elapsed time are equivalent. 450 U.S. at 179, 209 USPQ at 5, n. 5. These specific limitations act in concert to transform raw, uncured rubber into cured molded rubber. 450 U.S. at 177-78, 209 USPQ at 4.” (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, the limitations of Diehr which integrated the abstract idea (e.g., calculations using the Arrhenius equation) into a practical application (e.g., opening the press automatically once the calculated cure time and elapsed time are equivalent) provided a more specific application which was directly tied to the outcome of the judicial exception than that of the instant claims. For example, Diehr did not merely state “changing a mold setting based on a calculated temperature.” Accordingly, the limitations of claims 1 and 12 do not provide for a practical application of the judicial exception because the limitations are equivalent to a mere directive to apply the exception.
Thus, even when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea.
Claim 2 recites limitations which furth define the above identified abstract idea of “estimating.” However, the further defined limitations are directed to “calculating a change, a rate of change, and/or an acceleration of change.” Accordingly the limitations of claim 2 further define the abstract idea of “estimating” with limitations with are also directed to an abstract idea insofar as “calculating” is directed to a mathematical concept. Moreover, claim 2 does not recite any additional elements which function to integrate the above identified judicial exceptions into a practical application.
Claim 3 also recites limitations which further define the abstract idea of “processing… the obtained image data…” in order to make a determination. Examiner notes that actions including determining/making determinations are directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts depending on what determination is made. The claim further limits the type of determination to that of: “a position… an orientation… a filling level… a crop pile shape”; however, limiting a generic abstract idea to a more specific abstract idea still constitutes an abstract idea. Accordingly, claim 3 is directed to an abstract idea consisting of a mental process, a mathematical concept, or a combination thereof. Moreover, claim 3 does not recite any additional elements which function to integrate the above identified judicial exceptions into a practical application.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “processing… the obtained image data to determine a crop cloud parameter,” and “estimating… the crop cloud parameter…” which is directed to the abstract idea of processing information (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept) and making determinations/estimations (e.g., a mental process and/or mathematical concept). As such, claim 4 recites limitations which constitute abstract ideas in addition to the abstract ideas identified in claim 1. Claim 4 also recites the limitation “adjusting the crop transfer process… in dependence of the estimated crop cloud parameter,” which is directed to an additional element. However, the additional element limitation is equivalent to mere directive to generically apply the exception. For example, the MPEP states “[w]hen determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words ‘apply it’ (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners may consider the following:… (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, claiming a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1356, 119 USPQ2d at 1743.” (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, claim 4 does not provide for a practical application of the identified judicial exceptions.
Claim 5 recites a limitation directed to making additional estimations and determinations which are directed to abstract ideas insofar as estimations and determinations constitute mental processes which may be performed with or without the benefit of a mathematical concept. Moreover, claim 5 does not recite any additional elements which function to integrate the identified judicial exceptions into a practical application.
Claim 6 recites multiple limitations which further define the applications of the judicial exception; however, the limitations do not cure the identified deficiency with respect to connecting the outcome of/decision made from the abstract idea to an actual application. Moreover, while the limitations provide potential actions taken by the harvester, the actions are not tied to the abstract idea in any meaningful way. With regards to the threshold for showing a recited application is a practical application, the MPEP states “[w]hen determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words ‘apply it’ (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, examiners may consider the following:… (1) Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, claiming a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1356, 119 USPQ2d at 1743.” (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations of claim 6 are merely directed to the idea of a solution or outcome and do not properly integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Examples of limitations which do properly integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application include the limitations of Diehr. For example, the MPEP states “[i]n contrast, the additional elements in Diamond v. Diehr as a whole provided eligibility and did not merely recite calculating a cure time using the Arrhenius equation ‘in a rubber molding process’. Instead, the claim in Diehr recited specific limitations such as monitoring the elapsed time since the mold was closed, constantly measuring the temperature in the mold cavity, repetitively calculating a cure time by inputting the measured temperature into the Arrhenius equation, and opening the press automatically when the calculated cure time and the elapsed time are equivalent. 450 U.S. at 179, 209 USPQ at 5, n. 5. These specific limitations act in concert to transform raw, uncured rubber into cured molded rubber. 450 U.S. at 177-78, 209 USPQ at 4.” (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, the limitations of Diehr which integrated the abstract idea (e.g., calculations using the Arrhenius equation) into a practical application (e.g., opening the press automatically once the calculated cure time and elapsed time are equivalent) provided a more specific application which was directly tied to the outcome of the judicial exception than that of the instant claims. For example, Diehr did not merely state “changing an operational parameter of the mold (e.g., adjusting the lid of the mold press) based on a calculated temperature.” Accordingly, the limitations of claim 6 do not provide for a practical application of the judicial exception because the limitations are equivalent to a mere directive to apply the exception.
