DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 7 and 8 are objected to because they recite “vapour,” whereas claims 10 and 11 recite “vapor.” A single spelling should be used consistently throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because the final clause “and in that if at least one of these conditions is met” uses European “characterised in that” phrasing that does not read grammatically in a U.S. claim. Applicant may consider “wherein, if at least one of the verified conditions is met, the source tank is parked in the depressurization zone.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because “and/or in that the receiving tank is” is ungrammatical. Applicant may consider “and/or wherein the receiving tank is.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because the transitional phrase “the system comprising” is not followed by a colon before the listed elements. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a recovery member configured to recover the vapor phase of the cryogenic liquid” (claim 10). The specification describes recovery member 114 only by its function and by its connectability to a gas distribution network, a fixed or movable gas storage tank, a vehicle filling station, a liquefaction or reliquefaction plant, or a vent (¶ 0034-0035, 0104-0106), and depicts it in fig. 5 only as an arrow-shaped block into which pipes 113 lead. No corresponding structure for performing the recovering function is identified. See the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and § 112(a) below.
“at least a first pressure and/or flow control member configured to be opened when the pressure in the source tank is above a determined acceptance threshold” (claim 10); and “at least a second pressure control member configured to be opened when the pressure in the source tank is above a predetermined pressure threshold and/or the temperature in the source tank is above a predetermined temperature threshold” (claim 10). The corresponding structure is a valve controlled by a sensor measuring pressure and/or temperature in the source tank, an automatic mechanical device opening on the pressure difference between the source tank and the recovery member, a valve, a dump valve, a pressure regulator, or a flow controller, operated on/off or with a variable opening (¶ 0113-0114), and equivalents thereof.
“A towing vehicle configured to move” (claim 10) and “circuitry configured to establish a fluidic connection” (claim 11) are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). “Vehicle” is a term of definite structure, and “circuitry” in the fluid-handling context of the specification denotes pipes, valves or other control members and a pumping member (¶ 0115), which one of ordinary skill would recognize as structure.
Contingent limitations. Claim 1 recites alternative steps conditioned on the outcome of the verifying step (“upon verification that at least one parking condition is met, parking ... in the depressurization zone; upon verification that at least one parking condition is not met, parking ... in the waiting zone”). Claims 7 and 8 likewise recite recovery steps conditioned “upon a determination” of recited tank states. Under the BRI of a method claim, a step conditioned on a condition that need not occur is not required to be performed. MPEP § 2111.04(II). Accordingly, claims 1, 7 and 8 are met by art practicing the method under the condition that occurs. Notwithstanding, the rejections below address both branches of claim 1.
Optional and exemplary language. The limitations introduced by “preferably” (claims 1 and 2) and “notably” (claims 1 and 6) describe optional or exemplary subject matter and do not limit the claims for purposes of applying prior art. MPEP §§ 2111.04, 2173.05(d). See also the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) below.
Zones. The “first zone” and “second zone” of claims 1 and 10 are areas of a distribution site. A zone “configured for” parking or for transferring is met by an area capable of that use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 recites “a recovery member configured to recover the vapor phase of the cryogenic liquid,” which is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The supporting disclosure is ¶ 0034-0035, 0104-0106 and element 114 of fig. 5. Because the specification does not disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts that perform the recovering function, it does not demonstrate that the inventor was in possession of the claimed recovery member. MPEP §§ 2163.03(VI), 2181(IV). Independent claim 10 is rejected on this basis in its own right; claims 11-12 are rejected by dependency.
Claims 11 and 12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “notably a liquid cryogenic fuel tank of a receiving vehicle,” “the cryogenic liquid notably being liquid hydrogen,” and “and, preferably, simultaneously transferring a quantity of boil-off gas present in the receiving tank to the source tank.” Claim 2 recites “and, preferably, a step of transferring the recovered vapour phase.” Claim 6 recites “notably in consideration of the permissible thermodynamic limits.” These phrases render it unclear whether the narrower subject matter that follows is a required limitation. MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites “upon verification that at least one parking condition is met, parking the source tank in the depressurization zone” and “upon verification that at least one parking condition is not met, parking the source tank in the waiting zone.” Where more than one parking condition is verified (see claims 4-5) and one is met while another is not, both limitations are triggered and the claim requires the same source tank to be parked simultaneously in two distinct zones. The specification describes parking in the waiting zone only “[i]f none of the conditions is met” (¶ 0084). The boundaries of claim 1 are therefore unclear.
