DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 7 July 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,369,472 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7 July 2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 12-14 of the response the applicant argues the rejection of claim 1 over Kang in view of Liu.
First, the applicant argues on page 13 that the shielding layer 211 of Liu is connected to a data line instead of a power line. In the rejection, the examiner explicitly states “Figure 6B shows that 11 is electrically connected to 20 [which is a power line since it supplies power] through a via hole 122.” There is nothing in the claim precluding this interpretation as a power line is merely a line that supplies power, i.e. voltage, and the data and gate lines are not in the claims so as to differentiate the types of lines. Thus, line 20 of Liu is a “power line” as claimed.
Second, the applicant argues on page 13 that the second connection electrode 23 of Liu is connected to the gate electrode 15 and the gate line 19 instead of connected to two gate driving sub-circuits. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Kang already teaches a gate driving sub-circuit connection line electrically connected to the first gate driving sub-circuit and the second gate driving sub-circuit (See the rejection of claim 1). Further, as admitted by applicant, the second connection electrode 23 of Liu is connected to the gate electrode 15 and the gate line 19, where the gate line connected all of the pixels of a row, and thus would be connected to two gate-driving sub-circuits in the combination. Thus, in the combination, the references disclose this feature.
Third, on page 14, the applicant summarizes by stating “Thus, Liu fails to disclose, teach or suggest a shielding layer electrically connected to a power line is respectively connected to two gate driving sub-circuit spaced apart by pixel driving circuits of a first group or sub-pixels.” However, it is noted that nowhere in the claims does it state that the shielding layer is respectively connected to two gate driving sub-circuit spaced apart by pixel driving circuits of a first group or sub-pixels. Rather, it appears the applicant has meant the gate driving sub-circuit connection line. Regardless, as explained above the references, in combination, teach all of the features of the claim.
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
The rejection of claims 5-13 and 20 are also maintained due to their dependency from claim 1 and the fact that no arguments have been presented for these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2017/0345373) in view of Liu (CN 108470717 A)*.
*For translation purposes, the examiner will refer to the US equivalent document US 2020/0243566.
Regarding claim 1, Kang et al. disclose a display panel (Figure 1), comprising:
a base substrate comprising a display area and a peripheral area surrounding the display area (Figure 1, DR is a display area and NR is a peripheral area, see also paragraph [0040].);
a plurality of sub-pixels located at the display area (Figure 1, PX), wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element and a pixel driving circuit configured to drive the light-emitting element (Figure 13, OLED is a light-emitting element and M1-M7 are a pixel driving circuit. See also paragraph [0101].);
a plurality of gate lines located at the display area and electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels (Figures 2 or 6 and 13, G1-Gn are gate lines. See also paragraph [0043].);
a gate driving circuit (Figure 1, 110 and Figure 11) comprising a plurality of gate driving sub-circuits (Figure 11 and paragraph [0082]), the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits comprises a first gate driving sub-circuit and a second gate driving sub-circuit that are spaced apart by pixel driving circuits of a first group of sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels (Figure 11 shows PXs 12 and 22 between GW1-1 and GWB1-1, etc. See also paragraphs [0082]-[0084].); and
a gate driving sub-circuit connection line electrically connected to the first gate driving sub-circuit and the second gate driving sub-circuit (Paragraphs [0082]-[0083] and Figure 11, GW1-1 and GWB1-1 are first and second sub-blocks of a first gate driver, and thus are connected [although not shown]. It is understood then that there would be a connection line between them as similarly shown for SB1-1 and SB1-2 in Figures 7-8.).
Kang et al. fail to teach:
at least one of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises a shielding layer, the shielding layer being electrically connected to a power line through a via hole; and
wherein an orthographic projection of the gate driving sub-circuit connection line on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the shielding layer on the base substrate.
Liu discloses a display panel, comprising:
a base substrate (Figure 6A-6C and 7A-7B, 10 is a base substrate.)
at least one of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises a shielding layer (Figures 6A-6C and 7A-7B, 11 is a shielding layer.), the shielding layer being electrically connected to a power line through a via hole (Figure 6B shows that 11 is electrically connected to 20 [which is a power line since it supplies power] through a via hole 122.); and
a gate driving sub-circuit connection line (Figures 7A-7B, 23 is a gate driving sub-circuit connection line.)
wherein an orthographic projection of the gate driving sub-circuit connection line on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the shielding layer on the base substrate (Figures 7A-7B and paragraph [0083], the orthographic projection of 23 at least partially overlaps with the orthographic projection of 11 on base substrate 10.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the shielding layer teachings of Liu and apply them to the display panel taught by Kang et al. such that there would be a shielding layer which overlaps with the gate driving sub-circuit connection line. The motivation to combine would have been in order to take advantage of the known benefits of a shielding layer such as improving the electrical characteristics of the transistors by shielding light (See paragraph [0004] of Liu, for example.).
