DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 11,355,043).
As to claim 1, Choi discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 17-23) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 2(210): display assembly, col. 3, lines 17-23);
an eye tracker (Fig. 2(170)) configured to track a view of a user (col. 3, lines 57-65: NED 100 includes an eye tracking system. The eye tracking system includes an eye tracker 170 a single eye 220); and
a display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers) configured to determine a central viewing area of the display panel and a peripheral viewing area of the display panel based on the view of the user, to drive the central viewing area of the display panel at a first duty ratio, and to drive the peripheral viewing area of the display panel at a second duty ratio (col. 10, lines 36 – col. 11, line 4: user's eyes can focus on a portion of the display active area 530 referred to as a gaze region 710. Because human eyes are less sensitive to luminance in a non-gaze region 720 outside of the gaze region 710 where the eyes are focused, pixels in the non-gaze region 720 may be operated to emit light at a lower brightness compared to pixels in the gaze region 710 without the user noticing a degraded image quality. Further, the pixels in the gaze region 710 can be turned on for a shorter time to emit light with higher brightness whereas the pixels in the non-gaze region 720 are turned on for a longer time to emit light with lower brightness. … To reduce power consumption and increase lifespan of the pixels, the display device 600 can be operated such that pixels in the first gaze region 710A emit light at a first duty cycle while pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A emit light at a second duty cycle. Note: “gaze region 710” is interpreted as the “central viewing area” and “non-gaze region 720” is interpreted as the “peripheral viewing area”),
wherein the first duty ratio is less than the second duty ratio (col. 10, line 58 – col. 11, line 6: Since the user is focused on the first gaze region 710A, the user's eyes are more sensitive to the image quality in the first gaze region 710A compared to a first non-gaze region 720A outside of the first gaze region 710A. To reduce power consumption and increase lifespan of the pixels, the display device 600 can be operated such that pixels in the first gaze region 710A emit light at a first duty cycle while pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A emit light at a second duty cycle greater than the first duty cycle, where pixels in the first gaze region 710A are driven with higher current to be brighter than the pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A. Therefore, the first duty ratio (first duty cycle) of the first gaze region 710A (central viewing area) is less than the second duty ratio (second duty cycle) of the first non-gaze region 720A (peripheral viewing area)).
As to claim 5, Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display panel driver comprises an emission driver (Fig. 6(660): address decoder) configured to output an emission signal (Fig. 8(EMa)) to the display panel (col. 12, lines 44-48: latch 810 is programmed to output an emission control signal EM based on an enable input EN provided by the address decoder 660 and a data input D provided by the source driver 645), and
wherein the emission driver (Fig. 6(660): address decoder) is configured to apply the emission signal having the first duty ratio to the central viewing area and the emission signal having the second duty ratio to the peripheral viewing area (col. 11, lines 44-57: a latch 810 that is dynamically programmed with a duty cycle for the corresponding pixel PXL depending on whether the pixel PXL is in the gaze region 710 or in the non-gaze region 720 for a given display frame, col. 13, line 10-51).
As to claim 6, Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a second display panel adjacent to the display panel (Fig. 2(210): display assembly for another eye 220, col. 3, line 17 – line 32);
a second eye tracker (Fig. 2(170)) configured to track a second view of the user (col. 3, line 57 – line 65: another eye tracker 170 can be included for another eye 220); and
a second display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers for another eye) configured to determine a central viewing area of the second display panel and a peripheral viewing area of the second display panel based on the second view of the user, to drive the central viewing area of the second display panel at the first duty ratio, and to drive the peripheral viewing area of the second display panel at the second duty ratio (col. 10, lines 36 – col. 11, line 4: user's eyes can focus on a portion of the display active area 530 referred to as a gaze region 710. Because human eyes are less sensitive to luminance in a non-gaze region 720 outside of the gaze region 710 where the eyes are focused, pixels in the non-gaze region 720 may be operated to emit light at a lower brightness compared to pixels in the gaze region 710 without the user noticing a degraded image quality. Further, the pixels in the gaze region 710 can be turned on for a shorter time to emit light with higher brightness whereas the pixels in the non-gaze region 720 are turned on for a longer time to emit light with lower brightness. … To reduce power consumption and increase lifespan of the pixels, the display device 600 can be operated such that pixels in the first gaze region 710A emit light at a first duty cycle while pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A emit light at a second duty cycle. Note: “gaze region 710” is interpreted as the “central viewing area” and “non-gaze region 720” is interpreted as the “peripheral viewing area”).
