DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 13-16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Angelo (US 10493837 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Angelo discloses a battery pod (battery assembly 106) comprising: a shell (battery assembly 106 frame structure including housings 304) defining an interior cavity (inside housing 304, fig.5b), the shell defining a pair of recessed channels extending in a longitudinal direction (recessed channels between brackets 342 and hangers 334/610/620/630/700/720, figs.2-3B and 5A-7B), the pair of recessed channels sized to receive a pair of frame rails (rails 202 and 204) of a vehicle chassis (chassis 200); a plurality of batteries strings (battery sub-assemblies 300, 320 with battery subpacks 400, figs.4-5b) disposed within the interior cavity and extending along the longitudinal direction, the battery strings each comprising: a plurality of batteries (batteries in subpacks 400, fig.4) that are electrically coupled to one another; and a battery disconnect (operational couplings 402, fig.4) electrically coupled to plurality of batteries; and a plurality of access panels (access panels 306, figs.2-5B) detachably coupled to the shell and providing access to respective ones of the battery disconnects (column 4, lines 45-58).
Regarding claim 13, Angelo discloses wherein the access panels are spaced laterally apart from one another by the recessed channels (access panels 306 are spaced apart laterally on either side of the chassis 200, fig.5B).
Regarding claim 14, Angelo discloses wherein the plurality of battery strings comprises three battery strings (plurality of battery housings 304 with subpacks 400, figs.2-6D), the battery strings each including the plurality of batteries connected in series to one another (subpacks 400, fig.4).
Regarding claim 15, Angelo discloses wherein the battery disconnect for a first string of the plurality of battery strings is configured to electrically couple the first string separately from remaining ones of the battery strings (each subpack 400 has separate couplings 402 as seen in figure 4 and can be individually disconnected).
Regarding claim 16, Angelo discloses wherein the battery pod further comprises cooling lines that are configured to transfer coolant across at least a portion of the battery pod, and wherein the access panels provide access to fluid disconnects for the cooling lines (coolant lines coupled to housings 304 accessible by panel 306, fig.4, column 4, lines 45-58).
Regarding claim 18, Angelo discloses a method of servicing a battery pod (battery assembly 106) for a vocational vehicle (vehicle 100), the method comprising: accessing a plurality of battery disconnects (operational couplings 402) for a plurality of battery strings (battery sub-assemblies 300, 320 with battery subpacks 400, figs.4-5b) by removing a plurality of access panels (access panels 306, figs.2-5B, column 4, lines 45-58) from ends of respective ones of the plurality of battery strings (access panels 306 near ends of the subpacks 400), the battery strings each including a plurality of batteries (batteries in subpacks 400, fig.4) that are electrically coupled to one another (fig.4); electrically decoupling the battery strings from the vocational vehicle at the battery disconnects (disconnecting at the operational couplings 402); and decoupling the battery pod from the vocational vehicle (removing battery assembly 106).
Regarding claim 20, Angelo discloses wherein accessing the battery disconnects further comprises removing the access panels at locations between and laterally outboard of a pair of frame rails of the vocational vehicle (access panels 306 are spaced apart laterally on either side of the chassis 200 and between the rails 202 and 204, fig.5B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelo (US 10493837 B1) in view of Wheeler (US 20230070769 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Angelo discloses a vocational vehicle (vehicle 100) comprising: a chassis (chassis 200) supporting a plurality of tractive elements (wheels 102 and 104); a vehicle body (body of vehicle 100, fig.1) coupled to the chassis, the vehicle body; and a battery pod (battery assembly 106) detachably coupled to the chassis and configured to provide power to at least one of the plurality of tractive elements or the application kit, the battery pod comprising: a shell (battery assembly 106 frame structure including housings 304) defining an interior cavity (inside housing 304, fig.5b); a plurality of batteries strings (battery sub-assemblies 300, 320 withy battery subpacks 400, figs.4-5b) disposed within the interior cavity, the battery strings each comprising: a plurality of batteries (batteries in subpacks 400, fig.4) that are electrically coupled to one another; and a battery disconnect (operational couplings 402) coupling the plurality of batteries to the at least one of the plurality of tractive elements or the application kit; and a plurality of access panels (access panels 306, figs.2-5B) detachably coupled to the shell and providing access to respective ones of the battery disconnects (column 4, lines 45-58). Angelo fails to disclose comprising an application kit including a component that is movable relative to the chassis.
However, Wheeler disclose vehicle (vehicle, figs.1-8) with batteries (60) comprising an application kit (application kit 80) including a component that is movable relative to the chassis (refuse compartment 130, lift arms 140, drum assembly 230, ladder assembly 308, boom assembly 508, lift assembly 608, figs.1-8).
Angelo and Wheeler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electric vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Angelo with the different vehicle types using electric batteries of Wheeler with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results as the battery assembly of Angelo would be obvious to use with different types of electric vehicles as taught by Wheeler. Having multiple electric vehicles use the same battery assembly for easier manufacturing, maintenance, and easier replacement.
Regarding claim 4, Angelo in combination with wheeler, Angelo discloses wherein the plurality of battery strings comprises three battery strings (plurality of battery housings 304 with subpacks 400, figs.2-6D), the battery strings each including the plurality of batteries connected in series to one another (subpacks 400, fig.4).
