DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (PGPUB 2022/0013105), hereinafter referenced as Sharma in view of Lakhotia et al. (On generative spoken language modeling from raw audio), hereinafter referenced as Lakhotia and in further view of Strelec et al. (Discrete acoustic space for an efficient sampling in neural text-to-speech), hereinafter referenced as Strong.
Regarding claim 1, Sharma discloses a computer-implemented method for generating a prediction of an audio signal, the method comprising:
receiving a request to generate an audio signal having a respective audio sample at each of a plurality of output time steps spanning a time window conditioned on an input (receiving a request to generate speech based on a text input and generating using a speech synthesis system, synthesized playback audio defining an audio signal corresponding to the text input and generating raw audio waveform as respective audio samples sequentially over a plurality of output time steps; p. 0015-0016), but does not specifically teach processing the input using an embedding neural network to map the input to one or more embedding tokens; generating a semantic representation of the audio signal that specifies a respective semantic token at each of a plurality of first time steps spanning the time window, each semantic token being selected from a vocabulary of semantic tokens conditioned on the embedding tokens and representing semantic content of the audio signal at the corresponding first time step; generating, using one or more generative neural networks and conditioned on at least the semantic representation and the embedding tokens, an acoustic representation of the audio signal, the acoustic representation specifying a set of one or more respective acoustic tokens at each of a plurality of second time steps spanning the time window, the one or more respective acoustic tokens at each second time step representing acoustic properties of the audio signal at the corresponding second time step; and processing at least the acoustic representation using a decoder neural network to generate the prediction of the audio signal.
Lakhotia discloses a method comprising generating a semantic representation of the audio signal that specifies a respective semantic token at each of a plurality of first time steps spanning the time window, each semantic token being selected from a vocabulary of semantic tokens and representing semantic content of the audio signal at the corresponding first time step (discrete text represent linguistic characteristics of speech and the generative language model operates on those discrete units wherein the discrete units are intended to abstract higher-level language information from fine-grained acoustic details; p. 1337); and
processing at least the acoustic representation using a decoder neural network to generate the prediction of the audio signal (speech decoder takes pseudo text units, outputs log Mel-spectrogram and then generates the time domain waveform; section 2), to represent linguistic information using discrete units
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to enable generation of speech based on sequences if such discrete linguistic units.
Strelec teaches a method comprising:
processing the input using an embedding neural network to map the input to one or more embedding tokens (embedding network operates in an audio embedding space; Introduction);
generating, using one or more generative neural networks and conditioned on at least the semantic representation and the embedding tokens, an acoustic representation of the audio signal, the acoustic representation specifying a set of one or more respective acoustic tokens at each of a plurality of second time steps spanning the time window, the one or more respective acoustic tokens at each second time step representing acoustic properties of the audio signal at the corresponding second time step (neural TTS architecture employing a vector quantized autoencoder having discretized latent acoustic space and vector quantization produces discrete representations selected from a finite quantized acoustic space; abstract, introduction and section 2.3), to assist with predicting for neural TTS synthesis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to improve representation of acoustic variability while permitting efficient prediction during speech synthesis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
Zeghidour et al. teaches a fully convolutional encoder/decoder neural network with a residual vector quantizer and states that the system generates high-quality audio from the quantized embeddings.
/JAKIEDA R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657