As to claim 7, Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the display panel corresponds to a left eye of the user (Fig. 2(210): display assembly, col. 3, lines 17-23), and wherein the second display panel corresponds to a right eye of the user (Fig. 2(210): display assembly for another eye 220, col. 3, line 17 – line 32).
As to claim 8, Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers) comprises:
a gate driver (Fig. 6(635): gate driver) configured to output a gate signal to the display panel (col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 13);
a data driver (Fig. 6(645): source driver) configured to output a data voltage to the display panel (col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 13);
an emission driver (Fig. 6(660): address decoder) configured to output an emission signal to the display panel (col. 12, lines 44-48: latch 810 is programmed to output an emission control signal EM based on an enable input EN provided by the address decoder 660 and a data input D provided by the source driver 645); and
a driving controller (Fig. 6(610): timing controller) configured to control the gate driver, the data driver and the emission driver (col. 8, lines 44-52: timing controller 610 can be configured to generate timing control signals for the gate driver 635, the source drivers 645, the address decoder 660, and other components in the display element 540), and
wherein the second display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers for another eye) comprises:
a second gate driver (Fig. 6(635): gate driver) configured to output a second gate signal to the second display panel (col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 13);
a second data driver (Fig. 6(645): source driver) configured to output a second data voltage to the second display panel (col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 13);
a second emission driver (Fig. 6(660): address decoder) configured to output a second emission signal to the second display panel (col. 12, lines 44-48: latch 810 is programmed to output an emission control signal EM based on an enable input EN provided by the address decoder 660 and a data input D provided by the source driver 645); and
a second driving controller (Fig. 6(610): timing controller) configured to control the second gate driver, the second data driver and the second emission driver (col. 8, lines 44-52: timing controller 610 can be configured to generate timing control signals for the gate driver 635, the source drivers 645, the address decoder 660, and other components in the display element 540).
As to claim 9, Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers) comprises:
a gate driver (Fig. 6(635): gate driver) configured to output a gate signal to the display panel (col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 13);
a data driver (Fig. 6(645): source driver) configured to output a data voltage to the display panel (col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 13); and
an emission driver (Fig. 6(660): address decoder) configured to output an emission signal to the display panel (col. 12, lines 44-48: latch 810 is programmed to output an emission control signal EM based on an enable input EN provided by the address decoder 660 and a data input D provided by the source driver 645),
wherein the second display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers for another eye) comprises:
a second gate driver (Fig. 6(635): gate driver) configured to output a second gate signal to the second display panel (col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 13);
a second data driver (Fig. 6(645): source driver) configured to output a second data voltage to the second display panel (col. 9, line 59 – col. 10, line 13); and
a second emission driver (Fig. 6(660): address decoder) configured to output a second emission signal to the second display panel (col. 12, lines 44-48: latch 810 is programmed to output an emission control signal EM based on an enable input EN provided by the address decoder 660 and a data input D provided by the source driver 645), and
wherein the display panel driver further comprises a driving controller (Fig. 6(610): timing controller) configured to control the gate driver, the data driver, the emission driver, the second gate driver, the second data driver, and the second emission driver (col. 8, lines 44-52: timing controller 610 can be configured to generate timing control signals for the gate driver 635, the source drivers 645, the address decoder 660, and other components in the display element 540).
As to claim 10, Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display panel includes display blocks extending in a first direction and arranged in a second direction, and wherein the display panel driver is configured to drive display blocks including the central viewing area of the display panel among all the display blocks at the first duty ratio and display blocks not including the central viewing area of the display panel among all the display blocks at the second duty ratio (Fig. 7A, col. 10, line 58 – col. 11, line 6: Since the user is focused on the first gaze region 710A, the user's eyes are more sensitive to the image quality in the first gaze region 710A compared to a first non-gaze region 720A outside of the first gaze region 710A).
