DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims and Examiner Suggestions
Claims 44-58 are pending in the present application and examined herein.
The examiner recommends that Applicant amend claims 49-50 to insert the term “further” immediately after adjuvant.
The examiner also recommends that Applicant amend claim 52 to recite “and” after “amine surfactant,”, as well as inserting “and further comprising” immediately after “phospholipid,”.
In order to minimize the necessity in the future for converting dimensions given in the English system of measurements to the metric system of measurements when using printed patents as research and prior art search documents, it is recommended that the claims recite metric units of volume as opposed to English units. See MPEP 608.01(IV). Thus, the examiner recommends that Applicant amend claim 45 to replace quarts and gallons with the appropriate liters, or to replace the volumes with a volumetric ratio or a percent v/v.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 58 recites the limitation "glyphosate herbicide" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 64 depends from claim 44, but claim 44 does not recite that the spray solution includes glyphosate herbicide. The spray solution of claim 44 only includes 2,4-D, MCPA or MCPB herbicide. It is suggested that Applicant amend the claim to state that the spray solution comprises 2,4-D herbicide, and further comprises glyphosate herbicide which would overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parrish (US 2015/0045224 A1).
Regarding claim 44, Parrish teaches a combination water conditioning adjuvant and drift reduction composition for agricultural use, wherein the water conditioning adjuvant comprises a concentrated mineral acid and an amine surfactant. Compositions suitable for treating agricultural acreage are prepared by mixing a combination water conditioning adjuvant and drift reduction composition for agricultural use, carrier water and a bioactive material and spraying the aqueous composition on agricultural acreage ([0007]-[0009]). Among the most commonly used drift reduction agents is lecithin (e.g., soy lecithin) which serves to increase the droplet size of the sprayed bioactive material. Drift reduction agents used by farmers include phospholipids ([0034], [0039]).
Parrish teaches that a concentrated mineral acid, such as sulfuric acid, can be maintained in combination with organic drift reduction compounds, such as phospholipids, without reactions resulting in undesirable by-products, if an amine surfactant is used to stabilize the combination. This surprising result has been achieved, in one embodiment, by providing for the amine surfactant tallow amine in equal or greater concentration than the concentration of the sulfuric acid before the addition of phospholipids (e.g. lecithin). ([0036]). The concentrated mineral acid can be selected from the group consisting of sulfuric acid, perchloric acid, hydroiodic acid, hydrobromic acid, hydrochloric acid, and nitric acid. The amine surfactant can be selected from the group consisting of octyl amine, lauryl amine, stearyl amine, oleyl amine, tallow amine, cetylamine, N-tetradecyl amine, cocoamine, hydrogenated tallow amine, di(hydrogenated) tallow amine, dicocoalkyl amine, N-tridecyltridecanamine, N-methylstearylamine, distearyl amine, ether amine and dialkyl(C8-C20)amine. In one aspect, the concentration of tallow amine can be equal to or greater than the concentration of sulfuric acid in the composition. In one aspect, the water content of the composition is below 5% (v/v), before dilution of the composition in carrier water. In another aspect, the water content of the composition is below 1% (v/v), before dilution of the composition in carrier water. Embodiments of the invention include a composition comprising 1-25% by weight or volume concentrated mineral acid, 10-50% by weight or volume amine surfactant, 10-60% by weight or volume phospholipid, 10-50% by weight or volume oil and 5-50% by weight or volume glycol. Embodiments of the invention further include a composition comprising 1-25% by weight or volume concentrated sulfuric acid, 10-50% by weight or volume tallow amine, 10-60% by weight or volume lecithin, 10-50% by weight or volume methylated seed oil and 5-50% by weight or volume diethylene glycol ([0039]).
The mineral acid may be used in amounts of between about 1% and about 50% (weight:weight or volume:volume) in the water conditioning adjuvant composition. In some embodiments the amount is between about 1% and about 25%. In other embodiments, the amount of mineral acid may be about 1%, about 2%, about 3%, about 4%, about 5%, about 6%, about 7%, about 8%, about 9%, about 10%, about 12%, about 13%, about 14%, about 15%, about 16%, about 17%, about 18%, about 19%, about 20%, about 21%, about 22%, about 23%, about 24%, or about 25% of the water conditioning adjuvant composition ([0044]).