Regarding claim 5, Kang et al. and Liu disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the gate driving circuit is located at the display area (Kang et al.: Figure 11).
Regarding claim 6, Kang et al. and Liu disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein one end of the gate driving sub-circuit connection line is electrically connected to the first gate driving sub-circuit and the other end of the second gate driving sub-circuit is electrically connected to the second gate driving sub-circuit (In the combination, since the connection line connects the first gate driving sub-circuit and the second gate driving sub-circuit, then one “end” is connected to the first gate driving sub-circuit and the other “end” is connected to the second gate driving sub-circuit.).
Regarding claim 7, Kang et al. and Liu disclose the display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of light-emitting control lines located at the display area and electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels (Kang et al.: Figures 11 and 13, EMs and paragraph [0081].); and
a light-emitting control driving circuit located at the display area (Kang et al.: Figure 11 and paragraphs [0082] and [0085].) and comprising cascaded multistage light-emitting control driving units electrically connected to the plurality of light-emitting control lines (Kang et al.: Figure 11 and paragraph [0085]), wherein one or more stages light-emitting control driving units of the multistage light-emitting control driving units comprise a plurality of light-emitting control driving sub-circuits (Kang et al.: Figure 11 and paragraphs [0082] and [0085].), the plurality of light-emitting control driving sub-circuits comprises a first light-emitting control driving sub-circuit and a second light-emitting control driving sub-circuit that are spaced apart by pixel driving circuits of a second group of sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels (Kang et al.: Figure 11 shows PXs 16 and 26 between EM1 and EMB1. See also paragraph [0085].).
Regarding claim 10, Kang et al. and Liu disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein:
the first group of sub-pixels is electrically connected to a first gate line of the plurality of gate lines (Kang et al.: Figure 13, PX1 electrically connected to GW1. See also paragraph [0103].);
the gate driving circuit comprises cascaded multistage gate driving units electrically connected to the plurality of gate lines, wherein one or more stages gate driving units of the multistage gate driving units comprise the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits comprises, the first gate driving sub-circuit of each stage gate driving unit of the one or more stages gate driving units (Kang et al.: Figure 4, SB1-3) comprises a first input terminal of each stage gate driving unit (Kang et al.: Figure 4, gate of TR1), and the first input terminal is configured to receive a first input signal (Kang et al.: Figure 4, GCK1 and paragraph [0057].); and
the second gate driving sub-circuit of each stage gate driving unit (Kang et al.: Figure 4, SB1-5) comprises a first output terminal of each stage gate driving unit (Kang et al.: Figure 4, G1), and the first output terminal is configured to output a gate driving signal to the first gate line (Kang et al.: Figure 4 and paragraph [0059], outputs a gate driving signal at G1 [first gate line].).
Regarding claim 11, Kang et al. and Liu disclose the display panel according to claim 10, wherein:
any one stage gate driving unit of the multistage gate driving units comprises the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits (Kang et al.: Figure 4, SB1-1 to SB1-5), and the first gate driving sub-circuit and the second gate driving sub-circuit are spaced apart by the pixel driving circuits of the first group of sub-pixels in a first direction (Kang et al.: Figure 4 shows SB1-3 and SB1-5 are separated by PXs.);
the first gate driving sub-circuit of the any one stage gate driving unit (Kang et al.: Figure 5, SB2-3) is located between the first gate driving sub-circuit of a former stage gate driving unit of the any one stage gate driving unit and the first gate driving sub-circuit of a latter stage gate driving unit of the any one stage gate driving unit in a second direction different from the first direction (Kang et al.: Figure 7 and paragraph [0050] show SB2-3 is between SB1-3 and SB3-3.); and
the second gate driving sub-circuit of the any one stage gate driving unit (Kang et al.: Figure 5, SB2-5) is located between the second gate driving sub-circuit of the former stage gate driving unit of the any one stage gate driving unit and the second gate driving sub-circuit of the latter stage gate driving unit of the any one stage gate driving unit in the second direction (Kang et al.: Figure 7 and paragraph [0050] show SB2-5 is between SB1-5 and SB3-5.).
