DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 4, “a second flexible section” should say “the second flexible section”
Claim 5, line 6, “a second flexible section” should say “the second flexible section”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 12-13, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wente (US 20230356941 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2023048427 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 20, Wente discloses a refuse vehicle (10) comprising: a chassis (frame 12); a body (body 14) defining a refuse compartment (compartment 30), the body coupled to the chassis; a fuel tank (fuel tanks, paragraph [0026 and 0028]) coupled to the body; a battery (generation system 40) coupled to the body; a hydrogen fuel cell (hydrogen fuel, paragraph [0028]) coupled to the chassis; a battery cable (battery cable 80) coupling the battery to the hydrogen fuel cell.
However, Kim discloses a hydrogen fuel cell (fuel cell 52) coupled to the chassis; and a fuel conduit (hydrogen tank 53 coupled to fuel cell 52, fig.3) coupling the fuel tank to the hydrogen fuel cell.
Wente and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wente with the fuel cell system of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have Combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of hydrogen fuel cells having high efficiency, zero operational emissions, and versatile applications.
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Wente in combination with Kim, Wente discloses further comprising: a pivot assembly (pivot assembly 60) coupled to the chassis and the body; and an actuator (lift cylinders 17) coupled to the body and the chassis, the actuator configured to lift and pivot the body relative to the chassis, wherein at least a portion of the battery cable and the fuel conduit are configured to flex at a first angle when the body is in a first position and flex at a second angle when the body is in a second position (body 14 raised and lowered positions, figs.6-15).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Wente in combination with Kim, Wente discloses wherein at least a portion of each of the battery cable and the fuel conduit include a flexible section of tubing (battery cable 80), the refuse vehicle further comprising: a pivot assembly (pivot assembly 60) coupled to the chassis and the body; a first chassis terminal (terminal 50) defined by the chassis; and a second chassis terminal defined by the chassis (duplication of terminal 50 to be a chassis terminal for connecting hydrogen tanks 53 to fuel cell 52), wherein the body is configured to pivot relative to the chassis about a pivot of the pivot assembly and each of the flexible sections of tubing extend from the hydrogen fuel cell (fig.10), wrap around the pivot, and extend to the first chassis terminal or the second chassis terminal (fig.10).
Regarding claim 18, Wente in combination with Kim, wherein a portion of the battery cable is contained within a first chain housing and a portion of the fuel conduit is contained within a second chain housing, the first chain housing and the second chain housing configured to enable the portion of the battery cable and the portion of the fuel conduit to flex while resisting pinching (Wente, battery cable 80 positioned within a chain housing, paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 19, Wente in combination with Kim discloses wherein the battery and the fuel tank are located on top of a rear portion of the body (Wente, energy storage and generation system 40, fig.3).
Claim(s) 2, 8, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wente (US 20230356941 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2023048427 A1), and in further view of Hokazono (CN 111852702 A).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 11 and 14, Wente in combination with Kim, Wente discloses battery cable being flexible (battery cable 80) extending between the body and the chassis in multiple different orientations (figs.6-15) and Kim discloses an inflexible conduit (fig.3 conduit between the tank 53 and the fuel cell 52), but fail to disclose wherein each of the battery cable and the fuel conduit define an inflexible section of tubing extending along the body and a flexible section of tubing extending between the body and the chassis.
However, Hokazono discloses wherein each of the battery cable and the fuel conduit define an inflexible section (hard pipe 34a and 35a, fig.6) of tubing and a flexible section of tubing (hose part 34b and 35b is flexible, fig.6).
Wente and Kim and Hokazono are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wente and Kim with the flexible and inflexible tubing sections of Hokazono with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of providing a line with rigid and flexible sections is an industry-standard, and the hybrid line allows for vibration isolation, stress relief, capable of holding high pressure, routing precision and environmental protection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 15-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 depends upon claim 1 which is rejected but claim 3 has the limitation of “wherein the battery cable includes a flexible section of tubing, and the body further comprises: a body terminal defined by the body, the body terminal configured to couple to a first end of the flexible section of tubing; and a chassis terminal defined by the chassis, the chassis terminal configured to couple to a second end of the flexible section of tubing, wherein the flexible section of tubing couples the body terminal to the chassis terminal.” The primary reference of Wente discloses terminal 50 but fails to disclose both a body terminal and a chassis terminal. The teaching reference of Kim fails to cure this deficiency. Prior art McKibben (US 11919343 B2) discloses a trailer hookup breakaway with spanning hose conveyance (198B/708b, figs.1A and 10A) between the tractor (54) and trailer (58) having connectors at both ends however the connectors are not on both the chassis and the body but are between the cabin (60) and the trailer (body 58). The teaching reference of McKibben would require further modification to the location of the connectors and would be hindsight reconstruction. For the reasons above claim 3 has allowable subject matter.
Claims 4-6 depend upon claim 3, giving claims 4-6 the same allowable subject matter as claim 3 discussed above.
Claim 7 depends upon claim 1 which is rejected but claim 7 has the limitation of “wherein the fuel conduit includes a flexible section of tubing, and the body further comprises: a body terminal defined by the body, the body terminal configured to couple to a first end of the flexible section of tubing; and a chassis terminal defined by the chassis, the chassis terminal configured to couple to a second end of the flexible section of tubing, wherein the flexible section of tubing couples the body terminal to the chassis terminal.” The primary reference of Wente discloses terminal 50 but fails to disclose both a body terminal and a chassis terminal. The teaching reference of Kim fails to cure this deficiency. Prior art McKibben (US 11919343 B2) discloses a trailer hookup breakaway with spanning hose conveyance (198B/708b, figs.1A and 10A) between the tractor (54) and trailer (58) having connectors at both ends however the connectors are not on both the chassis and the body but are between the cabin (60) and the trailer (body 58). The teaching reference of McKibben would require further modification to the location of the connectors and would be hindsight reconstruction. For the reasons above claim 7 has allowable subject matter.
Claim 15 depends upon claim 12 which is rejected but claim 15 has the limitation of “further comprising: a hydrogen fuel cell coupled to the chassis; a body terminal defined by the body, the body terminal coupled to the fuel conduit; and a chassis terminal defined by the chassis, the chassis terminal coupled to the fuel conduit, wherein the fuel conduit extends between the body terminal and the chassis terminal and between the chassis terminal and the hydrogen fuel cell, the fuel conduit configured to deliver hydrogen to the hydrogen fuel cell.” The primary reference of Wente discloses terminal 50 but fails to disclose both a body terminal and a chassis terminal. The teaching reference of Kim fails to cure this deficiency. Prior art McKibben (US 11919343 B2) discloses a trailer hookup breakaway with spanning hose conveyance (198B/708b, figs.1A and 10A) between the tractor (54) and trailer (58) having connectors at both ends however the connectors are not on both the chassis and the body but are between the cabin (60) and the trailer (body 58). The teaching reference of McKibben would require further modification to the location of the connectors and would be hindsight reconstruction. For the reasons above claim 15 has allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613