2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bodhi Technology Ventures LLC (WO 2014/200766), herein after referred to as BTV.
Regarding independent claim 1, BTV discloses a wearable electronic device (100) (Figure 1 electronic device 100 described in paragraph [0027] to be worn by a user.) comprising:
a housing (102) (Figures 1 and 3 reference hub 102 formed by display 116 (operating at a lid/top) with enclosure 114 described in paragraph [0028] to protect the internal components of the hub 102, describing a housing.);
a controller (124) enclosed within an interior of the housing (102) (Figure 2 processing element 124 described in paragraph [0034] as being a part of the internal elements (described in paragraph [0028] to be protected by hub 102 and enclosure 114).), wherein the controller (124) comprises a processor (124) (Paragraph [0036] describes the processing element 124 to be a processor.) and memory (128) (figure 2 memory 128);
a Hall effect sensor (Paragraph [0048] describes 210a-210d as Hall-effect sensors.) enclosed within the interior of the housing (102) (Figure 3 reference sensor 142 (depicted in figure 5 to comprise rotation sensors 210a-210d, paragraph [0047]) depicted to be disposed within the interior of housing 102.) and positioned adjacent to (Without a defined range the BMRI, regarding components within an exterior surface of a housing, is any component inside the housing. In other words, any of the disclosed components inside of the enclosure of 102 (between 116 and 114) may be considered adjacent.) or engaged (Directly in contact with) with an interior surface (Any one of (adjacent): 144, 146, 156, 158, 160, 162, 164, 166, 168, 170, 190, 212, or 214; any one of (engaged): 144, 156, 170) of the housing (102).), wherein the Hall effect sensor (210a-210d) is communicatively coupled with the controller (124) and configured to generate control signals for use by the controller (124) to control functionality of the device (100) (Paragraph [0047] describes sensors 210a-210d to detect rotational, vertical, and/or lateral movements of button 110. Paragraph [0048] describes said sensors specific to be Hall effect sensors that vary the output signal in response t a magnetic field. Paragraphs [0062]-[0063] describes said sensors to transmit the signals to the processing element 124 that is used to activate different applications and/or provide separate inputs.); and
a control button assembly (110+150) engaged (Directly in contact with) with the housing (Figure 3 and paragraph [0028] describes enclosure 114, part of housing 102, to include an aperture 172 to accept the stem or spindle 150 of the button 110.), wherein an exterior (188) of the housing (102) presents a cavity (formed via 172) in which at least a portion (150) of the control button assembly (110+150) is received (paragraph [0040]),
wherein a proximal end (left side of 110 as oriented in figure 3) of the control button (110) assembly (110+150) comprises a magnet (146) (Paragraphs [0044]-[0045] describes element 146 may be magnetic.),
wherein a distal end (left side of 110 as oriented in figure 3) of the control button assembly (110+150) comprises a crown (148) (Paragraph [0040] describes the head 148 of button 110 forms a crown.) that is rotatable with respect to the housing (102) (Paragraph [0040] describes the head 148 to allow a user to rotate, pull, and/or push the crown of button 110.), and wherein the control button assembly (110+150) is configured such that rotation of the crown (148) causes a corresponding rotation of the magnet (146), wherein upon the magnet (146) being rotated via rotation of the crown (148), the Hall effect sensor (210a-210d) is configured to detect the rotation of the magnet (146) (Paragraph [0062] describes rotation force R of the head 148 rotate stem 10 with trackable magnetic element 146. Rotation sensors 210a-210d track the movement of element 146 and produce signals transmitted to processing element 124.),
wherein the housing (102) comprises a sidewall (144+156+172), and wherein the sidewall (144+156+172) entirely separates the control button assembly (110+150) from the Hall effect sensor (210a-210d), and wherein the control button assembly (110+150) does not extend through the housing (102) into the interior of the housing (102) (Figure 3 and paragraph [0056] describes seal 144, projecting from interior surface 190, and membrane 156 are seals which extend over the opening positioned over the sensing element 142 (comprising 210a-210d) prevents water, debris, and other elements from reaching the sensing element 142. This describes a literal seal between the button assembly 110+150 and the hall effect sensor 210a-210d. Further, this defines the “interior” of the housing to be portions which are not intended to handle/receive water, debris, and other elements. In other words, the interior of the housing is defined by 116+190+144+156.).
regarding claim 2, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the control button assembly (110+150) comprises a contact head (546) positioned between the crown (148) and the sidewall (144+156+172) (Figure 10 and paragraph [0091]-[0093] describes an embodiment wherein magnetic element 546 (146 of figure 3) is placed within grooves/cavities formed in the proximal end of the button assembly, between the crown 148 and sidewall 144+156+172.).
Regarding claim 3, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 2, wherein the contact head (546) presents a cavity (groove paragraph [0091]) in which the magnet is mounted (Figure 10 and paragraph [0091]-[0093] describes an embodiment wherein magnetic element 546 (146 of figure 3) is placed within grooves/cavities formed in the proximal end of the button assembly, between the crown 148 and sidewall 144+156+172.).
