DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the set of claims received on May 5, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The system of claim 1 further” should read --The system of claim 1, further--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The system of claim 1 further” should read --The system of claim 1, further--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein robot arm” is now --wherein the robot arm--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The system of claim 1 further” should read --The system of claim 1, further--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The system of claim 11 further” should read --The system of claim 11, further--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The system of claim 11 further” should read --The system of claim 11, further--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The system of claim 11 further” should read --The system of claim 11, further--. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8,10-18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,813,704 in view of Quaid et al. (US Publication 2006/0142657).
Instant Application No.19/198,292
U.S. Patent No. 10,813,704
Claim 1: A surgical system for performing a robotically assisted medical procedure on a patient, said system comprising: a robot arm; an end-effector attached to the robot arm, wherein the end-effector is configured to releasably hold a surgical instrument; a computing system; a control interface configured to receive commands and to control operation of the robot arm, wherein the control interface is in electronic communication with the computing system, wherein the computing system is configured to compute a desired trajectory for the surgical instrument from a medical image and from a detected real-time position of at least one of the surgical instrument and the end effector.
Claim 1:A surgical system for performing a robotically assisted medical procedure on a patient, said system comprising: a computing system; a robot arm; an end-effector attached to the robot arm, wherein the end-effector is configured to releasably hold a plurality of surgical instruments; a control interface configured to receive commands and to control operation of the robot arm, wherein the control interface is in electronic communication with the computing system; an actuator, in electronic communication with the control interface, configured to move the robot arm; a patient marker adapted to be coupled to a bone of the patient; and a tracking detector configured to capture a position of the surgical instrument held by the end-effector in relation to the patient based on the patient marker, wherein the computing system is configured to perform a registration to spatially align the end-effector, the patient and a desired trajectory of the end-effector based on the patient marker, and to maintain the spatial alignment without performing re-registration of the end-effector position when the surgical instrument held by the end-effector is removed and replaced with a different one of the surgical instruments
Claim 11. A surgical system for performing a robotically assisted medical procedure on a patient, said system comprising: a robot arm; an end-effector removably attached to the robot arm, wherein the end-effector is configured to releasably hold a surgical instrument; a computing system; an actuator configured to move the robot arm; and a tracking detector configured to capture a position of the surgical instrument in relation to the patient, wherein the computing system is configured to compute a desired trajectory for the surgical instrument from a medical image and from the position of at least one of the surgical instrument and the end effector.
Claim 1. A surgical system for performing a robotically assisted medical procedure on a patient, said system comprising: a computing system; a robot arm; an end-effector attached to the robot arm, wherein the end-effector is configured to releasably hold a plurality of surgical instruments; a control interface configured to receive commands and to control operation of the robot arm, wherein the control interface is in electronic communication with the computing system; an actuator, in electronic communication with the control interface, configured to move the robot arm; a patient marker adapted to be coupled to a bone of the patient; and a tracking detector configured to capture a position of the surgical instrument held by the end-effector in relation to the patient based on the patient marker, wherein the computing system is configured to perform a registration to spatially align the end-effector, the patient and a desired trajectory of the end-effector based on the patient marker, and to maintain the spatial alignment without performing re-registration of the end-effector position when the surgical instrument held by the end-effector is removed and replaced with a different one of the surgical instruments
Claim 1 of the reference patent recites all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11 of the instant application except for “wherein the computing system is configured to compute a desired trajectory for the surgical instrument from a medical image and from a detected real-time position of at least one of the surgical instrument and the end effector”.
