Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/2/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,323,160. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite the same subject matter with colorable differences. For instance,
Claim 1 of the present application recites:
An analog filter, comprising: a first time-encoding machine (TEM); and a first delay element whereas claim 1 of the patent application recites an analog feedback comb filter. Both sets recite a filter, however, they are different configurations, function and properties but it is known that all filters are designed to remove unwanted signal. Hence, the limitation of claim 1 is quasi similar to claim 1 of patent 12,323,160.
Claim 2 of the present application recites
The analog filter of claim 1, wherein the first TEM is configured to receive an input signal and generate a time encoded signal. This limitation is identical to claim 2 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 3 of the present application recites
The analog filter of claim[[s]] 1 or 2, wherein the first delay element comprises one or more first inverters connected in series. This limitation is identical to claim 3 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 4 of the present application recites
The analog filter of claim 3, wherein the first delay element is configured to receive a supply voltage to control the delay of the one or more first inverters. This limitation is identical to claim 4 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 5 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim 3, further comprising one or more delay-locked loops (DLL) configured to generate a supply voltage for the one or more first inverters of the first delay element. This limitation is identical to claim 5 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 6 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim 4, wherein the one or more DLLs comprise a plurality of DLLs each configured to generate a respective reference voltage, the analog filter comprising control circuitry configured to cycle between each of the respective reference voltages to be provided as the supply voltage for the one or more first inverters of the first delay element. This limitation is identical to claim 6 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 7 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim[[s]] 4, wherein the one or more DLLs each comprise a delay line. This limitation is identical to claim 7 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 8 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim 6, wherein each delay line comprises one or more second inverters connected in series. This limitation is identical to claim 8 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 9 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim 6, wherein the delay line comprises the one or more first inverters of the first delay element. This limitation is identical to claim 9 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 10 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim 6, wherein the delay line is switchable between comprising one or more second inverters connected in series and comprising the one or more first inverters of the first delay element. This limitation is identical to claim 10 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 11 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim 9, further comprising control circuitry configured to periodically switch the delay line between comprising the one or more second inverters and comprising the one or more first inverters of the first delay element. This limitation is identical to claim 11 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 12 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim 9, wherein the first delay element is switchable between comprising one or more second inverters connected in series and comprising the one or more first inverters of the first delay element. This limitation is identical to claim 12 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 13 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim 6, wherein the delay line is a digital delay line comprising a plurality of second inverters, wherein the DLL comprises: DLL control circuitry configured to control the number of the second inverters provided in the delay line. This limitation is identical to claim 13 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim 14 of the present application recites:
The analog filter of claim 3, wherein the delay element is a digital delay element. This limitation is identical to claim 14 of the patent 12,323,160.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cooper (US 4,703,355).
With regard to claim 1, Cooper discloses:
An analog filter (65 Fig. 5), comprising: a first time-encoding machine (TEM) (17 Fig.3); and a first delay element (18 Fig.3).
With regard to claim 2, Cooper discloses:
2. (Original) The analog filter of claim 1, wherein the first TEM is configured to receive an input signal and generate a time encoded signal. (17 Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper (US 4,703,355) in view of Hernandez (US 2009/0207060).
With regard to claim 3, Cooper fails to teach
The analog filter of claim 2, wherein the first delay element comprises one or more first inverters connected in series.
Hernandez teaches:
The analog filter of claim 3, wherein the first delay element is configured to receive a supply voltage to control the delay of the one or more first inverters.
A delay line may be a cascade logic gates inverters (Para 29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the application to have applied the teaching of Hernandez in the filter of Cooper for the benefit to better configure the delay in the analog circuit.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper (US 4,703) in view of Chen (US 2015/0215110).
With regard to claim 4 Cooper fails to discloses:
The analog filter of claim 3, wherein the first delay element is configured to receive a supply voltage to control the delay of the one or more first inverters.
Chen discloses:
A reference voltage that is supplied to a delay inverter (Fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the application to have applied the teaching of Chen in the filter of Cooper for the benefit to better synchronize and improve the operation of the system.
With regard to claim 5, Cooper fails to teach:
5. (Original) The analog filter of claim 3, further comprising one or more delay-locked loops (DLL) configured to generate a supply voltage for the one or more first inverters of the first delay element.
Chen discloses
A delay locked loop that generates a supply voltage to the one or more inverters (404 Figs 4-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the application to have applied the teaching of Chen in the filter of Cooper for the benefit to better synchronize and improve the operation of the system.
With regard to claim 7 Cooper fails to teach:
7. (Currently Amended) The analog filter of claim 4, wherein the one or more DLLs: each comprises a delay line.
Chen discloses this limitation in Fig. 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the application to have applied the teaching of Chen in the filter of Cooper for the benefit to better synchronize and improve the operation of the system.
With regard to claim 8 Cooper fails to teach:
The analog filter of claim 6, wherein each delay line comprises one or more second inverters connected in series.
Cheng discloses this limitation in Fig. 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the application to have applied the teaching of Chen in the filter of Cooper for the benefit to better synchronize and improve the operation of the system.
With regard to claim 9 Cooper fails to teach:
The analog filter of claim 6, wherein the delay line comprises the one or more first inverters of the first delay element.
Chen discloses this limitation in Fig. 4.Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the application to have applied the teaching of Chen in the filter of Cooper for the benefit to better synchronize and improve the operation of the system.
With regard to claim 14, Cooper discloses:
The analog filter of claim 3, wherein the delay element is a digital delay element (Col. 4, line 21).
With regard to claim 18, Cooper discloses:
The analog filter of claim 1, wherein the analog filter comprises a feedforward filter having a feedforward loop, wherein the delay element is provided in the feedforward loop (fig.4).
19. (Original) The analog filter of claim 18, wherein the feedforward filter is a finite impulse response (FIR) filter.
20. (Original) The analog filter of claim 1, wherein the analog filter comprises a biquadratic filter having a first feedback look comprising the first delay element, a second feedback loop comprising the first delay element and a second delay element, a first feedforward loop comprising the first delay element, a second feedforward loop comprising the second delay element and a third delay element.
With regard to claim 21 Cooper discloses:
21. An electronic device comprising the analog filter of any one of the preceding according to claim (Filter 65 Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 22, Cooper discloses:
The electronic device of claim 21, wherein the device comprises one of a mobile computing device, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a games console, a remote-control device, a home automation controller or a domestic appliance, a toy, a robot, an audio player, a video player, or a mobile telephone, and a smartphone (col. 3 line 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In addition, claims 6, 10-13 are rejected under double patenting.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEGUY JEAN PIERRE whose telephone number is (571) 272-1803. The examiner can normally be reached from 8:00-6:30 PM Monday-Thursday. The examiner’s fax phone number is (571) 273-1803. The Examiner email address is peguy.jeanpierre@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the Examiner are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor Dameon E. Levi can be reached at (571) 272-2105.
/PEGUY JEAN PIERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845