DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 69 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 69, line 11: --the-- should be added between “of” and “interbody”.
Claim 69, line 12: “a” (between “along” and “length”) should be changed to --the--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: complementary retention feature in claim 69; retention feature in claim 69; and engagement features in claim 72.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 69-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 69 recites the limitation "the length" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 69-74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Blain et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2009/0012529.
Regarding claim 69, Blain et al. discloses an implant comprising: a cervical plate (2) comprising a complementary retention feature (12), an interbody spacer (4) comprising a threaded lumen (14) (Figs. 3A-3C and paragraph [0031] discloses member 32, which engages with lumen 14, having a complementary mechanical interfit such as a threaded lock; therefore, it’s understood lumen 14 is threaded), wherein the cervical plate and the interbody space are configured for combined coupling to an interbody implant inserter, wherein the implant inserter comprises a retention feature configured to couple with the complementary retention feature of the cervical plate, wherein the interbody implant inserter comprises a threaded portion configured to couple with the threaded lumen of the interbody spacer, wherein the interbody spacer is configured to be inserted into a disc space when the cervical plate and the interbody spacer are coupled to the interbody implant inserter and the cervical plate is spaced apart from the interbody spacer along a length of the interbody implant inserter, wherein the cervical plate is configured to translate along the length of the interbody implant inserter when coupled to the interbody implant inserter toward the interbody spacer inserter in the disc space (Figs. 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 70, Blain et al. discloses wherein the interbody spacer (4) comprises two guide lumens (both 16) diametrically opposed to the threaded lumen (14) (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 71, Blain et al. discloses wherein the interbody implant inserter comprises two projections configured to couple with the two guide lumens as such limitations of the interbody implant inserter merely further define the functional language of claim 69, i.e. “configured for combined coupling to an interbody implant inserter.
Regarding claim 72, Blain et al. discloses wherein the interbody spacer (4) comprises engagement features (both 16) configured to allow insertion of the interbody spacer in one direction but resist movement in the opposite direction (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claims 73 and 74, Blain et al. discloses wherein the cervical plate (2) comprises a concavity (surface 8 is concave) to accept the interbody spacer (4) at least partially therewithin (Fig. 3B); and wherein the cervical plate is configured to extend at least partially around a corner or edge of adjacent vertebrae (via superior and inferior portions of cervical plate having openings 10) (Figs. 1A-1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 75-81 and 83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blain et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2009/0012529 in view of Walkenhorst et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2016/0324657.
Regarding claims 75-81 and 83, Blain et al. discloses an implant comprising: an anchor; a cervical plate (2) comprising a hole (either of inferior holes 10) configured to receive the anchor and a ledge disposed within the tool, an interbody spacer (4) comprising a convex portion (front surface 18), wherein the cervical plate and the interbody spacer are configured for combined coupling to an interbody implant inserter, wherein the spacer is configured for insertion within a disc space region; wherein the cervical plate (2) comprises a concave portion (rear surface 8), wherein the concave portion of the cervical plate and the convex portion (front face 18) of the interbody spacer (4) are configured to mate; and an anchor configured to be recessed in the cervical plate (Figs. 1A, 1B and 3B and paragraph [0021]).
Blain et al. does not disclose wherein the ledge extends below the convex portion of the interbody spacer when the cervical plate is within the disc space region to position the anchor to extend into a corner of a vertebra; wherein the interbody spacer comprises a cutout configured to allow a portion of the cervical plate to extend into the disc space region and wherein the hole aligns with the cutout such that the interbody spacer does not obstruct a trajectory of an anchor; wherein the hole comprises a portion directly over the interbody spacer when the interbody spacer is disposed within the disc space region; wherein the ledge of the hole rests on the convex portion of the interbody spacer when the interbody spacer is disposed within the disc space region; the anchor having a head configured to be recessed in the cervical plate when the head of the anchor abuts the ledge; and wherein the ledge extends to a bone facing surface of the cervical plate.
Walkenhorst et al. discloses an implant having a plate (200) with a hole (either of inferior holes 208) and ledge disposed in the hole (via extension portion 212) that extends to a bone face surface (202) of the plate (Figs. 6-7), an interbody spacer (52) having a cutout (either of inferior cutouts 144) that aligns with the hole such that the hole has a portion directly over the interbody spacer with the ledge resting in the cutout, and an anchor (236) with a head (238) that is recessed in the hole and abuts the ledge to permit the implant be low profile when assembled (Figs. 5, 9 and 13 and paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant of Blain et al. such that the ledge extends below the convex portion of the interbody spacer when the cervical plate is within the disc space region to position the anchor to extend into a corner of a vertebra; wherein the interbody spacer comprises a cutout configured to allow a portion of the cervical plate to extend into the disc space region and wherein the hole aligns with the cutout such that the interbody spacer does not obstruct a trajectory of an anchor; wherein the hole comprises a portion directly over the interbody spacer when the interbody spacer is disposed within the disc space region; wherein the ledge of the hole rests on the convex portion of the interbody spacer when the interbody spacer is disposed within the disc space region; the anchor having a head configured to be recessed in the cervical plate when the head of the anchor abuts the ledge; and wherein the ledge extends to a bone facing surface of the cervical plate in view of Walkenhorst et al. to permit the implant be more low profile upon insertion within a patient.