However, Quaid et al. teaches a computing system is capable of tracking object and registration data, the surgical system 10 may determine, for example, (a) a spatial relationship between the image of the anatomy and the relevant anatomy and (b) a spatial relationship between the relevant anatomy and the tool 50 so that the computing system 20 can superimpose (and continually update) a virtual representation of the tool 50 on the image, where the relationship between the virtual representation and the image is substantially identical to the relationship between the tool 50 and the actual anatomy. Additionally, by tracking not only the tool 50 but also the relevant anatomy, the surgical system 10 can compensate for movement of the relevant anatomy during the surgical procedure (e.g., by adjusting a virtual object in response to the detected movement) [0109, 0115, 0128].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to compute a desired trajectory for the surgical instrument from a medical image and from a detected real-time position of at least one of the surgical instrument and the end effector, as disclosed by Quaid within the system of claim of the reference patent, in order to enhance the surgeon’s natural tactile sense and physical dexterity, and facilitate the targeting, repairing, and replacing of various structures in the body.
Claim 2 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 2 and 12 of the instant application.
Claim 3 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 3 and 13 of the instant application.
Claim 4 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 5 and 15 of the instant application.
Claim 5 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 4 and 14 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 6 and 16 of the instant application.
Claim 7 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 7 and 17 of the instant application.
Claim 8 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 8 and 18 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of the reference patent recites the same limitations as claims 10 and 20 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quaid et al. (US Publication 2006/0142657), hereinafter “Quaid”.
Regarding claim 1, Quaid discloses a surgical system (10, Figure 1) for performing a robotically assisted medical procedure on a patient, said system comprising: a robot arm (33, Figure 2a); an end-effector (35, Figure 2a) attached to the robot arm, wherein the end-effector is configured to releasably hold a surgical instrument (i.e., capable of holding a surgical instrument 50, Figure 2a); a computing system (20, Figure 1); a control interface (31 and 21) configured to receive commands and to control operation of the robot arm (i.e., 21 and 31 are capable of receiving specific operational requirements of the haptic device 30 [0103]), wherein the control interface is in electronic communication with the computing system, wherein the computing system is configured to compute a desired trajectory for the surgical instrument from a medical image and from a detected real-time position of at least one of the surgical instrument and the end effector (i.e., the computing system is capable of tracking object and registration data, the surgical system 10 may determine, for example, (a) a spatial relationship between the image of the anatomy and the relevant anatomy and (b) a spatial relationship between the relevant anatomy and the tool 50 so that the computing system 20 can superimpose (and continually update) a virtual representation of the tool 50 on the image, where the relationship between the virtual representation and the image is substantially identical to the relationship between the tool 50 and the actual anatomy. Additionally, by tracking not only the tool 50 but also the relevant anatomy, the surgical system 10 can compensate for movement of the relevant anatomy during the surgical procedure (e.g., by adjusting a virtual object in response to the detected movement) [0109, 0115, 0128].
Regarding claim 2, Quaid discloses further comprising a display screen (23, Figure 1) configured to display the position of the surgical instrument (i.e., the surgical system 10 is able to associate the physical anatomy and the tool 50 (and/or the haptic device 30) with a representation of the anatomy (such as an image displayed on the display device 23)[0128].
Regarding claim 3, Quaid discloses wherein the display screen (23, Figure 1)displays a projected trajectory of the robot arm based on a position of the robot arm in relation to the patient (i.e., a capable of a haptic object may have an associated spatial or geometric representation that can be graphically represented on the display device 23)[0157].
Regarding claim 4, Quaid discloses further comprising a camera to track the detected real-time position (i.e., detection device 41 may include, a stereo camera sensitive to infrared radiation) [0095,0118,0131].
Regarding claim 5, Quaid discloses further comprising an infrared camera to track the detected real-time position [0130-0131].
Regarding claim 6, Quaid discloses further comprising at least one force sensor disposed between the end-effector and the robot arm [0009].
Regarding claim 7, Quaid discloses wherein the robot arm is housed on a mobile cart (39, Figure 2A) [0126].
Regarding claim 8, Quaid discloses further comprising a stabilization mechanism capable of increasing stiffness of the mobile cart to ensure accuracy of the medical procedure [0182].
Regarding claim 9, Quaid discloses wherein the robot arm includes a locking mechanism [0136, 0182].
