DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malfliet (EP 1190828).
Malfliet is directed to a composite structure including a polyurethane elastomer layer or skin layer 9 and an elastomer foam layer 12. It is further noted that claim 15 is in product-by-process form and determination of patentability is based on the product itself (MPEP 2113). It is emphasized that there is no evidence that the claimed process steps impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product (claimed composite structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malfliet (EP 1190828) and further in view of Chang (GB 2342654) and/or Trumbo (US 2016/0272754).
Malfliet is directed to a method of producing a molded composite structure comprising applying or spraying a polyurethane mixture against mold surface 7 to form a skin layer 9 (corresponds with claimed polyurethane elastomer layer), applying or spraying a polyurethane foam 12 against said skin layer (corresponds with claimed elastomer foam layer), applying or spraying a polyurethane mixture against said foam layer to form a structural backing layer 10 (corresponds with claimed second polyurethane elastomer- claim 6), and demolding said composite structure (Paragraph 28). In such an instance, though Malfliet is silent with respect to the processing conditions associated with the above noted applying steps.
In any event, the claimed processing conditions (temperature and pressure) are consistent with those that are commonly used when applying skin layers and foam layers in similar molding operations, as shown for example by Chang (Page 15, Lines 1-17; 48-140 bar corresponds with 969-2,031 psi and 25-85°C corresponds with 21-93°C) and Trumbo (Paragraph 106). It is particularly noted that Trumbo recognizes the known use of air purge spray guns, such as plural component spray guns (Paragraph 106). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use common processing conditions in the method of Malfliet.
It is further noted that the method of Malfliet would be recognized as including a curing step as is consistent with molding operations involving polyurethane. Trumbo, for example, expressly teaches a curing step after application to a mold (Paragraph 106).
Lastly, regarding claim 1, Applicant includes the following language in the original specification (Paragraph 15).
By specifying certain parameters on the plural component spray systems, including setting temperature ranges of the components from 70 degrees Fahrenheit to 200 degrees Fahrenheit and spray pressure ranges from 1,000 to 3,000 psi, the resulting composite structure may have a seamless bond between the polyurethane elastomer layer and the structural foam layer which can be resistant to a wide range of forces the composite structure could be exposed to.
Given that the modified method of Malfliet involves processing conditions consistent with the claimed invention, it reasons that the molded composite structure of Malfliet would include a seamless bond.
Regarding claim 2, Malfliet teaches thickness values between 0.1 mm and 3 mm for the polyurethane elastomer layer (Paragraph 19).
With respect to claim 3, given the disclosed thickness values for the polyurethane elastomer layer, it reasons that the elastomer foam layer of Malfliet would have a thickness within the broad range of the claimed invention. It is also noted that the specific thickness would be a function of the specific intended use of the molded composite structure.
As to claim 4, Malfliet teaches densities of at least 25 lb/ft3 for the polyurethane elastomer layers (at least 400 kg/m3) (Paragraph 22) and Trumbo teaches densities between 0.1 and 30 lb/ft3 (Paragraph 100). Chang also teaches densities less than approximately 62 lb/ft (less than 1,000 kg/m3) for skin layers (page 14, Lines 20-33). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the molded composite structure of Malfliet with an overall density in accordance to the broad range of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 5, Chang teaches hardness values less than Shore A 86 for the skin layers (Page 14, Lines 20-33). Given that Shore D of 85 corresponds with Shore A values on the order of Shore A 100, it reasons that an overall hardness of the composite structure of Malfliet would satisfy the broad range of the claimed invention (hardness of foam layers would not be expected to exceed the upper value of the claimed hardness for the overall composite structure). It is emphasized that the exact hardness of the foam layer would be a function of the intended use of the composite structure and when using common hardness values for the foam layer, one would expect the broad range of the claimed invention for the overall hardness to be satisfied.
Regarding claims 6-9, the method of Malfliet includes a second polyurethane elastomer layer 10 formed by spraying a polyurethane mixture and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the processing conditions detailed by Chang and Trumbo for both of the polyurethane elastomer layers. Also, a fair reading of Malfliet suggests that respective polyurethane elastomer layers can be the same.
As to claims 14 and 15, Malfliet refers to an automotive application (Paragraph 1).
Claim(s) 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malfliet, Chang, and Trumbo as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Hill (US 10,324,978).
As detailed above, Malfliet is broadly directed to a composite structure, and method of making a composite structure, in which a polyurethane foam layer is sandwiched between first and second polyurethane backing layers. In such an instance, Malfliet is silent with respect to the specific makeup of the polyurethane layers. In any event, it is well recognized that polyurethane layers comprise polyisocyanates, amines, polyols, and curing agents, as shown for example by Hill (Column 2, Lines 15-61, Column 15, Lines 53+, and Column 18, Lines 31+). As such, it reasons that the curing step present in the method of Malfliet would involve reactions between polyisocyanates, amines, polyols, and curing agents. It is emphasized that when using conventional polyurethane compositions in the method of Malfliet, the claimed reactions would be present.
Regarding claim 13, the general disclosure of polyols by Hill would have been well recognized as including any of the disclosed types of polyols (consistent with well-known and conventional polyols used in polyurethane formulations).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malfliet, Chang, Trumbo, and Hill as applied in claim 10 above and further in view of Dietrich (DE 2359613) and/or Jarre (DE 2815579).
While Hill is silent with respect to the isocyanate (NCO) content, the claimed values are consistent with those that are associated with conventional isocyanates used in polyurethane formulations, as shown for example by Dietrich (Abstract) and/or Jarre (Abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use isocyanate compounds in accordance to the claimed invention in the polyurethane formulation of Malfliet absent a conclusive showing of unexpected results.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malfliet, Chang, Trumbo, and Hill as applied in claim 10 above and further in view of Duggal (WO 2013/043333).
As detailed above, Hill provides evidence of the common makeup of polyurethane formulations. More particularly, such formulations include a plurality of catalysts, such as amine-containing catalysts, designed to facilitate curing (Column 15, Lines 53+). In such an instance, though, Hill is silent with respect to the molecular weight if such amines. In any event, the claims defined an extremely broad range of molecular weights for amines used in polyurethane formulations, as shown for example by Duggal (Page 2, Lines 23-30). Absent a conclusive showing of unexpected results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use conventional molecular weights for the amine components taught by Hill.
Conclusion
Justin Fischer
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749 October 27, 2026