DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-2, 9, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HEO et al. (KR20170068357).
Regarding Claim 1,
HEO et al. teach
a display assembly ([0136], FIG. 4-6, i.e. watch type mobile terminal (200)) comprising:
a three-dimensional (FIG. 4-6, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) display cover ([0151], FIG. 6, i.e. window (25e)) defining an internal volume (FIG. 4-6, i.e. volume below 25e as shown by the figure(s)), the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)) including a central portion ([0156], FIG. 4-5, i.e. portion around “through hole (53)”) and peripheral portion ([0186], FIG. 4-5, i.e. peripheral portion inside “bezel (230)”), the peripheral portion (i.e. please see above citation(s)) extending around a periphery (FIG. 4-6, i.e. area proximate to 230 as shown by the figure(s)) of the internal volume (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
a substrate ([0106], FIG. 4-5, i.e. the substrate of the display) forming a unibody (FIG. 5-6, i.e. one body, 25f as shown by the figure(s)) display panel ([0137], FIG. 4-5, i.e. display module (25f)) including:
a first display ([0174], FIG. 9, i.e. first area (310)) disposed within (FIG. 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the internal volume of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)), the first display visible through (FIG. 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the central portion of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
a second display ([0174], FIG. 9, i.e. second area (320)) disposed within (FIG. 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the internal volume of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and extending around at least a portion of a periphery (FIG. 9, i.e. 320 surrounding 310 as shown by the figure(s)) of the first display, the second display visible through (FIG. 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the peripheral portion of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 2,
HEO et al. teach
the display assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the first display (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is concentric with (FIG. 9, i.e. 310 and 320 share the same center at 53 as shown by the figure(s)) the second display (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 9,
HEO et al. teach
the display assembly of claim 1, wherein:
the first display (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is coupled to the central portion (FIG. 4-5 & 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
the second display (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is coupled to the peripheral portion (FIG. 4-5 & 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 12,
HEO et al. teach
the display assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
one or more display driver circuits ([0174], FIG. 1a & 9, i.e. control unit (180)) configured to control a first plurality of pixels ([0154], FIG. 1a & 9, i.e. display module (151), may include pixels; [0174], FIG. 1a & 9, i.e. first area (310)) included in the first display (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and a second plurality of pixels ([0154], FIG. 1a & 9, i.e. display module (151), may include pixels; [0174], FIG. 1a & 9, i.e. second area (320)) included in the second display (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 13,
HEO et al. teach
the display assembly of claim 1, wherein:
a total number of pixels included in the first display ([0154], FIG. 1a & 9, i.e. display module (151), may include pixels; [0174], FIG. 1a & 9, i.e. first area (310)) is different than (FIG. & 9, i.e. area 310 is different than area 320, therefore, their total numbers of pixels would have been different, as shown by the figure(s)) a total number of pixels included in the second display ([0154], FIG. 1a & 9, i.e. display module (151), may include pixels; [0174], FIG. 1a & 9, i.e. second area (320)).
Regarding Claim 14,
HEO et al. teach
a wearable computing device ([0136], FIG. 4-6, i.e. watch type mobile terminal (200)) comprising:
a housing ([0137], FIG. 6, i.e. case (210)); and
a display assembly ([0137], FIG. 6, i.e. display unit (151)) carried in (FIG. 4-6, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the housing, the display assembly (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprising:
a three-dimensional (FIG. 4-6, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) display cover ([0151], FIG. 6, i.e. window (25e)) defining an internal volume (FIG. 4-6, i.e. volume below 25e as shown by the figure(s)), the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)) including a central portion ([0156], FIG. 4-5, i.e. portion around “through hole (53)”) and peripheral portion ([0186], FIG. 4-5, i.e. peripheral portion inside “bezel (230)”), the peripheral portion (i.e. please see above citation(s)) extending around a periphery (FIG. 4-6, i.e. area proximate to 230 as shown by the figure(s)) of the internal volume (i.e. please see above citation(s));
a substrate ([0106], FIG. 4-5, i.e. the substrate of the display) forming a unibody (FIG. 5-6, i.e. one body, 25f as shown by the figure(s)) display panel ([0137], FIG. 4-5, i.e. display module (25f)) including:
a first display ([0174], FIG. 9, i.e. first area (310)) disposed within (FIG. 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the internal volume of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and visible through (FIG. 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the central portion of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
a second display ([0174], FIG. 9, i.e. second area (320)) disposed within (FIG. 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the internal volume of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and extending around at least a portion of a periphery (FIG. 9, i.e. 320 surrounding 310 as shown by the figure(s)) of the first display, the second display visible through (FIG. 9, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the peripheral portion of the three-dimensional display cover (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 15,
HEO et al. teach
the wearable computing device of claim 14, wherein:
the first display (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is concentric with (FIG. 9, i.e. 310 and 320 share the same center at 53 as shown by the figure(s)) the second display (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 3, 10-11, 16,and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEO et al. (KR20170068357) in view of Bushnell (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20190377385).
Regarding Claim 3,
HEO et al. teach
the display assembly of claim 1.
However, HEO et al. do not explicitly teach
the substrate is a unibody substrate formed of a polymer.
In the same field of endeavor, Bushnell teaches
the substrate ([0036], FIG. 3, i.e. flexible display layer 42) is a unibody substrate (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) formed of a polymer ([0036], FIG. 3, i.e. flexible polymer layer).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify HEO et al. teaching a watch device comprising a unibody display substrate with Bushnell teaching a watch device comprising a flexible polymer unibody display substrate to effectively provide flexibility for adaptation to a three-dimensional surface substrate (Bushnell’s [0036]).
