Drawings
The drawings were received on May 2nd 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification.
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on September 8th 2026;
Claims 3 and 4-5 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 6-23 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 101 (abstract idea) have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC § 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 101 (a signal per se) have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC § 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot. While the Examiner notes that the applicant is arguing the claim limitations recite " …a zone sequence for each user by determining, for each of the individual trajectory times, a zone of the digital map in which the user was located; determining, using the analysis model, a sequence of equivalence classes for observed behavior of the ego vehicle based on the zone sequences of the users by determining a respective equivalence class for each of the individual trajectory times; determining a sequence of phases which differ: (i)in occupancy of the zones by at least one user and/or (ii) in the equivalence class for the observed behavior of the ego vehicle wherein the sequence of phases is determined by combining, for each of the individual trajectory times, the zone sequences of the users and the sequence of equivalence classes, andremoving consecutive identical phases;and assigning the observed behavior of the ego vehicle to at least one of the provided abstract scenarios based on the the sequence of phases; aggregating the abstract scenarios observed in the driving data to determine a covered subset and an uncovered subset of the set of abstract scenarios; and responsive to the uncovered subset including at least one abstract scenario, performing an additional test of the automated driving function for the at least one abstract scenario by either (i) driving the ego vehicle during a test drive or (ii) simulating driving of the ego vehicle, thereby generating additional test data covering the at least one abstract scenario.…”).Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn; However, upon further consideration a new ground(s) of rejection is made for Claim 1 over Nassar et al. (Patent No. US20220374428A1) in view of Nister (Patent no. US11789449B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11-14, 17-18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassar et al. (Patent No. US20220374428A1) in view of Nister (Patent no. US11789449B2).
Regarding claim 1 Nassar teaches, a computer-implemented method for analyzing driving data of an ego vehicle; (See Nassar column 0055 and 0041; “The method 600 may also be embodied as computer-usable instructions stored on computer storage media… the search for the relationship at the beginning time and the end time of the interval includes analyzing two frames of data, this optimization may reduce the search space so as to increase the speed of the search. As another example, after selecting t1 and t2, the compiler 112 may analyze every x number of frames (e.g., every ten, twenty, fifty frames, etc.) between t1 and t2 to confirm the spatial relationship..”); wherein the driving data are test data for testing an automated driving function and include at least trajectory data of the ego vehicle along a test route and at least trajectory data of at least one other road user in a surrounding region of the test route; (See Jurca paragraph 0160 and 0162; “ The methods and systems described herein may be implemented in a vehicle configured for fully- or semi-autonomous driving, i.e., an ego-vehicle…the detection of a neighboring vehicle driving unsafely, such as the neighboring vehicle having an anomalous trajectory…the basis of the collision avoidance strategy is that increased dynamics and unpredictability of the driving maneuvers of the vehicle being driven unsafely are assumed for the trajectory planning of the ego-vehicle…”); wherein the trajectory data include position data for the ego vehicle or other road user; (See Jurca position 0129; “In a third step 43, the system establishes the actual precise position of the discovered vehicles within the vicinity relative to their traffic lanes or, in other words, relative to the reference that has been chosen based on the markings of the traffic lanes.”);
for a sequence of individual trajectory times, the method comprising the following steps: providing for the analysis of the driving data: (i) a set of abstract scenarios; (See Nassar Abstract; “simulation data, system under test (SUT) data, and/or map data—may be executed using a query engine configured to compile detailed binary code from high-level declarative queries for searching the data to identify scenarios or engineering artifacts of interest. A user may identify a behavior or scenario of interest, define the behavior or scenario in a descriptive and/or declarative manner—including implicit indications of temporal or spatial relationships—and the query engine may then compile an explicit procedural description that may be used to search the data for one or more instances and/or variations of the defined scenario or computational representation of an engineering artifact under investigation.”); (ii) a digital map which covers the test route and the surrounding region and on which at least individual topological zones of a zone graph of the