DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-5, 11-17 and 19-21 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ response to the last Office Action, dated Sep. 21, 2026, has been entered and made of record. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated Sep. 21, 2026, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to all of the references being used in the current rejection. Please see the following claim rejections for detailed analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-12, 14-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al. (CN 104407769 A, IDS, hereinafter English translation by Clarivate Analytics) in view of Wang (WO 2021104162 A1, hereinafter English translation by Clarivate Analytics).
As to claim 1, Quan teaches an object processing method (Quan, Abs., a “picture processing method”), performed by an electronic device (Quan, FIG. 7, [0107], “device 700 may be a mobile phone”), the method comprising:
displaying a first processing interface (Quan, FIG. 3, [0080], e.g., the interface containing “application A, application B and application C”), wherein the first processing interface displays a target object (Quan, see FIG. 3, [0076], e.g., a “picture to be processed of the editing interface”).
Quan does not teach “in response to a first trigger operation performed on the first processing interface, displaying a first application selection interface that displays all to-be-selected applications; before the target object being processed by any application, successively selecting a plurality of applications from the displayed to-be-selected applications to be used to process the target object, and displaying identifiers of the selected plurality of applications in the first processing interface; wherein, a sequence in which the plurality of applications are selected in the first application selection interface is a processing sequence in which the plurality of applications are used to process the target object; and the identifiers of the selected plurality of applications are displayed in the first processing interface in the processing sequence; after displaying the identifiers, sequentially selecting each of the selected plurality of applications in the processing sequence and processing a respective to-be-processed object by each currently-selected application to obtain an object processing result, wherein a first application in the processing sequence processes the target object; and each application subsequent to the first application in the processing sequence processes, as the respective to-be-processed object, an output object produced by an application immediately preceding the subsequent application in the processing sequence”.
However, Wang teaches the concepts of, in response to a first trigger operation performed on the first processing interface (Wang, FIG. 3, “The preview interface includes the control "Select APP"”), displaying a first application selection interface that displays all to-be-selected applications (Wang, e.g., FIG. 3, “the electronic device defaults to display APP1 to APP9 as an example”);
before the target object being processed by any application, successively selecting a plurality of applications from the displayed to-be-selected applications to be used to process the target object, and displaying identifiers of the selected plurality of applications in the first processing interface (Wang, FIGS. 3-4, e.g., “With reference to (b) in Figure 3, if the user deselects APP 1, APP 2, and APP 4 in (b) in Figure 3, and does not continue to add other APPs, when the user selects them, as shown in Figure 4 As shown, the electronic device can display the small window preview interface of APP 3, APP 5, APP 6, APP 7, APP 8, and APP 9 selected by the user”);
wherein, a sequence in which the plurality of applications are selected in the first application selection interface is a processing sequence in which the plurality of applications are used to process the target object; and the identifiers of the selected plurality of applications are displayed in the first processing interface in the processing sequence (Wang, FIG. 4, “after processing the first image, the electronic device can sequentially display the image corresponding to the effect k1 processed by APP 3, the image corresponding to the effect k2 processed by APP 5, and The image corresponding to the effect k3 processed by APP6, the image corresponding to the effect k4 processed by APP7, the image corresponding to the effect k5 processed by APP8, and the image corresponding to the effect k6 processed by APP9”);
after displaying the identifiers, sequentially selecting each of the selected plurality of applications in the processing sequence and processing a respective to-be-processed object by each currently-selected application to obtain an object processing result, wherein a first application in the processing sequence processes the target object (Wang, e.g., FIG. 5(a), “the electronic device can display the effect of APP 3 processing in the upper half of the interface 304a 31 corresponds to The image corresponding to the image, the image corresponding to the effect 32 and the image corresponding to the effect 33 are displayed in the middle area of the interface 304a. The image corresponding to the effect 51 processed by APP 5, the image corresponding to the effect 52 and the image corresponding to the effect 53 are displayed in the lower half of the interface 304a. The area displays the image corresponding to the effect 61 processed by the APP 6, the image corresponding to the effect 62, and the image corresponding to the effect 63”); and
each application subsequent to the first application in the processing sequence processes, as the respective to-be-processed object, an output object produced by an application immediately preceding the subsequent application in the processing sequence (Wang, e.g., FIG. 5, “Based on this solution, the electronic device displays processed images of different applications in different areas, and the processed effects can be displayed by application programs, which is convenient for users to compare and view”).
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the “picture to be processed of the editing interface” taught by Quan to be further processed through, e.g., the “interface 301” in which user can remove or add APPs, as taught by Wang, in order to “solve the problem that the user needs to switch different applications and repeat operations when acquiring an image, which results in cumbersome steps for operating the electronic device” (Wang, Summary of Invention).