The following terms lack proper antecedent basis: claim 1, “the source tanks” (only “a movable source tank” is previously recited); claim 3, “the depressurization time”; claim 4, “the waiting time” and “the next need”; claim 6, “the permissible thermodynamic limits”; claims 7 and 8, “the vapour phase” (claim 4 and claim 1, from which claims 7 and 8 depend, recite no vapour phase, and the term is not tied to any particular tank); claim 10, “the source tank” (claim 10 recites only “a plurality of movable source tanks,” so it is unclear which tank is meant) and “the receiving tank” (claim 10 recites “a cryogenic liquid receiving tank”); claim 11, “the source tanks” and “the receiving tank.” MPEP § 2173.05(e).
Claim 5 recites sub-steps of “verifying that the liquid level in the source tank is below the predetermined liquid level threshold,” “verifying that the pressure ... is above ...,” and “verifying that the waiting time ... is above ...,” followed by “if at least one of these conditions is met.” “Verifying that” a state exists presupposes the state, yet the final limitation contemplates that the conditions may not be met. Therefore, it is unclear whether each sub-step is a determination of whether the condition exists or a confirmation that it does, and “these conditions” has no clear referent.
Claim 6 recites thresholds defined “in such a way as to allow optimum filling of the receiving tank” renders the claim indefinite because “Optimum” is a term of degree. The specification offers two different standards: a state at the end of filling in which pressure and/or temperature “do not exceed defined maximum values” (¶ 0088), and a state at first draw-off in which they “do not exceed defined minimum values” (¶ 0089). These standards are inconsistent, and one of ordinary skill could not ascertain the scope of “optimum filling.” MPEP § 2173.05(b).
Claim 10 recites “recovery member.” As set forth under Claim Interpretation above, “a recovery member configured to recover the vapor phase of the cryogenic liquid” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The specification does not disclose corresponding structure that performs the recovering function: recovery member 114 is described only functionally (¶ 0034-0035, 0104-0106) and is shown in fig. 5 as an arrow-shaped block. A claim limitation invoking § 112(f) is indefinite when the specification fails to disclose adequate corresponding structure. MPEP § 2181(II)(B).
Claims 11 and 12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Applicant Admitted Prior Art. The Background of the present specification states that, at vehicle filling sites and notably airports, “it is known to provide a dedicated zone for the depressurization operations,” because depressurizing a receiving or source tank where filling is carried out is probably not possible for safety reasons (¶ 0008). This statement identifies the work as prior art and is relied upon as an admission. MPEP § 2129. It is referred to below as “AAPA.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffjann (US 2013/0312871 A1) in view of Light (US 2024/0110670 A1) (“Light ’670”) and AAPA.
In regard to claim 1, Hoffjann teaches a method for filling a cryogenic liquid receiving tank (vehicle tank in the fuselage or tail cone of an aircraft), the receiving tank being a liquid cryogenic fuel tank of a receiving vehicle (aircraft) and the cryogenic liquid being liquid hydrogen, the method using a movable source tank (cryogenic hydrogen filling tank 10 carried on mobile base 4 of refueling platform 2, the base being a truck chassis, platform truck or semi-trailer), the method being carried out at a distribution site (airport) having a zone for filling the receiving tank (position of the aircraft at which the platform is fixed by supports 26 for refueling) (¶ 0003-0004, 0006-0008, 0026-0027, 0038, 0042; fig. 1), the method comprising:
transferring a quantity of cryogenic liquid from the source tank (10) to the receiving tank (vehicle tank) through conveying device (12) and filler hose (14), the clause introduced by “preferably” being optional (see Claim Interpretation), and Hoffjann further simultaneously discharging the gaseous hydrogen present in the receiving tank through discharge connection (30) and discharge line (32) to discharge device (20), compressor (34) and pressure tank (36) carried with the filling tank (10) on platform (2) (¶ 0011, 0017, 0019, 0021, 0040, 0044-0045; figs. 1, 2A, 2B).
