DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 8, 11-15, and 22-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 3, “the superimposed demonstration guidance” should read “the corresponding superimposed demonstration guidance”.
Claim 22, line 2, “a process” should read “a processor”.
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 11-15, and 22-23, have multiple instances of “the demonstration guidance” that should read “the corresponding demonstration guidance”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 11, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “display” in line 2 and “the display” in line 2. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the same ones of “a first display” of claim 1 from which claim 8 depends or “a second display” of claim 1 from which claim 8 depends or an entirely new display. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “display” or “the display” refers to the same ones of “a first display” found in claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the display” in line 2. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the same ones of “a first display” of claim 1 from which claim 11 depends or “a second display” of claim 1 from which claim 11 depends or an entirely new display. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “the display” refers to the same ones of “a first display” found in claim 1.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “selection of the action button” in line 1. However, claim 16 from which claim 20 depends mentions the given element includes “a message or a tooltip or an action button”. Therefore, it is unclear if “a message or a tooltip” will also be included in the limitations of claim 20. Appropriate clarification is required. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “selection of the action button” will be readd as “selection of the message or the tooltip or the action button”.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “selection of the action button” in line 1. However, claim 16 from which claim 21 depends mentions the given element includes “a message or a tooltip or an action button”. Therefore, it is unclear if “a message or a tooltip” will also be included in the limitations of claim 21. Appropriate clarification is required. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that “selection of the action button” will be readd as “selection of the message or the tooltip or the action button”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiaolong Cai (US 12519845 B1; hereinafter Cai).
Regarding claims 1, 22, and 23, Cai discloses a guided demonstration method, comprising: causing execution of a demonstration and corresponding demonstration guidance (notes associated with the content while presenting the content; col 15 lines 18-30); causing rendering, to a first display (display at client 504; col 13 lines 1-4), at least one user interface screen of the demonstration (creating a script for content to be presented in a conference; col 12 lines 57-65) with the corresponding demonstration guidance superimposed over the at least one user interface screen (semitransparent or transparent overlay over the content; col 18 lines 21-26); and causing sharing over a network (clients communicate over the network; col 6 lines 13-25) of the at least one user interface screen to a remote device (clients may be remote; col 9 lines 33-46) such that the at least one user interface screen is displayed on a second display of the remote device without the demonstration guidance (the private interface is exclusively displayed only at the user device for the presenter and not to any of the other devices connected to the conference; col 15 lines 18-32). Cai discloses additional limitations of claim 23 such as a software product, comprising a non-transient computer-readable medium in which program instructions are stored (col 25 lines 39-61).
Regarding claim 2, Cai discloses wherein the causing sharing includes causing sharing over the network (clients communicate over the network; col 6 lines 13-25) of the at least one user interface screen without the superimposed demonstration guidance to the remote device (the private interface is exclusively displayed only at the user device for the presenter and not to any of the other devices connected to the conference; col 15 lines 18-32).
Regarding claim 3, Cai discloses further comprising rendering the at least one user interface screen to the second display without the demonstration guidance (the private interface is exclusively displayed only at the user device for the presenter and not to any of the other devices connected to the conference; col 15 lines 18-32).
Regarding claim 4, Cai discloses further comprising: executing the application demonstration and the corresponding demonstration guidance (creating a script for content to be presented in a conference; col 12 lines 57-65); rendering to the first display the at least one user interface screen with the corresponding demonstration guidance superimposed over the at least one user interface screen (semitransparent or transparent overlay over the content; col 18 lines 21-26); and sharing over the network of the at least one user interface screen without the superimposed demonstration guidance to the remote device such that the user interface screen is displayed on the second display without the demonstration guidance (the private interface is exclusively displayed only at the user device for the presenter and not to any of the other devices connected to the conference; col 15 lines 18-32).
Regarding claim 5, Cai discloses wherein: the causing rendering includes causing rendering to the first display the at least one user interface screen in a first layer (the content in slide 802 is in a layer as shown in Fig 8A and col 18 lines 16-26) and the corresponding demonstration guidance in a second layer with the second layer being superimposed over the first layer (private user interface 800 shown as transparent or semitransparent in Fig 8A and col 18 lines 16-26); and the sharing includes sharing the first layer without the second layer to the remote device such that the first layer is displayed on the second display without the second layer (the private interface is exclusively displayed only at the user device for the presenter and not to any of the other devices connected to the conference; col 15 lines 18-32).
Regarding claim 6, Cai discloses further comprising defining the second layer as a protected window that is protected from being shared to another device (the private interface is exclusively displayed only at the user device for the presenter and not to any of the other devices connected to the conference; col 15 lines 18-32).
Regarding claim 7, Cai discloses further comprising: receiving user interaction input with the at least one user interface screen to navigate within the demonstration (user can navigate or perform actions with respect to the script or notes; col 15 lines 18-22); and updating rendering of the at least one user interface screen (by using a restore command from the user, a portion of content can be shared to the conference; col 20 lines 54-60) and the corresponding demonstration guidance to the first display responsively to the user interaction input (creating or editing template notes; col 16 lines 45-55).
