DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1 and 3-12 are pending for consideration following applicant’s amendment filed 8/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “and a maximum water level corresponding to a completely full tank” in line 20 of the claim. However, claim 1 previously recites “a maximum level of the buffer tank” in lines 17-18 of the claim and therefore it is unclear whether these limitations refer to the same level. It appears that the maximum water level recited in line 20 refers to the maximum level recited in lines 17-18 and therefore the limitations in lines 17-18 should be “a maximum water level of the buffer tank” while the limitation in line 20 should be “and the maximum water level corresponding to a completely full tank”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rempe et al. (US Patent Application 2022/0412606) in view of Mullins et al. (US Patent 6,861,033).
Regarding Claim 1, Rempe discloses a water supply system for an aircraft section (abstract), comprising: a buffer tank 7 configured to receive water from a water system (via 25) and store the water in an unpressurised manner (water 13 is held at ambient pressure; para. 0042); a discharge pipe 49 fluidly coupled to the buffer tank 7; a conveying device (pump 53) connected to the discharge pipe 49 and configured to convey the water from the buffer tank 7 through the discharge pipe 49; and a first water level sensor 19 configured to indicate that a water level in the buffer tank has reached an upper threshold water level 21 (sensor 19 indicates an upper threshold level 21, i.e. the “intended fill level 21” as described in para. 0038, that is communicated to the control unit 9), such that a reserve storage volume is maintained in the buffer tank (a reserve storage volume is formed above the upper threshold level 21 extending upward to the location of the overflow line 41), wherein the upper threshold water level 21 is smaller than a maximum level of the buffer tank where a full capacity of the buffer tank has been reached (the level of the overflow line 41 determines a maximum level of the buffer tank where a full capacity of the buffer tank has been reached; i.e. the tank is not capable of storing fluid above this point because the fluid will flow through the overflow line, therefore the “full capacity” of the buffer tank is determined by the location of line 41; the upper threshold water level 21 is smaller than the maximum level at overflow 41 as shown in Figure 1), wherein the reserve storage volume corresponds to a volume between the upper threshold water level 21 and a maximum water level (at overflow line 41) corresponding to a completely full tank (the overflow line 41 defines a completely full tank because filling above this line results in fluid flowing out of the tank through line 41; the reserve storage volume corresponds to the volume between 21 and 41).
Rempe does not disclose a bypass pipe fluidly coupled to the discharge pipe downstream of the conveying device and the buffer tank; and a pressure relief valve arranged in the bypass pipe and configured to open when a pressure of the water in the bypass pipe exceeds a threshold pressure level and to block the water from flowing through the bypass pipe when the pressure of the water in the bypass pipe is below the threshold pressure level.
Mullins teaches a water supply system (abstract) and further teaches a bypass pipe 40 fluidly coupled to a discharge pipe 31 downstream of a conveying device (pump 32) and a buffer tank 28; and a pressure relief valve 60 arranged in the bypass pipe 40 and configured to open when a pressure of the water in the bypass pipe exceeds a threshold pressure level (col. 7, line 54 – col. 8, line 5) and to block the water from flowing through the bypass pipe 40 when the pressure of the water in the bypass pipe is below the threshold pressure level (this is carried out in the manner known in the art with respect to a relief valve; the valve opens upon a sufficient pressure being reached and closes when the pressure falls below the threshold pressure level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Rempe such that the pump includes a bypass pipe and pressure relief valve coupled to the tank as taught by Mullins for the purpose of relieving excess pressure downstream of the pump to thereby protect downstream components from excessive pressures.
Regarding Claim 3, Rempe further discloses the upper threshold water level 21 (21 is an “intended fill level” as described in para. 0038) is set in accordance with a number, or a type, or both of water consumers supplied with the water from the buffer tank 7 via the conveying device 53 (the upper threshold water level is inherently set based on the needs of the system, which includes the number and type of water consumers; it is noted that the claim does not require any particular relationship between the upper threshold water level and the consumers, only that a relationship exists).
Regarding Claim 4, Rempe further discloses an overflow 41 configured to drain excess water from the buffer tank exceeding a full capacity of the buffer tank 7 (para. 0038).
Regarding Claim 5, Rempe further discloses a heater 11 in the buffer tank 7, the heater configured to heat the water stored in the buffer tank to a predefined temperature (e.g. 37°C; para. 0043).
Regarding Claim 6, Rempe in view of Mullins (the proposed modification of Rempe in view of Mullins as described with respect to claim 1 above is incorporated herein) discloses a water consumer assembly (Rempe; abstract), comprising: the water supply system of claim 1 (as described above); at least one water consumer 3; and at least one water pipe (pipe 49 including the portion downstream of disinfection unit 47) connecting the conveying device 53 with the at least one water consumer 3, wherein the at least one water pipe is fluidly coupled to the bypass pipe downstream of the conveying device (in the manner taught by Mullins; i.e. pipe 33 of Mullins is coupled to the consumer 20B such that the water pipe 33 is fluidly coupled to the bypass pipe 40 downstream of the conveying device 32).