Regarding claim 4, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the control button assembly (110+150) further comprises a mount (188+190) rigidly secured to the housing (102) within the cavity (formed via 172), wherein the crown (148) and the magnet (146) are configured to rotate with respect to the mount (188+190) and to the housing (102) (Figure 3 and paragraph [0028] describes the hub/housing 102 to be formed by display and enclosure 114. Enclosure 114 is depicted to be rigidly connected to display 116 via adhesive in groove 186 (paragraph [0030]). Further, the interior 190 and exterior 188 surfaces form the rigid side wall portions of the enclosure with cavity, formed via 172, allow rotation of the button assembly 110+150.).
Regarding claim 5, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein when the crown (148) is actuated (force F) towards the sidewall (144+156+172) of the housing (102) (paragraph [0054]), the magnet (146) is configured to be correspondingly shifted towards the sidewall (Paragraphs [0054] and [0069] describes dome 214 as collapsable based upon a predetermined force level when pushing button (including magnet 146) closer to sensor.).
Regarding claim 6, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 5, wherein upon the magnet (146) being shifted toward the sidewall (144+156+172), the Hall effect sensor (210a-210d) is configured to detect the position of the magnet (146) being shifted toward the sidewall (144+156+172) (Paragraphs [0054] and [0069] describes dome 214 as collapsable based upon a predetermined force level when pushing button (including magnet 146) closer to sensor.).
Regarding claim 7, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, wherein the control button assembly (110+150) further includes a spring (154) that biases the magnet (146) away from the sidewall (144+156+172) (Paragraph [0106] and [0110] describes the sealing element 154 is compressible and pivots the shaft 850 in the embodiment of figure 13B).
Regarding claim 8, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, wherein the control button assembly (110+150) further comprises a snap dome (214) positioned between the magnet (146) and the sidewall (144+156+172) of the housing (102), wherein the snap dome (214) is configured to resist movement of the magnet (146) towards sidewall (144+156+172) until a threshold actuation force is applied to the snap dome (214) (Paragraph [0054] describes a predetermined force for dome 214 to collapse. Figures 13A-13B and paragraph [0107] describes an embodiment wherein the dome is placed between the magnet and sidewall.).
Regarding claim 9, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 8, wherein upon the threshold actuation force (predetermined force paragraph [0054]) being applied to the snap dome (214), the snap dome provides tactile feedback (Paragraph [0054] describes the dome 214 to produce and audible sound as well as an opposing force (tactile feedback).).
Regarding claim 10, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the wearable electronic device (100) is a wristwatch (Paragraph [0023] describes the electronic device is a watch worn around the wrist of a user.).
Regarding claim 11, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 10, wherein the wristwatch is a dive watch configured to operate underwater (Paragraph [0056] describes the internal components to be protected/sealed against water and debris via membrane 156 and seal 144.).
Regarding claim 12, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 11, wherein the dive watch is water resistant such that the dive watch is configured to restrict water from entering the interior of the housing (102) when the dive watch is underwater (Paragraph [0056] describes the internal components to be protected/sealed against water and debris via membrane 156 and seal 144.).
Regarding claim 13, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the housing (102) is formed from plastic or metal (Paragraph [0028] describes the enclosure 114, of hub 102, may be constructed out of plastics, metals, alloys, and so on.).
Regarding independent claim 14, BTV discloses a wearable electronic device (100) (Figure 1 electronic device 100 described in paragraph [0027] to be worn by a user.) comprising:
a housing (102) (Figures 1 and 3 reference hub 102 formed by display 116 (operating at a lid/top) with enclosure 114 described in paragraph [0028] to protect the internal components of the hub 102, describing a housing.);
a controller (124) enclosed within an interior of the housing (102) (Figure 2 processing element 124 described in paragraph [0034] as being a part of the internal elements (described in paragraph [0028] to be protected by hub 102 and enclosure 114).), wherein the controller (124) comprises a processor (124) (Paragraph [0036] describes the processing element 124 to be a processor.) and memory (128) (figure 2 memory 128);
a Hall effect sensor (Paragraph [0048] describes 210a-210d as Hall-effect sensors.) enclosed within the interior of the housing (102) (Figure 3 reference sensor 142 (depicted in figure 5 to comprise rotation sensors 210a-210d, paragraph [0047]) depicted to be disposed within the interior of housing 102.) and positioned adjacent to (Without a defined range the BMRI, regarding components within an exterior surface of a housing, is any component inside the housing. In other words, any of the disclosed components inside of the enclosure of 102 (between 116 and 114) may be considered adjacent.) or engaged (Directly in contact with) with an interior surface (Any one of (adjacent): 144, 146, 156, 158, 160, 162, 164, 166, 168, 170, 190, 212, or 214; any one of (engaged): 144, 156, 170) of the housing (102).), wherein the Hall effect sensor (210a-210d) is communicatively coupled with the controller (124) and configured to generate control signals for use by the controller (124) to control functionality of the device (100) (Paragraph [0047] describes sensors 210a-210d to detect rotational, vertical, and/or lateral movements of button 110. Paragraph [0048] describes said sensors specific to be Hall effect sensors that vary the output signal in response t a magnetic field. Paragraphs [0062]-[0063] describes said sensors to transmit the signals to the processing element 124 that is used to activate different applications and/or provide separate inputs.); and