Regarding claim 8, Cai discloses further comprising removing from display a first element of the demonstration guidance (deleting note; Fig 7 and col 17 lines 8-9) and adding to the display a second element of the demonstration guidance responsively to the user interaction input (creating, editing, or modifying would create new elements in col 12 lines 57-67 or clicking add summary to add a summary in Fig 7).
Regarding claim 9, Cai discloses wherein the user interaction input includes any one or more of the following: scrolling within the at least one user interface screen (auto-scrolling; col 19 lines 28-42); navigating to a new page of the at least one user interface screen (navigating; col 19 lines 43-52); or selecting a dropdown menu (dropdown menu in response to command from user; col 17 lines 8-9 and Fig 7).
Regarding claim 10, Cai discloses further comprising synchronizing (synchronization supported by associating specific notes with objects of the content to be presented; col 2 lines 53-54) rendering the at least one user interface screen and the corresponding demonstration guidance on the first display (there is synchronization between locations in the content and the notes based on the speech of the user in col 15 lines 33-8) responsively to navigation of the demonstration (speech of the user is used as input for navigation because speech allows for auto-scrolling of the content being displayed; col 19 lines 28-42).
Regarding claim 12, Cai discloses wherein the causing rendering includes causing rendering of corresponding elements of the demonstration guidance according to a predefined guidance display order (order can be added to the desired sequence of the notes; col 18 lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 13, Cai discloses wherein the causing rendering includes causing rendering of an element of the demonstration guidance indicating that the demonstration has been incorrectly navigated (highlighting content that has not been covered by the user; col 16 lines 37-44).
Regarding claim 14, Cai discloses wherein an element of the demonstration guidance includes a message (marker 830 has a message inside in Fig 8A) or a tooltip or an action button (multiple action buttons shown as group of controls 804 in Fig 8A), attached to an object of the at least one user interface screen (attached on top of the slide 802 as shown in Fig 8A).
Regarding claim 15, Cai discloses further comprising, in a setup stage: receiving user input to add new elements to the demonstration guidance (creating, editing, or modifying would create new elements in col 12 lines 57-67 or clicking add summary to add a summary in Fig 7); and adding the new elements to the demonstration guidance (Fig 7 and Fig 8A).
Regarding claim 16, Cai discloses wherein a given element of the new elements includes a message or a tooltip or an action button (multiple action buttons shown as group of controls 804 in Fig 8A), attached to an object of the at least one user interface screen (attached on top of the slide 802 as shown in Fig 8A).
Regarding claim 17, Cai discloses further comprising detecting a position of attachment of the given element to the object of the at least one user interface screen (the detecting of the position is clarified in the specification of the present invention where the system detects the positions in order to display the elements in the correct position; every element in Cai is associated with specific notes of the content to be presented in col 2 lines 53-54 and as an example it will be a very specific location, such as a 3rd bullet item of the 9th slide in col 14 lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 18, Cai discloses further comprising defining a guidance display order of the new elements during the rendering of the demonstration (order can be added to the desired sequence of the notes; col 18 lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 19, Cai discloses further comprising defining an activation rule of the given element during the rendering of the demonstration (there are multiple rules, for example highlighting content that has not been covered by the user in col 16 lines 37-44 or a next speaker note can be displayed if it has been determined that the current note was read and more examples in col 21 lines 9-44).
Regarding claim 20, Cai discloses wherein selection of the action button during execution of the demonstration is configured to perform a navigational action (multiple action buttons shown as group of controls 804 in Fig 8A that allows for navigation).
Regarding claim 21, Cai discloses wherein selection of the action button during execution of the demonstration performs an action external to the demonstration (multiple action buttons shown as group of controls 804 in Fig 8A that allow for different actions in the private interface and the private interface is not being shown to the audience during the presentation, therefore, this is considered to be external to the presentation in col 15 lines 18-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai in view of Delia et al. (US 20130024772 A1; hereinafter Delia).
Regarding claim 11, Cai does not explicitly disclose further comprising timing the rendering of a first element of the demonstration guidance to the display responsively to a time elapsed from a start of the demonstration or a time left until a planned end of the demonstration. Although, examiner notes that objects of the content are already linked during creation time with specific notes (col 2 lines 53-54) and these notes will appear as time goes by while the user is reading the content to show the next note (col 19 lines 28-42).
Delia teaches further comprising timing the rendering of a first element of the demonstration guidance (send a warning indication; ¶7) to the display responsively to a time elapsed from a start of the demonstration or a time left until a planned end of the demonstration (track actual time elapsed for each presentation segment; ¶7 and ¶28).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cai to implement the teachings of Delia to make sure certain elements of the presentation are well timed. There might be some elements the presenter needs to explain before moving to other slides, and a well-timed note can show up to remind the presenter. Another example can warn the presenter that it’s time to move to the next slide in order to make sure the presentation ends at a specific time.
Conclusion
/JOSE ANGELES/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715