DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response dated 6/24/2026. Applicant has filed a continuation in part and claims priority to application 17/752,020, with the effective filing date of 5/24/2022. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see page 1 of 5, filed 6/24/2026, with respect to claim objections and specification objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections and specification objections of record have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 2-4 of 5, filed 6/24/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that none of the references of record explicitly disclose or teach the amended claims as currently presented, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The teachings of Wu pertain to speed controls to achieve desired landing orientation(s), which, when applied to the speed trajectory as disclosed by Yan, would allow for predictable and thus smooth deceleration controls.
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 as currently presented states “…to thereby decelerating…” to which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…to thereby decelerate…” or the like, so as to overcome the grammatical error.
Claim 1 and analogous claim 11 as currently presented states “…a corresponding position trajectory, the position trajectory…the corresponding position trajectory…” to which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…a corresponding position trajectory, the corresponding position trajectory…the corresponding position trajectory…” so as to prevent potential misinterpretation.
Claim 11 as currently presented states “…a parked position…a parked position…the parked position…” to which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…a parked position…[ [ a ] ] the parked position…the parked position…” or the like, so as to prevent potential misinterpretation.
Claim 1 and analogous claim 11 currently state “…a velocity trajectory…the velocity trajectory…a corresponding position trajectory…the corresponding position trajectory…” and then dependent claim 8, and dependent claim 18, respectively, currently state “…a velocity trajectory…the velocity trajectory…a position trajectory…the position trajectory…” to which the Examiner recommends updating so as to either differentiate between or appropriately group all the listed trajectories.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US-2019/0273453; hereinafter Yan; already of record) in view of Norcia (US-2022/0363367; already of record) and Wu et al. (US-2019/0149724; hereinafter Wu; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses a system for propulsor parking of an aircraft (see Yan at least Abs), comprising:
a controller (see Yan at least [0036] "First, referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, structural composition of a drone according to an embodiment of the present application is described. As shown in FIG. 1, the drone may include a drone body 20, an arm 21, propellers 32-38, a permanent magnet synchronous motor, a flight controller and an electronic speed controller (ESC).") configured to:
…
…
…
determine a trajectory associated with bringing the propulsor to the parked position (see Yan at least Fig 4 and [0062] "...A curve, corresponding to the time period T1, in the curve A is a rotational speed decrease curve of the permanent magnet synchronous motor A under control of the first control signal... Within the time period T1, the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B both generate a first braking torque based on the first control signal, causing rotational speeds of the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B to decrease... In FIG. 4, the preset rotational speed range is embodied as a rotational speed range from a rotational speed RS1 to a rotational speed RS2. From the moment t2, the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B are both controlled by the second control signal and generates a second braking torque based on the second control signal, causing the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B to stop rotating. An action time period of the second braking torque is the time period T2..."), the trajectory comprising a velocity trajectory (see Yan at least [0060] "As shown in FIG. 4, an x axis indicates a time, and a y axis indicates a rotational speed of a permanent magnet synchronous motor…") and … the trajectory corresponding to decelerating the rate of rotation of the propulsor to zero velocity (see Yan at least Fig 4 and [0062] "...A curve, corresponding to the time period T1, in the curve A is a rotational speed decrease curve of the permanent magnet synchronous motor A under control of the first control signal... Within the time period T1, the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B both generate a first braking torque based on the first control signal, causing rotational speeds of the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B to decrease... In FIG. 4, the preset rotational speed range is embodied as a rotational speed range from a rotational speed RS1 to a rotational speed RS2. From the moment t2, the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B are both controlled by the second control signal and generates a second braking torque based on the second control signal, causing the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B to stop rotating. An action time period of the second braking torque is the time period T2...") …
determine … a starting point of the velocity trajectory (see Yan at least Fig 4 and [0062] "...From the moment t2, the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B are both controlled by the second control signal and generates a second braking torque based on the second control signal, causing the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B to stop rotating. An action time period of the second braking torque is the time period T2...") …
