Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
---Claims 1, 3, 16 and 21 recite the following:
1. An apparatus for high-speed object apparatus comprising:
a venturi module configured to generate a vacuum flow for object acquisition, the venturi module including an inlet port to receive compressed air, a vacuum port that includes a suction member, and an exhaust port;
an occluding purge assembly having a passageway and being operably coupled to the venturi module, the occluding purge assembly including an occluding device configured to selectively close the passageway to seal the exhaust port from atmospheric exposure;
a controller configured to cause the occluding purge assembly to move from a first configuration in which the passageway of the occluding purge assembly is open and a second configuration in which the passageway of the occluding purge assembly is closed.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the flow limiting device is selected from the group consisting of a pinch valve, an angle seat valve, a slide gate, and an iris diaphragm valve.
16. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the occluding purge assembly is actuated by an electrical input that activates a pneumatic or mechanical actuator.
21. The method of claim 19, wherein the occluding purge device is actuated by an electrical input that activates a pneumatic or mechanical actuator.
Notice that the drawings fail to show the highlighted features above. In the case of the controller of claim 1, it is noted that this issue is partially due to missing references numbers described in at least Para. [0063] but not shown in at least Fig. 12. As for claims 3, 16 and 21, it is noted that the drawing only shows one embodiment where the flow limiting device/occluding purge device is a pinch valve actuated by pneumatic actuation and fails to show other claimed alternative embodiments. The Office suggests that the controller is shown as it is a critical element, whereas the alternative features of claims 3, 16 and 21 are either cancelled or if the applicant wishes to shown them, new drawings and amendments to the specification will be required showing each of the embodiments being claimed.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
---The Office notes that all the references numbers (“400” series reference numbers among others) mentioned in at least Paras. [0063-0065], in particular controller 470 which is a critical claimed feature, are missing from the drawings (see at least Fig. 12 which these paragraphs refer to). The Office suggests that drawings are amended to include each reference number mentioned in these paragraph in particular controller 470 (see also the drawing objection above).
The drawings are objected to because:
---In Fig. 11 notice the typo in box 302 “Actavate automatic cleaning system” when it should be “Activate automatic cleaning system”.
---There is a discrepancy between the specification and the drawings in Para. [0069] and Figs. 14A-16B. Para. [0069] mentions screen 170 in Fig. 14A and 14B and that Fig. 15A and 15B has screen 180 (no further mention of Figs. 16A-16B). However, Figs. 14A-14B only shows reference number “160”, Figs. 15A-15B only shows reference number “170” and Figs. 16A-16B only show reference number “180”. Additionally, other related elements are shown such as open area “172” and “182” does not match what is shown. Based on the record, it is very likely that multiple typos occurred in the specification. The Office suggests that either the specification or the drawings are amended so that the information in the specification matches what is shown in the drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
---As it was noted in the Drawing Objection section above, there is a discrepancy between the specification and the drawings in Para. [0069] and Figs. 14A-16B. Para. [0069] mentions screen 170 in Fig. 14A and 14B and that Fig. 15A and 15B has screen 180 (no further mention of Figs. 16A-16B). However, Figs. 14A-14B only shows reference number “160”, Figs. 15A-15B only shows reference number “170” and Figs. 16A-16B only show reference number “180”. Additionally, other related elements are shown such as open area “172” and “182” does not match what is shown. Based on the record, it is very likely that multiple typos occurred in the specification. The Office suggests that either the specification or the drawings are amended so that the information in the specification matches what is shown in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 19 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
---Claim 1 recites the following:
1. An apparatus for high-speed object apparatus comprising:
a venturi module configured to generate a vacuum flow for object acquisition, the venturi module including an inlet port to receive compressed air, a vacuum port that includes a suction member, and an exhaust port;
an occluding purge assembly having a passageway and being operably coupled to the venturi module, the occluding purge assembly including an occluding device configured to selectively close the passageway to seal the exhaust port from atmospheric exposure;
a controller configured to cause the occluding purge assembly to move from a first configuration in which the passageway of the occluding purge assembly is open and a second configuration in which the passageway of the occluding purge assembly is closed.
Notice the use of the phrase “An apparatus for high-speed object apparatus” in particular the final word “apparatus”. As best understood by the Office, applicant’s invention is directed to a vacuum gripper for high-speed objection acquisition (essentially “An apparatus for high-speed object acquisition”).
The Office suggests claim 1 is amended as follows:
1. An apparatus for high-speed object acquisition comprising:
a venturi module configured to generate a vacuum flow for object acquisition, the venturi module including an inlet port to receive compressed air, a vacuum port that includes a suction member, and an exhaust port;
an occluding purge assembly having a passageway and being operably coupled to the venturi module, the occluding purge assembly including an occluding device configured to selectively close the passageway to seal the exhaust port from atmospheric exposure;
a controller configured to cause the occluding purge assembly to move from a first configuration in which the passageway of the occluding purge assembly is open and a second configuration in which the passageway of the occluding purge assembly is closed.
