DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed 07/31/2025 and 06/16/2026 has/have been considered by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract recites “Methods, systems and devices are provided…”, in which the phrase, “are provided” is considered implied phraseology and should be avoided. Examiner suggests deleting this phrase to overcome the objection. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
In accordance to MPEP 2111.04, such term(s) as “configured to” in the claim(s) do not limit claim scope to the particular function performed, and merely suggest optional functionality since the claim does not introduce any structure that positively recites and limits the features of the invention for exclusive use as intended. Absent limiting structural features, limitations following said clauses will be interpreted as recitations of intended use, wherein prior art will be evaluated based on its capability of performing and its suitability for the intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 14-15, 18, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viswanathan (US 20170189097 A1 – hereinafter Viswanathan).
Re. claim 2, Viswanathan teaches a system comprising:
an elongate shaft comprising at least one electrode (paragraph 0005 – “FIG. 1 is a schematic illustration of a catheter with a plurality of electrodes disposed along its distal shaft, epicardially disposed such that it snugly wraps around the pulmonary veins of a cardiac anatomy, according to embodiments”);
and a generator in electrical communication with the at least one electrode (paragraph 0031 – “In some embodiments, a system includes a pulse waveform generator including a user interface and an ablation device coupled to the pulse waveform generator, the ablation device including a plurality of electrodes configured for ablation pulse delivery to tissue of a patient during use”),
wherein the generator includes at least one energy delivery algorithm configured to provide a waveform to the at least one electrode (paragraph 0062 – “One or more embodiments described herein relate to a computer storage product with a non-transitory computer-readable medium (also can be referred to as a non-transitory processor-readable medium) having instructions or computer code thereon for performing various computer-implemented operations. The computer-readable medium (or processor-readable medium) is non-transitory in the sense that it does not include transitory propagating signals per se (e.g., a propagating electromagnetic wave carrying information on a transmission medium such as space or a cable). The media and computer code (also can be referred to as code or algorithm) may be those designed and constructed for the specific purpose or purposes”),
wherein the waveform comprises a plurality of packets (paragraph 0012 – “FIG. 8 illustrates schematically a time sequence of electrode set activations delivered as a series of waveform packets over a corresponding series of successive heartbeats, according to embodiments”),
wherein a first packet of the plurality of packets comprises a plurality of individual pulses (paragraph 0050 – “A timing sequence of electrode activation over a series of electrode sets is illustrated in FIG. 8, according to embodiments. Using the example scenario where it is desired to apply a hierarchical ablation waveform to j electrode sets (each electrode set comprising in general at least one anode and at least one cathode, in some embodiments, cardiac pacing is utilized as described in the foregoing, and a packet of pulses (such as including one or more pulse groups, or one or more sets of pulses) is applied first to electrode set 1, and with only a small time delay t.sub.d (of the order of about 100 μs or less) this is followed by the packet of pulses being applied to electrode set 2”),
wherein the first packet of the plurality of packets and a second packet of the plurality of packets are separated by a rest period (figure 5 shows first packet 158 and second packet 162 separated by time delay 160).
Viswanathan does not expressly teach wherein the first packet comprises from 5 pulses to 60 pulses, and wherein a total number of packets in the waveform is from 5 packets to 100 packets.
However, Viswanathan teaches a first packet which contains at least two pulses, with a first pulse 151 followed by a time delay 152 (figure 5),
And further teaches a second packet 162 following the first packet 158 (figure 5).
Furthermore, it has been held by the court “…mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”, as per in re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04. VI. B. Duplication of Parts. In the instant case, duplicating the pulses in the first packet from 5 pulses to 60 pulses AND duplicating the total number of packets in the waveform is from 5 packets to 100 packets, would not change operation of the system nor produce any unexpected result in delivering therapeutic stimulation pulse treatment to a targeted area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try duplicating the number of pulses in the first packet from 5 pulses to 60 pulses AND duplicating the total number of packets in the waveform from 5 packets to 100 packets, since such modification would still predictably result in delivering therapeutic stimulation pulse treatment to a targeted area.
Re. claims 3-4, Viswanathan teaches the claimed invention of claim 2 as stated above except wherein the first packet comprises from 10 pulses to 40 pulses AND wherein the first packet comprises about 25 pulses.
