DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
an image data generator;
an estimation unit; and
a model generator of claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claim limitations “an image data generator”, “an estimation unit” and “a model generator” listed above invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The Applicant's specification does not provide an association between the structure and the function. Therefore, claims 1-3 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claims 6 and 7 are directed to data structures not claimed as embodied in computer-readable media. Claims 6 and 7 do not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the data structure and other claimed aspects of the invention which permit the data structure's functionality to be realized.
Claims 8 and 9 are directed to data structures embodied on a computer-readable medium. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer-readable medium includes forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer-readable media. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346 (Fed. Cir. 2007). The Applicant’s specification does not limit computer-readable medium to non-transitory embodiments, and therefore claims 8 and 9 are non-statutory. The Examiner suggests amending the claims to include "non-transitory computer-readable medium” or similar language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kramer et al. US Publication 2012/0236120 (hereafter “Kramer”).
Referring to claims 1, 4, 6 and 8, Kramer discloses a tissue section thickness estimation device, comprising:
an image data generator that generates microscopic image data for a microscopic image of a focused tissue section (paragraph 28, An imager 201, which may be a digital image capture device such as described with respect to FIG. 1, can capture images of a biological sample viewed through a microscope and/or lenses 202);
an estimation unit that estimates the thickness of the tissue section from the microscopic image (paragraph 39, For manual operation, a trained user obtains the thickness of tissue sections by manually setting the top and bottom of the section (i.e., the depths where some feature in the image goes in and out of focus), while moving through the z-axis by stepping through the Z-axis of each tissue section); and
a model generator that performs machine learning using the microscopic image data of the focused tissue section and the measured thickness of the tissue section as teacher data to generate an estimation model that estimates the thickness of the tissue section when an image of the tissue section is input (paragraph 44, Once the algorithm is trained and the optimized thresholds determined, the Z-stacks are analyzed as described with respect to FIG. 3 to find the top and bottom focal planes for automatic section thickness determination),
wherein the estimation unit estimates the thickness of the tissue sections using the estimation model generated by the model generator (paragraph 74, The automatic slice (top, bottom, thickness) identification and quantifying of biological objects of interest can both be performed by the automated stereological system controller described with respect to FIG. 1).
Referring to claim 3, Kramer discloses wherein the microscopic image of a focused tissue section is the image with the condenser adjustment of the optical microscope turned on (paragraph 27, Referring to FIG. 1, a computerized stereological system 100 can include a microscope lens configuration 103 that is part of a microscope).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer et al. US Publication 2012/0236120 as applied to claims 1, 4, 6 and 8 above, and further in view of Leshem US Publication 2020/0302144 (hereafter “Leshem”).
Referring to claims 2, 5, 7 and 9, Kramer discloses wherein the tissue sections are stained tissue (paragraph 64, A stack of images collected inside a region of interest (ROI) may contain several types of cells. In order to count a specific cell located in the ROI, different stains are used for different cells, enabling color information as a differentiator that can be used to target a particular type of cell), but does not disclose expressly wherein the tissue sections are HE stained tissue, deparaffinized and unstained tissue, undeparaffinized and unstained tissue.
Leshem discloses wherein the tissue sections are HE stained tissue, deparaffinized and unstained tissue, undeparaffinized and unstained tissue (paragraph 82, The sample may be stained using, for example, a Romanowsky stain, a Gram stain, a hematoxylin and eosin (H&E) stain, an immunohistochemistry (IHC) stain, a methylene blue stain, a DAPI stain, a fluorescent stain, or any other suitable stain) (paragraph 72, Tissue samples used for histopathology may typically be embedded with paraffin. These tissue samples may be cut with a microtome).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to examine tissue section from HE stained tissue, deparaffinized and unstained tissue, undeparaffinized and unstained tissue. The motivation for doing so would have been to examine images of a variety of types of medical staining in order to realize the unique benefits of the staining type in order to analyze biomedical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Leshem with Kramer to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2, 5, 7 and 9.
Conclusion
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682