DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on 7/6/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by USP# 5,100,239 of Ono et al. (henceforth Ono).
Regarding claim 1, Ono teaches
A packaging system (device in fig. 1) comprising:
a hopper (4);
a conveyor (base of 1, see annotated fig. 2) adapted for carrying and transporting a particulate matter (4, aggregate/sand) through the system, the conveyor being positioned below the hopper (see fig. 1);
a feeder (vertical walls of 1, see annotated fig. 2) disposed along the conveyor, the feeder comprising a pair of plates (see annotated fig. 2) positioned at an end of the conveyor opposite the hopper such that each plate is positioned along opposite sides of the conveyor (see annotated fig. 2 and fig. 1), and
a cooling circuit (10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21) connected to the hopper (see output of 21 in fig. 1) the conveyor (through 14, 15, 16) and the feeder (through 14, 15, 16); wherein the cooling circuit is adapted to cool a portion of the hopper, conveyor, and feeder as the conveyor moves (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, as shown in claim 1, Ono teaches
wherein the hopper includes a gate (7) positioned proximately to the conveyor such that the gate restricts the flow of particulate matter exiting the hopper on the conveyor (c. 3, l. 60-62).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by USPGP# 20170030467 of Versteeg et al. (henceforth Versteeg).
Regarding claim 1, Versteeg teaches
A packaging system (1000) comprising:
a hopper (0001, 0002);
a conveyor (0216, 0218, 404) adapted for carrying and transporting a particulate matter (¶0068, please note ice cream can be understood to be a particulate matter since it’s a mixture of solids (ice crystals = particulate matter) dispersed in liquid (fat globules) and gas pockets) through the system (¶0108), the conveyor being positioned below the hopper (fig. 5b);
a feeder (0204, 0206, 400 and plates as annotated in fig. 6) disposed along the conveyor, the feeder comprising a pair of plates (the sidewalls of housing of 0204, 0206 as shown in fig. annotated 6) positioned at an end of the conveyor opposite the hopper such that each plate is positioned along opposite sides of the conveyor (right and left side of conveyor and front and back of conveyor as shown in fig. 6), and
a cooling circuit (0044, 0212, 0214) connected to the hopper the conveyor and the feeder (at least indirectly);
wherein the cooling circuit is adapted to cool a portion of the hopper, conveyor, and feeder as the conveyor moves (the cooling circuit 0044, 0212, 0214 directly and indirectly cools portions of the hopper, conveyor, and feeder, see ¶ 0072 and 0085).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Versteeg.
Regarding claim 9, as shown in claim 1, Versteeg teaches
wherein the cooling circuit comprises a plurality of plates (0044a-d) having fluid channels (0040, 0042, para 0072) to circulate fluid coolant (“refrigerant”, para 0045) through the plates, and a plurality of hoses (see annotated and zoomed fig. 11 ) connecting the plurality of plates, and wherein the coolant is maintained within a range of 35 degrees Fahrenheit and 55 degrees Fahrenheit (para 0076).
Should the applicant contend that Versteeg does not teach maintaining the coolant between a range of 35 degrees Fahrenheit and 55 degrees Fahrenheit It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to maintain the coolant temperature between the range of 35 degrees Fahrenheit and 55 degrees Fahrenheit., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges, in order to prevent freezing, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record, in combination with other limitations of the claim, is silent on “a cross-section of the hopper exhibits an hourglass shape”. Ono teaches the hopper 5 having a shape exhibits a top half of an hourglass but NOT hourglass as a whole (i.e. wide to narrow to wide again). Additionally, none of the references of record teach a hopper that exhibits an hourglass shape as a whole. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add/modify such a configuration without hindsight. Therefore, the prior art, taken alone or in combination, fails to read on the present claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record, in combination with other limitations of the claim, is silent on “the feeder further includes a dynamic gate positioned between the pair plates and at the end of the conveyor; wherein the feeder gate is adapted to move toward and away from the end of the conveyor”. Ono teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 except for having a dynamic gate that is adapted to move toward and away from the end of the conveyor. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add/modify such a configuration without hindsight or significant changes to the machine of Ono. Therefore, the prior art, taken alone or in combination, fails to read on the present claims.
Claims 5-8 are allowed for depending on one of the above allowed claims.
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
Independent claim 11 incorporates the allowable subject matter of claim 8 (see Office Action dated 4/6/2026) for Reasons for Allowance.
Claims 12-15 are allowed for depending on claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 7/6/2026 have been fully considered:
Amended claims have overcome all previous 112 (b) or second paragraph rejection/s.
Applicant' s arguments, see pgs. 2-3 of Remarks, filed 7/6/2026, with respect to 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) of claims 1-5 in view of Metzger have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 1-5 in view of Metzger has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 and 9 in view of Versteeg, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant states that beaters 0216, 0218 are not conveyors since they beat and churn the material within the barrels 0204, 0206 rather than carrying and transporting it.
The art has been reinterpreted in view of the amendments to include the auger 404 as part of the conveyor. Versteeg teaches in ¶0108 that the movement of the beater 0216, 0218 and auger 404 causes movement of the product inside the barrels and dispensing of the product.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant contends that beaters “are not connected to any cooling circuit that cools those components” and “beaters are not cooling any particulate in the system, but rather are being cooled by the particulate, which is the opposite of the claimed structure.
The claim recites “a cooling circuit connected to … the conveyor…; wherein the cooling circuit is adapted to cool a portion of the …conveyor”. The claim does not require cooling by the beaters but rather cooling a portion of the beaters. Since the cooling circuit 0044, 0212, 0214 directly and indirectly cools portions of the conveyor as described in ¶ 0072 and 0085, the claims as recited are anticipated.
Regarding claim 9, Applicant argues that Versteeg entire purpose is to provide freezing and therefore does not teach the claimed temperature range.
Freezing for different products occurs at different temperatures. Versteeg specifically teaches in ¶0076 “the temperature at the cooled area for a given system would need to be maintained at 26.49 F to maintain a food product in the hopper at a desired temperature of 41 F” (in 70 F ambient). Under similar circumstances, using the thermally conducive plate and the serpentine evaporator coil described above, the temperature at the cooled are would need to be maintained only at 39.34 F. The claim, as recited, requires coolant to be maintained between 35-55F. The temperature of 39.34F falls within that range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731