Hoffjann does not teach a towing vehicle; a first zone, distinct from the filling zone, for parking the source tanks and the towing vehicle; moving the source tank from the first zone to the filling zone and back using the towing vehicle; and verifying a parking condition of the returned source tank and, when the condition is met, parking it for depressurization.
However, Light ’670 teaches distributing liquid hydrogen with liquid cryogen trailers that are transported by semi-trucks between a liquid cryogen depot, at which the trailers are located, and end user sites, at which the trailer fills the end user’s storage tank (¶ 0003-0004, 0009, 0011, 0034-0035; claims 1-3, 11). Light ’670 further teaches that a trailer is returned to the depot once it does not contain a sufficient amount of liquid cryogen for another delivery, arriving at a relatively higher pressure (e.g., 3.5-6 bara), and that at the depot its headspace gas is recovered by connecting it through a conduit and valves to the headspace of a jumbo trailer (Trailer 2), which lowers its pressure, after which it is vented down to a predetermined lower pressure (e.g., 1.1 bara) so that it can be refilled (¶ 0036, 0039-0041, 0043, 0045; figs. 1-2, 6; claims 2, 4). Other trailers are held at the same depot in other states, including Trailer 3 awaiting filling and the jumbo trailer (¶ 0035, 0039; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid hydrogen aircraft refueling method of Hoffjann to include semi-truck-towed liquid hydrogen trailers that are parked at a depot area of the airport, towed from the depot to the aircraft for filling and back to the depot, and, when a returned trailer no longer holds enough liquid for another fill, depressurized at the depot by recovering its headspace gas as taught by Light ’670, in order that less cryogen is wasted and the gas remaining in returned trailers is put to use rather than vented (Light ’670 ¶ 0037, 0054).
Hoffjann as modified by Light ’670 does not teach that the first zone comprises a depressurization zone and a waiting zone distinct from the depressurization zone, with the returned source tank parked in the depressurization zone when the parking condition is met and in the waiting zone when it is not.
However, AAPA teaches that, at vehicle filling sites and notably airports, it is known to provide a dedicated zone for depressurization operations (specification ¶ 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Hoffjann to include, within the airport depot, a dedicated depressurization zone as taught by AAPA, in which returned trailers meeting the condition are depressurized, while the trailers that do not require depressurization (such as Light ’670’s trailers awaiting filling or awaiting another delivery) are held in the remainder of the depot, in order to confine depressurization operations to a dedicated zone for safety reasons.
In regard to claim 2, the modified Hoffjann teaches the method of claim 1, but Hoffjann does not teach, when the source tank is parked in the depressurization zone, recovering the vapour phase of the cryogenic liquid contained in the source tank and transferring it to at least one of the recited destinations.
However, Light ’670 teaches recovering the headspace gas of the returned trailer at the depot by transferring it through a conduit and valves into the headspace of the jumbo trailer (Trailer 2), a movable gas storage tank, and further teaches venting the gas of a returned trailer to a location within the liquefaction process (¶ 0007, 0036, 0041; fig. 2; claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hoffjann to include, in the depressurization zone, recovering the vapour phase of the parked source tank and transferring it to a jumbo trailer or to the liquefaction process as taught by Light ’670, in order that the pressurized gas remaining in returned trailers is used rather than wasted.
In regard to claim 4, the modified Hoffjann teaches the method of claim 1, but Hoffjann does not teach that the at least one parking condition is selected from the recited group, including the liquid level in the source tank being below a predetermined liquid level threshold.
However, Light ’670 teaches that a trailer is returned to the depot for depressurization and refilling when it does not contain a sufficient amount of liquid cryogen for a practical amount to be delivered to another end user site, i.e., when its liquid is below the quantity needed for another fill (¶ 0006, 0036, 0040, 0048; figs. 1, 8; claim 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hoffjann to include, as the parking condition, that the liquid in the returned source tank is below the quantity needed for a further fill as taught by Light ’670, in order to send trailers that can no longer complete a fill for depressurization and refilling while trailers that can still deliver continue in service.
