DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claim 1 filed on May 12, 2026 has been entered and considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujitsuka et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0122795; already of record) in view of Fukushima et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0241703).
Regarding claim 1, Fujitsuka discloses a writing device (10), (fig. 1, [0093]), comprising:
a movable portion (101 and 102) having a contact portion (101), the movable portion being configured to be movable in advancing and retracting directions (i.e. the rodlike lead 101 is disposed at the leading end of the casing 11 so as to move into and out of the casing 11, and the ferrite chip 102 is fixed to the base end of the lead 101) so as to be retracted when the contact portion comes into contact with a contact target portion (i.e. when lead 101 press against the tablet 20), (figs. 1-2, [0094 and 0102]);
a holding portion (11) configured to hold the movable portion (i.e. casing 11 holds lead 101 and ferrite chip 102 as well as all other components inside), (fig. 1, [0096]); and
an elastic portion (103) provided on a side opposite from a contact portion side of the movable portion in the advancing and retracting directions (i.e. O-ring 103 is above the contact portion side of the lead 101 in the directions which the lead 101 moves into and out of the casing), (fig. 1, [0098 and 0094]),
wherein the elastic portion (103) includes a first elastic body (left O-ring 103) and a second elastic body (right O-ring 103), the first elastic body and the second elastic body each being elastically deformed by retraction of the movable portion (i.e. elastically deforms when pressing force is applied) to reduce a thickness in the advancing and retracting directions (i.e. the O-ring 103 holds the ferrite chip 102 and the ferrite core 104 with an interval therebetween, and elastically O-rings 103 deform when pressing force is applied in a direction to move the ferrite chip 102 and the ferrite core 104 closer together, hence the thickness of both O-ring 103 has to reduce in order for the ferrite chip 102 is moved closer to the ferrite core 104), (figs. 1 and 7B, [0099-0103]),
wherein the first elastic body (left O-ring 103) and the second elastic body (right O-ring 103) are provided adjacent to each other in this order with respect to the movable portion (i.e. both the left and the right O-ring 103 are adjacent and in the order with respect to the lead 101 and ferrite chip 102), (fig. 1, [0094 and 0098]).
However, Fujitsuka does not mention wherein the first elastic body and the second elastic body are provided adjacent to each other in this order in the advancing and retracting directions with respect to the movable portion.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fukushima teaches wherein the first elastic body (3) and the second elastic body (5) are provided adjacent to each other in this order in the advancing and retracting directions (upward/downward direction) with respect to the movable portion (72) (i.e. elements 3 and 5 are bent in fig. 5b and is thus elastic), (figs. 5a-5b, [0086-0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujitsuka, by specifically providing the first elastic body and the second elastic body are provided adjacent to each other, as taught by Fukushima, for the purpose of having information be more precisely inputted, [0033].
Regarding claim 2, Fukushima discloses wherein the first elastic body (3) has a thickness in the advancing and retracting directions smaller than a thickness of the second elastic body (5), (fig. 5a, [0086-0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujitsuka, by specifically providing the first elastic body and the second elastic body having different thickness, as taught by Fukushima, for the purpose of having information be more precisely inputted, [0033].
Regarding claim 6, Fujitsuka discloses further comprising:
a pressing portion (102a) configured to be pressed by the movable portion (101 and 102) moving in a retracting direction (i.e. when lead 101 moves into the casing 11) of the advancing and retracting directions (i.e. into and out directions),
wherein a signal is output by pressing of the pressing portion (i.e. with the movement of the ferrite chip 102 closer to the ferrite core 104, the inductance of the coil 105 wound on the ferrite core 104 is changed. That is, the inductance of the coil 105 is changed when the input pen 10 is operated), (fig. 1, [0103-0104]).
Regarding claim 11, Fujitsuka discloses a writing device (10), (fig. 1, [0093]), comprising:
a movable portion (101 and 102) having a contact portion (101), the movable portion being configured to be movable in advancing and retracting directions (i.e. the rodlike lead 101 is disposed at the leading end of the casing 11 so as to move into and out of the casing 11, and the ferrite chip 102 is fixed to the base end of the lead 101) so as to be retracted when the contact portion comes into contact with a contact target portion (i.e. when lead 101 press against the tablet 20), (figs. 1-2, [0094 and 0102]);
a holding portion (11) configured to hold the movable portion (i.e. casing 11 holds lead 101 and ferrite chip 102 as well as all other components inside), (fig. 1, [0096]); and
an elastic portion (103) provided on a side opposite from a contact portion side of the movable portion in the advancing and retracting directions (i.e. O-ring 103 is above the contact portion side of the lead 101 in the directions which the lead 101 moves into and out of the casing), (fig. 1, [0098 and 0094]),
wherein the elastic portion (103) includes a first elastic body (left O-ring 103) and a second elastic body (right O-ring 103), the first elastic body and the second elastic body each being elastically deformed by retraction of the movable portion (i.e. elastically deforms when pressing force is applied) to reduce a thickness in the advancing and retracting directions (i.e. the O-ring 103 holds the ferrite chip 102 and the ferrite core 104 with an interval therebetween, and elastically O-rings 103 deform when pressing force is applied in a direction to move the ferrite chip 102 and the ferrite core 104 closer together, hence the thickness of both O-ring 103 has to reduce in order for the ferrite chip 102 is moved closer to the ferrite core 104), (figs. 1 and 7B, [0099-0103]),
wherein the first elastic body (left O-ring 103) and the second elastic body (right O-ring 103) are provided adjacent to each other in this order with respect to the movable portion (i.e. both the left and the right O-ring 103 are adjacent and in the order with respect to the lead 101 and ferrite chip 102), (fig. 1, [0094 and 0098]).