test route are geometrically located; (See Nassar paragraph 0038; “FIG. 1, once a query has been generated using the query generator 102, the query (e.g., the high level declarative query, including domain specific elements) may be processed by the query engine 104 to generate an updated query (e.g., a lower level procedural query) for searching the data sources—e.g., ground truth simulation data 120, the ground truth real-world data 122, the map data 124, and/or the SUT data 126—to identify one or more scenarios represented in the data sources that satisfy the query…”); and (iii) an analysis model for the zone graph of the test route for a zone-based determination of equivalence classes for behavior of the ego vehicle;(See Nassar paragraph 0032; “The query 200 may be designed to find scenarios where (as illustrated in visualization 212) an ego-vehicle 202 has to behave a certain way when encountering a stalled or stopped vehicle y 206 or other object in the roadway that becomes visible only after an occluding object (e.g., a vehicle x 204) departs the lane 208 of the ego-vehicle 202 (e.g., abruptly). Once the scenario is identified, the performance of the ego-vehicle during the scenario—e.g., maintaining a safe distance from vehicle x and decelerating at a rate below a max value—may be evaluated to determine whether there are an issues with the vehicle and, if present, the root cause of those issues. For example, the scenarios in the data sources may indicate that the follow distance of the ego-vehicle was too close to vehicle x at some point in time, and the SUT data 126, for example, corresponding to the same point in time may be evaluated to determine if there was an error in a perception system of the ego-vehicle, an actuation system of the ego-vehicle, an electronic control unit (ECU) of the ego-vehicle, etc. Once an issue is identified, updates or modifications may be made to increase the performance and thus the safety of the system.”); determining, using the digital map and based on the trajectory data, a zone sequence for each user by determining, for each of the individual trajectory times, a zone of the digital map in which the user was located; (See Nassar abstract and paragraph 0040; “…simulation data, system under test (SUT) data, and/or map data—may be executed using a query engine configured to compile detailed binary code from high-level declarative queries for searching the data to identify scenarios or engineering artifacts of interest…”); determining, using the analysis model, a sequence of equivalence classes for observed behavior of the ego vehicle based on the zone sequences of the users by determining a respective equivalence class for each of the individual trajectory times; (See Nassar paragraph 0033; “ The query 200 does not include any explicit temporal or spatial relationships between the actors—e.g., the ego-vehicle 202, the vehicle x 204, and the vehicle y 206—but rather includes implicit temporal and spatial relationships. These implicit relationships may be used by a compiler 112 of the query engine 204 to define explicit temporal and/or spatial relationships for searching the data sources for the specific scenario. For example, and with respect to visualization 214 of FIG. 2C, between a first time, t1, and a second time, t2, vehicle y 206 is stopped in the ego-lane 208 and the ego-vehicle 202 is following the vehicle x 204. At time, t2, vehicle x 204 begins to depart the ego-lane 208 and toward the lane 210 until the vehicle x 204 has left the ego-lane 208 and the ego-vehicle 202 is not confronted with the vehicle y 206 stopped in the ego-lane 210 at time, t3. As such, a user does not need to define the time intervals, or the times, or the spatial relationships explicitly to search the data sources, but only needs to describe what the user wants to see in the data sources at a high level, and the query engine 104 determines the existence of explicit spatial and/or temporal relationships from the high level declarative query. As such, the query engine 104 may identify a time, t1, in the data sources where vehicle y 206 is stopped and in the ego-lane 208, and the ego-vehicle 202 is following vehicle x 204. The query engine 104 may then identify another time, t2, after t1 (while ensuring the other values held true during t1 to t2) in the data sources where vehicle x 204 departs the ego-lane 208 toward the lane 210 and the vehicle y 206 is now a closest vehicle or object to the ego-vehicle 202 in the ego-lane 208. As described in more detail herein, the query engine 204 may use one or more optimizations—e.g., query optimizations, search optimizations, cache optimizations, etc. —to generate the procedural queries and execute the procedural queries more efficiently.”); determining a sequence of phases which differ: (i)in occupancy of the zones by at least one user and/or (ii) in the equivalence class for the observed behavior of the ego vehicle wherein the sequence of phases is determined by combining, for each of the individual trajectory times, the zone sequences of the users and the sequence of equivalence classes, and removing consecutive identical phases; (See Nassar paragraph 0047, 0068 and 0132; “…The data sources included in FIG. 1 are for example purposes only, and relate to an autonomous vehicle domain. However, as described herein, the data sources may be domain specific and may differ depending on the specific domain the system 