determine, based at least on the trajectory, control values to cause the propulsor to reach the parked position (see Yan at least [0047] "Optionally, the braking signal may further be used to indicate a braking mode. That is, different braking signals correspond to different braking modes. After receiving the braking signal, the electronic speed controller may determine a braking mode for the permanent magnet synchronous motor. The braking mode may include dynamic braking, regenerative braking and the like. Further, the electronic speed controller may determine different first control signals and second control signals, according to different braking modes indicated by braking signals." and [0054] "Step 303: After the first preset time period ends, the electronic speed controller sends a second control signal to the permanent magnet synchronous motor, the second control signal being used to control the permanent magnet synchronous motor to stop rotating within a second preset time period."); and
transmit a command to the propulsor, wherein the command is configured to cause the propulsor to implement the trajectory by simultaneously following the velocity trajectory … to thereby decelerating the rate of rotation of the propulsor to zero velocity (see Yan at least [0049] "Step 302: The electronic speed controller sends a first control signal to the permanent magnet synchronous motor, the first control signal being used to control the permanent magnet synchronous motor to decrease its rotational speed to a preset rotational speed range within a first preset time period." and [0054] "Step 303: After the first preset time period ends, the electronic speed controller sends a second control signal to the permanent magnet synchronous motor, the second control signal being used to control the permanent magnet synchronous motor to stop rotating within a second preset time period.") …
However, while Yan teaches the control of rotational speeds of propulsors by way of motor control signals, the following is not explicitly disclosed:
…receive a first signal from a first propulsor sensor configured to measure a rate of rotation of a propulsor…
…receive a second signal from a second propulsor sensor configured to measure an orientation of the propulsor…
…determine an ending orientation associated with a parked position of the propulsor…
…the trajectory comprising … a corresponding position trajectory, the position trajectory being determined based on the velocity trajectory…
…bringing the orientation of the propulsor to the ending orientation associated with the parked position…
…determine, based on the ending orientation and at least one of the measured rate of rotation or the measured orientation, a … velocity trajectory such that the corresponding position trajectory reaches the ending orientation when the velocity trajectory reaches zero velocity…
…the corresponding position trajectory…
…causing the propulsor to be oriented according to the ending orientation at the parked position…
Norcia, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…receive a first signal from a first propulsor sensor configured to measure a rate of rotation of a propulsor (see Norcia at least [0022] "...Each front propulsion system may comprise a front motor 110a, 111a coupled with a foldable front propeller 110b, 111b in a tractor configuration (e.g., the propeller is in front of the motor). Each rear propulsion system may comprise a rear motor 115a, 116a coupled with a foldable rear propeller 115b, 116b in a pusher configuration (e.g., the propeller is behind the motor)." and [0054] "...In alternative embodiments, sensors may be used to detect for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest and send a corresponding signal to the safety system 230. Upon receiving the indication that the motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a is at rest, the safety system 230 may determine that the respective propeller 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b is in a folded configuration due to the spring loaded auto-folding mechanism...")…
…receive a second signal from a second propulsor sensor configured to measure an orientation of the propulsor (see Norcia at least [0022] "...Each front propulsion system may comprise a front motor 110a, 111a coupled with a foldable front propeller 110b, 111b in a tractor configuration (e.g., the propeller is in front of the motor). Each rear propulsion system may comprise a rear motor 115a, 116a coupled with a foldable rear propeller 115b, 116b in a pusher configuration (e.g., the propeller is behind the motor)." [0038] "In one embodiment, the propellers 300 may be rotated to a specific position in their rotational path when they are stopped, so that they are stowed (e.g., folded) at the specific location, which in some embodiments could increase aerodynamic performance..." and [0054] "In an embodiment, aircraft 100 comprises a safety system 230 configured to detect when the rear propellers 115b, 116b are in a folded configuration and emit a signal upon the detection to allow a door of the aircraft to be opened. In one example, the safety system 230 is implemented in computing system 203 and may comprise hardware and/or software programs. The safety system 230 may determine that one or more propellers 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b have stopped spinning based on electrical signals from the front and rear motors 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a. Electrical signals may indicate for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest. In alternative embodiments, sensors may be used to detect for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest and send a corresponding signal to the safety system 230. Upon receiving the indication that the motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a is at rest, the safety system 230 may determine that the respective propeller 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b is in a folded configuration due to the spring loaded auto-folding mechanism. In one example, the safety system 230 controls whether the rear door 620 may be opened. Alternatively, the safety system 230 may control whether the front door 610 may be opened.")…
