DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-8 are currently pending and are addressed below.
The examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mizutani Makoto et al. (US20140046515A1), hereinafter referred to as Makoto.
Regarding claim 1, Makoto discloses: a system for controlling a watercraft (see at least Makoto, Fig.1, ¶¶ [0058]-[0060]) the system comprising:
a bow thruster including a port oriented in an obliquely forward direction of the watercraft (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0059], [0062], [0097]-[0098] which discloses a bow thruster including a port oriented in an obliquely forward direction of the watercraft)
an outboard motor steerable right and left and being an only outboard motor attached to the watercraft (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0026]-[0030], [0061]-[0063] which discloses an outboard motor steerable right and left and being an only outboard motor attached to the watercraft)
a controller configured or programmed to control the outboard motor and the bow thruster to cause the watercraft to move sideways by a net force of a first thrust generated by the bow thruster and a second thrust generated by the outboard motor (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0100]-[0102] which discloses a control system configured to control the outboard motor and bow thruster in a drive pattern to cause the watercraft to move sides in the direction in which the lateral lever has been tilted; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount from the neutral position of the level)
Regarding claim 2, Makoto discloses: the system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to:
determine a target moving direction of the watercraft (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0005]-[0006], [0027]-[0028] which discloses determine a target moving direction of the watercraft)
control a magnitude of the first thrust generated by the bow thruster, a magnitude of the second thrust generated by the outboard motor, and a rudder angle of the outboard motor such that the net force of the first thrust and the second thrust is oriented in the target moving direction (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0103]-[0105] which discloses controlling and determining a magnitude of the thrust force of the bow thruster (first thrust) and thrust force of the outboard motor; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount in the target moving direction)
Regarding claim 3, Makoto discloses: the system according to claim 1, wherein the outboard motor is configured to be steered within a steering range including a straight sideways direction (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0100]-[0101] which discloses the outboard motor is configured to be steered within a steering range including a straight sideways direction)
Regarding claim 4, Makoto discloses: the system according to claim 1, wherein:
the outboard motor is switchable from a neutral state to a right steering state and a left steering state (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0036], which discloses the general switchable steering states of front, rear, left, and right about an axis from a neutral state; [0100]-[0102] which discloses a control system configured to control the outboard motor and bow thruster in a drive pattern to cause the watercraft to move sides in the direction in which the lateral lever has been tilted; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount from the neutral position of the level)
the outboard motor being oriented in a straight rear direction of the watercraft in the neutral state (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0060]-[0061] which discloses the outboard motor being oriented in a straight rear direction of the watercraft in the neutral state)
in a direction slanted rightward from the straight rear direction of the watercraft in the right steering state (seat least Makoto, ¶¶ [0036], [0027], which discloses a front-rear direction, which means in a direction slanted rightward from the straight rear direction of the watercraft in the right steering state)
in a direction slanted leftward from the straight rear direction of the watercraft in the left steering state (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0036], which discloses the general switchable steering states of front, rear, left, and right about an axis from a neutral state; [0100]-[0102] which discloses a control system configured to control the outboard motor and bow thruster in a drive pattern to cause the watercraft to move sides in the direction in which the lateral lever has been tilted; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount from the neutral position of the level, this includes in a direction slanted leftward from the straight rear direction of the watercraft in the left steering state)
the controller is configured or programmed to:
determine a target moving direction of the watercraft (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0005]-[0006], [0027]-[0028] which discloses determine a target moving direction of the watercraft)
cause the bow thruster to jet a stream of water right-forward and set the outboard motor to the right steering state when the target moving direction of the watercraft is either a left direction or an obliquely left direction (see at least Makoto, [0100]-[0102] which discloses a control system configured to control the outboard motor and bow thruster in a drive pattern to cause the watercraft to move sides in the direction in which the lateral lever has been tilted; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount from the neutral position of the level; ¶¶ [0103]-[0105] which discloses controlling and determining a magnitude of the thrust force of the bow thruster (first thrust) and thrust force of the outboard motor; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount in the target moving direction)
cause the bow thruster to jet a stream of water left-forward and set the outboard motor to the left steering state when the target moving direction of the watercraft is either a right direction or an obliquely right direction (see at least Makoto, [0100]-[0102] which discloses a control system configured to control the outboard motor and bow thruster in a drive pattern to cause the watercraft to move sides in the direction in which the lateral lever has been tilted; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount from the neutral position of the level; ¶¶ [0103]-[0105] which discloses controlling and determining a magnitude of the thrust force of the bow thruster (first thrust) and thrust force of the outboard motor; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount in the target moving direction)
Regarding claim 5, Makoto discloses: the system according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to:
determine a target turning direction of the watercraft (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0005]-[0006], [0027]-[0028] which discloses determine a target moving direction of the watercraft)
control the outboard motor and the bow thruster such that the net force of the first thrust generated by the bow thruster and the second thrust generated by the outboard motor extends through a position located ahead of a center of resistance of the watercraft when the target turning direction is a left turning direction (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0103]-[0105] which discloses controlling and determining a magnitude of the thrust force of the bow thruster (first thrust) and thrust force of the outboard motor; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount in the target moving direction)
control the outboard motor and the bow thruster such that the net force of the first thrust generated by the bow thruster and the second thrust generated by the outboard motor extends through a position located behind the center of resistance of the watercraft when the target turning direction is a right turning direction (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0103]-[0105] which discloses controlling and determining a magnitude of the thrust force of the bow thruster (first thrust) and thrust force of the outboard motor; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount in the target moving direction)
Regarding claim 6, Makoto discloses: a method of controlling a watercraft including a bow thruster and an outboard motor, the bow thruster including a port oriented in an obliquely forward direction of the watercraft, and the outboard motor steerable right and left and being an only outboard motor attached to the watercraft, the method comprising:
controlling the outboard motor and the bow thruster to cause the watercraft to move sideways by a net force of a first thrust generated by the bow thruster and a second thrust generated by the outboard motor (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0103]-[0105] which discloses controlling and determining a magnitude of the thrust force of the bow thruster (first thrust) and thrust force of the outboard motor; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount in the target moving direction)
Regarding claim 7, Makoto discloses: the method according to claim 6, wherein the outboard motor is switchable from a neutral state to a right steering state and a left steering state, the outboard motor being oriented in a straight rear direction of the watercraft in the neutral state, in a direction slanted rightward from the straight rear direction of the watercraft in the right steering state, and in a direction slanted leftward from the straight rear direction of the watercraft in the left steering state, the method further comprising:
determining a target moving direction of the watercraft (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0005]-[0006], [0027]-[0028] which discloses determine a target moving direction of the watercraft)
causing the bow thruster to jet a stream of water right-forward and setting the outboard motor to the right steering state when the target moving direction of the watercraft is either a left direction or an obliquely left direction (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0036], which discloses the general switchable steering states of front, rear, left, and right about an axis from a neutral state; [0100]-[0102] which discloses a control system configured to control the outboard motor and bow thruster in a drive pattern to cause the watercraft to move sides in the direction in which the lateral lever has been tilted; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount from the neutral position of the level)
causing the bow thruster to jet a stream of water left-forward and setting the outboard motor to the left steering state when the target moving direction of the watercraft is either a right direction or an obliquely right direction (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0036], which discloses the general switchable steering states of front, rear, left, and right about an axis from a neutral state; [0100]-[0102] which discloses a control system configured to control the outboard motor and bow thruster in a drive pattern to cause the watercraft to move sides in the direction in which the lateral lever has been tilted; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount from the neutral position of the level)
Regarding claim 8, Makoto discloses: the method according to claim 7, further comprising:
determining a target turning direction of the watercraft (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0005]-[0006], [0027]-[0028] which discloses determine a target moving direction of the watercraft)
controlling the outboard motor and the bow thruster such that the net force of the first thrust generated by the bow thruster and the second thrust generated by the outboard motor extends through a position located ahead of a center of resistance of the watercraft when the target turning direction is a left turning direction (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0103]-[0105] which discloses controlling and determining a magnitude of the thrust force of the bow thruster (first thrust) and thrust force of the outboard motor; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount in the target moving direction, this means controlling the outboard motor and the bow thruster such that the net force of the first thrust generated by the bow thruster and the second thrust generated by the outboard motor extends through a position located ahead of a center of resistance of the watercraft when the target turning direction is a left turning direction)
controlling the outboard motor and the bow thruster such that the net force of the first thrust generated by the bow thruster and the second thrust generated by the outboard motor extends through a position located behind the center of resistance of the watercraft when the target turning direction is a right turning direction (see at least Makoto, ¶¶ [0103]-[0105] which discloses controlling and determining a magnitude of the thrust force of the bow thruster (first thrust) and thrust force of the outboard motor; the thrust forces generated by the bow thruster and outward motor determined according to the tilt amount in the target moving direction, this means controlling the outboard motor and the bow thruster such that the net force of the first thrust generated by the bow thruster and the second thrust generated by the outboard motor extends through a position located behind the center of resistance of the watercraft when the target turning direction is a right turning direction)
Conclusion
/KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664