Claims 7 and 8 recite limitations which further define the generically recited optical sensor of claim 1; however, as addressed above, lidar sensors (e.g., the data of which is used to form a point cloud) are known in the technical field of harvesters as described in Issued Patent Application to Kemmer et al. (US 10670708 B2) at Col. 6, Lines 54—64. Accordingly, the limitations of claims 7 and 8 constitute insignificant extra-solution activity and cannot provide for a practical application of the judicial exceptions identified in claim 1.
Claim 13 is directed to the incorporation of the system of claim 12 into an agricultural harvester. While the agricultural harvester constitutes an additional element, it is merely indicative of the field of use in which the identified judicial exceptions of claim 12 are to be applied. With respect to field of use limitations, the MPEP states “limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, the limitations of claim 13 do not provide for a practical application of the judicial exceptions identified in claim 12 which are imported into claim 13.
Claim 14 further defines the recited agricultural harvester of claim 13; however, the limitations of “a forage harvester” and/or “a combine harvester” are merely indicative of a field of use in which the identified judicial exceptions of claim 12 are to be utilized. As such, for the same reasons provided above with respect to claim 13, claim 14 does not provide for a practical application of the identified judicial exceptions. the MPEP states “limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, the limitations of claim 14 do not provide for a practical application of the judicial exceptions identified in claim 12 which are imported into claim 13.
Claim 15 recites generic computer components on which the method of claim 1 may be stored and executed. While computer components constitute additional elements rather than abstract idea, the Mere recitation of generic computer components in combination with claim limitations which recite abstract ideas is equivalent to a mere directive to apply the exception on a computer. Limitations which constitute mere directives to apply one or more judicial exceptions using a computer (e.g., “apply it”) cannot provide for a practical application of the judicial exception. For example, the MPEP states “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone).” (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the limitations of claim 15 do not provide for a practical application of the judicial exceptions identified in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1—3, 6—8, and 12—15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Published US Patent Application to Puryk et al., hereinafter “Puryk” (US 20210195840 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Puryk discloses [a] method of controlling a crop transfer process for transferring crop between an agricultural harvester and a first trailer (para. [0106], “FIG. 12 illustrates an example of a machine vision-augmented guidance system 2000 for a transferring vehicle for managing the unloading of agricultural material (e.g., grain) from the transferring vehicle (e.g., combine) to a receiving vehicle (e.g., grain cart or wagon). A transferring vehicle may have a spout for directing agricultural material toward a storage portion of the receiving vehicle.”), the method comprising:
at different points in time, using an optical sensor (first image device 10 and second image device 12 as described in para. [0106]—[0109]; the image devices gather data over time to inform the perception system, fill model 220, unloading controller 1024, and the alignment module 24; para. [0055], “a gathering/harvesting vehicle, such as a harvester may include multiple cameras that are supported so as to capture images of the container itself,… Such cameras may additionally be supported so as to capture images of the spout or other discharge point of the gathering/harvesting vehicle. The perception signals are in the form of signals that represent the image that was captured.”) of the agricultural harvester to obtain image data relating to the first trailer (see para. [0106]—[0109]; the optical sensors gather data over time which is used in the perception system, fill model 220, unloading controller 1024, and the alignment module 24)
processing the obtained image data (unloading controller and fill model 220 process image data of image devices 10 and 12; para. [0109], “[t]he unloading controller 1024 serves as an image processing module.”; para. [0113], “the unloading controller 1024 comprises a container module 20, a spout module 22, an alignment module 24, a material profile module 27, and an arbiter 25. Each module may comprise a software module, an electronic module, or both, where the software module comprises software instructions for executing functions described in this document.”) by one or more computer processors (see unloading controller is a processor, see para. [0109], and [0113]) to determine a position of the first trailer relative to the aqricultural harvester (the material unloading location (“MUL”), which is determined from the image data, is used to maintain alignment between the harvester and the trailer and is the relative position) at the different points in time (para. [0119], “[t]he alignment module 24, the master/slave controller 59, or both estimate or determine motion commands at regular intervals to maintain alignment of the spout (56 or 89) over the central zone, central region or target of the container 85 for unloading agricultural material.” See FIG. 12 where first imaging data 10 and second imaging data 12 are provided to the modules of unloading controller 1024 including alignment module 24 where the alignment module processes the image data to perform the actions described in para. [0119]—[0120]. Examiner notes that the unloading controller processes the image data to determine the material unloading location (MUL) which requires determining and tracking the relative positions of the harvester and the trailer over time. Additionally, the fill model takes the material unloading location (MUL) as an input to generate predictions regarding how the trailer will fill.),
