DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent App. No. 2019/0261525 to Chiu et al. (Chiu).
Regarding Claim 1: Chiu discloses a display apparatus comprising: a display (See Annotated Fig. A); a stand (See Annotated Fig. A) including a stand body (See Annotated Fig. A), and a bolt (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to protrude from the stand body; and a control device (See Annotated Fig. A) electrically connectable to the display to control the display, the control device including a mounting hole (See Annotated Fig. A) formed on a side of the control device, wherein the stand (See Annotated Fig. A) and the control device (See Annotated Fig. A) are configured so that the bolt protruding from the stand body is insertable into the mounting hole (See Annotated Fig. A) to mount the control device on the stand, and the control device mounted on the stand is supported by the stand.
Please Note: Chiu specifically discloses an alternative embodiment to the one shown in Annotated Fig. A and the figures of Chiu where “reversing the screws to extend from coupling plate 40 and fit into slots formed in information handling system 10.” (See para 0023, last four lines). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention to understand that the alternative embodiment described in paragraph 0023 of Chiu would require the mounting holes on the control device (10) to be positioned such that the larger second opening would be positioned below and extending downward from the first opening to enable the control device to properly couple to the stand.
For the purposes of Examination, an Annotated figure will be used to show how the Chiu reference is being interpreted. However, Chiu is being interpreted also as if the alternative embodiment discussed in para. 0023 was actually shown in the figures.
Regarding Claim 2: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting hole includes: a first opening (See Annotated Fig. A), and a second opening (See Annotated Fig. A) larger than the first opening and extending downward from the first opening.
Regarding Claim 3: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the bolt (See Annotated Fig. A) is configured to be positioned within the first opening (See Annotated Fig. A) while the control device is mounted on the stand.
Regarding Claim 4: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the stand (See Annotated Fig. A) and the control device (See Annotated Fig. A) are configured so that, to mount the control device on the stand, the bolt (See Annotated Fig. A) protruding from the stand body (See Annotated Fig. A) is configured to be aligned with the second opening (See Annotated Fig. A), the bolt aligned with the second opening (See Annotated Fig. A) is insertable into the second opening (See Annotated Fig. A), and with the bolt inserted into the second opening (See Annotated Fig. A), the control device is movable downward so that the bolt is positioned within the first opening (See Annotated Fig. A). Please also see para. [0023], last 4 lines.
Regarding Claim 5: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the stand further includes a coupling hole (See Annotated Fig. A) penetrating the stand body and through which the bolt (See Annotated Fig. A) is couplable to couple the bolt to the stand body. Please note that the coupling hole is implicitly disclosed because the bolt is screwed to the stand and therefore a hole is required.
Regarding Claim 6: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the bolt includes: a first bolt body (See Annotated Fig. A) couplable to the coupling hole, and a second bolt body (See Annotated Fig. A) extending from the first bolt body, so that when the first bolt body is coupled to the coupling hole, the second bolt body is configured to be insertable into the mounting hole (See Annotated Fig. A) to lock the second bolt body to the mounting hole.
Regarding Claim 7: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 6, wherein a screw thread is formed on an outer circumferential surface of the first bolt body (See Annotated Fig. A). Note that Chiu calls the bolt 38 a screw lug.
Regarding Claim 8: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 6, wherein a length of the first bolt body (See Annotated Fig. A) is less than a thickness of the stand body where the coupling hole penetrates the stand body.
Regarding Claim 9: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 6, wherein a length of the second bolt body (See Annotated Fig. A) is greater than a thickness of the side of the control device on which the mounting hole is formed.
Regarding Claim 10: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the bolt further includes a bolt head (See Annotated Fig. A) extending from the second bolt body (See Annotated Fig. A), and the stand and the control device (See Annotated Fig. A) are configured so that the bolt head (See Annotated Fig. A) is receivable inside the control device through the mounting hole (See Annotated Fig. A) while the control device is mounted on the stand.
Regarding Claim 11: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 10, wherein the mounting hole includes: a first opening (See Annotated Fig. A), and a second opening (See Annotated Fig. A) larger than the first opening and extending downward from the first opening, and a diameter of the bolt head (See Annotated Fig. A) is smaller than a size of the second opening and larger than a size of the first opening (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 13: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the stand body includes: a base (See Annotated Fig. A), and a support body (See Annotated Fig. A) extending obliquely from the base and having a plate shape corresponding to a surface of the control device.
Regarding Claim 14: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control device (See Annotated Fig. A) is configured to supply power to the display or to connect the display and an external device.
Regarding Claim 15: Chiu discloses a display apparatus of claim 1, wherein one side of the stand supports the control device (See Annotated Fig. A), and another side of the stand supports the display (See Annotated Fig. A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
None of the cited prior art, considered alone or in combination, discloses or teaches, in addition to the other claimed limitations of Claims 1 and 12, a stopper that is lockable to the second bolt to limit movement of the control device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 10473259, 10492316.
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632