DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Response to Election/Restriction filed 4/2/2026. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 4/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/2/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in order to improve the clarity of the claim(s), “a length of the elongated channel” in lines 2-3 of the claim should be amended to recite ---the length of the elongated channel---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cervical traction assembly” in claims 1-8, “patient support apparatus” in claim 1, “rope angle adjustment mechanism” in claim 1, “track engagement member” in claims 2, 3, 6 and 8-10, “first track engagement member” in claims 8 and 9 and “second track engagement member” in claims 8 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the rope angle adjustment mechanism" in line 7 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-10 depend on claim 1 and therefore, include the same error.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites “a locked configuration” in lines 3-4 of the claim. It is unclear if this recited “locked configuration” is the same as, or distinct from, the “locked configuration” that is previously recited in claim 3 (upon which claim 9 depends).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 9 and 10 recite the limitation "the cervical track assembly." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the guide track" in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,185,459. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,185,459 recite all limitations of claims 1-10 of the present application.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,903,889. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,903,889 recite all limitations of claims 1-10 of the present application.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,310,906. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,310,906 recite all limitations of claims 1-10 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joy (US 2,873,457 A).
Regarding claim 1, Joy teaches in Figures 1-4 and column 3, lines 68-73 an adjustment carriage track member (vertical end plates 21) that mounts to (as shown in Figure 1) the patient support apparatus (invalid lift or stretcher 8), the adjustment carriage track member (vertical end plates 21) comprising (as shown in Figures 2 and 3; column 3, lines 68-70 “the vertical end plates 21 of the vertically adjustable stretcher frame are provided with parallel vertical slots 57 (Figs. 2 and 3)”) a track body (parallel vertical slots 57) comprising (inasmuch as it is structured as) an elongated channel (parallel vertical slots 57; the parallel vertical slots 57 are shown in Figures 2 and 3 to have elongate structures extending along a vertical axis); and a rope angle adjustment carriage (traction sheaves or pulleys 60; Figure 1 teaches the traction sheaves or pulleys 60 receiving cable 65 therearound; column 3, lines 68-73 teaches “the vertical end plates 21 of the vertically adjustable stretcher frame are provided with parallel vertical slots 57 (Figs. 2 and 3) having side notches 58 and brackets 59 for traction sheaves or pulleys 60 (Fig. 4) are attachable at different elevations in the slots in engagement with the proper notches;” as the traction sheaves or pulleys 60 are moved up or down, the angle of the cable 65 relative to the head cast 66 is necessarily adjusted) that is movably located within (column 3, lines 68-73 teaches “the vertical end plates 21 of the vertically adjustable stretcher frame are provided with parallel vertical slots- 57 (Figs. 2 and 3) having side notches 58 and brackets 59 for traction sheaves or pulleys 60 (Fig. 4) are attachable at different elevations in the slots in engagement with the proper notches”) the elongated channel (parallel vertical slots 57), the rope angle adjustment carriage (traction sheaves or pulleys 60) comprising a rope pass-through opening (traction sheaves or pulleys 60 are understood to have a groove, or opening, for receiving cable 65 therein); wherein a position of the rope angle adjustment mechanism (traction sheaves or pulleys 60) along the elongated channel (parallel vertical slots 57) is adjustable (column 3, lines 68-73 teaches “the vertical end plates 21 of the vertically adjustable stretcher frame are provided with parallel vertical slots 57 (Figs. 2 and 3) having side notches 58 and brackets 59 for traction sheaves or pulleys 60 (Fig. 4) are attachable at different elevations in the slots in engagement with the proper notches”) to change locations of the rope pass-through opening (traction sheaves or pulleys 60 are understood to have a groove, or opening, for receiving cable 65 therein; thus, movement of the traction sheaves or pulleys 60 would also result in movement of the associates groove).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejections and the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not teach wherein the rope angle adjustment carriage comprises a track engagement member having a locked configuration that inhibits movement of the rope angle adjustment carriage along the elongated channel and an unlocked configuration that allows movement of the rope angle adjustment carriage along the elongated channel, in combination with the other element(s) of the claim(s).
Claims 3-10 depend on claim 2 and therefore, would also be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objection, the double patenting rejections and the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action .
Conclusion
/VICTORIA HICKS FISHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 4/9/2026