100 is being implemented for. The data sources may generally include sequences of frames that each include snapshots or samples of the world state at the moment in time corresponding to the frame. As such, one or more of the data sources may correspond to a same frame or point in time, and may include timestamps or other time indicators to determine a relationship in time… One or more of the controller(s) 736 may receive inputs (e.g., represented by input data) from an instrument cluster 732 of the vehicle 700 and provide outputs (e.g., represented by output data, display data, etc.) via a human-machine interface (HMI) display 734, an audible annunciator, a loudspeaker, and/or via other components of the vehicle 700. The outputs may include information such as vehicle velocity, speed, time, map data (e.g., the HD map 722 of FIG. 7C), location data (e.g., the vehicle's 700 location, such as on a map), direction, location of other vehicles (e.g., an occupancy grid), information about objects and status of objects as perceived by the controller(s) 736, etc. For example, the HMI display 734 may display information about the presence of one or more objects (e.g., a street sign, caution sign, traffic light changing, etc.), and/or information about driving maneuvers the vehicle has made, is making, or will make (e.g., changing lanes now, taking exit 34B in two miles, etc.)… The vehicle 700 may further include GNSS sensor(s) 758. The GNSS sensor(s) 758 (e.g., GPS, assisted GPS sensors, differential GPS (DGPS) sensors, etc.), to assist in mapping, perception, occupancy grid generation, and/or path planning functions.”);
aggregating the abstract scenarios observed in the driving data to determine a covered subset and an uncovered subset of the set of abstract scenarios; (See Nassar paragraph 0054; “In some embodiments, performance of the vehicle 700 in simulation and in the real-world may be compared to improve the simulation system. For example, a same scenario may be tested in simulation and in the real-world using a real-world vehicle and a simulated version of the real-world vehicle (which may include hardware-in-the-loop, software-in-the-loop, etc.). These scenarios may be identified using the query engine 104, and the performance across both the real-world and the simulated versions may be compared. For example, a virtual sensor model may be used for the vehicle in the simulation environment that is intended to mimic the sensor model of the real-world sensor of the vehicle 700. However, when comparing the scenarios in real-world and simulation, it may be determined that the virtual sensor model is not as accurate as needed, and the virtual sensor model may be updated. This may result in a more accurate simulation test environment and a more accurate virtual representation of the vehicle.”); and responsive to the uncovered subset including at least one abstract scenario, performing an additional test of the automated driving function for the at least one abstract scenario by either; (See Nassar paragraph 0054 and 0056; “In some embodiments, performance of the vehicle 700 in simulation and in the real-world may be compared to improve the simulation system. For example, a same scenario may be tested in simulation and in the real-world using a real-world vehicle and a simulated version of the real-world vehicle (which may include hardware-in-the-loop, software-in-the-loop, etc.). These scenarios may be identified using the query engine 104, and the performance across both the real-world and the simulated versions may be compared. For example, a virtual sensor model may be used for the vehicle in the simulation environment that is intended to mimic the sensor model of the real-world sensor of the vehicle 700. However, when comparing the scenarios in real-world and simulation, it may be determined that the virtual sensor model is not as accurate as needed, and the virtual sensor model may be updated. This may result in a more accurate simulation test environment and a more accurate virtual representation of the vehicle… FIG. 6 is a flow diagram of a method 600 for executing a query using a query engine, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure The method 600, at block B602, includes receiving data representative of an initial query, the initial query including an indication of one or more objects, one or more implicit relationships in time or space between the one or more objects and an ego-machine, and one or more requirements for the ego-machine, the initial query corresponding, at least in part, to a world model of a domain corresponding to a plurality of searchable data. For example, the query engine 104 may receive an initial declarative query from the query generator 102.”); (i) driving the ego vehicle during a test drive or (ii) simulating driving of the ego vehicle; (See Nassar paragraph 0053; “…Where coverage amounts are not satisfied—e.g., where a required test scenario is not present in the data, or enough alternatives of the test scenario are not present in the data—new drives in the real-world or in simulation may be conducted to attempt to satisfy the coverage requirements for the vehicle.”); thereby generating additional test data covering the at least one abstract scenario; (See Nassar paragraph 0030; “he queries generated by the query generator 102 may be expressed, in embodiments, using first order logic to define, e.g., time variables, object