In regard to claim 7, the modified Hoffjann teaches the method of claim 4, but Hoffjann does not teach that, upon a determination that the liquid level is below the threshold, the vapour phase is recovered until the pressure in the source tank is below a determined acceptance threshold.
However, Light ’670 teaches that the gaseous hydrogen of a depleted trailer is vented to a location within the liquefaction process, before refilling, until the trailer pressure reaches 2-4 psig, and that the returned trailer’s gas is transferred to the jumbo trailer until the two are balanced at pressure P2 and then vented to a predetermined pressure lower than P2 (e.g., 1.1 bara) that permits the trailer to be refilled by pressure difference (¶ 0007, 0013, 0041, 0043, 0045; figs. 2, 5-6; claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hoffjann to include recovering the vapour phase of a depleted source tank until its pressure falls below a predetermined pressure set for its refilling as taught by Light ’670, in order to allow the trailer to be refilled by pressure difference without, or with reduced use of, a pressure-building circuit (Light ’670 ¶ 0045).
In regard to claim 9, the modified Hoffjann teaches the method of claim 1, and Hoffjann further teaches that the method is carried out within an airport and that the receiving tank is a cryogenic liquid tank of an aircraft (¶ 0003, 0026; fig. 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffjann (US 2013/0312871 A1) in view of Light ’670 (US 2024/0110670 A1) and AAPA as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dudar (US 2020/0189385 A1).
In regard to claim 3, the modified Hoffjann teaches the method of claim 2, but Hoffjann does not teach estimating the depressurization time required to recover the vapour phase.
However, Dudar teaches, for a fuel tank (220) whose pressure measured by pressure sensor (291) is above a threshold, estimating the time required to depressurize the tank by directing its vapors to fuel vapor canister (222), the depressurization time being estimated from tank pressure, fuel temperature and tank ullage volume using a look-up table, algorithm or model, comparing the estimated time with a threshold time, and selecting the vapor path through load port (302) or depressurization port (308) according to that estimate (¶ 0009, 0050, 0062, 0075-0076, 0090; fig. 5, steps 506-518).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hoffjann to include estimating, from the tank pressure, temperature and ullage, the time required to depressurize the parked source tank as taught by Dudar, in order to reduce the delay incurred before the tank can receive fuel by selecting the depressurization path according to the estimated time (Dudar ¶ 0010, 0086).
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffjann (US 2013/0312871 A1) in view of Light ’670 (US 2024/0110670 A1) and AAPA as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Garner (US 2018/0128210 A1).
In regard to claim 5, the modified Hoffjann teaches the method of claim 4, including verifying whether the liquid remaining in the source tank is below the quantity needed for another fill (Light ’670 ¶ 0036, 0040, 0048).
Hoffjann does not teach the further sub-steps of verifying whether the pressure in the source tank is above a predetermined pressure threshold and verifying whether the waiting time before the next need to fill a receiving tank is above a predetermined waiting time threshold, performed in the recited order.
However, Garner teaches a cryogenic tank (20), a pressure sensor (120) and a controller (110) that compares the tank pressure with a target tank vapor pressure and opens vapor valve (60) to draw down the vapor when the pressure is above the target (¶ 0031-0032; figs. 1, 5), the target being set as a function of the liquid level in the tank (¶ 0052; figs. 6e-6f), and the controller operating in a predictive mode in which the target is lowered, and vapor drawn down, at a predetermined distance and/or time before refueling, return to home base, parking or shut-down (¶ 0053; claims 12-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hoffjann to include, in the verification of the returned source tank, comparing the tank pressure with a pressure target and taking into account the time until the tank’s next use as taught by Garner, so that a tank whose pressure exceeds the target, or whose next use is far enough away, is sent for depressurization, in order to keep the tank pressure below levels that would cause venting and to prepare the tank ahead of its next operation (Garner ¶ 0004, 0027, 0053). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Light ’670’s trailers gain pressure from heat leak while they wait (Light ’670 ¶ 0036). The order in which the liquid-level, pressure and waiting-time checks are performed is a selection among a finite number of sequences for the same checks, each yielding the same routing result. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(C) and MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
In regard to claim 8, the modified Hoffjann teaches the method of claim 4, but Hoffjann does not teach that, upon a determination that the liquid level in the source tank is at or above the predetermined threshold and that the pressure and/or temperature in the source tank is above the predetermined threshold, the vapour phase is recovered until the pressure and/or temperature in the source tank is below that threshold.