---Claim 19 recites the following:
19. A method for purging contaminants from a venturi-based vacuum system for high-speed object manipulation, comprising:
supplying compressed air to a venturi device having an inlet port configured to receive the compressed air, a vacuum port having a suction member for object acquisition, and an exhaust port open to atmospheric exposure;
generating a vacuum flow through the venturi device to acquire an object or to admit contaminants into the system;
detecting a formation of a blockage within the venturi device indicative of contaminant accumulation or object retention;
while maintaining the supplied compressed air, activating an occluding purge device operably coupled to the venturi device, the occluding purge device being configured to seal the exhaust port from atmospheric exposure, causing the compressed air to be redirected from towards the vacuum port; and
expelling the object or contaminant from the vacuum port.
Notice that the way claim was written in particular the use of “from towards” makes it appears that either language is missing between “from” and “towards” or a typo occurred and the word “from” should be deleted. As best understood by the Office, applicant’s device purges contaminant by reversing compressed air flow from vacuum/suction for gripping an object to expel/purge wherein the gripped object and/or accumulated contaminant is expelled from the vacuum port.
The Office suggests claim 19 is amended as follows:
19. A method for purging contaminants from a venturi-based vacuum system for high-speed object manipulation, comprising:
supplying compressed air to a venturi device having an inlet port configured to receive the compressed air, a vacuum port having a suction member for object acquisition, and an exhaust port open to atmospheric exposure;
generating a vacuum flow through the venturi device to acquire an object or to admit contaminants into the system;
detecting a formation of a blockage within the venturi device indicative of contaminant accumulation or object retention;
while maintaining the supplied compressed air, activating an occluding purge device operably coupled to the venturi device, the occluding purge device being configured to seal the exhaust port from atmospheric exposure, causing the compressed air to be redirected towards the vacuum port; and
expelling the object or contaminant from the vacuum port.
---Claim 27 recites the following:
27. The method of claim 19, wherein detecting the formation of a blockage comprises comparing a measured pressure differential between the vacuum port and the exhaust port to a predetermined threshold indicator of impaired performance.
Notice that “a blockage” is already mentioned in intervening claim 19 and this should be “the blockage”.
The Office suggests claim 27 is amended as follows:
27. The method of claim 19, wherein detecting the formation of [[a]] the blockage comprises comparing a measured pressure differential between the vacuum port and the exhaust port to a predetermined threshold indicator of impaired performance.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
---Claims 1-3 recites the following:
1. An apparatus for high-speed object apparatus comprising:
a venturi module configured to generate a vacuum flow for object acquisition, the venturi module including an inlet port to receive compressed air, a vacuum port that includes a suction member, and an exhaust port;
an occluding purge assembly having a passageway and being operably coupled to the venturi module, the occluding purge assembly including an occluding device configured to selectively close the passageway to seal the exhaust port from atmospheric exposure;
a controller configured to cause the occluding purge assembly to move from a first configuration in which the passageway of the occluding purge assembly is open and a second configuration in which the passageway of the occluding purge assembly is closed.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the occluding purge assembly comprises a flow limiting device.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the flow limiting device is selected from the group consisting of a pinch valve, an angle seat valve, a slide gate, and an iris diaphragm valve.
As best understood by the Office, the occluding purge assembly 112 includes an occluding device (a valve, see pinch valve 120) as noted in independent claim 1. However, claims 2-3 recite that the occluding purge assembly 112 comprises a flow limiting device (a valve, see pinch valve 120). As such, it is unclear and indefinite if the “flow limiting device” of claims 2-3 is the same thing as the “occluding device” of intervening claim 1 or if they are distinct. Based on at least Figs. 2-3 it appears that they are the same limitation (see the pinch valve 120 which occludes/limits fluid flow).
If so, the Office suggests that claims 2-3 are amended as follows (see also the Drawing Objection above which may affect changes to claim 3):
2. (CANCELED)
3. The apparatus of claim [[2]] 1, wherein the occluding device is selected from the group consisting of a pinch valve, an angle seat valve, a slide gate, and an iris diaphragm valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-21 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by McCoy US-10864555.
