CTNF 19/198,294 CTNF 90542 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-14, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Wang, US 2025/0324065 A1 . Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses: an encoding method, comprising: obtaining a to-be-encoded picture block (See [0116] and figure 2.) ; determining a first encoding complexity of the to-be-encoded picture block based on a plurality of prediction modes (See [0192], disclosing prediction mode selection for a current block, “When performing a prediction on the current block, multiple prediction results may be obtained based on multiple prediction modes, and an optimal prediction mode is determined as the prediction mode of the current block based on the Rate-Distortion Optimization (RDO) cost.”) , wherein the prediction modes comprise at least one of block-level prediction ([0193]: “intra-frame mode”) , point-level prediction, or intra block copy predicti on (See [0193], “point prediction mode”) , and wherein the first encoding complexity indicates an encoding difficulty of the to-be-encoded picture block; determining a quantization parameter of the to-be-encoded picture block based on the first encoding complexity (See [0193], last three lines, “When the category to which the prediction mode of the current block belongs is determined, corresponding complexity information is used to calculate the quantization parameter.”) ; and encoding the to-be-encoded picture block based on the quantization parameter to generate a bitstream (See [0337], “Optionally, when encoding, the video encoder encodes the complexity information of the current block into the code stream or encodes the quantization parameter of the current block into the code stream.”). Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses: the encoding method of claim 1, wherein determining the first encoding complexity comprises: performing a prediction operation on the to-be-encoded picture block based on the prediction modes to obtain a prediction residual that is of the to-be-encoded picture block and that corresponds to all of the prediction modes ([0120] discloses, “The prediction module 21 can provide a prediction block to the summator 202 to generate a residual block, and provide the prediction block to the summator 201 to be reconstructed to obtain a reconstructed block,”) ; determining, based on the prediction residual, a target parameter that is of the to-be encoded picture block and that corresponds to all of the prediction modes, wherein the target parameter comprises at least one of a sum of absolute differences, a sum of absolute transformed differences, or a quantity of lossless coding bits ([0028] discloses “determining corresponding target bits according to the complexity level of the current block, wherein the target bits refers to the number of bits occupied by the current block in the code stream; acquiring a reference quantization parameter of the current block according to the target bits.”) ; and determining the first encoding complexity based on the target parameter ([0028], “acquiring a reference quantization parameter of the current block according to the target bits.”) . Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses: the encoding method of claim 2, wherein determining the first encoding complexity of the to-be-encoded picture block based on the target parameter further comprises determining the first encoding complexity based on a target absolute difference, a target sum of absolute transformed differences, or a target quantity of lossless coding bits , wherein the target absolute difference is a smallest absolute difference in absolute differences that are of the to-be-encoded picture block and that correspond to all of the prediction modes, wherein the sum of absolute transformed differences is a smallest sum of absolute transformed differences in sums of absolute transformed differences that are of the to-be-encoded picture block and that correspond to all of the prediction modes, and wherein the target quantity of lossless coding bits is a smallest quantity of lossless coding bits in quantities of lossless coding bits that are of the to-be-encoded picture block and that correspond to all of the prediction modes (See [0287], Optionally, the video codec determines a complexity level of the current block, determines target bits (target_cost) according to the complexity level of the current block, and acquires a reference quantization parameter of the current block according to the target bits. The target bits refer to the predicted number of bits of the current block after en/decoding.”) . Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses: the encoding method of claim 1, wherein determining the first encoding complexity comprises: dividing the to-be-encoded picture block into a plurality of sub-blocks (See [0181], disclosing dividing into sub-blocks.) ; performing a prediction operation on the sub-blocks based on the prediction modes to obtain prediction residuals that are of the sub-blocks and that correspond to the prediction modes () ; determining, based on the prediction residuals, a target parameter that of the sub-blocks and that corresponds to the prediction modes (See “target bits” ) , wherein each of the target parameters comprises at least one of a sum of absolute differences, a sum of absolute transformed differences, or a quantity of lossless coding bits ([0181] discloses, “Specifically, the video codec divides each channel image block into at least two subblocks, acquires the complexity information of at least two sub-blocks of each channel image block, and determines the complexity information.”) ; and determining the first encoding complexity based on the target parameter (See [0289]: the target_cost is determined according to the image information and complexity.) . Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses, the encoding method of claim 1, further comprising encoding the first encoding complexity into the bitstream (See [0155], “acquiring, by a video codec, complexity information of a current block in an image to be processed, wherein the complexity information of the current block is used to characterize a degree of pixel difference”) Decoding method claims 9, and 11, 13, 14 correspond, respectively, to encoding method claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, respectively, insomuch as they differ only in their respective recitations of an “decoding method” or an “encoding method.” Therefore, encoding method claims 9, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above for decoding method claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, respectively. Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses: the decoding method of claim 9, wherein obtaining the first encoding complexity comprises performing entropy decoding on the bitstream to obtain the first encoding complexity. (See [0120], which discloses, “The prediction module 21 can also send relevant syntax elements to the entropy encoding module 24 for merging into the code stream.” Apparatus claims 17, 18, and 20 are drawn to an apparatus implementing the corresponding method claimed in claims, 1, 2, and 4, respectively. Therefore, apparatus claims 17, 18, and 20 correspond to method claims 1, 2, and 4, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 3, 6, 7, 12, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Lei, US 2019/0335204 A1 Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses: the encoding method of claim 2, wherein determining the first encoding complexity of the to-be-encoded picture block based on the target parameter further comprises: dividing the to-be-encoded picture block into a plurality of sub-blocks (See [0181], “complexity information of each channel image block based on the sub-blocks obtained after dividing each channel image block.”) ; determining horizontal difference blocks and vertical difference blocks of the sub-blocks (See [0160]-[0162], which discloses calculating a horizontal gradient and vertical gradient based on differences between pixel values in a row s and a row s-1 of a current block. ) ; determining a second encoding complexity of the to-be-encoded picture block based on the horizontal difference blocks and the vertical difference blocks (See [0164]-[0167], disclosing calculating vertical and horizontal gradients and in turn calculating a coding complexity of the current block based on the horizontal and vertical gradients.) ; and Wang does not disclose: determining the first encoding complexity based on the second encoding complexity However, Lei discloses in analogous art calculating first encoding complexity based on a second encoding complexity, where the first and second encoding complexities are respectfully part of a first and second video encoder, as shown in figure 2, and the first encoder performs variable rate encoding, and a second encoder provides complexity information based on its encoding (first encoding) to the first encoder (second encoding process), in figure 2. See [0066]-[0069]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the Applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate the feature, disclosed in Lei, of determining a first coding complexity measure based on a second coding complexity measure, as disclosed with respect to figure 2, elements 129, 130, and 150, in order to improve coding efficiency/bit allocation in an encoder following editing/changing of the video, as disclosed in [0015]-[0016] of Lei. Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses: the encoding method of claim 5, wherein determining the first encoding complexity of the to-be-encoded picture block based on the target parameter further comprises: determining second encoding complexities of the sub-blocks based on the target parameter ([0289]-[0290] disclose determining target_cost according to image information and complexity.) ; and Wang does not disclose: determining the first encoding complexity based on the second encoding complexities. However, Lei discloses in analogous art calculating first encoding complexity based on a second encoding complexity, where the first and second encoding complexities are respectfully part of a first and second video encoder, as shown in figure 2, and the first encoder performs variable rate encoding, and a second encoder provides complexity information based on its encoding (first encoding) to the first encoder (second encoding process), in figure 2. See [0066]-[0069]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the Applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate the feature, disclosed in Lei, of determining a first coding complexity measure based on a second coding complexity measure, as disclosed with respect to figure 2, elements 129, 130, and 150, in order to improve coding efficiency/bit allocation in an encoder following editing/changing of the video, as disclosed in [0015]-[0016] of Lei. Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses: the encoding method of claim 5, wherein determining the first encoding complexity of the to-be-encoded picture block based on the target parameter further comprises: determining horizontal difference blocks and vertical difference blocks of the sub-blocks; determining a second encoding complexity of the to-be-encoded picture block based on the horizontal difference blocks and the vertical difference blocks; and Wang does not disclose: determining the first encoding complexity of the to-be-encoded picture block based on the second encoding complexity . However, Lei discloses in analogous art calculating first encoding complexity based on a second encoding complexity, where the first and second encoding complexities are respectfully part of a first and second video encoder, as shown in figure 2, and the first encoder performs variable rate encoding, and a second encoder provides complexity information based on its encoding (first encoding) to the first encoder (second encoding process), in figure 2. See [0066]-[0069]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the Applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate the feature, disclosed in Lei, of determining a first coding complexity measure based on a second coding complexity measure, as disclosed with respect to figure 2, elements 129, 130, and 150, in order to improve coding efficiency/bit allocation in an encoder following editing/changing of the video, as disclosed in [0015]-[0016] of Lei. Decoding method claims 12, 15, and 16 correspond to encoding method claims 3, 6, and 7, respectively, insomuch as they differ only in their respective recitations of an “decoding method” or an “encoding method.” Therefore, decoding method claims 12, 15, and 16 are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above for decoding method claims 3, 6, and 7, respectively. Apparatus claim 19 is drawn to an apparatus implementing the corresponding method claimed in claim 3. Therefore, apparatus claim 19 corresponds to method claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KYLE M LOTFI whose telephone number is (571)272-8762. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Pendleton can be reached at 571-272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KYLE M LOTFI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/198,294 Page 2 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/198,294 Page 3 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/198,294 Page 4 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/198,294 Page 5 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/198,294 Page 6 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/198,294 Page 7 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/198,294 Page 8 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 19/198,294 Page 9 Art Unit: 2425