variables, quantifiers (for all, for some, etc.), predicates, and/or functions. In some embodiments, first order interval logic may be used which may similar to the first order logic, but may include implicit time indications as formulas may be defined over intervals. As such, the queries generated by the query generator 102 may include explicit values and/or implicit indications of relationships in time and/or space. For example, phrases or operations such as “following,” “sequential,” “eventually,” etc. may include implicit indications of time and/or space. In such an example, “following” may include an implicit indication that one object (e.g., a first vehicle) is following—e.g., located behind in a same lane of travel—as another object (e.g., a second vehicle). Similarly, “eventually” may include an implicit indication that at some point in time a state, action, actor, event, etc. takes place, which means there is a first time frame prior to the point in time, a second time frame corresponding to the state, action, actor, event, etc., and/or a third time frame after the point in time or after the state, action, actor, event, etc. takes place. As another example, “sequential” may include an implicit indication that two or more things are taking place over an (at least partially) overlapping period of time. As a result, these phrases or operators may be used by the query engine 104 to generate more low level procedural queries that include explicit values, such as a time, t1, a time, t2, and/or a time, t3, corresponding to the “eventually” example described above, and then to search the data sources to identify a scenario that satisfies the requirements within the time windows. The explicit values in the initial query from the query generator 102 may correspond to objects, actions, events, etc., such as vehicles, pedestrians, signs, changing lanes, etc.”).
Nassar does not explicitly teach but Nister teaches, and assigning the observed behavior of the ego vehicle to at least one of the provided abstract scenarios based on the sequence of phases; (See Nister column 22, line 32-48; “As another example, the proposed path or trajectory analyzer 114 may determine a level or degree of safety for a target position representative of how close an arrival time for the trajectory 502 to the target position is to a safe arrival time for the target position. The proposed path or trajectory analyzer 114 may deem the trajectory 502 unsafe where the level or degree of safety for at least one target position is below a threshold value. Where all target positions are within the threshold value for the trajectory 502, the proposed path or trajectory analyzer 114 may still determine the trajectory is safe. As a further example, the proposed path or trajectory analyzer 114 may assign a level or degree of safety to the overall trajectory 502, which may correspond to the level or degree of safety at multiple target positions (e.g., a worst level or degree of safety, an average level or degree of safety, a level or degree of safety otherwise statistically derived from multiple target positions, etc.).”).
Both Nassar and Nister are in the same field of analyzing driving data of an ego vehicle. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Nassar method and system for analyzing driving data of an ego vehicle with Nister trajectory data of at least one other road user in a surrounding region. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Nassar by adding trajectory data of at least one other road user in a surrounding region will make the scenarios more detailed with adding additional users in vehicle trajectory. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 1, Nassar further teaches, wherein the determination of the sequence of equivalence classes for the observed behavior of the ego vehicle is also based on further driving data; (See Nassar paragraph 0036; “As another example of a query 400, and with respect to FIGS. 4A-4B, the query 400 may be generated to find scenarios represented in the data sources—e.g., as represented by visualization 410—that include an ego-vehicle 402 (e.g., ego-vehicle 402A and 402B) and a sport utility vehicle 404 (e.g., sport utility vehicle 404A and 404B), where the sport utility vehicle 404 is behind the ego-vehicle 402 in the ego-lane, and the sport utility vehicle 404 is attempting to overtake the ego-vehicle 402. The query 400 includes another type of query operator 108, “alternate phase,” where various alternatives may be used to satisfy the scenario of the query 400.”).
Regarding claim 6 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 1, Nassar further teaches, wherein the provided set of abstract scenarios fulfills a specified completeness criterion; (See Nassar abstract; “…A user may identify a behavior or scenario of interest, define the behavior or scenario in a descriptive and/or declarative manner—including implicit indications of temporal or spatial relationships—and the query engine may then compile an explicit procedural description that may be used to search the data for one or more instances and/or variations of the defined scenario or computational representation of an engineering artifact under investigation. Once the scenarios are identified, behaviors of the machine may be observed, criteria with respect to the machine performance may be evaluated, and/or test coverage with respect to the scenario type may be collected.”).