As to claim 2, Wang teaches the object processing method according to claim 1, wherein the sequentially selecting at least one application from the plurality of applications and processing a corresponding to-be-processed object by each currently-selected application to obtain an object processing result after at least one processing, comprises:
obtaining the currently-selected application from the plurality of applications; displaying an application interface of the currently-selected application; processing the to-be-processed object corresponding to the currently-selected application through the application interface (Wang, e.g., FIG. 2, “Step 208: The electronic device receives a second input from the user. Among them, the second input is that the user moves the sixth image to the area where the seventh image is located, and the sixth image and the seventh image are images in the target image”);
performing a next application selection after the currently-selected application completing processing, until the object processing result being obtained (Wang, e.g., FIG. 2, “Step 209: In response to the second input, the electronic device displays the eighth image. Wherein, the eighth image is an image obtained by processing the sixth image using the first processing method, and the first processing method is a processing method of processing the first image to obtain the seventh image”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 3, Wang teaches the object processing method according to claim 2, wherein, the displaying an application interface of the currently-selected application comprises:
switching from displaying the first processing interface to displaying the application interface of the currently-selected application (Wang, e.g., see FIGS. 3-4, the default application interface 301 to the currently-selected application interface 303 (by deselecting APP1 APP2 and APP4)); and
the performing a next application selection after the currently-selected application completing processing, comprises:
switching, after the processing being completed, from displaying the application interface to displaying the first processing interface to perform the next application selection (Wang, FIG. 2, e.g., “Step 210: The electronic device receives a third input from the user. Specifically, the third input may be one input, or may include multiple inputs. Exemplarily, the third input may include the user's input of clicking, long pressing or sliding on the ninth image in the target image. The third input may also include multiple sub-inputs, such as a first sub-input and a second sub-input. The first sub-input is the input of the user clicking, long-pressing, or sliding on the ninth image in the target image, and the electronic device responds to the first The sub-input can display a selection interface, and the second sub-input is an input for the user to select an option in the selection interface. Step 211: In response to the third input, process the ninth image according to a preset processing method, where the ninth image is an image selected by the third input in the target image. Among them, the preset processing method is any one of the following: enlarge display, share, store, and cancel display. Based on this solution, after the electronic device displays the target image, if the user needs to further process the ninth image, the user can trigger the electronic device to magnify the ninth image and share the ninth image through the third input to the ninth image. Image, storing the ninth image locally, or canceling the display of the ninth image, etc., the user experience is better.”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 4, Wang teaches the object processing method according to claim 3, further comprising: determining, in response to an export operation being performed on the application interface, that the processing is completed, wherein the export operation is configured to save an object processed through the application interface to the electronic device (Wang, e.g., FIG. 2, “Step 209: In response to the second input, the electronic device displays the eighth image. Wherein, the eighth image is an image obtained by processing the sixth image using the first processing method, and the first processing method is a processing method of processing the first image to obtain the seventh image”; the “sixth image” must be saved to be processed and displayed as the “eighth image”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 5, Wang teaches the object processing method according to claim 1, wherein the to-be-processed object corresponding to an application that is not firstly selected from the plurality of applications is an object output by one of the plurality of applications which performs the processing earlier than the currently-selected application (Wang, FIG. 2, e.g., “suppose that application 1 uses filter 1, filter 2, and filter 3 to process images, that is, the image after application 1 processes picture 1 includes: picture 1 adds filter 1 to picture 1-1, picture 1 adds filter After 2 you get picture 1-2, and picture 1 adds filter 3 to get picture 1-3”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 11, Wang teaches the object processing method according to claim 1, wherein an object type of the target object is an image, the method further comprises: displaying a post-processed object obtained by processing the corresponding to-be-processed object by each of the selected at least one application (Wang, FIGS. 3-5, “after processing the first image, the electronic device can sequentially display the image corresponding to the effect k1 processed by APP 3, the image corresponding to the effect k2 processed by APP 5, and The image corresponding to the effect k3 processed by APP6, the image corresponding to the effect k4 processed by APP7, the image corresponding to the effect k5 processed by APP8, and the image corresponding to the effect k6 processed by APP”). Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1.
As to claim 12, Quan teaches the object processing method according to claim 11, wherein the displaying a post-processed object obtained by processing the corresponding to-be-processed object by each of the selected at least one application (Quan, [0085], “in the function menu of the appointed picture processing is clicked in the step 204 application, any image processing function area is clicked, the terminal calls the image processing function picture to be processed and performs the editing processing”), comprises: displaying, post-processed objects obtained after processing corresponding to-be-processed objects by the plurality of applications (Quan, [0096], “the processed picture is directly displayed in the editing interface”).