based on the determined positions of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester at the different points in time (the location of the harvester relative to the trailer (e.g., material unloading location or MUL) is determined by optical data which are collected over time), estimating, by the one or more computer processors, the position of the first trailer relative to the aqricultural harvester (material unloading location (“MUL”) estimates are created by predicting future fill behavior using fill model 220; para. [0052] “[t]he material unloading location (MUL) relates to the location at which the material is dropped into or discharged into the container. The MUL location may be adjusted by adjusting the relative position or location of the gathering/harvesting vehicle and the transport vehicle. For example, the container carried, pulled or pushed by the transport vehicle may be moved relative to the gathering/harvesting vehicle or a spout or other discharge point of the harvesting vehicle.”; para. [0065], “[f]ill model 220 may be used to estimate or predict what regions of the interior of the container are filled with material for a given set of historical values for various fill variables… fill model 220 may be used to select values for the variables to achieve a desired or target fill profile for the container.”; para. [0066], “fill model 220 may be based upon multiple model variables 225 such as MUT 225, MUR 226 and MUL 228.” Examiner notes the fill model implicitly uses an estimate of future MUL values to predict fill conditions in the trailer. Moreover, even in conditions where the future MUL value is the most recently measured value, any future predictions using that value implicitly make the MUL value an estimate) at a further point in time (the fill model 220 runs multiple simulations to generate predictions, which require values for material unloading location (“MUL”), at further points in time, as described in the citations below; para. [0061], “the fill model is dynamically adjusted or updated using the perception data acquired by the perception system… As a result, the fill model may be updated so as be more accurate for when the fill model is used in place of the perception system to estimate the current fill state or characteristic of the container and/or to adjust ongoing unloading parameters such as MUR and MUL.”; para. [0067], “fill model 220 may be based upon other variables provided by multiple data streams. For example, data streams from the transport vehicle… and data streams from the gathering/harvesting vehicle may be utilized to form the fill model. Examples of data streams from the transport vehicle include, but not limited to, position data, velocity and heading data… may serve to form fill model 220 and to use the fill model 220.”), the further point in time being later than the different points in time (the predictions of fill model 220 are at a further point in time than the previously gathered data)
changing, by the one or more computer processors, a harvestinq settinq (“motion commands”) of the aqricultural harvester (e.g., “transferring vehicle” as discussed in para. [0119]) to adjust the crop transfer process in dependence of the estimated position of the first trailer (“receiving vehicle” as discussed in para. [0119]; see citation to para. [0106] as provided above) relative to the aqricultural harvester at the further point in time (para. [0057], “the disclosed systems and methods may switch between use of the fill model and use of the perception system when determining the current fill state or characteristic of the container and/or determining how to adjust the ongoing MUR and/or MUL.”; para. [0065], “fill model 220 may be used to select values for the variables to achieve a desired or target fill profile for the container.”; para. [0222], “alignment module 24 and master/slave controller 59 are additionally operable in the model mode of operation described above. When in the model mode of operation, alignment module 24 and/or master/slave controller 59 determine a current fill state or characteristic (fill profile) of the container using the fill model 220 and/or generate control signals adjusting the ongoing MUR and/or MUL based upon fill model 220 as described above.”; para. [0119], “[t]he alignment module 24, the master/slave controller 59, or both estimate or determine motion commands at regular intervals to maintain alignment of the spout (56 or 89) over the central zone, central region or target of the container 85 for unloading agricultural material. The alignment module 24, the master/slave controller 59, or both, may send commands or requests to the transferring vehicle with respect to its speed, velocity or heading to maintain alignment of the position of the transferring vehicle with respect to the receiving vehicle. For example, the alignment module 24 may transmit a request for a change in a spatial offset between the vehicles to the master/slave controller 59. In response, the master/slave controller 59 or the coordination module 57 transmits a steering command or heading command to the steering controller 32, a braking or deceleration command to a braking system 34, and a propulsion, acceleration or torque command to a propulsion controller 40 to achieve the target spatial offset or change in spatial offset. Further, similar command data may be transmitted via the wireless communication devices (48, 148) to the receiving vehicle for observational purposes or control of the receiving vehicle via its steering system controller 32, its braking controller 36, and its propulsion controller 40 of the system 311 of FIG. 14A.”).
Regarding claim 2, Puryk discloses wherein estimating the position of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester at the further point in time comprises calculating, by the one or more computer processors (processors of the controllers), a change (para. [0153], “the unloading controller 1024 of system 1200 of FIG. 14A estimates the relative position of the transferring vehicle and the receiving vehicle, and the relative orientation of the spout end 87 (or spout position) to the storage portion 93 (or container position) to direct or control the steering system 30, braking system 34, and propulsion system 38 of the receiving vehicle via one or more controllers (32,36,40) to place the transferring vehicle and receiving vehicle in a target transferring position for transferring of material from the spout end 87 to the storage portion 93. For example, the target transferring position or cooperative alignment can refer to registration or alignment of the spout position and the container position (e.g., for one or more sampling time periods).”; para. [0156], “[i]n one configuration, the image guidance data, the first motion data, or both is transmitted by the first wireless communications device 48 on the transferring vehicle to the second wireless communications device 148 on the receiving vehicle. On the receiving vehicle, the slave/master controller 159 receives the first motion data (and first location data) from the first location-determining receiver 42 on the transferring vehicle and second motion data (and second location data) from the second location-determining receiver 142 on the receiving vehicle. The slave/master controller 159 generates an error or control data for controlling the steering system 30, braking system 34, and propulsion system 38 of the receiving vehicle, where the error or control data is based on the difference between the first motion data and the second motion data (and the first location data and second location data.”; see also para. ), a rate of change, and/or an acceleration of change of the determined position of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester between the different points in time (see above citation to para. [0156]).