Both Nassar and Nister are in the same field of analyzing driving data of an ego vehicle. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Nassar method and system for analyzing driving data of an ego vehicle with Nister set of abstract scenarios fulfills a specified completeness criterion. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Nassar by adding the set of abstract scenarios fulfills a specified completeness criterion will provide information on the when the scenario is completed. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 7 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 1, Nassar further teaches, wherein at least some of the provided abstract scenarios are determined using the analysis model as a defined sequence of phases ; (See Nassar paragraph 0033; “ The query 200 does not include any explicit temporal or spatial relationships between the actors—e.g., the ego-vehicle 202, the vehicle x 204, and the vehicle y 206—but rather includes implicit temporal and spatial relationships. These implicit relationships may be used by a compiler 112 of the query engine 204 to define explicit temporal and/or spatial relationships for searching the data sources for the specific scenario. For example, and with respect to visualization 214 of FIG. 2C, between a first time, t1, and a second time, t2, vehicle y 206 is stopped in the ego-lane 208 and the ego-vehicle 202 is following the vehicle x 204. At time, t2, vehicle x 204 begins to depart the ego-lane 208 and toward the lane 210 until the vehicle x 204 has left the ego-lane 208 and the ego-vehicle 202 is not confronted with the vehicle y 206 stopped in the ego-lane 210 at time, t3. As such, a user does not need to define the time intervals, or the times, or the spatial relationships explicitly to search the data sources, but only needs to describe what the user wants to see in the data sources at a high level, and the query engine 104 determines the existence of explicit spatial and/or temporal relationships from the high level declarative query. As such, the query engine 104 may identify a time, t1, in the data sources where vehicle y 206 is stopped and in the ego-lane 208, and the ego-vehicle 202 is following vehicle x 204. The query engine 104 may then identify another time, t2, after t1 (while ensuring the other values held true during t1 to t2) in the data sources where vehicle x 204 departs the ego-lane 208 toward the lane 210 and the vehicle y 206 is now a closest vehicle or object to the ego-vehicle 202 in the ego-lane 208. As described in more detail herein, the query engine 204 may use one or more optimizations—e.g., query optimizations, search optimizations, cache optimizations, etc. —to generate the procedural queries and execute the procedural queries more efficiently.”).
Regarding claim 8 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 1, Nassar further teaches, wherein the set of abstract scenarios is provided in the form of a generative model of a corresponding scenario space; (See Nassar paragraph 0027; “The query engine system 100 (alternatively referred to herein as “system 100”) may include a query generator 102, a query engine 104, and various data sources—e.g., ground truth simulation data 120, ground truth real-world data 122, map data 124, and/or system under test (SUT) data 126. The query generator 102 may be, in embodiments, a user-facing portion of the system 100 such that a user may use the query generator 102 to generate queries—e.g., high level declarative queries—that may be used by the query engine 104 to generate low level procedural queries for searching the data sources. For example, an initial query from the query generator 102 may include one or more scenarios and/or one or more observers, evaluators, and/or coverage collectors that are defined using high-level declarative observers 106 (alternatively referred to herein as “observers 106”), query operators 108, and/or a domain ontology 110 (alternatively referred to herein as “world model 110”). In some embodiments, the query language may include high level scenario description language (HSDL) and/or OpenSCENARIO language. The query engine 104 may use the initial query to bind symbolic variables (e.g., vehicle X, pedestrian Y, lane Z) to concrete values, find phase and/or interval boundaries, evaluate predicates and functions, and/or keep track of parallel, sequential, and/or alternative phases. As a result, a user with a high level understanding of a particular domain may generate queries without intimate knowledge of the data available in the various data sources. For example, without defining a unique search algorithm for each scenario, a user may generate a query that describes what the user wants to see in the data, without requiring knowledge of—e.g., with respect to autonomous vehicle scene—the scene, the vehicle, how the vehicle works, etc. As such, the query generator 102 allows abstraction away from intimate knowledge of a scene or the inner workings of the vehicle, and allow for high level descriptions that can be filled in by the query engine by finding scenes or scenarios that fall within the implied requirements of the query. The query engine 104 may generate a more explicit query—using one or more optimizations—to search the data sources to identify scenarios that match the scenario implicitly defined by the query from the query generator 102.”).
