DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first second and third portions, and lateral and medial side must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
second engagement feature configured to engage the first engagement feature in claim 1;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “wherein the first and second portions of the shell are spaced apart from a lateral side and a medial side of the shell by a first distance”. It’s unclear how to determine what side is the lateral side and medial side are and how they would both be the same first distance. The examiner is confused as to how they first distance can be the same for the lateral and medial side and how thick the shell wall is for the medial side to be equal to the lateral side. For purposes of examination the examiner is interpreting the lateral side to be the side pointed out in Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moscowitz and the claim to mean “ wherein the first and second portions of the shell are spaced apart from a lateral side of the shell by a first distance”.
Regarding claim 4, the first and second portions of the shell are spaced apart from a lateral side and a medial side of the shell by a first distance. It is unclear what is considered the “lateral side and medial side”. For purposes of examination, the examiner is considering the lateral side to be the side marked lateral side on the Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moscowitz below.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “the handle mechanism is recessed further into the shell than the plurality of legs when the plurality of legs are in the retracted position”. It is unclear what this means as the handle mechanism and legs are not recessed into shell but rather fit within the recesses in the shell The examiner is interpreting this to mean “the central recessed region for the handle goes further into the shell than the plurality of recesses for the plurality of legs when the plurality of legs are in the retracted position”.
Claim 5 is rejected due to its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2022/0378160 by Moskowitz (Here forth “Moskowitz”) in view of US Publication 2019/0298022 by Shechter (Here forth “Shechter”) in view of Foreign Publication WO 03/053186 by Rodges (Here forth “Rodgers”).
Regarding claim 1, Moskowitz discloses a bag (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz) comprising:
a body (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz);
a shell coupled to the body (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz), [Not taught: wherein the shell comprises a central recessed region and a plurality of recessed regions disposed along the central recessed region];
a leg mechanism comprising (i) a plurality of legs comprising a first leg pivotably coupled to a first portion of the shell and a second leg pivotably coupled to a second portion of the shell (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz; the first and second portions of the shell are spaced apart by a distance that is greater than the first width and the second width)and (ii) a cross member extending between the first leg and the second leg (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz), wherein the plurality of legs are pivotable between (1) a retracted position in which the plurality of legs are [Not taught: positioned entirely within the plurality of recessed regions] and (2) an extended position in which one or more end portions of the plurality of legs are positioned outside of the plurality of recessed regions (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz and Fig 2 of Moskowitz);
a handle mechanism (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz) comprising (i) a first handle portion (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz) with a first end [Not taught: pivotably] coupled to a third portion of the shell (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz) and (ii) a second handle portion [Not taught: pivotably] coupled to a second end of the first handle portion (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz), [Not taught: wherein the second handle portion comprises a first engagement feature that is pivotable relative to the first handle portion, wherein the handle mechanism is configured to pivot between (1) a first position in which the first handle portion and the second handle portion are disposed entirely within the central recessed region] and (2) a second position in which the second handle portion and the second end of the first handle portion are positioned outside of the central recessed region (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz); and
a linking member connecting the first handle portion to the cross member (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz), wherein the [Not taught: linking] member comprises a second engagement feature configured to engage the first engagement feature in order to lock the plurality of legs in the extended position (Fig 8 of Moskowitz, the cross member comprises a second engagement feature is a pin 25 that engages the first engagement feature as it is connected to the shell that is attached to the first engagement feature, therefore the first engagement feature is indirectly engaged to the second engagement feature; the pin and holes lock the legs in various extended positions so the legs don’t extend beyond what it is locked at).
Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz
Moskowitz does not expressly disclose a central recessed region and a plurality of recessed regions.
Shechter disclose a similar bag that teaches the plurality of legs are positioned entirely within the plurality of recessed regions; a first position in which the first handle portion and the second handle portion are disposed entirely within the central recessed region (Fig 1A of Shechter, the handle 42+handle guides 48 fit within a central recessed region and central leg 54 fits entirely within a recessed region; an upper edge is the top most edge of the central recessed region is configured to extend along an upper edge of the shell; Examiner Annotated Fig 1A of Shechter, wherein the upper edge of the central recessed region is positioned a first distance from the upper edge of the shell, and wherein an upper edge of the plurality of recessed regions is positioned a second distance from the upper edge of the shell; the first distance is less than the second distance); wherein the handle mechanism is configured to pivot between (1) a first position in which the first handle portion and the second handle portion are disposed entirely within the central recessed region and (2) a second position in which the second handle portion and the second end of the first handle portion are positioned outside of the central recessed region (Fig 1A-1B of Shechter).
Fig 1A of Shechter
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Moskowitz and Shechter before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the bag of Moskowitz to include the concept of a central recessed region and plurality of leg recesses within which the handle and legs fit within, as taught by Shechter, to advantageously protect the handle and legs from damage when not in use.