Regarding claim 3, Puryk discloses processinq, by the one or more computer processors, the obtained image data to additionally determine an orientation of the nearby trailer relative to the agricultural harvester (material unloading location (“MUL”) includes accounting for orientation; see para. [0055]—[0057], [0113], and [0222]), a filling level of the nearby trailer (para. [0054], “[a] fill characteristic may refer to a fill profile of the container, the distance separating a peak of material from the edge of the container or the like.”), and a crop pile shape of crop inside the nearby trailer (para. [0046], “The disclosed systems and methods utilize a fill model that models, estimates and predicts a fill characteristic of the container, such as a fill profile of the container, based upon several variables such as material unloading times, corresponding material unloading rates (zero and non-zero “rates”) and corresponding material unloading locations.”).
Regarding claim 6, Puryk discloses adjustinq the harvestinq setting of the agricultural harvester comprises one of: adapting, by the one or more computer processors, a travel speed and/or travel direction of the agricultural harvester (para. [0119], “[t]he alignment module 24, the master/slave controller 59, or both, may send commands or requests to the transferring vehicle with respect to its speed, velocity or heading to maintain alignment of the position of the transferring vehicle with respect to the receiving vehicle. For example, the alignment module 24 may transmit a request for a change in a spatial offset between the vehicles to the master/slave controller 59. In response, the master/slave controller 59 or the coordination module 57 transmits a steering command or heading command to the steering controller 32, a braking or deceleration command to a braking system 34, and a propulsion, acceleration or torque command to a propulsion controller 40 to achieve the target spatial offset or change in spatial offset. Further, similar command data may be transmitted via the wireless communication devices (48, 148) to the receiving vehicle for observational purposes or control of the receiving vehicle via its steering system controller 32, its braking controller 36, and its propulsion controller 40 of the system 311 of FIG. 14A.”),
adjusting, by the one or more computer processors, an orientation of an unload spout or unload tube of the agricultural harvester relative to the agricultural harvester (para. [0053], “[i]n some implementations, the MUL location may be adjusted by adjusting the relative position of a discharge point of the gathering/harvesting vehicle and the container while the relative positioning of the vehicles themselves does not change. For example, the spout of a harvester may be elevated, rotated or otherwise moved relative to the remainder of the gathering/harvesting vehicle and relative to the container of the transport vehicle.”),
adjusting, by the one or more computer processors, an ejection power of a crop expel system of the agricultural harvester (para. [0052], “[a] material unloading rate (MUR) may refer to the rate at which the material is unloaded or discharged into the container. This may be adjusted by controlling the rate at which a belt, conveyor, auger or other component conveys or otherwise moves the material from a gathering/harvesting vehicle into the container of a transport vehicle.”), and
adjusting, by the one or more computer processors, a configuration of the unload spout or unload tube of the agricultural harvester (para. [0052], “[t]he material unloading location (MUL) relates to the location at which the material is dropped into or discharged into the container.”; para. [0053], “[i]n some implementations, the MUL location may be adjusted by adjusting the relative position of a discharge point of the gathering/harvesting vehicle and the container while the relative positioning of the vehicles themselves does not change. For example, the spout of a harvester may be elevated, rotated or otherwise moved relative to the remainder of the gathering/harvesting vehicle and relative to the container of the transport vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 7, Puryk discloses wherein the optical sensor is a point cloud sensor (para. [0054], “[e]xamples of sensor that may be utilized as part of the perception system include, but are not limited to, cameras, lidar, radar, ultrasonic sensors and the like. The perception signals produced by such perception systems may be signals that represent images or signals that represent point clouds.” Lidar generates point clouds.).
Regarding claim 8, Puryk discloses wherein the point cloud sensor is a LiDAR sensor (para. [0054], “[e]xamples of sensor that may be utilized as part of the perception system include, but are not limited to, cameras, lidar, radar, ultrasonic sensors and the like. The perception signals produced by such perception systems may be signals that represent images or signals that represent point clouds.” Lidar generates point clouds.).