Claim(s) 82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blain et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2009/0012529 in view of Walkenhorst et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2016/0324657 as applied to claim 81 above, and further in view of Fraser, U.S. Patent 6,432,106.
Regarding claim 82, Blain et al. in view of Walkenhorst et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein the ledge comprises an anchor insertion angle between 30 degrees and 40 degrees.
Fraser discloses an implant having holes with at angle alpha that can range from 15-60 degrees determined on a particular situation and a patient’s anatomy (Fig. 3 and Col. 3 lines 21-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hole of Blain et al. such that the ledge has a anchor insertion angle between 30 degrees and 40 degrees further in view of Fraser to permit suitability based upon a particular situation and a patient’s anatomy.
Claim(s) 84-88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blain et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2009/0012529 in view of Fraser, U.S. Patent 6,432,106 and Blain et al., U.S. Patent 8,100,955.
Regarding claims 84-88, Blain et al. (2009/0012529) discloses an implant comprising: a cervical plate (2) comprising a hole (10); an interbody spacer (4) uncoupled from the cervical plate; and an anchor configured to be inserted into the hole, wherein the anchor is configured to be inserted into a vertebra while the cervical plate and the interbody spacer are coupled to an interbody implant inserter; wherein the hole is configured to allow the anchor to maintain a constant trajectory from an access surface to a bone facing surface of the cervical plate (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0021]).
Blain et al. does not disclose the anchor at a high angle screw insertion between 15 degrees and 35 degrees.
Fraser discloses an implant having holes with at angle alpha that can range from 15-60 degrees determined on a particular situation and a patient’s anatomy (Fig. 3 and Col. 3 lines 21-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hole of Blain et al. such that the anchor is configured to be inserted into the hole at a high angle screw insertion between 15 degrees and 35 degrees in view of Fraser to permit suitability based upon a particular situation and a patient’s anatomy.
Blain et al. also does not disclose a secondary anchor, wherein the anchor comprises a corresponding indentation configured to accept the secondary anchor; a retainer ring positioned to resist backout of the anchor; wherein the retainer ring is configured to resist backout of the anchor; and wherein the secondary anchor is configured to expand a retainer ring.
Blain et al. (8,100,955) discloses an implant comprising: a cervical plate (102) comprising a hole (112), an interbody spacer (114) (Figs. 5A, 26A), an anchor (330) configured to be inserted into the hole, a secondary anchor (332), wherein the anchor comprises a corresponding indentation (334) configured to accept the secondary anchor; a retainer ring (338) positioned relative to the secondary anchor (332), wherein the retainer ring is configured to resist backout of the anchor (336), and the second anchor is configured to expand the retainer ring (Figs. 29A-29B and Col. 34 line 63-Col. 35 line 27) to thereby prevent or resist backout of the anchor (Col. 35 lines 35-38).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant of Blain et al. (2009/0012529) to include a secondary anchor and such that the anchor comprises a corresponding indentation configured to accept the secondary anchor; a retainer ring positioned to resist backout of the anchor; wherein the retainer ring is configured to resist backout of the anchor; and wherein the secondary anchor is configured to expand a retainer ring in view of Blain et al. (8,100,955) to permit preventing or resisting backout of the anchor from the cervical plate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 20 August 2026, with respect to the objection of claim 73 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 73 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 20 August 2026, regarding the interpretation of complementary retention feature, retention feature and engagement feature in claims 69 and claim 72 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has not provided any specific argument with respect to the interpretations; therefore, they are being maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 20 August 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 78 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 78 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 20 August 2026, regarding the rejection of claim 69 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amended claim 69, but did not provide any specific arguments as to why the prior art does not disclose the new limitations.
Regardless, the new limitations regarding the cervical plate and interbody spacer with respect to the “interbody implant inserter” are functional/intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
For such reasons, claim 69 still stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as set forth above.
Applicant's arguments filed 20 August 2026, regarding the rejection of claim 75 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amended claim 75, but did not provide any specific arguments as to why the prior art does not disclose the new limitations.
Regardless, Blain et al. discloses an anchor in paragraph [0021] (i.e. “screws or other fasteners”).
Furthermore, the other newly added limitations are functional/intended use recitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
For such reasons, claim 75 still stands rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 84 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775