However, Viswanathan teaches a first packet which contains at least two pulses, with a first pulse 151 followed by a time delay 152 (figure 5),
Furthermore, it has been held by the court “…mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”, as per in re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04. VI. B. Duplication of Parts. In the instant case, duplicating the pulses in the first packet from 10 pulses to 40 pulses and/or about 25 pulses would not change operation of the system nor produce any unexpected result in delivering therapeutic stimulation pulse treatment to a targeted area. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try duplicating the number of pulses in the first packet first packet comprises from 10 pulses to 40 pulses and/or about 25 pulses, since such modification would still predictably result in delivering therapeutic stimulation pulse treatment to a targeted area.
Re. claim 5, Viswanathan teaches the claimed invention of claim 2 as stated above except wherein a total number of packets in the waveform is from 10 packets to 50 packets.
However, Viswanathan teaches a second packet 162 following the first packet 158 (figure 5).
Furthermore, it has been held by the court “…mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”, as per in re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04. VI. B. Duplication of Parts. In the instant case, duplicating the total number of packets in the waveform from 10 packets to 50 packets would not change operation of the system nor produce any unexpected result in delivering therapeutic stimulation pulse treatment to a targeted area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try duplicating the total number of packets in the waveform from 10 packets to 50 packets, since such modification would still predictably result in delivering therapeutic stimulation pulse treatment to a targeted area.
Re. claim 14, Viswanathan further teaches wherein the at least one electrode is configured to deliver the waveform to cardiac tissue of a subject (paragraph 0005 – “FIG. 1 is a schematic illustration of a catheter with a plurality of electrodes disposed along its distal shaft, epicardially disposed such that it snugly wraps around the pulmonary veins of a cardiac anatomy, according to embodiments”; paragraph 0027 – “In some embodiments, a system includes a pulse waveform generator and an ablation device coupled to the pulse waveform generator, the ablation device including at least one electrode configured for ablation pulse delivery to tissue during use. The system also includes a cardiac stimulator coupled to the pulse waveform generator, the cardiac stimulator configured for generating pacing signals for cardiac stimulation during use”).
Re. claim 15, Viswanathan further teaches wherein the at least one electrode is configured to deliver the waveform to a pulmonary vein of a subject (paragraph 0005 – “FIG. 1 is a schematic illustration of a catheter with a plurality of electrodes disposed along its distal shaft, epicardially disposed such that it snugly wraps around the pulmonary veins of a cardiac anatomy, according to embodiments”; paragraph 0040).
Re. claim 18, Viswanathan further teaches wherein each packet of the plurality of packets comprises at least one negative pulse (Viswanathan figure 5; paragraph 0045 – “FIG. 5 provides an example of a biphasic waveform sequence with a hierarchical structure. In the example shown in the figure, biphasic pulses such as 151 have a positive voltage portion as well as a negative voltage portion to complete one cycle of the pulse”).
Re. claim 20, Viswanathan further teaches wherein the generator is configured to deliver the waveform to create a first treatment zone and a second treatment zone at different portions of a body passageway (Viswanathan teaches selective electrode stimulation, paragraph 0010 – “FIG. 6 schematically shows a circle of numbered catheter electrodes, wherein sets of electrodes can be sequentially selected for application of a corresponding sequence of voltage pulse waveforms, according to embodiments”; paragraph 0013 – “FIG. 9 is a schematic illustration of an irreversible electroporation system that includes a system console that in turn includes a voltage/signal generator, a controller configured to apply voltages to selected subsets of electrodes…”; figure 6 shows electrode pair configuration for selective stimulation).
Re. claim 21, Viswanathan further teaches wherein a total energy delivery duration of the waveform is from 0.5 milliseconds to 100 milliseconds (paragraph 0046 – “In some embodiments, the total time duration of the second set of pulses can be between about 20 microseconds and about 10 milliseconds, including all values and sub-ranges in between…In some embodiments, the total time duration of the third set of pulses can be between about 60 microseconds and about 200 milliseconds, including all values and sub ranges in between”).
Claim(s) 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viswanathan (US 20170189097 A1 – hereinafter Viswanathan) in view of Reinke (US 20160213940 A1 – hereinafter Reinke).