Regarding claim 12, Puryk discloses [a] system for controlling a crop transfer process for transferring crop between an agricultural harvester and a first trailer (para. [0046], “[d]isclosed are systems and methods that facilitate the automated unloading of material, such as crop material, into a container of a transport vehicle… The disclosed systems and methods may utilize the fill model to determine a current fill characteristic or state (fill profile) of the container and/or adjust any current unloading parameters based upon the current fill characteristic or state.”), the system comprising:
an optical sensor for obtaining image data relating to the first trailer (first image device 10 and second image device 12 as described in para. [0106]—[0109] which function as the sensors of the perception system; see also para. [0054], “[e]xamples of sensor that may be utilized as part of the perception system include, but are not limited to, cameras, lidar, radar, ultrasonic sensors and the like. The perception signals produced by such perception systems may be signals that represent images or signals that represent point clouds.”; para. [0054], “[d]isclosed are example systems and methods that additionally offer the option of determining the current fill characteristic or state of the container and/or adjusting the MUT, the MUR and/or the MUL using a perception system. The perception system may utilize sensors that output perception data or perception signals representing at least one actual fill characteristic or state of the container. A fill characteristic may refer to a fill profile of the container, the distance separating a peak of material from the edge of the container or the like.”), and
one or more computer processors operatively coupled to the optical sensor (the unloading controller is a processor, see para. [0109], and [0113]; fill model 220 receives data from image processing model 18 which may include), the one or more computer processors:
(i) at different points in time (the image devices gather data over time to inform the perception system, fill model 220, unloading controller 1024, and the alignment module 24), use the optical sensor (first image device 10 and second image device 12 as described in para. [0106]—[0109]) of the agricultural harvester to obtain image data relating to the first trailer (see para. [0106]—[0109]; the optical sensors gather data over time which is used in the perception system, fill model 220, unloading controller 1024, and the alignment module 24),
(ii) process the obtained image data (unloading controller and fill model 220 process image data of image devices 10 and 12; para. [0109], “[t]he unloading controller 1024 serves as an image processing module.”; para. [0113], “the unloading controller 1024 comprises a container module 20, a spout module 22, an alignment module 24, a material profile module 27, and an arbiter 25. Each module may comprise a software module, an electronic module, or both, where the software module comprises software instructions for executing functions described in this document.”) to determine a position of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester (the material unloading location (“MUL”), which is determined from the image data, is used to maintain alignment between the harvester and the trailer and is the relative position) at the different points in time (para. [0119], “[t]he alignment module 24, the master/slave controller 59, or both estimate or determine motion commands at regular intervals to maintain alignment of the spout (56 or 89) over the central zone, central region or target of the container 85 for unloading agricultural material.” See FIG. 12 where first imaging data 10 and second imaging data 12 are provided to the modules of unloading controller 1024 including alignment module 24 where the alignment module processes the image data to perform the actions described in para. [0119]—[0120]. Examiner notes that the unloading controller processes the image data to determine the material unloading location (MUL) which requires determining and tracking the relative positions of the harvester and the trailer over time.)
(iii) based on the determined positions of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester at the different points in time (the location of the harvester relative to the trailer (e.g., material unloading location or MUL) is determined by optical data and provided to the fill model 220 which predicts the future fill profile based on the material unloading location (MUL)), estimate the position of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester (material unloading location (“MUL”) estimates are created by predicting future fill behavior using fill model 220; para. [0052] “[t]he material unloading location (MUL) relates to the location at which the material is dropped into or discharged into the container. The MUL location may be adjusted by adjusting the relative position or location of the gathering/harvesting vehicle and the transport vehicle. For example, the container carried, pulled or pushed by the transport vehicle may be moved relative to the gathering/harvesting vehicle or a spout or other discharge point of the harvesting vehicle.”; para. [0065], “[f]ill model 220 may be used to estimate or predict what regions of the interior of the container are filled with material for a given set of historical values for various fill variables… fill model 220 may be used to select values for the variables to achieve a desired or target fill profile for the container.”; para. [0066], “fill model 220 may be based upon multiple model variables 225 such as MUT 225, MUR 226 and MUL 228.” Examiner notes the fill model implicitly uses an estimate of future MUL values to predict fill conditions in the trailer. Moreover, even in conditions where the future MUL value is the most recently measured value, any future predictions using that value implicitly make the MUL value an estimate) at a further point in time (the fill model 220 runs multiple simulations to generate predictions, which require values for material unloading location (“MUL”), at further points in time, as described in the citations below; para. [0061], “the fill model is dynamically adjusted or updated using the perception data acquired by the perception system… As a result, the fill model may be updated so as be more accurate for when the fill model is used in place of the perception system to estimate the current fill state or characteristic of the container and/or to adjust ongoing unloading parameters such as MUR and MUL.”; para. [0067], “fill model 220 may be based upon other variables provided by multiple data streams. For example, data streams from the transport vehicle… and data streams from the gathering/harvesting vehicle may be utilized to form the fill model. Examples of data streams from the transport vehicle include, but not limited to, position data, velocity and heading data… may serve to form fill model 220 and to use the fill model 220.”), the further point in time beinq later than the different points in time (the predictions of fill model 220 are at a further point in time than the previously gathered data), and