Regarding claim 5, Angelo in combination with wheeler, Angelo discloses wherein the battery disconnect for a first string of the plurality of battery strings is configured to electrically couple the first string to the at least one of a drive motor for the plurality of tractive elements or the application kit separately from remaining ones of the battery strings (each subpack 400 has separate couplings 402 as seen in figure 4 and can be individually disconnected).
Regarding claim 8, Angelo in combination with wheeler, Angelo discloses wherein the battery pod further comprises cooling lines that are configured to transfer coolant across at least a portion of the battery pod, and wherein the access panels provide access to fluid disconnects for the cooling lines (coolant lines coupled to housings 304 accessible by panel 306, fig.4, column 4, lines 45-58).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelo (US 10493837 B1) in view of Wheeler (US 20230070769 A1), in view of In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) or In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 9; Angelo in combination with Wheeler discloses the vocational vehicle of claim 1 and Angelo discloses wherein the chassis comprises a pair of frame rails (rails 202 and 204, fig.2) extending in a longitudinal direction (fig.2), wherein the shell defines a plurality of battery cavities (battery assembly 106 frame structure including housings 304 where housings 304 are parallel to one another, figs.1-6) extending parallel to one another and a plurality of access panels (306, figs.2-6) but fails to disclose wherein the access panels are disposed at opposing longitudinal ends of the shell and are oriented normal to the frame rails.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have access panels are disposed at opposing longitudinal ends of the shell and are oriented normal to the frame rails. It would be a mere duplication of parts to have additional access panels on the longitudinal ends as taught by In re Harza to be able to more easily access the ends of the battery housings for cleaning or maintenance. It would also be a mere rearrangement of parts to have the access panels on the longitudinal ends as taught by In re Japikse because shifting the position of the access panels would not have modified the operation of the battery assembly. Having access panels on each longitudinal ends would make for easier cleaning, running wires, and maintenance.
Claim(s) 11-12, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelo (US 10493837 B1) in view of In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) or In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claims 11, 12, and 17, Angelo discloses wherein the chassis comprises a pair of frame rails (rails 202 and 204, fig.2) extending in a longitudinal direction (fig.2), wherein the shell defines a plurality of battery cavities (battery assembly 106 frame structure including housings 304 where housings 304 are parallel to one another, figs.1-6) extending parallel to one another and a plurality of access panels (306, figs.2-6) but fails to disclose wherein the access panels are disposed at opposing longitudinal ends of the shell and are oriented normal to the frame rails.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have access panels are disposed at opposing longitudinal ends of the shell and are oriented normal to the frame rails. It would be a mere duplication of parts to have additional access panels on the longitudinal ends as taught by In re Harza to be able to more easily access the ends of the battery housings for cleaning or maintenance. It would also be a mere rearrangement of parts to have the access panels on the longitudinal ends as taught by In re Japikse because shifting the position of the access panels would not have modified the operation of the battery assembly. Having access panels on each longitudinal ends would make for easier cleaning, running wires, and maintenance.
Regarding claim 19, Angelo discloses wherein the chassis comprises a pair of frame rails (rails 202 and 204, fig.2) extending in a longitudinal direction (fig.2), wherein the shell defines a plurality of battery cavities (battery assembly 106 frame structure including housings 304 where housings 304 are parallel to one another, figs.1-6) extending parallel to one another and a plurality of access panels (306, figs.2-6) but fails to disclose wherein the access panels are disposed at opposing longitudinal ends of the shell and are oriented normal to the frame rails.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have access panels are disposed at opposing longitudinal ends of the shell and are oriented normal to the frame rails. It would be a mere duplication of parts to have additional access panels on the longitudinal ends as taught by In re Harza to be able to more easily access the ends of the battery housings for cleaning or maintenance. It would also be a mere rearrangement of parts to have the access panels on the longitudinal ends as taught by In re Japikse because shifting the position of the access panels would not have modified the operation of the battery assembly. Having access panels on each longitudinal ends would make for easier cleaning, running wires, and maintenance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 depends upon claim 1 which is rejected but claim 6 has the limitation of “wherein the battery pod further includes a side panel coupled to the shell, the side panel and the shell together defining a conduit channel extending in a longitudinal direction between opposing ends of the shell.” The primary reference of Angelo discloses access panels (306) located on sides of the shell of battery assembly (106, fig.5B). Angelo fails to disclose the side panel and the shell together defining a conduit channel extending in a longitudinal direction between opposing ends of the shell. The teaching reference Wheeler fails to cure this deficiency. Other prior art Sjoholm (US 11685268 B2) discloses side panels (fig.1B), Schmitz (EP 4169762 A1) discloses side panels (22, fig.1), and Landvik (US 20210387519 A1/ US 11766925 B2) discloses side panels (walls 202, fig.3) but all fail to disclose the side panel and the shell together defining a conduit channel extending in a longitudinal direction between opposing ends of the shell and would require further modification. The prior art either alone or in combination fail to teach or fairly suggest at this time all of the limitations of claim 6. For the reasons above claim 6 has allowable subject matter.
Claim 7 depends upon claim 6, giving it the same allowable subject matter as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613