Regarding Claim 11, Rempe in view of Mullins (the proposed modification of Rempe in view of Mullins as described with respect to claim 1 above is incorporated herein) discloses an aircraft (aircraft as disclosed by Rempe; abstract), comprising: at least one water supply system of claim 1 (as described with respect to claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 12, Rempe in view of Mullins (the proposed modification of Rempe in view of Mullins as described with respect to claim 6 above is incorporated herein) discloses an aircraft (aircraft as disclosed by Rempe; abstract), comprising: at least one water consumer assembly of claim 6 (as described with respect to claim 6 above).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rempe et al. (US Patent Application 2022/0412606) in view of Mullins et al. (US Patent 6,861,033) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Patent 7,091,456).
Regarding Claim 7, Rempe does not disclose the at least one water consumer comprises a heatable water consumer including a heating element.
Lee teaches an aircraft water supply system (abstract) and further teaches at least one water consumer 14a comprises a heatable water consumer including a heating element (via heater 40 which forms part of the water consumer as shown in Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Rempe such that the water consumer includes a heater as taught by Lee to allow for increased heating of the water to a desired temperature while also for only a portion of the water to be heated, thereby saving energy.
Regarding Claim 8, Rempe in view of Mullins and further in view of Lee is seen as further disclosing the buffer tank 7 (of Rempe) is configured to receive and hold an amount of water flowing through the bypass pipe (in the manner taught by Mullins) due to heat expansion of the water at the at least one water consumer during operation of the heating element (the buffer tank of Rempe is seen to be capable of holding water which flows through the bypass pipe for any reason, including due to expansion of the water during operation of the heating element, at least because the “intended fill level” 21 is below the top of the tank).
Regarding Claim 9, Rempe does not disclose the at least one water consumer is a heater tank comprising a heating element, and wherein the water consumer assembly further comprises: a water mixing unit configured to receive warm water from the heater tank and cold water from a cold water pipe of the at least one water pipe, to mix the warm water and the cold water to a predefined temperature, and to provide the water to a faucet being one of the at least one water consumer.
Lee teaches an aircraft water supply system (abstract) and further teaches at least one water consumer 14a is a heater tank (heater tank formed by housing 50) comprising a heating element 60, and wherein the water consumer assembly further comprises: a water mixing unit (faucet 28 mixes the water) configured to receive warm water from the heater tank 50 and cold water from a cold water pipe 24 of at least one water pipe, to mix the warm water and the cold water to a predefined temperature (as determined by the handle shown in Figure 3 as is known in the art), and to provide the water to a faucet (the outlet of 28) being one of the at least one water consumer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Rempe such that the water consumer is a mixing faucet including a heater as taught by Lee to allow for increased heating of the water to a desired temperature while also for only a portion of the water to be heated, thereby saving energy.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rempe et al. (US Patent Application 2022/0412606) in view of Mullins et al. (US Patent 6,861,033) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Schreiner et al. (US Patent 9,611,627).
Regarding Claim 10, Rempe further discloses the water supply system comprises a control unit 9 configured to control operation of the conveying device 53 (para. 0042), and wherein the water consumer assembly further comprising: at least one signal line 37 configured to transmit an indication signal indicating that one or more of the at least one water consumers are activated (para. 0037), or indicating a water pressure in the at least one water pipe measured by a pressure sensor, or both (signal line 37 transmits an indication signal indicating that one or more of the at least one water consumers are activated as described in para. 0037), wherein the at least one signal line 37 is connected to the control unit 9.
Rempe does not disclose the control unit is configured to control operation of the conveying device to maintain a constant pressure level in the at least one water pipe.
Schreiner teaches an aircraft water supply system (col. 1, lines 16-20) and further teaches a control unit 32 is configured to control operation of a conveying device 30 to maintain a constant pressure level in at least one water pipe (col. 5, lines 28-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Rempe such that the control unit is configured to control operation of the conveying device to maintain a constant pressure level in the at least one water pipe as taught by Schreiner for the purpose of delivering a predictable pressure to the consumer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant argues that the combination of Rempe and Mullins does not teach an upper threshold water level smaller than a maximum level of the buffer tank where a full capacity of the buffer tank has been reached and where a reserve storage volume corresponds to a volume between the upper threshold water level and a maximum water level corresponding to a completely full tank. Applicant further argues that water runs out of the water reservoir 7 of Rempe via the overflow line 41 when the water reservoir is filled above an intended fill level 21. These arguments are not persuasive because Rempe discloses, via Figure 1, a reserve storage volume which exists between the intended fill level 21 and the level of the overflow line 41. Applicant further argues that level sensor 19 is merely a reporting tool, and a threshold water level is set by the location of the overflow line 41. These arguments are not persuasive because Rempe discloses “an intended fill level 21” and this level provides the recited upper threshold water level. Applicant argues that there can be no reserve storage volume in Rempe between an upper threshold water level and a maximum water level corresponding to a completely full tank because Rempe’s threshold is set by overflow line 41. These arguments are not persuasive because, as described above, the level 21 is readable as an upper threshold water level and the level at 41 is readable as a maximum water level. Applicant argues that because the overflow line 41 is placed on the sidewall, a completely full water reservoir 7 cannot be achieved. These arguments are not persuasive because filling the water reservoir 7 to the overflow line 41 is seen to define a completely full water reservoir or “completely full tank” as claimed because the reservoir or tank cannot be filled any further (therefore it is “completely full”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Frank (US Patent 5,261,440) teaches a water supply tank with an overflow line 2 coupled to the top of the tank 1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753