(iv) change a harvestinq setting of the agricultural (e.g., “transferring vehicle” as discussed in para. [0119]) to adjust the crop transfer process in dependence of the estimated position of the first trailer (“receiving vehicle” as discussed in para. [0119]; see citation to para. [0106] as provided above) relative to the agricultural harvester at the further point in time (para. [0065], “fill model 220 may be used to select values for the variables to achieve a desired or target fill profile for the container.”; para. [0222], “alignment module 24 and master/slave controller 59 are additionally operable in the model mode of operation described above. When in the model mode of operation, alignment module 24 and/or master/slave controller 59 determine a current fill state or characteristic (fill profile) of the container using the fill model 220 and/or generate control signals adjusting the ongoing MUR and/or MUL based upon fill model 220 as described above.”; para. [0119], “[t]he alignment module 24, the master/slave controller 59, or both estimate or determine motion commands at regular intervals to maintain alignment of the spout (56 or 89) over the central zone, central region or target of the container 85 for unloading agricultural material. The alignment module 24, the master/slave controller 59, or both, may send commands or requests to the transferring vehicle with respect to its speed, velocity or heading to maintain alignment of the position of the transferring vehicle with respect to the receiving vehicle. For example, the alignment module 24 may transmit a request for a change in a spatial offset between the vehicles to the master/slave controller 59. In response, the master/slave controller 59 or the coordination module 57 transmits a steering command or heading command to the steering controller 32, a braking or deceleration command to a braking system 34, and a propulsion, acceleration or torque command to a propulsion controller 40 to achieve the target spatial offset or change in spatial offset. Further, similar command data may be transmitted via the wireless communication devices (48, 148) to the receiving vehicle for observational purposes or control of the receiving vehicle via its steering system controller 32, its braking controller 36, and its propulsion controller 40 of the system 311 of FIG. 14A.”).
Regarding claim 13, Puryk discloses [a]n agricultural harvester comprising the system as claimed in claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12; para. [0084], “[s]ystem 300 facilitates the automated unloading of material, such as grain, from a gathering/harvesting vehicle, such as a harvester, into a container of a transport vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 14, Puryk discloses wherein the agricultural harvester is a forage harvester or a combine harvester (para. [0067], “the gathering/harvesting vehicle, such as the combine harvester”).
Regarding claim 15, Puryk discloses [a] non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (para. [0068], “[f]ill model 220 may be stored in a persistent storage device for access by unloading controller 224.”; see data storage device 19; Examiner notes the unloading controller 224/1024 has access to a storage device to perform the limitations mapped in claim 1), thereon that when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to execute the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Published US Patent Application to Kormann (US 20100332051 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kormann discloses [a] method of controlling a crop transfer process for transferring crop between an agricultural harvester and a first trailer (see Abstract), the method comprising: using an optical sensor (sensor arrangement 126, para. [0026], “the harvesting machine 10 is equipped with a sensor arrangement 126 that is arranged at the outer end of the transfer device 40 and is used to detect the contours of the loading container 18, 18' and/or of its fill level with harvested crop. Alternatively or additionally, a sensor arrangement 126' is attached above the roof of the cab 26 on a telescoping mount 128 that is moved into its extended position during harvest mode”) of the agricultural harvester to obtain image data (camera data combined with range meter data, see below) relating to the first trailer (para. [0012], “[t]he sensor arrangement comprises preferably an imaging sensor, in particular a two-dimensional operating camera that can be used in combination with a contactless range meter, for example, one based on real time measurement using optical or acoustical waves to obtain range values for determining the fill level of the loading container. Also, a three-dimensional operating camera can be used which can be designed as a photonic mixer device. Additionally or alternatively, a range sensor can be used, in particular a laser rangefinder which senses the particular surface in two dimensions (see the disclosure in DE 10 2008 015 277 A1 incorporated herein by reference). It is expedient for the sensor arrangement to view the loading container from above. It can be attached at a suitable height to the outer end of the discharge device or to a separate mount on the harvesting machine.” Examiner notes the described sensor arrangement gathers image data including range meter and/or range finder data from the first trailer/loading container using a sensor arrangement located on the harvester),
processing, by one or more computer processors, the obtained image data to determine a position of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester (see para. [0012] as provided above along with the abstract; the image sensor collects range data (e.g., distance/relative position data) which is used to determine a distance between the harvester and fill line of the loading container. The distance between the harvester and the fill line, which constitutes a position of the first trailer relative to the agricultural harvester, is used to determine the fill level in the container)
receiving, at the one or more computer processors, a trailer swap signal (para. [0039], “[i]f it is determined at step 208 that the loading container is entirely filled, then the program continues to step 214 in that the control unit 112 checks the data from the processing unit 130 to determine whether a second loading container 18' is detected therein… if a second loading container 18' is detected, the program continues to step 216 in that the discharge device 40 is directed to the second loading container 18', in that the actuators 46, 48, 52 are controlled in a suitable manner.” The signal that the first container is filled is a trailer swap signal),