…determine an ending orientation associated with a parked position of the propulsor (see Norcia at least [0037]-[0038] "...In one example, the propellers 300 are spring loaded so that the propellers 300 automatically fold backward (e.g., in the opposite direction of the propeller hub 350 and toward the wing 102) into a folded configuration when not being rotated by the motors... When propellers 300 are powered by the motors and are rotating, the angular velocity pushes the propeller blade tips outward perpendicular to the axis of rotation (e.g., commonly referred to as centrifugal force) and causes the propellers 300 to unfold into the unfolded or extended configuration. When it is desired to fold the propellers 300, the respective motors of the propellers 300 may be braked and the propellers 300 fold into the folded configuration as the rotation of the propellers 300 stops. In one embodiment, the propellers 300 may be rotated to a specific position in their rotational path when they are stopped, so that they are stowed (e.g., folded) at the specific location, which in some embodiments could increase aerodynamic performance...")…
…
…bringing the orientation of the propulsor to the ending orientation associated with the parked position (see Norcia at least [0038] "In one embodiment, the propellers 300 may be rotated to a specific position in their rotational path when they are stopped, so that they are stowed (e.g., folded) at the specific location, which in some embodiments could increase aerodynamic performance..." and [0054] "In an embodiment, aircraft 100 comprises a safety system 230 configured to detect when the rear propellers 115b, 116b are in a folded configuration and emit a signal upon the detection to allow a door of the aircraft to be opened. In one example, the safety system 230 is implemented in computing system 203 and may comprise hardware and/or software programs. The safety system 230 may determine that one or more propellers 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b have stopped spinning based on electrical signals from the front and rear motors 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a. Electrical signals may indicate for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest. In alternative embodiments, sensors may be used to detect for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest and send a corresponding signal to the safety system 230. Upon receiving the indication that the motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a is at rest, the safety system 230 may determine that the respective propeller 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b is in a folded configuration due to the spring loaded auto-folding mechanism. In one example, the safety system 230 controls whether the rear door 620 may be opened. Alternatively, the safety system 230 may control whether the front door 610 may be opened.")…
…
…
…causing the propulsor to be oriented according to the ending orientation at the parked position (see Norcia at least [0038] "In one embodiment, the propellers 300 may be rotated to a specific position in their rotational path when they are stopped, so that they are stowed (e.g., folded) at the specific location, which in some embodiments could increase aerodynamic performance..." and [0054] "In an embodiment, aircraft 100 comprises a safety system 230 configured to detect when the rear propellers 115b, 116b are in a folded configuration and emit a signal upon the detection to allow a door of the aircraft to be opened. In one example, the safety system 230 is implemented in computing system 203 and may comprise hardware and/or software programs. The safety system 230 may determine that one or more propellers 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b have stopped spinning based on electrical signals from the front and rear motors 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a. Electrical signals may indicate for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest. In alternative embodiments, sensors may be used to detect for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest and send a corresponding signal to the safety system 230. Upon receiving the indication that the motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a is at rest, the safety system 230 may determine that the respective propeller 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b is in a folded configuration due to the spring loaded auto-folding mechanism. In one example, the safety system 230 controls whether the rear door 620 may be opened. Alternatively, the safety system 230 may control whether the front door 610 may be opened.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the propulsor controls as disclosed by Yan with specific monitoring such as taught by Norcia with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide proper control signals according to an instant condition for accurate controls (see Norcia at least [0041]).