As to claim 12, Choi discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 17-23) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 2(210): display assembly, col. 3, lines 17-23);
an eye tracker (Fig. 2(170)) configured to track a view of a user (col. 3, lines 57-65: NED 100 includes an eye tracking system. The eye tracking system includes an eye tracker 170 a single eye 220); and
a display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers) configured to determine a central viewing area of the display panel and a peripheral viewing area of the display panel based on the view of the user, to drive the central viewing area of the display panel at a first duty ratio and a first frequency, and to drive the peripheral viewing area of the display panel at a second duty ratio and a second frequency (col. 10, lines 36 – col. 11, line 4: user's eyes can focus on a portion of the display active area 530 referred to as a gaze region 710. Because human eyes are less sensitive to luminance in a non-gaze region 720 outside of the gaze region 710 where the eyes are focused, pixels in the non-gaze region 720 may be operated to emit light at a lower brightness compared to pixels in the gaze region 710 without the user noticing a degraded image quality. Further, the pixels in the gaze region 710 can be turned on for a shorter time to emit light with higher brightness whereas the pixels in the non-gaze region 720 are turned on for a longer time to emit light with lower brightness. … To reduce power consumption and increase lifespan of the pixels, the display device 600 can be operated such that pixels in the first gaze region 710A emit light at a first duty cycle while pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A emit light at a second duty cycle. Note: “gaze region 710” is interpreted as the “central viewing area” and “non-gaze region 720” is interpreted as the “peripheral viewing area”),
wherein the first duty ratio is different from the second duty ratio, or the first frequency is different from the second frequency (col. 10, line 58 – col. 11, line 6: Since the user is focused on the first gaze region 710A, the user's eyes are more sensitive to the image quality in the first gaze region 710A compared to a first non-gaze region 720A outside of the first gaze region 710A. To reduce power consumption and increase lifespan of the pixels, the display device 600 can be operated such that pixels in the first gaze region 710A emit light at a first duty cycle while pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A emit light at a second duty cycle greater than the first duty cycle, where pixels in the first gaze region 710A are driven with higher current to be brighter than the pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A. Therefore, the first duty ratio (first duty cycle) of the first gaze region 710A (central viewing area) is less (different) than the second duty ratio (second duty cycle) of the first non-gaze region 720A (peripheral viewing area), col. 14, lines 14-30: first subset of pixels in the gaze region is operated to emit light with greater brightness for a shorter period of time compared to the second subset of pixels in the non-gaze area that is operated to emit light with lower brightness for a longer period of time).
As to claim 15, Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first duty ratio is less than the second duty ratio, and wherein the first frequency is greater than the second frequency (col. 14, lines 14-30: first subset of pixels in the gaze region is operated to emit light with greater brightness for a shorter period of time compared to the second subset of pixels in the non-gaze area that is operated to emit light with lower brightness for a longer period of time. Note: frequency is inversely proportional to time period. Therefore, gaze region 710 (central viewing area) and non-gaze region 720 (peripheral viewing area) are driven at a first frequency and second frequency where the first frequency is greater than the second frequency).
As to claim 18, Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the display panel driver comprises an emission driver (Fig. 6(660): address decoder) configured to output an emission signal (Fig. 8(EMa)) to the display panel (col. 12, lines 44-48: latch 810 is programmed to output an emission control signal EM based on an enable input EN provided by the address decoder 660 and a data input D provided by the source driver 645), and
wherein the emission driver (Fig. 6(660): address decoder) is configured to apply the emission signal having the first frequency to the central viewing area and the emission signal having the second frequency to the peripheral viewing area (col. 11, lines 44-57: a latch 810 that is dynamically programmed with a duty cycle for the corresponding pixel PXL depending on whether the pixel PXL is in the gaze region 710 or in the non-gaze region 720 for a given display frame, col. 13, line 10-51).