estimating, by the one or more computer processors, a position of a second trailer relative to the agricultural harvester (the same sensors system as used above for the first trailer is used on the second trailer both to find the trailer and to swap to the trailer) based on the determined position of the first trailer (para. [0009], “[t]he sensor arrangement detects not only the fill level and/or the contours of the loading container, but rather also is capable of detecting the position of a second loading container, to the extent that it is located sufficiently close to the harvesting machine.”; para. [0039], “[i]f it is determined at step 208 that the loading container is entirely filled, then the program continues to step 214 in that the control unit 112 checks the data from the processing unit 130 to determine whether a second loading container 18' is detected therein... if a second loading container 18' is detected, the program continues to step 216 in that the discharge device 40 is directed to the second loading container 18', in that the actuators 46, 48, 52 are controlled in a suitable manner.” Once the distance between the harvester and the fill line of the loading container indicate that the loading container is full, the harvester automatically swaps to the second trailer and continues the same process of monitoring the fill line. The location of the second trailer is identified from the sensor arrangement (e.g., which informs the control arrangement, see Abstract). Estimating the position of the second trailer is based on the determined position of the first trailer in that once the first trailer is full, the operation swaps to the second trailer)
adjusting the crop transfer process, by the one or more computer processors, in dependence of the estimated position of the second trailer relative to the agricultural harvester, in order to cease transferring crop between the agricultural harvester and the first trailer and to start transferring crop between the agricultural harvester and the second trailer (Abstract, “the sensor arrangement is designed to detect the position of a second loading container and that the control arrangement can be operated so that after detection of an overall sufficiently filled first loading container, the discharge device will be automatically aligned to the second loading container based on the signals from the sensor arrangement.”; para. [0009], “[a]s soon as it is determined that the first loading container has reached a pre-determined, target fill level, the control device will automatically align the discharge device to the second loading container by using the signals of the sensor arrangement… Next, the second loading container will be filled in the same way as the first loading container was filled.”; para. [0010], “In this manner not only is the successive loading of the first loading container automated, but also the change of the discharge device to the second loading container, which relieves the operator completely from the task of monitoring the transfer of the harvested crop and of operating the discharge device. The signals from the sensor arrangement are used for both tasks.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published US Patent Application to Puryk et al., hereinafter “Puryk” (US 20210195840 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of German Patent Document to Bohne (DE 102014108947 A1) an English translation of which is provided herewith.
Regarding claim 4, Puryk discloses sensing airborne particulates with the sensing system. For example, Puryk at para. [0060] states “sensed lighting conditions, sensed airborne particulates such as dust or chaff, and/or degree of occlusion or blockage of a sensor (such as the degree of occlusion of a camera lens or the like) may serve as a basis for the controller automatically switching between use of the fill model and the perception system.” However Puryk may not disclose the limitations of claim 4. German Patent Document to Bohne (DE 102014108947 A1), which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to a process of harvesting crops, teaches the deficient limitations.
For example, Bohne teaches processing the obtained image data to determine a crop cloud parameter (“crop loss (10)” determined from “cloud (8)” which is measured by “camera (2)”) of the transferred crop at the different points in time (Bohne, Abstract, “[i]n order to monitor loss crops (10) separated during movement of crop material (5), an image of one of the loss crops (10) is taken in the region of an aggregate with which the crop material (5) is moved with a camera (2) ) and the image of the cloud (8) is automatically evaluated with respect to the loss crop (10) in the image. An evaluation device (14) has an input (13) for the image of the camera (2) and a processor (15) with control logic for monitoring the loss crop (10).”),
based on the determined crop cloud parameter at the different points in time (para. [0016], “an increase in the size of the cloud between two points in time can be interpreted as an increase in the amount of lost crop material, which may indicate a need to change the operating parameters of the swather.”; para. [0017], “[t]he change in the characteristic parameter can be permanently output at the output device or made available on request or when a specific criterion is met. This can include, for example, the output of a percentage or absolute change over a predetermined period and/or a graphical representation, for example in the form of a trend chart.), estimating the crop cloud parameter at the further point in time (based on the generated trend of para. [0017], and the predetermined crop loss threshold of para. [0021], one would implicitly understand that unless the operations were adjusted the crop loss would continue near or above the predetermined crop loss threshold. Accordingly, the operation is modified as described below to circumnavigate the continued crop loss such that it is below the threshold. See para. [0021].), and
adjusting the crop transfer process in dependence of the estimated crop cloud parameter (para. [0015], “[i]n a further embodiment of the invention, one or at least one characteristic parameter can be output by an output device in order to inform the driver of the result of the evaluation, thereby enabling the driver to be warned in particular and/or to initiate suitable countermeasures to reduce crop loss, such as adjusting the operating parameters of the unit and/or the driving speed.”; para. [0021], “[f]or maximum efficiency, the driving speed and the PTO speed can be adjusted so that, for example, the amount of lost crop does not exceed a predetermined limit. If the limit is exceeded, the swather can be slowed down or the PTO speed reduced. Control or regulation is also possible, for example, for one direction of travel of the towing vehicle with the swather. For example, it can be chosen in such a way as to minimize the influence of the wind on the loss of the harvested crop.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the crop cloud analysis feature of Bohne to the method of Puryk. The feature of Bohne can be directly added, as performed by Bohne, into the method of Puryk such that the combination is performed by known methods. The combination would generate the predictable result of providing for a method of reducing crop loss by adjusting operational parameters to maintain the crop loss below a threshold. Moreover, one would be motivated to incorporate this feature where crop loss negatively impacts the efficiency of an operation (e.g., as implied in para. [0021] of Bohne).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published US Patent Application to Puryk et al., hereinafter “Puryk” (US 20210195840 A1) and German Patent Document to Bohne (DE 102014108947 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Published US Patent Application to Bonefas et al., hereinafter “Bonefas” (US 20170042089 A1).