Regarding claim 12, Kang et al. and Liu disclose the display panel according to claim 7, wherein:
the second group of sub-pixels comprises a plurality of first sub-pixels electrically connected to a first light-emitting control line of the plurality of light-emitting control lines (Kang et al.: Figures 11 and 13, PX16 or PX26 are connected to a first EM), and a plurality of second sub-pixels electrically connected to a second light-emitting control line of the plurality of light-emitting control lines (Kang et al.: Figures 11 and 13, PX36 or PX46 are connected to a second EM. See also paragraph [0085].);
the first light-emitting control driving sub-circuit of each stage light-emitting control driving unit of the one or more multistage light-emitting control driving units comprises a second input terminal of each stage light-emitting control driving unit, and the second input terminal is configured to receive a second input signal (Kang et al.: It is understood that the configuration of the light-emitting control driving unit stages will be similar to that as described for the gate stages [see the explanation in claims 10-11]. Thus, the first light-emitting control driving sub-circuit will similarly have a transistor TR1 [second input terminal] which receives a clock signal [second input signal]); and
the second light-emitting control driving sub-circuit of each stage light-emitting control driving unit comprises a second output terminal of each stage light-emitting control driving unit, and the second output terminal is configured to output a light-emitting control signal to the first light-emitting control line and the second light-emitting control line (Kang et al.: Per the explanation above, the second light-emitting control driving sub-circuit will have an output terminal EM that outputs a light-emitting control signal the light-emitting control lines).
Regarding claim 13, Kang et al. and Liu disclose the display panel according to claim 12, wherein:
any one stage light-emitting control driving unit of the multistage light-emitting control driving units comprises the plurality of light-emitting control driving sub-circuits (Kang et al.: Figure 11, EM1 and EMB1), and the first light-emitting control driving sub-circuit and the second light-emitting control driving sub-circuit are spaced apart by the pixel driving circuits of the first group of sub-pixels in a first direction (Kang et al.: Figure 11 shows EM1 and EMB1 are separated by pixels PX 16 and 26.);
the first light-emitting control driving sub-circuit of the any one stage light-emitting control driving unit is located between the first light-emitting control driving sub-circuit of a former stage light-emitting control driving unit of the any one stage light-emitting control driving unit and the first light-emitting control driving sub-circuit of a latter stage light-emitting control driving unit of the any one stage light-emitting control driving unit in a second direction different from the first direction (Kang et al.: Figure 11 shows only the first 2 stages, however, clearly there will be an EM3, as such EM2 [first light-emitting control driving sub-circuit] is between EM1 [former stage light-emitting control driving unit] and EM3 [latter stage light-emitting control driving unit]); and
the second light-emitting control driving sub-circuit of the any one stage light-emitting control driving unit is located between the second light-emitting control driving sub-circuit of the former stage light-emitting control driving unit of the any one stage light-emitting control driving unit and the second light-emitting control driving sub-circuit of the latter stage light-emitting control driving unit of the any one stage light-emitting control driving unit in the second direction (Kang et al.: Figure 11 shows only the first 2 stages, however, clearly there will be an EMB3, as such EMB2 [second light-emitting control driving sub-circuit] is between EMB1 [former stage light-emitting control driving unit] and EMB3 [latter stage light-emitting control driving unit]).
Regarding claim 20, Kang et al. and Liu disclose a display device, comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (Kang et al.: Figure 1 and paragraph [0039].).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2017/0345373) in view of Liu (CN 108470717 A) and further in view of Han et al. (US 2018/0138256).
Regarding claim 8, Kang et al. and Liu disclose the display panel according to claim 7.
Kang et al. and Liu fail to teach wherein:
an orthographic projection of at least one of the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits on the base substrate overlaps with orthographic projections of anodes of light-emitting elements of a first portion of sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels on the base substrate, and does not overlap with orthographic projections of anodes of light-emitting elements of remaining sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels other than the first portion of sub-pixels on the base substrate; and/or
an orthographic projection of at least one of the plurality of light-emitting control driving sub-circuits on the base substrate overlaps with orthographic projections of anodes of light-emitting elements of a second portion of sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels on the base substrate, and does not overlap with orthographic projections of anodes of light-emitting elements of remaining sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels on the base substrate other than the second portion of sub-pixels.
Han et al. disclose a display panel wherein an orthographic projection of at least one of a plurality of gate driving sub-circuits on a base substrate (Figure 21, GIP TR) overlaps with orthographic projections of anodes of light-emitting elements of a first portion of sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels on the base substrate (Figure 21, ANO for the subpixel shown), and does not overlap with orthographic projections of anodes of light-emitting elements of remaining sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels other than the first portion of sub-pixels on the base substrate (Figure 21, GIP TR will not overlap with ANO of sub-pixels not shown, i.e. remaining sub-pixels.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the orthographic projection teachings of Han et al. in the display panel taught by the combination of Kang et al. and Liu. The motivation to combine would have been in order to minimize the bezel area of the display circuit (See paragraph [0010] of Han et al.) while also maintaining aperture ratio of the pixels, thus maximizing display area and display quality.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2017/0345373) in view of Liu (CN 108470717 A) and further in view of Shin (US 2016/0321995).
Regarding claim 9, Kang et al. and Liu disclose the display panel according to claim 7.