As to claim 19, Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 12, further comprising:
a second display panel adjacent to the display panel (Fig. 2(210): display assembly for another eye 220, col. 3, line 17 – line 32);
a second eye tracker (Fig. 2(170)) configured to track a second view of the user (col. 3, line 57 – line 65: another eye tracker 170 can be included for another eye 220); and
a second display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers) configured to determine a central viewing area of the second display panel and a peripheral viewing area of the second display panel based on the second view of the user, to drive the central viewing area of the second display panel at the first frequency, and to drive the peripheral viewing area of the second display panel at the second frequency (col. 10, lines 36 – col. 11, line 4: user's eyes can focus on a portion of the display active area 530 referred to as a gaze region 710. Because human eyes are less sensitive to luminance in a non-gaze region 720 outside of the gaze region 710 where the eyes are focused, pixels in the non-gaze region 720 may be operated to emit light at a lower brightness compared to pixels in the gaze region 710 without the user noticing a degraded image quality. Further, the pixels in the gaze region 710 can be turned on for a shorter time to emit light with higher brightness whereas the pixels in the non-gaze region 720 are turned on for a longer time to emit light with lower brightness. … To reduce power consumption and increase lifespan of the pixels, the display device 600 can be operated such that pixels in the first gaze region 710A emit light at a first duty cycle while pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A emit light at a second duty cycle. Note: “gaze region 710” is interpreted as the “central viewing area” and “non-gaze region 720” is interpreted as the “peripheral viewing area”, col. 14, lines 14-30: first subset of pixels in the gaze region is operated to emit light with greater brightness for a shorter period of time compared to the second subset of pixels in the non-gaze area that is operated to emit light with lower brightness for a longer period of time. Note that frequency is inversely proportional to time period. Therefore, gaze region 710 (central viewing area) and non-gaze region 720 (peripheral viewing area) are driven by at a first frequency and second frequency).
As to claim 20, Choi discloses an electronic apparatus (Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 17-23) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 2(210): display assembly, col. 3, lines 17-23);
an eye tracker (Fig. 2(170)) configured to track a view of a user (col. 3, lines 57-65: NED 100 includes an eye tracking system. The eye tracking system includes an eye tracker 170 a single eye 220);
a display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers) configured to determine a central viewing area of the display panel and a peripheral viewing area of the display panel based on the view of the user, to drive the central viewing area of the display panel at a first duty ratio, and to drive the peripheral viewing area of the display panel at a second duty ratio (col. 10, lines 36 – col. 11, line 4: user's eyes can focus on a portion of the display active area 530 referred to as a gaze region 710. Because human eyes are less sensitive to luminance in a non-gaze region 720 outside of the gaze region 710 where the eyes are focused, pixels in the non-gaze region 720 may be operated to emit light at a lower brightness compared to pixels in the gaze region 710 without the user noticing a degraded image quality. Further, the pixels in the gaze region 710 can be turned on for a shorter time to emit light with higher brightness whereas the pixels in the non-gaze region 720 are turned on for a longer time to emit light with lower brightness. … To reduce power consumption and increase lifespan of the pixels, the display device 600 can be operated such that pixels in the first gaze region 710A emit light at a first duty cycle while pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A emit light at a second duty cycle. Note: “gaze region 710” is interpreted as the “central viewing area” and “non-gaze region 720” is interpreted as the “peripheral viewing area”); and
a processor (Fig. 6(615): data processing unit) configured to output input image data and an input control signal to the display panel driver (Fig. 6(635, 645): gate and source drivers),
wherein the first duty ratio is less than the second duty ratio (col. 10, line 58 – col. 11, line 6: Since the user is focused on the first gaze region 710A, the user's eyes are more sensitive to the image quality in the first gaze region 710A compared to a first non-gaze region 720A outside of the first gaze region 710A. To reduce power consumption and increase lifespan of the pixels, the display device 600 can be operated such that pixels in the first gaze region 710A emit light at a first duty cycle while pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A emit light at a second duty cycle greater than the first duty cycle, where pixels in the first gaze region 710A are driven with higher current to be brighter than the pixels in the first non-gaze region 720A. Therefore, the first duty ratio (first duty cycle) of the first gaze region 710A (central viewing area) is less than the second duty ratio (second duty cycle) of the first non-gaze region 720A (peripheral viewing area)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 11, 13-14 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AFROZA CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628