Regarding claim 11, Quaid discloses surgical system (10, Figure 1)for performing a robotically assisted medical procedure on a patient, said system comprising: a robot arm(33, Figure 2a); an end-effector (35, Figure 2a)removably attached to the robot arm, wherein the end-effector is configured to releasably hold a surgical instrument(i.e., capable of holding a surgical instrument 50, Figure 2a); a computing system(20, Figure 1); an actuator configured to move the robot arm [0112-0115]; and a tracking detector (41, Figure 1) configured to capture a position of the surgical instrument in relation to the patient (i.e., capable of being disposed on (or incorporated into) a tracked object and detected by the detection device 41), wherein the computing system is configured to compute a desired trajectory for the surgical instrument from a medical image and from the position of at least one of the surgical instrument and the end effector (i.e., the computing system is capable of tracking object and registration data, the surgical system 10 may determine, for example, (a) a spatial relationship between the image of the anatomy and the relevant anatomy and (b) a spatial relationship between the relevant anatomy and the tool 50 so that the computing system 20 can superimpose (and continually update) a virtual representation of the tool 50 on the image, where the relationship between the virtual representation and the image is substantially identical to the relationship between the tool 50 and the actual anatomy. Additionally, by tracking not only the tool 50 but also the relevant anatomy, the surgical system 10 can compensate for movement of the relevant anatomy during the surgical procedure (e.g., by adjusting a virtual object in response to the detected movement) [0109, 0115, 0128].
Regarding claim 12, Quaid discloses further comprising a display screen (23, Figure 1) configured to display the position of the surgical instrument (i.e., the surgical system 10 is able to associate the physical anatomy and the tool 50 (and/or the haptic device 30) with a representation of the anatomy (such as an image displayed on the display device 23)[0128].
Regarding claim 13, Quaid discloses wherein the display screen (23, Figure 1)displays a projected trajectory of the robot arm based on a position of the robot arm in relation to the patient (i.e., a capable of a haptic object may have an associated spatial or geometric representation that can be graphically represented on the display device 23)[0157].
Regarding claim 14, Quaid discloses wherein the tracking detector is a camera(i.e., detection device 41 may include, a stereo camera sensitive to infrared radiation) [0095,0118,0131].
Regarding claim 15, Quaid discloses wherein tracking detector is an infrared camera [0130-0131].
Regarding claim 16, Quaid discloses further comprising at least one force sensor disposed between the end-effector and the robot arm [0009].
Regarding claim 17, Quaid discloses wherein the robot arm is housed on a mobile cart (39, Figure 2A) [0126].
Regarding claim 18, Quaid discloses further comprising a stabilization mechanism capable of increasing stiffness of the mobile cart to ensure accuracy of the medical procedure [0182].
Regarding claim 19, Quaid discloses wherein the robot arm includes a locking mechanism [0136, 0182].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quaid et al. (US Publication 2006/0142657) in view of Gogarty et al. (US Publication 2018/0125597), hereinafter “Gogarty”.
Regarding claim 10, Quaid fails to disclose a surgical drape positioned between the robot arm and the end-effector.
Gogarty, however, teaches a surgical drape (104, Figure 1a) may be used to provide a barrier between a robotic arm (101, Figure 1a) of a surgical robot and an end effector (106, Figure 1a) attached to the robotic arm [0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Quaid with a surgical drape positioned between the robot arm and the end-effector as taught by Gogarty in order to create a barrier between the robotic arm and the end effector to prepare a robot for use within a sterile surgical environment
Regarding claim 20, Quaid fails to disclose a surgical drape positioned between the robot arm and the end-effector.
Gogarty, however, teaches a surgical drape (104, Figure 1a) may be used to provide a barrier between a robotic arm (101, Figure 1a) of a surgical robot and an end effector (106, Figure 1a) attached to the robotic arm [0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Quaid with a surgical drape positioned between the robot arm and the end-effector as taught by Gogarty in order to create a barrier between the robotic arm and the end effector to prepare a robot for use within a sterile surgical environment
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Diana Jones/Examiner, Art Unit 3775
/KEVIN T TRUONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3775