Re. claim 6, Viswanathan teaches the claimed invention of claim 2 as stated above, including the pulse trains (figure 5),
but does not expressly teach wherein the plurality of individual pulses comprises: a) a first pulse comprising a first polarity, a first amplitude, and a first pulse width; and b) a second pulse comprising a second polarity, a second amplitude, and a second pulse width.
Reinke teaches an electrical stimulation system (abstract – “An implantable pacemaker detects delivery of an anti-tachyarrhythmia shock by another device. The implantable pacemaker delivers cardiac stimulation therapy within a patient”) and further teaches stimulation pulse trains (figures 10-11) with biphasic pulse train waveforms comprising:
a) a first pulse comprising a first polarity, a first amplitude, and a first pulse width (figure 10, initial negative discharge pacing window 202 with negative polarity); and
b) a second pulse comprising a second polarity, a second amplitude, and a second pulse width (figure 10, subsequent positive discharge window 206 with positive polarity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pulse trains of Viswanathan, to try incorporating the pulse trains including a first pulse comprising a first polarity, a first amplitude, and a first pulse width, and a second pulse comprising a second polarity, a second amplitude, and a second pulse width as taught by Reinke as stated above, since such modification would predictably result in delivering therapeutic stimulation treatment to a targeted treatment area.
Re. claim 7, Reinke of the combined invention further teaches wherein the first pulse and the second pulse are separated by an interpulse delay (Reinke figure 10, no stimulation period 204 separating pulses 202 and 206).
Re. claim 8, Reinke of the combined invention further teaches wherein (i) the first pulse amplitude is different than the second pulse amplitude or (ii) the first pulse width is different than the second pulse width (Reinke figure 10 shows both pulse amplitudes and pulse widths to be different).
Re. claim 9, Reinke of the combined invention further teaches wherein the plurality of individual pulses further comprise:
a) a third pulse comprising the first polarity; and b) a fourth pulse comprising the second polarity (third and fourth pulses are the same polarities of the first and second pulses, respectively).
Re. claim 10, Reinke figure 10 of the combined invention teaches the claimed invention of claim 6 as stated above except wherein:
(i) the third pulse has a different pulse amplitude than the first pulse,
(ii) the third pulse has a different pulse width than the first pulse,
(iii) the fourth pulse has a different pulse amplitude than the second pulse,
or
(iv) the fourth pulse has a different pulse width than the second pulse.
However, Reinke figure 11 teaches an exemplary pulse train 210 in which the third pulse has a different pulse amplitude than the first pulse (figure 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pulse trains of Viswanathan, to try incorporating the pulse train including the third pulse having a different pulse amplitude than the first pulse as taught by Reinke figure 11 as stated above, since such modification would still predictably result in delivering therapeutic stimulation treatment to a targeted treatment area.
Re. claim 11, Viswanathan of the combined invention further teaches wherein the at least one electrode comprises a first electrode pair and a second electrode pair (Viswanathan figure 6; paragraph 0048 – “FIG. 6 illustrates an example circular catheter configuration, where approximately diametrically opposite electrode pairs (e.g., electrodes 603 and 609, electrodes 604 and 610, electrodes 605 and 611, and electrodes 606 and 612) are activatable as anode-cathode sets…In some embodiments, one or more of the waveforms applied across electrode pairs is applied during the refractory period of a cardiac cycle, as described in more detail herein”).
Re. claim 12, Viswanathan of the combined invention further teaches wherein the generator is configured to deliver the first pulse and the second pulse using the first electrode pair and wherein the generator is configured to deliver at least one additional pulse using the second electrode pair (Viswanathan paragraph 0036 – “In some embodiments, a system useful for irreversible electroporation includes a voltage/signal generator and a controller capable of being configured to apply pulsed voltage waveforms to a selected plurality or a subset of electrodes of an ablation device”; paragraph 0048 – “FIG. 6 illustrates an example circular catheter configuration, where approximately diametrically opposite electrode pairs (e.g., electrodes 603 and 609, electrodes 604 and 610, electrodes 605 and 611, and electrodes 606 and 612) are activatable as anode-cathode sets…In some embodiments, one or more of the waveforms applied across electrode pairs is applied during the refractory period of a cardiac cycle, as described in more detail herein”).