However, neither Yan nor Norcia explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the trajectory comprising … a corresponding position trajectory, the position trajectory being determined based on the velocity trajectory…
…determine, based on the ending orientation and at least one of the measured rate of rotation or the measured orientation, a … velocity trajectory such that the corresponding position trajectory reaches the ending orientation when the velocity trajectory reaches zero velocity…
…the corresponding position trajectory…
Wu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the trajectory comprising … a corresponding position trajectory, the position trajectory being determined based on the velocity trajectory (see Wu at least [0074]-[0075] "...During operation of the mobile platform 100, the controller 220 for the mobile platform 100 can ascertain and/or control a rotational position φ of a rotary mechanism 330 of the propeller mechanism 300. In some embodiments, the rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal 410 indicative of the rotational position φ to the controller 220. For example, the rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal to the controller 220 indicating that, at time t=0 milliseconds, the rotational position φ=30 degrees. The controller can determine whether the rotational position φ=30 degrees is an allowed position 360 or a disallowed position 370, and transmit a signal 410 to the imaging device 400 accordingly. In some embodiments, the rotary mechanism 330 can further transmit a rotational speed and/or acceleration of the rotary mechanism 330 to facilitate determining the rotational position φ. For example, rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal to the controller 220 indicating that, at time t=0 milliseconds, the rotational position φ=30 degrees and the rotational speed is 100 rotations per second. The controller 220 can thereby determine rotational position φ of the rotary mechanism 330 at future times. For example, at t=1 millisecond, the rotational position φ has changed by one-tenth of a rotation, or 36 degrees, and therefore the rotational position can be found to be φ=66 degrees at t=1 millisecond. In some embodiments, using the rotational speed and/or acceleration of the rotary mechanism 330 can be used to correct timing delays in transmission of the allowed positions 360 to the controller 220, and/or delays in transmission of the signal 410 to the imaging device 400. For example, suppose that there is a latency of 1 millisecond in transmission of the signal 410. The controller 220 can determine that, at the time of receipt of the signal 410 by the imaging device, the rotational position will have already moved from φ=30 degrees to φ=66 degrees. The controller 220 can accordingly transmit the signal according to whether φ=66 degrees is an allowed position 360.")…
…determine, based on the ending orientation and at least one of the measured rate of rotation or the measured orientation, a … velocity trajectory such that the corresponding position trajectory reaches the ending orientation when the velocity trajectory reaches zero velocity (see Wu at least [0075] "In some embodiments, the rotary mechanism 330 can further transmit a rotational speed and/or acceleration of the rotary mechanism 330 to facilitate determining the rotational position φ. For example, rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal to the controller 220 indicating that, at time t=0 milliseconds, the rotational position φ=30 degrees and the rotational speed is 100 rotations per second. The controller 220 can thereby determine rotational position φ of the rotary mechanism 330 at future times. For example, at t=1 millisecond, the rotational position φ has changed by one-tenth of a rotation, or 36 degrees, and therefore the rotational position can be found to be φ=66 degrees at t=1 millisecond. In some embodiments, using the rotational speed and/or acceleration of the rotary mechanism 330 can be used to correct timing delays in transmission of the allowed positions 360 to the controller 220, and/or delays in transmission of the signal 410 to the imaging device 400…")…
…the corresponding position trajectory (see Wu at least [0074]-[0075] "...During operation of the mobile platform 100, the controller 220 for the mobile platform 100 can ascertain and/or control a rotational position φ of a rotary mechanism 330 of the propeller mechanism 300. In some embodiments, the rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal 410 indicative of the rotational position φ to the controller 220. For example, the rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal to the controller 220 indicating that, at time t=0 milliseconds, the rotational position φ=30 degrees. The controller can determine whether the rotational position φ=30 degrees is an allowed position 360 or a disallowed position 370, and transmit a signal 410 to the imaging device 400 accordingly. In some embodiments, the rotary mechanism 330 can further transmit a rotational speed and/or acceleration of the rotary mechanism 330 to facilitate determining the rotational position φ. For example, rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal to the controller 220 indicating that, at time t=0 milliseconds, the rotational position φ=30 degrees and the rotational speed is 100 rotations per second. The controller 220 can thereby determine rotational position φ of the rotary mechanism 330 at future times. For example, at t=1 millisecond, the rotational position φ has changed by one-tenth of a rotation, or 36 degrees, and therefore the rotational position can be found to be φ=66 degrees at t=1 millisecond. In some embodiments, using the rotational speed and/or acceleration of the rotary mechanism 330 can be used to correct timing delays in transmission of the allowed positions 360 to the controller 220, and/or delays in transmission of the signal 410 to the imaging device 400. For example, suppose that there is a latency of 1 millisecond in transmission of the signal 410. The controller 220 can determine that, at the time of receipt of the signal 410 by the imaging device, the rotational position will have already moved from φ=30 degrees to φ=66 degrees. The controller 220 can accordingly transmit the signal according to whether φ=66 degrees is an allowed position 360.