With regards to claim 5, Puryk modified by Bohne teach taking the wind into consideration when performing a harvesting operation. For example, Bohne at para. [0021] states “[f]or maximum efficiency, the driving speed and the PTO speed can be adjusted so that, for example, the amount of lost crop does not exceed a predetermined limit…. Control or regulation is also possible, for example, for one direction of travel of the towing vehicle with the swather. For example, it can be chosen in such a way as to minimize the influence of the wind on the loss of the harvested crop.” Bohne at para. [0044] further states “For example, in process step 37 the driving speed of the swather 3 can be controlled and/or regulated… in process step 39 the orientation of the direction of travel 7 of the swather 3 relative to, for example, the wind.” Accordingly, Puryk modified by Bohne is aware that the wind impacts the operation and takes associated measures to mitigate negative impact. However, Puryk modified by Bohne may not disclose the limitations of claim 5.
Bonefas, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to transferring crop products from a harvester to a container, teaches the deficient limitations. For example, Bonefas teaches wherein estimating the crop cloud parameter at the further point in time comprises determining a wind speed and direction (para. [0123], “material projection module 411 calculates the landing point by using the crop material exit point and exit angle from the kinematic module 410 in addition to other parameters such as material initial velocity (preprogrammed or from a machine controller via CAN bus 86), crop type, crop moisture, mass flow, wind speed, wind direction, machine roll, and machine pitch. As shown in FIG. 11, these parameters are inputs to the material projection module 411. Depending on the extent to which these parameters affect the crop flight, the projection module 411 can make an assumption about the deceleration of the crop material from the exit point to the landing point.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the wind speed and wind direction used to determine a crop trajectory into the crop cloud analysis of Puryk as modified by Bohne. The wind speed and wind direction variables could be incorporated into the crop cloud analysis of Bohne by known methods as set forth in Bonefas where the inclusion would create the predictable result of further accounting for crop flight parameters between the harvester and trailer (e.g., the area in which the crop cloud is generated) with respect to the wind parameters.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published US Patent Application to Kormann (US 20100332051 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Published US Patent Application to Hanrieder (US 20220122197 A1).
Regarding claim 10, while Kormann discloses that the second trailer may be located such that it is not visible by the sensor arrangement, Kormann does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 10. However, Published US Patent Application to Hanrieder, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to automation of harvesting equipment depicts, and therefore teaches, a situation where a second trailer is partially obscured by a first trailer.
For example, FIG. 2 of Hanrieder depicts Harvesting Vehicle 24B-2, Transport Vehicle 26D-2 (e.g., a first trailer), and Transport Vehicle 26B-1 (e.g., a second trailer) where Harvesting Vehicle 24B-2 is unloading into Transport Vehicle 26D-2 while Transport Vehicle 26B-1 is navigating the perimeter of the field in a manner such that Transport Vehicle 26D-2 will, at some point in time, be located between Harvesting Vehicle 24B-2 and Transport Vehicle 26B-1 such that at least a portion of Transport Vehicle 26B-1 is blocked from the view of Harvester 24B-2. Moreover, while prior art is set forth which depicts an example situation in which the limitations of claim 10 would occur, it should be implicitly understood that anytime multiple, independent pieces of equipment are located with the same work environment, there will be at least one point in time where those pieces of equipment cross paths and block each other.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the specific sensor occlusion situation of Hanrieder among the generically recite situations where the second trailer is not visible of Kormann where the situation depicted by Hanrieder would function the same in Hanrieder as in Kormann to achieve the predictable result of equipment blocking the sensors of other equipment in accordance with the placement of the equipment in a shared work space.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/U.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676