DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Murray fails to disclose, “the internal cavity is selectively pressurized and depressurized during the operation of the pump to vary the sealing force”. Murray discloses,
“[0024] The cooling fluid circulated through chamber 42 is water piped from a regular supply line. FIG. 1 shows a water inlet pipe 48 that communicates with the inlet ports 44 and an equivalent passageway 50 in pump housing 24a that communicates with outlet port 46. Inlet pipe 48 communicates with the water supply line (not shown). Outlet pipe 50 is fitted with a throttle valve 52 that can be adjusted to vary the pressure and flow rate of the water through chamber 42.
[0025] In this example, the water line pressure in the mill is about 125 psi, the pressure in chamber 42 is in the range 20-30 psi and the flow rate 5-10 gallons (imperial) per minute. Appropriate gauges may be provided to monitor the pressure and flow rate. However, it has been found in practical tests that the throttle valve can simply be closed to an extent to provide what appears to the operator to be a reasonable flow of water from the throttle valve. If leakage is noted through the seal cartridge, the operator can increase the pressure in chamber 42 by progressively closing the throttle valve until leakage is reduced to an acceptable level, typically zero.”
Showing that Murray does disclose, “the internal cavity is selectively pressurized and depressurized during the operation of the pump to vary the sealing force”
Regarding the argument that Murray fails to disclose, “pressurization of the cavity applied substantially uniform pressure across an axial width of the interface.”
Murray discloses, in at least paragraph [0024]-[0025] that the sealing fluid is water, which is treated as an incompressible fluid, and therefore the pressure in the chamber 42 is unform through the entire chamber, and therefore Murray discloses, “pressurization of the cavity applied substantially uniform pressure across an axial width of the interface.”
Regarding the argument that Murray fails to disclose, “a plurality of lubrication ports fluidically connecting the internal cavity to the interface for delivering lubricant directly to the shaft surface.”
Murray discloses in [0024] “inlet ports” 44 and therefore discloses “a plurality of lubrication ports fluidically connecting the internal cavity to the interface for delivering lubricant directly to the shaft surface (Fig. 3).
The Examiner respectfully notes there were no 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections of record and are therefore moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite; it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “substantially” is defined as “consisting of or relating to substance” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe how much the term “substantially” modifies a target, and implicitly requires boundaries at some maximum value above the target and at some minimum value below the target beyond which one is not “substantially” the target any more.
Claims 2-9 are rejected based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murray (US PGPUB 2002/0140177 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Murray discloses a seal (Fig. 3) for a shaft (26a) of a pump (Fig. 1), comprising:
a sealing ring (28) including an interface (30) for mechanically interacting with the shaft of the pump (26a), and a cavity (42) accessible by an orifice (48, 50);
wherein the cavity is configured to be selectively pressurized and selectively depressurized during operation of the pump ([0025], “If leakage is noted through the seal cartridge, the operator can increase the pressure in chamber 42 by progressively closing the throttle valve until leakage is reduced to an acceptable level, typically zero.” to vary a sealing force ([0025]) applied by the interface to the shaft ([0024]-[0026]), and wherein the sealing ring is configured such that pressurization of the internal cavity applied substantially uniform circumferential pressure across an axial width (Fig. 3, internal cavity is disposed axially along the seal interface) of the interface ([0028], the Examiner notes that the pressure in the cavity 42 is what is being controlled by the inlets and outlets of the device, and incompressible fluids such as water [0025] are understood to be uniform); and
wherein the sealing ring further comprises a plurality of lubrication ports ([0024] indicates “inlet ports” 44 and “outlet port” 46 and is considered by the Examiner to be a plurality”) fluidically connecting the internal cavity to the interface, the lubrication ports being configured to deliver a lubricant (abstract, “water”) from the internal cavity directly to a surface of the shaft (40, Fig. 3) at the interface.
Regarding claim 2, Murray discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the sealing ring is configured to maintain a pressure level on the shaft ([0024]-[0026] discusses that the pressure levels in the chamber are adjustable by inlet valves and outlet valve).
Regarding claim 3, Murray discloses all of claim 2 as above, wherein the pressure level is adjustable to an outlet pressure required by the pump ([0024]-[0026], discusses that the pressure levels in the chamber are adjustable by inlet vales and outlet valve).
Regarding claim 4, Murray discloses all of claim 1 as above, further comprising a pressurization medium ([0024]-[0025]) wherein the medium is one of a liquid ([0024], “water”).
Regarding claim 5, Murray discloses all of claim 4 as above, wherein the medium functions to dissipate heat from the sealing ring ([0024], “cooling liquid”).
Regarding claim 6, Murray discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the cavity is configured to deflate by the application of suction through the orifice ([0024]-[0026], the Examiner notes that the inclusion of both inlet and outlet valves on the chamber 42 allow for the pressure in the chamber to decrease (e.g., suction)).
Regarding claim 7, Murray discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the sealing ring is configured to increase the net positive suction head of the pump ([0017], “to seal against leaking of the liquid being pumped” which increases the net positive suction head of the pump”).
Regarding claim 8, Murray discloses all of claim 1 as above, the interface further comprising a lip seal (38) to prevent infiltration of pumped material between the interface and the shaft.
Regarding claim 9, Murray discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the sealing ring is configured to maintain a plurality of pressure levels on the shaft ([0024]-[0026], “Outlet pipe 50 is fitted with a throttle valve 52 that can be adjusted to vary the pressure and flow rate of the water through the chamber 42.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN C CLARK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745