Kang et al. and Liu fail to teach the display panel further comprising:
a plurality of initialization lines located at the display area and electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels; and
a plurality of reset lines located at the display area and electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels,
wherein the first group of sub-pixels is electrically connected to a first initialization line of the plurality of initialization lines, a first reset line of the plurality of reset lines, a first gate line of the plurality of gate lines and a first light-emitting control line of the plurality of light-emitting control lines, the first initialization line and the first reset line are located on one side of the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits, and the first gate line and the first light-emitting control line are located on one side of the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits away from the first initialization line and the first reset line.
Shin discloses a display panel comprising:
a plurality of initialization lines located at a display area and electrically connected to a plurality of sub-pixels (Figures 1-2, GI [initialization lines]); and
a plurality of reset lines located at the display area and electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels (Figures 1-2, GB [reset lines]),
wherein a first group of sub-pixels (Figure 1, first row, for example.) is electrically connected to a first initialization line of the plurality of initialization lines (Figures 1-2, GI), a first reset line of the plurality of reset lines (Figures 1-2, GB) a first gate line of the plurality of gate lines (Figures 1-2, GW) and a first light-emitting control line of the plurality of light-emitting control lines (Figures 1-2, EM), and the first reset line is located on one side of the pixel circuits (Figure 1, GB is below the pixel circuits), and the first gate line and the first light-emitting control line are located on one side of the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits away from the first reset line (Figure 1, GW and EM are above the pixel circuits.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the initialization and reset teachings of Shin in the display panel taught by the combination of Kang et al. and Liu such that the reset lines, gate lines and first light-emitting control lines are on sides of the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits since the subcircuits in Kang et al. are located in-between the pixel areas. The motivation to combine would have been in order to take advantage of the known benefits of providing resetting and initialization, such as solving luminance degradation and improving display quality.
Kang et al., Liu and Shin fail to teach wherein the first initialization line located on the same side of the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits as the reset line, however, it would have been an obvious design choice to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the first initialization line to the same side of the plurality of gate driving sub-circuits as the reset line since it has been held that merely changing the position of an element is unpatentable when the result does not modify the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 14-16 are allowed.
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 2 is the inclusion of the limitations reciting “a first group of circuit connection lines comprising a first circuit connection line and a second circuit connection line, wherein: the second gate driving sub-circuit is electrically connected to the first gate driving sub-circuit through the first circuit connection line and the second circuit connection line, an orthographic projection of one of the first circuit connection line and the second circuit connection line on the base substrate does not overlap with orthographic projections of the pixel driving circuits of the first group of sub-pixels on the base substrate, and an orthographic projection of the other of the first circuit connection line and the second circuit connection line on the base substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the pixel driving circuit of at least one sub-pixel of the first group of sub-pixels on the base substrate” which, in combination with the other recited features, are not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
The closest prior art (See cited art and the rejections above.) discloses generally of having connection lines, however, fails to teach and/or suggest the specifically claimed features of first and second connection lines regarding not overlapping and overlapping as highlighted above.
Claims 3-4 and 17 are allowed to due to their dependency from claim 2.
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 14 is the inclusion of the limitations reciting “wherein: the first gate driving sub-circuit comprises a first group of transistors and a second capacitor, and the second gate driving sub-circuit comprises a second group of transistors and a first capacitor; and a number of the second group of transistors is smaller than a number of the first group of transistors, and a width-to-length ratio of a channel of at least one transistor of the second group of transistors is greater than a width-to-length ratio of a channel of each transistor of the first group of transistors” which, in combination with the other recited features, are not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
The closest prior art (See cited art and the rejections above.) discloses generally discloses of gate driving sub-circuits and circuits having transistors and capacitors, however, fails to teach and/or suggest the specifically claimed features of the first and second groups of transistors in the first and second gate driving sub-circuits, respectively, having different numbers of transistors and different width-to-length ratios as highlighted above.
Claims 15-16 are allowed to due to their dependency from claim 14.
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 18 is the inclusion of the limitations reciting “a second group of circuit connection lines comprising a fourth circuit connection line and a fifth circuit connection line, wherein: the second light-emitting control driving sub-circuit is electrically connected to the first light-emitting control driving sub-circuit through the fourth circuit connection line and the fifth circuit connection line, and orthographic projections of the fourth circuit connection line and the fifth circuit connection line on the base substrate overlaps with orthographic projections of the pixel driving circuits of the second group of sub-pixels on the base substrate” which, in combination with the other recited features, are not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
The closest prior art (See cited art and the rejections above.) discloses generally of having connection lines, however, fails to teach and/or suggest the specifically claimed features of fourth and fifth connection lines regarding overlapping the pixel driving circuits of the second group as highlighted above.
Claim 19 is objected to due to its dependency from claim 18.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
28 July 2026