Regarding Claim 10,
HEO et al. teach
the display assembly of claim 1.
However, HEO et al. do not explicitly teach
the second display extends around a portion of the periphery of the first display such that a gap is defined between a first end of the second display and a second end of the second display.
In the same field of endeavor, Bushnell teaches
the second display ([0038], FIG. 4 i.e. Elongated strip-shaped protrusions 42P) extends around a portion of the periphery (FIG. 4, i.e. edges of 42C as shown by the figure(s)) of the first display ([0038], FIG. 4 i.e. Central portion 42C) such that a gap ([0039], FIG. 4 i.e. gaps G) is defined between a first end (FIG. 4, i.e. an edges of a 42P (e.g. left) as shown by the figure(s)) of the second display (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and a second end (FIG. 4, i.e. an edges of another 42P (e.g. rig) as shown by the figure(s)) of the second display (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify HEO et al. teaching a watch device comprising a unibody display substrate with Bushnell teaching a watch device comprising a cut-out display substrate to effectively cover components under the display by cut-out for controlling hard to reach areas, corners, or protrusions in a three-dimensional display substrate (Bushnell’s [0039]).
Regarding Claim 11,
HEO et al. teach
the display assembly of claim 1.
However, HEO et al. do not explicitly teach
an outwardly facing display surface of the second display is oriented at an angle of 30 to 90 degrees with an outwardly facing display surface of the first display.
In the same field of endeavor, Bushnell teaches
an outwardly facing display surface (FIG. 4, i.e. surface of a 42P as shown by the figure(s)) of the second display protrusions ([0038], FIG. 4 i.e. protrusions 42P) is oriented at an angle of 30 to 90 degrees (FIG. 4, i.e. about 90 degrees as shown by the figure(s)) with an outwardly facing display surface (FIG. 4, i.e. surface of a 42C as shown by the figure(s)) of the first display ([0038], FIG. 4 i.e. Central portion 42C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify HEO et al. teaching a watch device comprising a unibody display substrate with Bushnell teaching a watch device comprising a three-dimensional display substrate to effectively cover components under the display by cut-out for controlling hard to reach areas, corners, or protrusions in a three-dimensional display substrate yet not compromising viewing angles (Bushnell’s [0039]).
Regarding Claim 16,
HEO et al. teach
the wearable computing device of claim 14.
However, HEO et al. do not explicitly teach
the substrate is a unibody substrate formed of a polymer.
In the same field of endeavor, Bushnell teaches
the substrate ([0036], FIG. 3, i.e. flexible display layer 42) is a unibody substrate (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) formed of a polymer ([0036], FIG. 3, i.e. flexible polymer layer).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify HEO et al. teaching a watch device comprising a unibody display substrate with Bushnell teaching a watch device comprising a flexible polymer unibody display substrate to effectively provide flexibility for adaptation to a three-dimensional surface substrate (Bushnell’s [0036]).
Regarding Claim 19,
HEO et al. teach
the wearable computing device of claim 14.
However, HEO et al. do not explicitly teach
the second display extends around a portion of the periphery of the first display such that a gap is defined between a first end of the second display and a second end of the second display.
In the same field of endeavor, Bushnell teaches
the second display ([0038], FIG. 4 i.e. Elongated strip-shaped protrusions 42P) extends around a portion of the periphery (FIG. 4, i.e. edges of 42C as shown by the figure(s)) of the first display ([0038], FIG. 4 i.e. Central portion 42C) such that a gap ([0039], FIG. 4 i.e. gaps G) is defined between a first end (FIG. 4, i.e. an edges of a 42P (e.g. left) as shown by the figure(s)) of the second display (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and a second end (FIG. 4, i.e. an edges of another 42P (e.g. rig) as shown by the figure(s)) of the second display (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify HEO et al. teaching a watch device comprising a unibody display substrate with Bushnell teaching a watch device comprising a cut-out display substrate to effectively cover components under the display by cut-out for controlling hard to reach areas, corners, or protrusions in a three-dimensional display substrate (Bushnell’s [0039]).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claim(s) 4-8, 17-18, and 20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
5. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
HEO et al. (KR20170068357) teach a watch-type mobile terminal and a control method thereof. More specifically, the present invention relates to a watch-type mobile terminal that displays various information using a display and a hand, and a control method thereof.
Bushnell (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20190377385) teaches an electronic device may be provided with a display. The display may have a flexible display layer covered by a protective display cover layer. The flexible display layer may be an organic light-emitting diode display layer or other layer with a flexible substrate. The flexible display layer may have a central region with peripheral edges. The central region may be rectangular, may be octagonal, or may have other shapes. Strip-shaped protrusions may extend along each of the peripheral edges of the central region. The strip-shaped protrusions may be bent to provide the protrusions with curved surface profiles. The display cover layer may have a cushion shape with bowed edges that overlap parts of the strip-shaped protrusions, may have curved inner and outer surfaces and/or planar surfaces, may have rounded corners with compound curvature, may have edges with curved surface profiles, and/or may have other configurations.
The subject matter of the independent claims could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record. The subject matter not found was a display device including
“…the first display is formed on a first active area of the substrate; and
the second display is formed a second active area of the substrate that is electrically isolated from the first active area.” (Claim 4; Claim 17 is similar),
“…a light blocking material disposed between the first display and the second display within the internal volume of the three-dimensional display cover, the light blocking material extending around the periphery of the first display.” (Claim 20),
in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628