Regarding claim 9 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 8, Nassar further teaches, wherein, for the assignment of the observed behavior of the ego vehicle to at least one scenario of the provided scenario space, a membership test is performed using a monitor form of the generative model; (See Nassar paragraph 0155; “However, in an autonomous vehicle 700, the vehicle 700 itself must, in the case of conflicting results, decide whether to heed the result from a primary computer or a secondary computer (e.g., a first controller 736 or a second controller 736). For example, in some embodiments, the ADAS system 738 may be a backup and/or secondary computer for providing perception information to a backup computer rationality module. The backup computer rationality monitor may run a redundant diverse software on hardware components to detect faults in perception and dynamic driving tasks. Outputs from the ADAS system 738 may be provided to a supervisory MCU. If outputs from the primary computer and the secondary computer conflict, the supervisory MCU must determine how to reconcile the conflict to ensure safe operation.”).
Regarding claim 11 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 1, Nassar futher teaches, wherein the driving data are recorded and analyzed during a driving operation of the ego vehicle; (See Nassar paragraph 0072; “ n some examples, one or more of the camera(s) may be used to perform advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) functions (e.g., as part of a redundant or fail-safe design). For example, a Multi-Function Mono Camera may be installed to provide functions including lane departure warning, traffic sign assist and intelligent headlamp control. One or more of the camera(s) (e.g., all of the cameras) may record and provide image data (e.g., video) simultaneously.”).
With respect to the independent claim 12, please see rejection above with respect to claim 1 which is commensurate in scope to claim 12, with claim 1 being drawn to method, claim 12 being drawn to invention system.
Regarding claim 13 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 1, Nassar further teaches, further comprising, before performing the additional test, automatically deriving, from the at least one abstract scenario included in the uncovered subset, a test requirement specifying a future test drive or a scenario to be simulated, wherein the additional test is performed in accordance with the test requirement; (See Nassar paragraph 0042; “In some embodiments, additional sub-expressions may be added to the query that limit a search space based on distance or location. For example, for a query term such as “ego.is_following,” the compiler 112 may infer that the search space is only the driving surface (e.g., the compiler 112 may use ground truth data or map data indicating the driving surface coordinates, or more specifically the driving surface coordinates corresponding to the same lane as the ego-vehicle 202) and/or include a radius cap such that only vehicles that are on the driving surface of the ego-vehicle, in the same lane as the ego-vehicle, and/or within a specific radius or distance from the ego-vehicle 202 may be identified from the procedural query. To do this, the compiler 112 may add additional expressions to the query such as to “select x from vehicles where (ego.distance_to(x) is <30 m) and (x.is_in_ego_lane( )).” As a result, the implicit information and/or various optimization strategies (e.g., defining distances when terms such as “following” are used) may be used by the compiler 112 to generate more explicit searches that limit the search space and allow for filtering out of information from the data sources that is guaranteed not be a match.”).
Regarding claim 14 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 1, Nassar does not explicitly teach but Nister teaches, wherein the provided abstract scenarios specify assumptions about behavior of the at least one other road user, and wherein the method further comprises, in parallel with assigning the observed behavior to the at least one provided abstract scenario, checking the assumptions against the driving data to identify an observed scenario that does not satisfy at least one of the assumptions; (See Nister column 22, line 32-48; “As another example, the proposed path or trajectory analyzer 114 may determine a level or degree of safety for a target position representative of how close an arrival time for the trajectory 502 to the target position is to a safe arrival time for the target position. The proposed path or trajectory analyzer 114 may deem the trajectory 502 unsafe where the level or degree of safety for at least one target position is below a threshold value. Where all target positions are within the threshold value for the trajectory 502, the proposed path or trajectory analyzer 114 may still determine the trajectory is safe. As a further example, the proposed path or trajectory analyzer 114 may assign a level or degree of safety to the overall trajectory 502, which may correspond to the level or degree of safety at multiple target positions (e.g., a worst level or degree of safety, an average level or degree of safety, a level or degree of safety otherwise statistically derived from multiple target positions, etc.).”).