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the velocity trajectory as disclosed by Yan with determined position according to the velocity trajectory such as taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of predicting future positions of a propulsor (see Wu at least [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the system of claim 1, wherein prior to determining the trajectory, the controller is further configured to determine the ending orientation associated with the parked position of the propulsor (see Norcia at least [0038] "In one embodiment, the propellers 300 may be rotated to a specific position in their rotational path when they are stopped, so that they are stowed (e.g., folded) at the specific location, which in some embodiments could increase aerodynamic performance..." and [0054] "In an embodiment, aircraft 100 comprises a safety system 230 configured to detect when the rear propellers 115b, 116b are in a folded configuration and emit a signal upon the detection to allow a door of the aircraft to be opened. In one example, the safety system 230 is implemented in computing system 203 and may comprise hardware and/or software programs. The safety system 230 may determine that one or more propellers 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b have stopped spinning based on electrical signals from the front and rear motors 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a. Electrical signals may indicate for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest. In alternative embodiments, sensors may be used to detect for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest and send a corresponding signal to the safety system 230. Upon receiving the indication that the motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a is at rest, the safety system 230 may determine that the respective propeller 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b is in a folded configuration due to the spring loaded auto-folding mechanism. In one example, the safety system 230 controls whether the rear door 620 may be opened. Alternatively, the safety system 230 may control whether the front door 610 may be opened.") wherein determining the trajectory is further based on the ending orientation (see Wu at least [0074]-[0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the propulsor controls as taught by Yan in view of Norcia with specific propulsor orientation details such as further taught by Norcia with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the trajectory as taught by Yan in view of Wu with ending orientation specifics such as further taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the system of claim 1, wherein the command further comprises instructions to apply an electronic brake to the propulsor according to the trajectory (see Yan at least [0048] "...Alternatively, the electronic speed controller provides control signals to the permanent magnet synchronous motors, so that braking torques are generated in the permanent magnet synchronous motors based on the control signals. Under action of the braking torques, the permanent magnet synchronous motors gradually decrease their rotational speeds, so as to control braking of the permanent magnet motors by using the electronic speed controller." and [0066] "Exemplarily, the braking mode may be indicated by the flight controller by using the braking signal, or may be preset. This is not limited therein. The braking mode may include dynamic braking, reverse braking, regenerative braking and the like. This is not limited herein.").
Regarding claim 5, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the system of claim 1, wherein determining the control values comprises determining an initial velocity of the propulsor that, when reached, causes the propulsor to follow the trajectory (see Yan at least Fig 4 and [0062] "...In FIG. 4, the preset rotational speed range is embodied as a rotational speed range from a rotational speed RS1 to a rotational speed RS2. From the moment t2, the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B are both controlled by the second control signal and generates a second braking torque based on the second control signal, causing the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B to stop rotating..."; an “initial velocity” corresponding to one of RS1 and/or RS2; the trajectory corresponding to the control signal implemented in curve A and/or curve B).
Regarding claim 6, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the system of claim 5, wherein the command further comprises instructions to cause the propulsor to increase or decrease the rate of rotation to equal the initial velocity (see Yan at least Fig 4 and [0062] "...Under action of the first control signal, rotational speeds, corresponding to the moment t2, in the curves A and B all fall within the preset rotational speed range. In FIG. 4, the preset rotational speed range is embodied as a rotational speed range from a rotational speed RS1 to a rotational speed RS2. From the moment t2, the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B are both controlled by the second control signal and generates a second braking torque based on the second control signal, causing the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B to stop rotating..."; an “initial velocity” corresponding to one of RS1 and/or RS2 within the range; the increase/decrease corresponding to the torque imparted by the first control signal).