Quan in view of Wang does not explicitly teach “in a stacked manner; wherein a post-processed object obtained by one of the plurality of applications that performs the processing at a later stage is displayed at a higher layer of a stack”.
However, Examiner takes an Official Notice that it is old and well known in the art of image processing to display a plurality of processed images in a stacked manner, wherein newly processed images are displayed at higher layers of the stack.
At the time of effective filing date, given that Quan teaches the concept of displaying the plurality of processed images by corresponding image processing application, respectively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the processed images, i.e., the “post-processed object(s)” to be displayed in a stacked manner, wherein a post-processed object processed at a later stage is displayed at higher layers of the stack, in order to provide that the user can sequentially see the editing results in the order of the stack, which corresponds to the order of the processes performed by respective application.
As to claim 14, Quan teaches the object processing method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying a first processing interface comprises: displaying the first processing interface by performing an interface startup operation on the target object displaying interface (Quan, e.g., [0063], “The first icon clicking operation of user, calling the first icon click operation corresponding to the first picture processing application, the picture to be processed to perform the editing process to obtain a first processed image and a first picture processing application included in the at least one designated image processing application”).
Quan in view of Wang does not explicitly teach “displaying objects in an object collection; obtaining an object selected from the object collection as the target image and displaying a target object displaying interface corresponding to the target object”.
However, Examiner takes an Official Notice that it is old and well known in the art of image processing to select (obtain) an image as a target image while a plurality of images (image collection) are being displayed.
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the step of “calling the first icon click operation corresponding to the first picture processing application, the picture to be processed to perform the editing process to obtain a first processed image” taught by Quan to be followed by the step of selecting an image out of an image collection, in order to easily select a target image by a simple click among many images.
As to claim 15, Quan teaches the object processing method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying a first processing interface comprises: displaying the selected target object in the first processing interface (Quan, see FIGS. 3-5).
Quan in view of Wang does not explicitly teach “wherein the displaying a first processing interface comprises: displaying a first processing interface that comprises an object adding control; displaying an object selection interface in a case that a click operation performed on the object adding control is detected, wherein the object selection interface displays a to-be-selected object; obtaining the target object selected from the object selection interface”.
However, Examiner takes an Official Notice that it is old and well known in the art of image processing that an image processing interface comprises an image adding control by clicking an image and select the image as the target image.
At the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the step of “displaying the selected target object in the first processing interface” to be followed by performing the target image adding control, i.e., clicking the image, in order to easily select a target image by way of clicking.
As to claim 16, Quan teaches the object processing method according to claim 1, wherein an object type of the target object is an image, and an object type of the to-be-processed object is an image (Quan, see FIGS. 1-5).
As to claim 17, Quan teaches the object processing method according to claim 1, wherein an object type of the target object is a text (Quan, see FIGS. 3-5, it is reasonably inferred that images may contain text) or an audio.
As to claim 19, it differs from claim 1 only in that it is the electronic device performing the object processing method of claim 1. It recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 1, and Quan in view of Wang teaches them. Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1. Please see claim 1 for detailed analysis.
As to claim 20, it differs from claim 1 only in that it is the computer-readable storage medium having program codes stored therein to be executed for performing the object processing method of claim 1. It recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 1, and Quan in view of Wang teaches them. Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1. Please see claim 1 for detailed analysis.
As to claim 21, it recites substantially the same limitations as in claim 2, and Wang teaches them. Examiner renders the same motivation as in claim 1. Please see claim 2 for detailed analysis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 13, has been amended to be an independent claim including the allowable subject matter, and the closest known prior art, i.e., Quan et al. (CN 104407769 A, IDS), Nagasaka et al. (US 2010/0146442 A1), Xiao (CN 103946801 A), Nagasaka et al. (US 2013/0139163 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2019/0324628 A1), Wang (WO 2021104162 A1) and Kotler et al. (US 2009/0319897 A1), alone or in reasonable combination, fails to teach limitations in consideration of the claims as a whole, specifically with respect to the limitations “in response to a dragging operation performed on one of the plurality of post-processed objects being detected and the dragging operation satisfying a target condition, displaying the post-processed object receiving the dragging operation side by side with another post-processed object generated earlier than the post-processed object receiving the dragging operation; displaying an enlarged icon of a first application and an enlarged icon of a second application, wherein the first application outputs the post-processed object receiving the dragging operation, and the second application outputs the other post-processed object generated earlier than the post-processed object receiving the dragging operation”.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Kotler et al. (US 2009/0319897 A1) teaches the concept of “allowing a user to visualize a range of changes to an image” (Abs.).
Inquiry
Oct. 13, 2026
/RICHARD J HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623
***