DETAILED ACTION
This communication in response to preliminary amendment filed 7/6/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 12-13, and 16 are pending. Claims 5, 8, 10-11, 14-15, and 17-20 were canceled by preliminary amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites wherein a caustic tower, an amine gas scrubber, a spent caustic oxidizer, a caustic scrubber, and/or a benzene stripper comprises the stream. This is unclear but is interpreted as the stream is present in a caustic tower, an amine gas scrubber, a spent caustic oxidizer, a caustic scrubber, and/or a benzene stripper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102-103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Mo (US , 2017/0028346).
With respect to claim 1, Mo (US 2017/0028346) discloses a method of treating a gas stream of a caustic stripper by adding a solution of caustic and sodium borohydride surfactant. Par. [0026]. The caustic stream may be an amine. Par. [0015]; [0009].
With respect to claim 2, Mo discloses treating with sodium borohydride. Par. [0026].
With respect to claim 9, Mo discloses the stream comprises an acid gas. Par. [0028].
With respect to claim 12, Mo discloses adding the scavenger with the amine in the caustic tower. Par. [0028].
With respect to claim 13, Mo discloses wherein the gas is treated in a caustic tower or basic wash tower, and wherein the stream is a cracked gas stream. Par. [0028]-[0029].
Claim(s) 4, 6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by, or alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Mo (US 2017/0028346).
With respect to claim 4, Mo discloses using the composition to remove aldehyde from the stream. Par. [0018]; [0028]. This would include or else have been obvious to include acetaldehyde.
With respect to claim 6, Mo discloses using the sodium borohydride as an aldol condensation inhibitor par. [0028] and is added in an amount effective to bind COS par. [0023], i.e. reacting the carbonyl-containing compound with the scavenger and preventing formation of an aldol polymer.
With respect to claim 16, discloses the amine may be e.g. methyl ethylamine (MEA). Par. [0015]. In such case the amine excludes a substituted hydroxylamine.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo (US 2017/0028346) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 12-13, and 16 above, further in view of Awbrey (US 4,952,301).
With respect to claim 3, Mo discloses wherein the amine is an alkanolamine or other amines, but is silent regarding wherein the amine is ethylene diamine, ethyl ethanolamine, diethyl monoethanolamine, or combinations thereof. Awbrey (US 4,952,301) discloses a method for inhibiting the formation of polymeric based fouling deposits normally found in caustic washing hydrocarbons. Abst. Basic washing includes amine scrubbers or hydroxide wash systems. Col. 1. “The present method entails assuring that the basic wash takes place in the presence of the ethylenediamine compounds.” Col. 2. Ethylenediamines inhibits carbonyl based fouling. Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the amine of Mo using ethylenediamine of Awbrey because both are directed to decreasing fouling from carbonyl in acid gas scrubbing systems, Mo teaches using an amine wash system and Awbrey teaches ethylenediamine in a basic (amine or hydroxide) system inhibits carbonyl based fouling.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo (US 2017/0028346) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 12-13, and 16 above, further in view of Patek (US 5,582,808).
With respect to claim 7, Mo discloses a molar ratio of NaBH4 to COS of from about 0.02:1 to about 50:1, par. [0008], but fails to disclose a scavenger to amine weight ratio of about 1:4 to about 3:2. Patek (US 5,582,808) referenced in Mo, discloses treating acid gas with NaBH4 in a caustic wash wherein the caustic is 10% NaOH. Table 1. The sodium borohydride and hydroxide are added in a range overlapping that claimed. Table 1. Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to look to Patek in determining the amount of NaBH4 and amine of Mo because both are directed to addition of NaBH4 in basic wash system, Mo teaches using NaBH4 with a basic wash which may be an amine or hydroxide but is silent regarding the relative amount of each, and Patek discloses the amount of NaBH4 to basic hydroxide.
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771