Regarding claim 7, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the system of claim 5, wherein determining the initial velocity of the propulsor (see Yan at least Fig 4 and [0062] "...In FIG. 4, the preset rotational speed range is embodied as a rotational speed range from a rotational speed RS1 to a rotational speed RS2. From the moment t2, the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B are both controlled by the second control signal and generates a second braking torque based on the second control signal, causing the permanent magnet synchronous motor A and the permanent magnet synchronous motor B to stop rotating..."; an “initial velocity” corresponding to one of RS1 and/or RS2; the trajectory corresponding to the control signal implemented in curve A and/or curve B) based on the ending orientation of the propulsor in the parked position (see Wu at least [0074]-[0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the velocity trajectory as disclosed by Yan with ending orientation specifics such as further taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the system of claim 1, wherein determining the control values further comprises:
determining a velocity trajectory of the propulsor (see Yan at least [0060] "As shown in FIG. 4, an x axis indicates a time, and a y axis indicates a rotational speed of a permanent magnet synchronous motor. A curve A indicates a rotational speed change curve of a permanent magnet synchronous motor A, and a curve B indicates a rotational speed change curve of a permanent magnet synchronous motor B. Certainly, the drone may include multiple permanent magnet synchronous motors for driving propellers, and only two of the multiple permanent magnet synchronous motors are used herein as an example for description."); and
determining, based on the velocity trajectory, a position trajectory of the propulsor (see Wu at least [0075] "In some embodiments, the rotary mechanism 330 can further transmit a rotational speed and/or acceleration of the rotary mechanism 330 to facilitate determining the rotational position φ. For example, rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal to the controller 220 indicating that, at time t=0 milliseconds, the rotational position φ=30 degrees and the rotational speed is 100 rotations per second. The controller 220 can thereby determine rotational position φ of the rotary mechanism 330 at future times. For example, at t=1 millisecond, the rotational position φ has changed by one-tenth of a rotation, or 36 degrees, and therefore the rotational position can be found to be φ=66 degrees at t=1 millisecond. In some embodiments, using the rotational speed and/or acceleration of the rotary mechanism 330 can be used to correct timing delays in transmission of the allowed positions 360 to the controller 220, and/or delays in transmission of the signal 410 to the imaging device 400. For example, suppose that there is a latency of 1 millisecond in transmission of the signal 410. The controller 220 can determine that, at the time of receipt of the signal 410 by the imaging device, the rotational position will have already moved from φ=30 degrees to φ=66 degrees. The controller 220 can accordingly transmit the signal according to whether φ=66 degrees is an allowed position 360."), wherein the command comprises instructions to cause a velocity controller to apply the velocity trajectory (see Yan at least Fig 4, [0058] "In this embodiment of the present application, after receiving the signal for braking multiple permanent magnet synchronous motors sent by the flight controller, the electronic speed controller may send the first control signal to a permanent magnet synchronous motor of the multiple permanent magnet synchronous motors. The first control signal may be used to control the permanent magnet synchronous motor to decrease its rotational speed to the preset rotational speed range within the first preset time period. After the first preset time period ends, the electronic speed controller may further send the second control signal to the permanent magnet synchronous motor. The second control signal may be used to control the permanent magnet synchronous motor to stop rotating within the second preset time period..." and [0062]) and a position controller of the propulsor to follow the position trajectory to the ending orientation (see Wu at least [0074] "...During operation of the mobile platform 100, the controller 220 for the mobile platform 100 can ascertain and/or control a rotational position φ of a rotary mechanism 330 of the propeller mechanism 300. In some embodiments, the rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal 410 indicative of the rotational position φ to the controller 220. For example, the rotary mechanism 330 can transmit a signal to the controller 220 indicating that, at time t=0 milliseconds, the rotational position φ=30 degrees. The controller can determine whether the rotational position φ=30 degrees is an allowed position 360 or a disallowed position 370, and transmit a signal 410 to the imaging device 400 accordingly.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the velocity trajectory as disclosed by Yan with a position trajectory such as further taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to determine different trajectories for a plurality of propulsors of the aircraft (see Yan at least [0060] "As shown in FIG. 4, an x axis indicates a time, and a y axis indicates a rotational speed of a permanent magnet synchronous motor. A curve A indicates a rotational speed change curve of a permanent magnet synchronous motor A, and a curve B indicates a rotational speed change curve of a permanent magnet synchronous motor B. Certainly, the drone may include multiple permanent magnet synchronous motors for driving propellers, and only two of the multiple permanent magnet synchronous motors are used herein as an example for description.").