Re. claim 13, Reinke of the combined invention further teaches wherein the first polarity and the second polarity are different (Reinke figure 10).
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viswanathan (US 20170189097 A1 – hereinafter Viswanathan) in view of Mickelsen (US 20170065339 A1 – hereinafter Mickelsen).
Re. claim 16, Viswanathan teaches the claimed invention of claim 2 as stated above except wherein the elongate shaft is a basket catheter.
Mickelsen teaches a catheter system (abstract – “Catheter systems and methods for the selective and rapid application of DC voltage to drive irreversible electroporation are disclosed herein”) with multiple electrodes placed on the pulmonary vein (paragraph 0007 – “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a portion of a catheter with multiple electrodes disposed along its shaft and wrapped around the pulmonary veins of the heart such that the portion of the catheter is placed in the epicardial space of the heart”) and further includes an embodiment of the catheter as a basket catheter comprising an elongate shaft 501 with electrodes (figure 22; paragraph 0036 – “FIG. 22 is a schematic illustration of a basket ablation catheter for electroporation energy delivery according to an embodiment”; paragraph 0095 – “An ablation device for irreversible electroporation in the form of an expanding basket catheter is schematically illustrated in FIG. 22. Mounted on the shaft 501 of the device is a sliding member 505 which is attached to a system of struts 507…On either side of the basket-like structure and disposed along the shaft are two electrodes 502 and 503. Bead-like electrodes 508 are present at corners of the strut assembly”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try modifying the catheter shaft of Viswanathan, to incorporate the basket catheter shaft configuration as taught by Mickelsen, since such modification would still predictably result in delivering therapeutic stimulation treatment to a targeted treatment area.
Re. claim 19, Viswanathan teaches the claimed invention of claim 2 as stated above except wherein the at least one electrode comprises a plurality of electrodes configured to be arranged to span an inner circumference of a body passageway.
Mickelsen teaches a catheter system (abstract – “Catheter systems and methods for the selective and rapid application of DC voltage to drive irreversible electroporation are disclosed herein”) with multiple electrodes placed on the pulmonary vein (paragraph 0007 – “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a portion of a catheter with multiple electrodes disposed along its shaft and wrapped around the pulmonary veins of the heart such that the portion of the catheter is placed in the epicardial space of the heart”) and further includes an embodiment of the catheter as a basket catheter comprising an elongate shaft 501, and electrodes arranged to span an inner circumference of a body passageway (figure 22; paragraph 0036 – “FIG. 22 is a schematic illustration of a basket ablation catheter for electroporation energy delivery according to an embodiment”; paragraph 0095 – “An ablation device for irreversible electroporation in the form of an expanding basket catheter is schematically illustrated in FIG. 22. Mounted on the shaft 501 of the device is a sliding member 505 which is attached to a system of struts 507…On either side of the basket-like structure and disposed along the shaft are two electrodes 502 and 503. Bead-like electrodes 508 are present at corners of the strut assembly”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try modifying the catheter shaft of Viswanathan, to incorporate the basket catheter shaft electrode configuration as taught by Mickelsen, since such modification would still predictably result in delivering therapeutic stimulation treatment to a targeted treatment area.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viswanathan (US 20170189097 A1 – hereinafter Viswanathan) in view of Sittner (US 4038984 A – hereinafter Sittner).
Re. claim 17, Viswanathan teaches the claimed invention of claim 2 as stated above except wherein the first packet comprises a packet duration of less than 1000 microseconds (µs).
Sittner teaches a system for electrosurgery (abstract – “A method and apparatus for electric surgery includes generating oscillations of high frequency electric energy of substantially constant amplitude, controlling the duration of and spacing in time between each series of oscillations generated…”) and includes a waveform generator (generator circuit figure 3) and further teaches an example waveform B including a waveform period being 65 microseconds and a packet of RF energy of 8 microseconds (column 8, lines 9-11: “Waveform B shows a duty cycle of 1/8, i.e. the period being 65 microseconds while the packet width is 8 microseconds”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first packet duration of Viswanathan, to incorporate the 8 microsecond packet width as taught by Sittner, since such modification still predictably result in delivering timely therapeutic stimulation treatment to a targeted treatment area and prevent excessive tissue damage.
Conclusion
/ANH-KHOA N DINH/Examiner, Art Unit 3796