However, Garner teaches that, with the liquid level in the cryogenic tank (20) above a given level (e.g., more than half full), the controller (110) applies a liquid-level-dependent target tank vapor pressure and, when the tank pressure is above that target, opens vapor valve (60) until the measured pressure drops below the target, the vapor being supplied to the use device rather than vented (¶ 0005, 0031-0032, 0052; figs. 5, 6e).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hoffjann to include, for a source tank still holding enough liquid for further fillings whose pressure is above the target, drawing down its vapor until the tank pressure is below the target as taught by Garner, in order to keep the tank pressure below levels that would cause venting (Garner ¶ 0004, 0027).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffjann (US 2013/0312871 A1) in view of Light ’670 (US 2024/0110670 A1) and AAPA as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Garner (US 2018/0128210 A1) and Light (US 2023/0160529 A1) (“Light ’529”).
In regard to claim 6, the modified Hoffjann teaches the method of claim 4, but Hoffjann does not teach that the predetermined pressure and/or temperature threshold is defined or calculated using predetermined tables and/or a model.
However, Garner teaches a controller (110) whose program determines the target tank vapor pressure and target range from operating conditions using algorithms and/or reference data in look-up tables (¶ 0031, 0044; figs. 6e-6f).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hoffjann as modified by Light ’670 and AAPA to include determining the source-tank pressure threshold from look-up tables or algorithms as taught by Garner, in order to set the pressure target as a function of the system operating conditions rather than as a fixed value.
The modified Hoffjann does not teach that the threshold is defined so as to allow filling of the receiving tank in consideration of the permissible thermodynamic limits in the receiving tank.
However, Light ’529 teaches that the temperature/saturation pressure of the liquid hydrogen delivered from a trailer determines how much heat the receiving vessel can absorb before reaching its maximum operating pressure and venting, so that the trailer’s liquid is kept at a low saturation pressure in order that the receiving vessel ends the delivery at a low saturation pressure within its operating limits (¶ 0004, 0006, 0029, 0203, 0284-0287).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hoffjann to include setting the source-tank pressure threshold according to the saturation pressure that the receiving tank can accept within its maximum operating pressure as taught by Light ’529, in order to increase the fraction of delivered liquid hydrogen that remains usable in the receiving tank rather than being vented (Light ’529 ¶ 0004, 0293).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffjann (US 2013/0312871 A1) in view of Light ’670 (US 2024/0110670 A1) and Minas (US 2023/0366513 A1). Claim 10 is rejected on its own limitations below, independently of the rejection of claim 1.
In regard to claim 10, Hoffjann teaches a system (refueling platform 2) for filling a cryogenic liquid receiving tank, wherein the receiving tank is a liquid cryogenic fuel tank of a receiving vehicle (aircraft) and the cryogenic liquid is liquid hydrogen (¶ 0003-0004, 0006-0007, 0038; fig. 1), the system comprising:
a movable source tank (cryogenic hydrogen filling tank 10 on mobile base 4) configured to contain a liquid phase and a vapor phase of the cryogenic liquid (liquid hydrogen with gaseous hydrogen fed above the fill level) (¶ 0011, 0026, 0038; fig. 1); and
a zone configured for transferring a quantity of cryogenic liquid contained in the source tank to the receiving tank (aircraft position at which the platform is fixed by supports 26 and filler hose 14 is coupled to the vehicle tank) (¶ 0027, 0040, 0042; fig. 1).