Regarding claim 10, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the system of claim 1, wherein the ending orientation corresponds to an angle of the propulsor or a position of one or more blades of the propulsor (see Norcia at least [0038] "In one embodiment, the propellers 300 may be rotated to a specific position in their rotational path when they are stopped, so that they are stowed (e.g., folded) at the specific location, which in some embodiments could increase aerodynamic performance..." and [0054] "In an embodiment, aircraft 100 comprises a safety system 230 configured to detect when the rear propellers 115b, 116b are in a folded configuration and emit a signal upon the detection to allow a door of the aircraft to be opened. In one example, the safety system 230 is implemented in computing system 203 and may comprise hardware and/or software programs. The safety system 230 may determine that one or more propellers 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b have stopped spinning based on electrical signals from the front and rear motors 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a. Electrical signals may indicate for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest. In alternative embodiments, sensors may be used to detect for each motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a whether the motor is spinning or at rest and send a corresponding signal to the safety system 230. Upon receiving the indication that the motor 110a, 111a, 115a, 116a is at rest, the safety system 230 may determine that the respective propeller 110b, 111b, 115b, 116b is in a folded configuration due to the spring loaded auto-folding mechanism. In one example, the safety system 230 controls whether the rear door 620 may be opened. Alternatively, the safety system 230 may control whether the front door 610 may be opened.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the propulsor controls as taught by Yan in view of Norcia with specific propulsor orientation details such as further taught by Norcia with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 12, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the analogous material of that in claim 2 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 13, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the analogous material of that in claim 3 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 15, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the analogous material of that in claim 5 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the analogous material of that in claim 6 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 17, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the analogous material of that in claim 7 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 18, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the analogous material of that in claim 8 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 19, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the analogous material of that in claim 9 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 20, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the analogous material of that in claim 10 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Norcia and Wu, and further in view of Elliot et al. (US-4,947,356; hereinafter Elliot; already of record).
Regarding claim 4, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu teach the system of claim 1. However, neither Yan nor Norcia nor Wu explicitly disclose or teach the following:
determining the control values comprises utilizing a synchrophaser configured to adjust a position of the propulsor.
Elliot, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
determining the control values comprises utilizing a synchrophaser configured to adjust a position of the propulsor (see Elliot at least col 2 lines 14-35 "In FIG. 1, an aircraft cabin 1 (only part of which is shown) contains four microphones 2, 3, 4, 5 and two loudspeakers 6, 7 which form the active elements of a cabin noise control system. Outputs from the microphones 2, 3, 4, 5 are fed via amplifiers 12, 13, 14, 15 respectively to the input of a digital signal processor, 11. A reference signal 18 at the fundamental frequency f.sub.O is fed into the processor 11 via a tachometer (not shown). The processor 11 has an adaptation algorithm in a memory store (not shown). The adaptation algorithm is described in UK Pat. No. 2149614 and operates to minimise the sum of the squares of the microphone outputs. The same error function as is used in the processor of the above patent is used to adjust the synchrophase angle between a reference propeller 10 and a synchrophased propeller 9 controlled by a synchrophaser 8 having a control input from the signal processor 11. Thus the synchrophase angle is varied dynamically during flight to minimise propeller noise in the cabin over a range of flying conditions. The following algorithm may be used to adjust the synchrophase angle to minimise cabin noise:").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the propulsor controls as taught by Yan in view of Norcia and Wu with a synchrophaser such as taught by Elliot with a reasonable expectation of success to adjust a synchrophase angle to minimize propeller noise (see Elliot at least col 2 lines 31-35).
Regarding claim 14, Yan in view of Norcia and Wu and Elliot teach the analogous material of that in claim 4 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fillingham et al. (US-2021/0103297) teaches control of an aircraft via different determined trajectories.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663