DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to restriction election received Sep. 30, 2026. Applicant elected Group I with traverse. Applicant argues that Groups I, II and III would not impose a serious search burden. In response, as previously stated in the restriction requirement mailed July 31, 2026, Groups I, II and III are related as sub-combinations useable together. Each of the subcombinations identified is not required for the other subcombinations and each of the subcombinations would require a separate and independent search which would result in a serious search burden. Similarly, the subcombninations of claims 2-3 and 9 defines the beacon signal as I) RF signal, II) position including confidence, III) IR light or LED. The species are mutually exclusive and would require different search strategies. Restriction is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 3-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huber et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0279105 (referred to hereafter as Huber).
As to claim 1, Huber teaches a system configured to enhance resilience against electronic warfare, comprising:
a plurality of drones each configured to switch to a low power mode upon being downed (see para. 4, 54 and 120);
a processing system configured to: continually determine whether a drone of the plurality of drones has been downed (see para. 54 and 141-142), and
emit a beacon signal from a downed drone, the beacon signal containing position data (see para. 141-142); and
a communication system enabling formation of a mesh network among downed and active drones of the plurality of drones (see para. 51 and 159).
As to claim 3, Huber teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the beacon signal contains the position data along with a confidence in the position data (see para. 115-116).
As to claim 4, Huber teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the position data is determined using global positioning system (GPS) receiver onboard the downed drone (see para. 69-70).
As to claim 12, Huber teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the active drones include a first active drone, wherein the first active drone receives the beacon signal from the downed drone via one or more of the plurality of drones using the mesh network (see para. 51 and 159).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0164434.
As to claims 5 and 6, Huber teaches a system for emitting a beacon signal from a downed drone, the beacon signal containing position data (see para. 141-142). Huber does not explicitly teach the position data based on environmental data received from a barometer or IMU onboard the drone.
However, Cantaloube teaches a system and method for using a IMU or a barometer to determine the position of a drone (see para. 50). It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to install a barometer or IMU on the drone of Huber as taught by Cantaloube. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings well know in the art that using signals obtained from IMU, barometer or other similar sensors would improve the accuracy of the position of the drone and would therefore make it easier to determine the location of a drone.
4. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber in view of Ogun et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,393,346 (referred to hereafter as Ogun)
As to claim 7, Huber teaches a system configured to enhance resilience against electronic warfare, comprising: a processing system configured to: continually determine whether a drone of the plurality of drones has been downed (see para. 54 and 141-142).
Huber does not explicitly teach a first active drone, wherein the first active drone uses the beacon signal to determine a range from the downed drone.
However, Ogun teaches a system and method comprising a first active drone, wherein the first active drone uses the beacon signal to determine a range (see col. 4 lines 52-col. 5 lines 2).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to use the beacon to determine a range in Huber as taught by Ogun. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Ogun that doing so would provide a faster and more accurate method for determining the correct target location without requiring dedicated infrastructure or additional hardware installation.
As to claim 8, Huber in view of Ogun teach the system of claim 7. Ogun further teaches the range is determined using at least one Wi-Fi or Ultra-wideband (UWB) round-trip time (RTT) protocol (see col. 5 lines 8-14).
5. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber in view of Arya et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0309088 (referred to hereafter as Arya)
Huber teaches a system configured to enhance resilience against electronic warfare, comprising: a processing system configured to: continually determine whether a drone of the plurality of drones has been downed (see para. 54 and 141-142).
Huber does not explicitly teach switch the drone to a low-power mode in response to determining that the drone has been downed, wherein in the low-power mode, the drone deactivates non-essential systems and functions.
However, Arya teaches a system comprising a drone that detects a crash and in response switches the drone to a low-power mode in response to determining that the drone has been downed, wherein in the low-power mode, the drone deactivates non-essential systems and functions (see para. 133).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to switch the drone to a low-power mode in response to determining that the drone has been downed, wherein in the low-power mode, the drone deactivates non-essential systems and functions in Huber as taught by Arya. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Arya that doing so would allow the drone to conserve power consumption and then allow important data to be retrieved from the crashed drone.
6. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber in view of Moon et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0132943 (referred to hereafter as Moon)
Huber teaches a system configured to enhance resilience against electronic warfare, comprising: a processing system configured to: continually determine whether a drone of the plurality of drones has been downed (see para. 54 and 141-142).
Huber does not explicitly teach a first active drone, wherein the first active drone receives the beacon signal from the downed drone via one or more of the plurality of drones using the mesh network.
However, Moon teaches a system comprising a first active drone, wherein the first active drone receives the beacon signal from the downed drone via one or more of the plurality of drones using the mesh network (see para. 54).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to configure the first active drone to receive the beacon signal from the downed drone via one or more of the plurality of drones using the mesh network in Huber as taught by Moon. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Moon that doing so would improve safety while flying drones.
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669