ADD
Regarding claim 17 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 7, Nassar further teaches, wherein, for each of the at least some abstract scenarios, conditions of the phases are translated into atomic propositions or predicate- logic formulas that are evaluable as true or false based on the driving data, the defined sequence of phases is encoded as a signal-temporal-logic formula, and assigning the observed behavior comprises monitoring a trace represented by the driving data against the signal-temporal-logic formula; (See Nassar paragraph 0040;” As an example, and with respect to FIGS. 2A-2C, the compiler 112 may determine explicit time intervals from the implied time intervals in the query 200. Visualization 214 of FIG. 2C includes the times, t1, t2, and t3, which were implied in the query 200 (e.g., using the “parallel_phase,” “sequential_phase,” and “eventually” expressions). For example, sequential_phase may imply that there are two or more time intervals that happen sequentially, and parallel_phase may imply that two or more events, actors, etc. take place in parallel within at least one of the time intervals. As such, the complier 112 may use the sequential_phase and the parallel_phase to convert these implicit temporal and spatial relationships into a logical formula that describes the variables explicitly, as indicated by FIG. 2C.”).
Regarding claim 18 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 17, Nassar further teaches, wherein the monitoring against the signal-temporal-logic formula is performed in real time as the driving data are recorded; (See Nassar paragraph 0104; “…The real-time ray-tracing hardware accelerator may be used to quickly and efficiently determine the positions and extents of objects (e.g., within a world model), to generate real-time visualization simulations, for RADAR signal interpretation, for sound propagation synthesis and/or analysis, for simulation of SONAR systems, for general wave propagation simulation, for comparison to LIDAR data for purposes of localization and/or other functions, and/or for other uses. In some embodiments, one or more tree traversal units (TTUs) may be used for executing one or more ray-tracing related operations.”).
Regarding claim 22 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 8, Nassar further teaches, further comprising identifying, from the driving data, an additional abstract scenario that is not described by the generative model, and updating, based on the additional abstract scenario, at least one of the generative model and the analysis model ; (See Nassar paragraph 0030 and 0038; “he queries generated by the query generator 102 may be expressed, in embodiments, using first order logic to define, e.g., time variables, object variables, quantifiers (for all, for some, etc.), predicates, and/or functions. In some embodiments, first order interval logic may be used which may similar to the first order logic, but may include implicit time indications as formulas may be defined over intervals. As such, the queries generated by the query generator 102 may include explicit values and/or implicit indications of relationships in time and/or space. For example, phrases or operations such as “following,” “sequential,” “eventually,” etc. may include implicit indications of time and/or space. In such an example, “following” may include an implicit indication that one object (e.g., a first vehicle) is following—e.g., located behind in a same lane of travel—as another object (e.g., a second vehicle). Similarly, “eventually” may include an implicit indication that at some point in time a state, action, actor, event, etc. takes place, which means there is a first time frame prior to the point in time, a second time frame corresponding to the state, action, actor, event, etc., and/or a third time frame after the point in time or after the state, action, actor, event, etc. takes place. As another example, “sequential” may include an implicit indication that two or more things are taking place over an (at least partially) overlapping period of time. As a result, these phrases or operators may be used by the query engine 104 to generate more low level procedural queries that include explicit values, such as a time, t1, a time, t2, and/or a time, t3, corresponding to the “eventually” example described above, and then to search the data sources to identify a scenario that satisfies the requirements within the time windows. The explicit values in the initial query from the query generator 102 may correspond to objects, actions, events, etc., such as vehicles, pedestrians, signs, changing lanes, etc… FIG. 1, once a query has been generated using the query generator 102, the query (e.g., the high level declarative query, including domain specific elements) may be processed by the query engine 104 to generate an updated query (e.g., a lower level procedural query) for searching the data sources—e.g., ground truth simulation data 120, the ground truth real-world data 122, the map data 124, and/or the SUT data 126—to identify one or more scenarios represented in the data sources that satisfy the query…”).
With respect to the independent claim 12, please see rejection above with respect to claim 1 which is commensurate in scope to claim 12, with claim 1 being drawn to method, claim 12 being drawn to invention system.