Hoffjann does not teach a plurality of movable source tanks; a towing vehicle configured to move one of them; a first zone, proximate to and distinct from the transfer zone, configured for parking the source tanks and the towing vehicle; and, in the first zone, a recovery member configured to recover the vapor phase and a set of pipes establishing a fluidic connection between the recovery member and at least one source tank, the recovery member being connectable to at least one of the recited destinations.
However, Light ’670 teaches a plurality of liquid hydrogen trailers (Trailers 1-4, each having a liquid phase and a vapor headspace) transported by semi-trucks between a liquid cryogen depot, at which the trailers are located, and end user sites at which they fill storage tanks (¶ 0003, 0009, 0011, 0034-0035, 0039; claims 1-3), and at the depot a pipe/conduit with one or more valves connecting the headspace of a returned trailer to the headspace of a jumbo trailer (Trailer 2), a movable gas storage vessel, through which the returned trailer’s vapor is recovered, the gas of returned trailers also being sent to the liquefaction process (¶ 0007, 0036, 0041; figs. 1-2; claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid hydrogen refueling system of Hoffjann to include a plurality of semi-truck-towed liquid hydrogen trailers parked with their tractor at a depot area of the airport near the aircraft filling positions, the depot having piping and valves connecting the headspaces of returned trailers to a vapor-receiving jumbo trailer or to the liquefaction process, as taught by Light ’670, in order that the pressurized gas remaining in returned trailers is used and less cryogen is wasted.
Hoffjann as modified by Light ’670 does not teach that the set of pipes comprises at least a first pressure and/or flow control member configured to be opened when the pressure in the source tank is above a determined acceptance threshold, and/or at least a second pressure control member configured to be opened when the pressure and/or temperature in the source tank is above a predetermined threshold.
However, Minas teaches a refueler (202) in which a valve (232) is opened, when the pressure of a liquid/cryo-compressed hydrogen tank (206) does not satisfy a preliminary pressure threshold (i.e., is above it), to release hydrogen from the tank through a split valve (234) to a mixing tank (220) or to hydrogen containers (236), optionally via a compressor upstream of the containers, until the tank pressure satisfies the threshold (¶ 0047-0050, 0078-0083; figs. 2, 8, blocks 802-812).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hoffjann as modified by Light ’670 to include, in each pipe connecting a parked trailer to the vapor-receiving equipment, a valve that is opened when the tank pressure is above a pressure threshold as taught by Minas, in order to reduce the tank pressure to the level required before its next filling operation while recovering the released hydrogen into containers.
In regard to claim 12, the modified Hoffjann teaches the system of claim 10, wherein Hoffjann further teaches that the filling system is used at an airport for refueling commercial aircraft (¶ 0026; fig. 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffjann (US 2013/0312871 A1) in view of Light ’670 (US 2024/0110670 A1) and Minas (US 2023/0366513 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Goodier (US 2014/0150871 A1).
In regard to claim 11, the modified Hoffjann teaches the system of claim 10, wherein Hoffjann further teaches circuitry (conveying device 12 comprising pumps and valves, shut-off valve, and filler hose 14) configured to establish a fluidic connection between the source tank and the receiving tank to transfer the quantity of cryogenic liquid (¶ 0011-0013, 0040; fig. 1).
Hoffjann does not teach that this circuitry is part of the towing vehicle.
However, Goodier teaches that the discharge equipment used to transfer liquid from a tank trailer (TT) into a storage container (SC), namely a liquid pump (55) having a liquid intake connection (52) for a first liquid conduit (12) from the trailer’s liquid discharge connection (LDC) and a liquid outtake connection (51) for a second liquid conduit (14) to the container’s liquid intake connection (LIC), is mounted on the tractor (TR) and driven from the tractor’s power take-off, so that the tractor can be used with the same or different tank trailers (¶ 0003-0004, 0019, 0025-0026; figs. 1, 3, 8; claims 4-5, 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hoffjann to include, on the tractor, the pump, valves and liquid conduits that transfer liquid from the coupled trailer tank to the receiving tank as taught by Goodier, in order that the discharge equipment is permanently coupled to the tractor’s power take-off and the same tractor can off-load the same or different tank trailers.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763