Regarding claims 19-21 and 23-24, in making and/or using the device of McCoy US-10864555, the device of McCoy teaches in Figs. 1-8 (see at least Figs. 1, 3B and 4-4A) the limitations of:
---Claim 19. A method for purging contaminants from a venturi-based vacuum system for high-speed object manipulation (see at least Figs. 1, 3B and 4-4A and C3 L4-67 and C7 L19 – C8 L56, notice that similar to applicant’s invention, McCoy also discloses a vacuum/suction gripper for high-speed object conveyance wherein the assembly includes a purging feature that expels the picked object and/or expels contaminants such as dust from the suction end), comprising:
supplying compressed air (pressurized air) to a venturi device (Venturi chamber 414) having an inlet port (air input port 410) configured to receive the compressed air, a vacuum port (airflow port 412) having a suction member (port 412 is fluidly connected suction gripper 100) for object acquisition, and an exhaust port (exhaust port 416) open to atmospheric exposure (see at least Fig. 4);
generating a vacuum flow through the venturi device to acquire an object or to admit contaminants into the system (see Fig. 4 and C7 L19 – C8 L56, the venturi creates vacuum flow that allows objects to be gripped by the suction gripper 100);
detecting a formation of a blockage within the venturi device indicative of contaminant accumulation or object retention (see Fig. 4 and C7 L19 – C8 L56, the system includes at least a pressure switch 143 and a controller 160 for monitoring the conditions of the system and controlling it based on programable parameter);
while maintaining the supplied compressed air, activating an occluding purge device (see the assembly including airflow direction control piston 420 and stopper 418 which closes off the exhaust port 416 in order to reverse fluid flow to expel the object and/or contaminants, see Fig. 4-4A and C7 L19 – C8 L56) operably coupled to the venturi device, the occluding purge device being configured to seal the exhaust port from atmospheric exposure, causing the compressed air to be redirected from towards the vacuum port; and
expelling the object or contaminant from the vacuum port (see Fig. 4-4A and C7 L19 – C8 L56).
---Claim 20. The method of claim 19, further comprising:
monitoring one or more pressure parameters at the vacuum port, the exhaust port, or both, using one or more sensors (see at least pressure switch 143, see also Fig. 4-4A and C7 L19 – C8 L56).
---Claim 21. The method of claim 19, wherein the occluding purge device is actuated by an electrical input that activates a pneumatic or mechanical actuator (see at least Fig. 1, 4-4A and C7 L19 – C8 L56).
---Claim 23. The method of claim 19, further comprising:
determining a sealing effectiveness of the occluding purge device by one or more sensors integrated with the occluding purge device (see Figs. 1, 4-4A and C7 L19 – C8 L56, the system includes at least a pressure switch 143 and a controller 160 for monitoring the conditions of the system and controlling it based on programable parameter).
---Claim 24. The method of claim 19, further comprising:
operating an automated cleaning system to remove accumulated contaminants from the venturi device (see Figs. 1, 4-4A and C7 L19 – C8 L56, notice that the system includes at least a pressure switch 143 and a controller 160 for monitoring the conditions of the system and controlling it based on programable parameter which in turn operates the assembly including the airflow direction control piston 420 and the stopper 418 which closes off the exhaust port 416 in order to reverse fluid flow to expel the object and/or contaminants, thus providing an automated cleaning system by expelling the contaminants).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 4-18 are allowed pending resolution of applicable objections.
Claims 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and pending resolution of applicable objections.
Claims 22 and 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and pending resolution of applicable objections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art are:
---References A (Vacuum grippers):
Doak US-12564972, Doak US-12485556, Buffat US-12134528, Holopainen US-12122046, Correa US-12017870, McCoy US-11964830, Lukka US-11851292, Frey US-11660766, Schmutzler US-11661957, Correa US-11477968, Douglas US-11465858, Quast US-11110614, Reinhold US-10889007, McCoy US-10864555, Wagner US-10814498, Martin US-10793377, Robinson US-10668630, Tell US-10456930, Tanaka US-10434663, Wigren US-10399237, Dunkmann US-9707686, Schaller US-8777284, Regan US-8696043, Perlman US-8096598, Ilich US-7083208, Damhuis US-6979032, Ohnaka US-3912317, Winne US-3648853,
Malinowski US-20110255948 and
Borokowski WO-2019207201.
References A teaches of various examples vacuum grippers which are a type of robotic arm that uses suction for gripping objects usually used in high-speed object conveyance. Notice that many of these devices utilizes a Venturi device for producing the suction that allows the objects to be gripped. As noted in the rejections above, McCoy US-10864555 teaches of a similar device which include occluding purge assembly in the form of a valve that selectively closes the exhaust port for reversing the flow from suction to expulsion wherein the air flow expels the object and/or any contaminants (such as dust) from the vacuum/suction port. Notice that while the closest prior art achieves a similar final outcome to applicant’s main invention, the structure of the occluding purge device 112 and the venturi module 114 are vastly different. As such, the closest prior art fails to disclose or render obvious the particular structure and function of the apparatus having the venturi module 114 having the inlet port 136, the vacuum port 118, the suction member 128 and the exhaust port 112; the occluding purge assembly 112 having the passageway 138 and the occluding device 120; the controller 470; the secondary compressed air input 132, the automated cleaning system 150 having the removal member 152 and the shaft 154 and how the system operates in combination with all the limitations as claimed in in the above indicated claims and as shown in at least Figs. 1-3, 9 and 11 of the application.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID COLON-MORALES, whose telephone number is 571-270-1741 and fax number is 571-270-2741. If the applicant has authorized internet communications via the filling of form PTO/SB/439, the examiner can be reached via email at david.colon-morales@uspto.gov , email communication is not permitted if the applicant has not filed an authorization for internet communication (see MPEP 502.03 for more details on internet communications). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (7:30AM-3:30PM EST).
/DAVID COLON-MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753