Claims 10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassar et al. (Patent No. US20220374428A1) in view of Nister (Patent no. US11789449B2) and Rausch et al. (Patent no. US20200406928A1).
Regarding claim 10 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 1, Nassar does not explicitly teach but Rausch teaches, further comprising determining, based on the covered subset, a coverage measure representing an extent to which the driving data covers the set of abstract scenarios, wherein the coverage measure is determined based on a ratio of a size of the covered subset to a size of the set of abstract scenarios; (See Rausch paragraph 0060; “In a step 131, a set of possible subspaces or zone states may be determined per each identified or derived zone. The states free, occupied and threatened are preferably defined as possible zone states. Occupied means, in particular, that a subject other than the vehicle under consideration is located there, i.e., for example, a road user. Threatened means, in particular, that another subject, in particular, a road user, potentially occupies the zone on the basis of its assigned model, if the vehicle under consideration wishes to pass this zone. Free means, in particular, that the zone is not occupied and not threatened. The set of potential subspaces or zone states is determined preferably via a Zwicky box, which combines all relevant characteristics of the existing subjects and all manifestations allowable for the characteristics, among which the zone is either free or occupied or threatened.”).
Regarding claim 15 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 3, Nassar does not explicitly teach but Rausch teaches, wherein the further driving data include data representing one or more external influences and one or more system states, and wherein the analysis model comprises a Zwicky box that partitions a decision space defined by the one or more external influences and the one or more system states into complete and consistent equivalence classes such that different possible combinations of the one or more external influences and the one or more system states are each respectively assigned to exactly one of the equivalence classes; (See Rausch paragraph 0060; “In a step 131, a set of possible subspaces or zone states may be determined per each identified or derived zone. The states free, occupied and threatened are preferably defined as possible zone states. Occupied means, in particular, that a subject other than the vehicle under consideration is located there, i.e., for example, a road user. Threatened means, in particular, that another subject, in particular, a road user, potentially occupies the zone on the basis of its assigned model, if the vehicle under consideration wishes to pass this zone. Free means, in particular, that the zone is not occupied and not threatened. The set of potential subspaces or zone states is determined preferably via a Zwicky box, which combines all relevant characteristics of the existing subjects and all manifestations allowable for the characteristics, among which the zone is either free or occupied or threatened.”).
Regarding claim 16 Nassar in view of Nister teach, the method according to claim 6, Nassar does not explicitly teach but Rausch teaches, wherein the specified completeness criterion comprises one or more of state coverage, transition coverage, phase coverage requiring each possible phase to occur at least once in the provided set of abstract scenarios, or path coverage requiring the provided set of abstract scenarios to cover each possible sequence of phases; (See Rausch paragraph 0131 and 0134; “A phase graph is depicted in FIG. 8 for the scenario from FIGS. 6 and 7. In this scenario, the vehicle under consideration is located initially in phase 801 in the zone (in FIG. 6 in the southerly zone, far away from the intersection), in phase 802 in the vehicle zone of the southerly vehicle (in FIG. 6, the zone of the vehicle under consideration), in phase 803 in the zone of the stop line before the near pedestrian crosswalk, in phase 804 in one of the zones of the intersection area, near pedestrian crosswalk or distant pedestrian crosswalk, and in phase 805 in the zone beyond the distant pedestrian crosswalk. The possible transitions are marked with arrows. Thus, the vehicle may or may not come to a stop depending on the situation in the stopping area before the near pedestrian crosswalk, i.e., a phase transition from phase 802 to phase 804 directly or via phase 803… phase is formed by the subset of the equivalence classes of the behavior analysis of the road segment, which may occur in the relevant zone. Depending on the size of the zone, the vehicle under consideration may switch back and forth within the zone and between the equivalence classes of the phase as well, for example, in a large zone in stop-and-go traffic, with multiple switches between starting, rolling, stopping, waiting.”).
Both Nassar and Rausch are in the same field of method and systems of controlling the vehicle. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Nassar method and system for analyzing driving data of an ego vehicle with Raush the analysis model comprising the Zwicky box. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Nassar by adding the analysis model comprising the Zwicky box. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20, 21 and 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims, but would
be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any
intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666