Rodgers disclose a similar bag handle that teaches wherein the second handle portion comprises a first engagement feature that is pivotable relative to the first handle portion (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodgers, first engagement feature is portion between allows the second handle portion to pivot about the first handle portion; the first handle portion has a first width and the second handle portion has a second width that is equal to the first width; the first and second portions of the shell are spaced apart by a distance that is greater than the first width and the second width; a latch mechanism/button 6 configured to engage and lock the handle mechanism in the first position; the latch mechanism/button 6 comprises a deflectable member/spring 7 with a notched region configured to engage a distal end of the second handle portion; the latch mechanism comprises a cantilevered member 6 extending through the central recessed region when handle is retracted in the modified Moskowitz).
Examiner Annotated Fig 12 of Fisher
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Moskowitz as modified and Rodgers before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the bag of the modified Moskowitz to have the second handle portion comprise a first engagement feature that allow the second handle portion to pivot relative to the first handle portion, as taught by Rodgers, to advantageously allow the handle to rotate according to the user’s needs.
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bag of the modified Moskowitz to have the dimensions of the first and second widths be equal. Such a modification involves only a difference in recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. Such modification would involve no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed dimensions.
Moscowitz as modified does not expressly disclose the second engagement feature as being attached to the linking member instead of the cross member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the application was filed to have the second engagement feature be attached to the linking member instead of the cross member, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Moskowitz as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the first handle portion has a first width and the second handle portion has a second width that is equal to the first width (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1; Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodgers).
Regarding claim 3, Moskowitz as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the first and second portions of the shell are spaced apart by a distance that is greater than the first width and the second width (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1; Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz).
Regarding claim 4, Moskowitz further discloses wherein the first and second portions of the shell are spaced apart from a lateral side and a medial side of the shell by a first distance (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz).
Regarding claim 5, Moskowitz further discloses wherein the third portion of the shell is spaced apart from the lateral and medial sides of the shell by a second distance that is greater than the first distance (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz).
Regarding claim 6, Moskowitz further discloses wherein the second end of the first handle portion is disposed above the first portion of the shell and the second portion of the shell when the plurality of legs are in the retracted position (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz and Fig 2 of Moskowitz).
Regarding claim 7, Moskowitz further discloses wherein the second handle portion is disposed above the first and second portions of the shell when the plurality of legs are in the retracted position (Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Moskowitz and Fig 2 of Moskowitz).
Regarding claim 8, Moskowitz as modified does not expressly disclose wherein the handle mechanism is recessed further into the shell than the plurality of legs when the plurality of legs are in the retracted position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bag of the modified Moskowitz to have the dimensions of the recess be such that the recess that the handle fits within is recessed further into the shell than the recesses the legs fit within. Such a modification involves only a difference in recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. Such modification would involve no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed dimensions.
Regarding claim 9, Moskowitz as modified does not expressly disclose wherein the central recessed region has a different length, width, and/or depth than the plurality of recessed regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bag of the modified Moskowitz to have the dimensions of the central recessed region be a different length, width, or depth than the plurality of recessed regions. Such a modification involves only a difference in recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device. Such modification would involve no change in function (see MPEP 2144.04). Further Applicant has not disclosed criticality for the claimed dimensions.
Regarding claim 10, Moskowitz as modified includes all the limitations including wherein an upper edge of the central recessed region is configured to extend along an upper edge of the shell (Examiner Annotated Fig 1A of Moskowitz).
Regarding claim 11, Moskowitz as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the upper edge of the central recessed region is positioned a first distance from the upper edge of the shell, and wherein an upper edge of the plurality of recessed regions is positioned a second distance from the upper edge of the shell (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1; Examiner Annotated Fig 1A of Shechter).
Regarding claim 12, Moskowitz as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the first distance is less than the second distance (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1; Examiner Annotated Fig 1A of Shechter).
Regarding claim 13, Moskowitz as modified includes all of the limitations including further comprising a latch mechanism configured to engage and lock the handle mechanism in the first position (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1; Examiner Annotated Fig 1 of Rodgers, button 6) .
Regarding claim 14, Moskowitz as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the latch mechanism comprises a deflectable member with a notched region configured to engage a distal end of the second handle portion (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1, Fig 5 of Rodgers, spring 7 has notch).
Regarding claim 15, Moskowitz as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the latch mechanism comprises a cantilevered member extending through the central recessed region (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1, Fig 5 of Rodgers).
Regarding claim 16, Moskowitz as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the latch mechanism is disposed entirely within the central recessed region (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1, Fig 5 of Rodgers).
Regarding claim 17, Moskowitz as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the linking member is disposed entirely within the central recessed region when the plurality of legs are in the retracted position (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1, Fig 5 of Rodgers).
Regarding claim 18, Moscowitz further discloses wherein the linking member comprises a first end that is pivotably coupled to the first handle portion (Examiner Annotated fig 1 of Moscowitz) and a second end that is pivotably coupled to the cross member(Examiner Annotated fig 1 of Moscowitz).
Regarding claim 19, Moscowitz further disclose wherein the second engagement feature of the linking member comprises one or more protrusions (Fig 8 of Moscowitz, couplings 22A and 24A).
Regarding claim 20, Moscowitz wherein the second engagement feature of the linking member comprises a slot or an opening extending through the linking member (Fig 8 of Moscowitz, couplings 22A and 24A fit into member 35).
Conclusion
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 22 June 2026