a control button assembly (110+150) engaged (Directly in contact with) with the housing (Figure 3 and paragraph [0028] describes enclosure 114, part of housing 102, to include an aperture 172 to accept the stem or spindle 150 of the button 110.), wherein an exterior (188) of the housing (102) presents a cavity (formed via 172) in which at least a portion (150) of the control button assembly (110+150) is received (paragraph [0040]),
wherein a proximal end (left side of 110 as oriented in figure 3) of the control button (110) assembly (110+150) comprises a magnet (146) (Paragraphs [0044]-[0045] describes element 146 may be magnetic.),
wherein a distal end (left side of 110 as oriented in figure 3) of the control button assembly (110+150) comprises a crown (148) (Paragraph [0040] describes the head 148 of button 110 forms a crown.) that is rotatable with respect to the housing (102) (Paragraph [0040] describes the head 148 to allow a user to rotate, pull, and/or push the crown of button 110.), and wherein the control button assembly (110+150) is configured such that rotation of the crown (148) causes a corresponding rotation of the magnet (146),
wherein the housing (102) comprises a sidewall (144+156+172), and wherein the sidewall (144+156+172) entirely separates the control button assembly (110+150) from the Hall effect sensor (210a-210d), such that the control button assembly (110+150) is restricted from extending through the housing (102) into the interior of the housing (102) (Figure 3 and paragraph [0056] describes seal 144, projecting from interior surface 190, and membrane 156 are seals which extend over the opening positioned over the sensing element 142 (comprising 210a-210d) prevents water, debris, and other elements from reaching the sensing element 142. This describes a literal seal between the button assembly 110+150 and the hall effect sensor 210a-210d. Further, this defines the “interior” of the housing to be portions which are not intended to handle/receive water, debris, and other elements. In other words, the interior of the housing is defined by 116+190+144+156.).
Regarding claim 15, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 14, wherein upon the magnet (146) being rotated via rotation of the crown (148), the Hall effect sensor (210a-210d) is configured to detect the rotation of the magnet (146) (Paragraph [0062] describes rotation force R of the head 148 rotate stem 10 with trackable magnetic element 146. Rotation sensors 210a-210d track the movement of element 146 and produce signals transmitted to processing element 124.).
Regarding claim 16, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 15, wherein the control button assembly (110+150) further comprises a mount (188+190) rigidly secured to the housing (102) within the cavity (formed via 172), wherein the crown (148) and the magnet (146) are configured to rotate with respect to the mount (188+190) and to the housing (102) (Figure 3 and paragraph [0028] describes the hub/housing 102 to be formed by display and enclosure 114. Enclosure 114 is depicted to be rigidly connected to display 116 via adhesive in groove 186 (paragraph [0030]). Further, the interior 190 and exterior 188 surfaces form the rigid side wall portions of the enclosure with cavity, formed via 172, allow rotation of the button assembly 110+150.).
Regarding claim 17, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 14, wherein when the crown (148) is actuated (force F) towards the sidewall (144+156+172) of the housing (102) (paragraph [0054]), the magnet (146) is configured to be correspondingly shifted towards the sidewall (Paragraphs [0054] and [0069] describes dome 214 as collapsable based upon a predetermined force level when pushing button (including magnet 146) closer to sensor.), wherein upon the magnet (146) being shifted toward the sidewall (144+156+172), the Hall effect sensor (210a-210d) is configured to detect the position of the magnet (146) being shifted toward the sidewall (144+156+172) (Paragraphs [0054] and [0069] describes dome 214 as collapsable based upon a predetermined force level when pushing button (including magnet 146) closer to sensor.).
Regarding claim 18, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 17, wherein the control button assembly (110+150) further comprises a snap dome (214) positioned between the magnet (146) and the sidewall (144+156+172) of the housing (102), wherein the snap dome (214) is configured to resist movement of the magnet (146) towards sidewall (144+156+172) until a threshold actuation force is applied to the snap dome (214) (Paragraph [0054] describes a predetermined force for dome 214 to collapse. Figures 13A-13B and paragraph [0107] describes an embodiment wherein the dome is placed between the magnet and sidewall.), wherein upon the threshold actuation force (predetermined force paragraph [0054]) being applied to the snap dome (214), the snap dome provides tactile feedback (Paragraph [0054] describes the dome 214 to produce and audible sound as well as an opposing force (tactile feedback).).
Regarding claim 19, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 14, wherein the wearable electronic device (100) is a wristwatch (Paragraph [0023] describes the electronic device is a watch worn around the wrist of a user.).
Regarding claim 20, BTV discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 19, wherein the wristwatch is a dive watch configured to operate underwater (Paragraph [0056] describes the internal components to be protected/sealed against water and debris via membrane 156 and seal 144.).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621