However, Fujitsuka does not mention wherein the first elastic body has a thickness in the advancing and retracting directions smaller than a thickness of the second elastic body.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fukushima teaches wherein the first elastic body (3) has a thickness in the advancing and retracting directions smaller than a thickness of the second elastic body (5), (fig. 5a, [0086-0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujitsuka, by specifically providing the first elastic body and the second elastic body having different thickness, as taught by Fukushima, for the purpose of having information be more precisely inputted, [0033].
Regarding claim 18, Fukushima discloses wherein the first elastic body (3) and the second elastic body (5) are directly connected to each other, (fig. 5a, [0086-0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujitsuka, by specifically providing the first elastic body and the second elastic body directly connected to each other, as taught by Fukushima, for the purpose of having information be more precisely inputted, [0033].
Claim(s) 7-9 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima and in view of Tone (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0344168; already of record).
Regarding claim 7, Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima does not mention a display device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tone teaches a display device (300a) comprising: the writing device (100) according to claim 1; and
a display portion (300a) as the contact target portion, wherein the display portion detects a contact position (coordinate data) of the contact portion (i.e. tip of the pen 100) with respect to the display portion, and performs a predetermined display (i.e. performing touch operation and a drawing operation), (fig. 1, [0052-0055 and 0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima, by specifically providing the display device, as taught by Tone, for the purpose of increasing functionality for using the pen with a touch panel display device.
Regarding claim 8, Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima does not mention a communication system.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tone teaches a communication system (fig. 25) comprising:
one display device (300) each including the writing device (100), (fig. 25, [0055]), according to claim 1, and
a display portion as the contact target portion (i.e. touch panel display device 300a is the contact target portion for the pen 100), (fig. 25, [0055]);
a plurality of terminals (300a and 300b) configured to perform a predetermined display (i.e. object data on the touch panel display device 300a), (fig. 25, [0159]); and
a server (400), (fig. 25, [0152]),
wherein the display device (300), the plurality of terminals (300a and 300b), and the server (400) are communicably connected to each other, (fig. 25, [0160 and 0165]),
wherein the display device detects a contact position (coordinate data) of the contact portion (i.e. tip of pen 100) with respect to the display portion, and performs a predetermined display (i.e. performing touch operation and a drawing operation), (fig. 25, [0052-0055 and 0117]), and
wherein the terminals (300a and 300b) display a content of writing on the display portion of the display device by the writing device (i.e. performing touch operation and a drawing operation on the display device 300a and 300b), (figs. 7 and 10, [0090 and 0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima, by specifically providing the communication system, as taught by Tone, for the purpose of increasing functionality for using the pen with a plurality of touch panel display device.
Regarding claim 9, Tone discloses wherein each of the terminals (300a and 300b) displays a content of writing on a corresponding one of the terminals (300) by the writing device (100), (i.e. user draws with the pen 100), (fig. 7, [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima, by specifically providing the terminals, as taught by Tone, for the purpose of increasing functionality for using the pen with a plurality of touch panel display device.
Regarding claim 15, please refer to claim 7 for details.
Regarding claim 16, please refer to claim 8 for details.
Regarding claim 17, please refer to claim 9 for details.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima and in view of Ballan et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0239112; already of record).
Regarding claim 10, Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima discloses everything as specified above in claim 1. However, Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima does not mention wherein the first elastic body is an elastic body having stiffness lower than stiffness of the second elastic body.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ballan teaches wherein the first elastic body (21.11) is an elastic body having a stiffness lower than stiffness of the second elastic body (21.12), (i.e. the first elastic leaf portion 21.11 has a first stiffness and the second elastic leaf portion 21.12 has a second stiffness and the first stiffness is smaller than the second stiffness), (fig. 13b, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujitsuka in view of Fukushima, by specifically providing the elastic bodies having different stiffness, as taught by Ballan, for the purpose of providing a thinner pen-shaped coordinate pointing device, [0026].
Regarding claim 12, please refer to claim 10 for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, the reference of Fukushima has been added for new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/LONG D PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623