The adjuvant compositions for agricultural use may further comprise (e.g., be mixed with) water and/ or bioactive materials such as pesticides, herbicides, fungicides, insecticides, acaricides, nematocides, foliar nutrients, defoliants, plant growth regulators, and molluscicides ([0055]). The herbicides are optionally selected from the group including glyphosate (N-phosphonomethylglycine), 2,4-D ((2,4-dichlorophenoxy)acetic acid), MCPA (4-chloro-o-tolyloxyacetic acid), and MCPB (4-(4-chloro-o-tolyloxy)butyric acid) ([0057]).
Parrish teaches an example adjuvant composition comprising about 89% lecithin-containing composition, about 5% sulfuric acid, about 5% tallow amine, and about 0.4% diethylene glycol (Example 1, Table 1, AQ 216 + products containing lecithin in a ratio of 6 mL:50 mL); an adjuvant composition comprising about 6% sulfuric acid, about 25% lecithin, about 21.5% tallow amine, about 20% methylate seed oil and about 21.5% diethylene glycol (Table 4, AQ 284); and adjuvant compositions comprising tallow amine, sulfuric acid and lecithin (Examples 4-6).
Parrish further teaches spraying a composition comprising 0.5 lb/a dicamba combined with 0.25% v/v of a combination of water conditioning adjuvant and drift reduction composition (AQ 284) (Example 11, Table 7), wherein AQ 284 comprises about 6% sulfuric acid, about 25% lecithin, about 21.5% tallow amine, about 20% methylate seed oil and about 21.5% diethylene glycol (Example 2, Tables 2-4). Parrish also teaches spraying compositions comprising 0.375 or 0.7 lb/a glyphosate combined with 0.25 or 0.5% v/v AQ 284 (Example 12, Table 8; Example 13, Table 9).
Parrish does not explicitly disclose compositions comprising 2,4-D, MCPA or MCPB, as instantly claimed. However, Parrish teaches examples of compositions comprising dicamba or glyphosate (Examples 8-13), and also teaches that the bioactive material includes herbicides, such as glyphosate, dicamba, 2,4-D, MCPA and MCPB ([0057]).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare compositions for spraying onto agricultural acreage comprising the water conditioning adjuvant and drift reduction compositions in combination with glyphosate, 2,4-D, MCPA, MCPB, or combinations thereof. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare compositions comprising glyphosate, 2,4-D, MCPA, MCPB, or combinations thereof because Parrish teaches compositions comprising dicamba or glyphosate, and further teaches that other herbicides can be included in their compositions, such as 2,4-D, MCPA and MCPB.
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. One such rationale includes the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. See MPEP 2143.
Also, Parrish does not explicitly disclose maintaining the pH of the spray solution in a range from 4.3 to 7.5 and reducing vaporization of the herbicide from the applied spray solution relative to a spray solution that does not contain the adjuvant, as instantly claimed.
However, Parrish teaches the same compositions as instantly claimed and disclosed in the instant specification (instant specification Examples 1-14 are the same as Examples 1-14 of Parrish). The instant specification states that AQ 284 (Full Load Complete) showed a decrease in the volatility injury rating compared to the absence of adjuvant and compared to competitor adjuvant products ([0019], [0021], [0079], [00112]-[00114]).
The examiner respectfully points out the following from MPEP 2112: “The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court stated that “just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel.”
Parrish teaches combining the same components as instantly claimed. Therefore, the compositions according to Parrish would necessarily reduce vaporization of the herbicide from the applied spray solution and would maintain the pH of the mixture at a pH in a range of 4.3 to 7.5.
Regarding the claimed pH range and decrease in vaporization, the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing applicant’s product with the product of the prior art in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same functional characteristics of the claimed product. The pH and vaporization are descriptive and thus would be an inherent property of the claimed composition. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is upon the applicant to prove that the claimed products are functionally different than those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See Ex parte Phillips, 28 U.S.P.Q.2d 1302, 1303 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993), Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922, 1923 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int.) and In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 45, Parrish teaches 0.25% v/v of a water conditioning adjuvant and drift reduction composition (AQ 284) (Table 7). It is noted that 1 quart per 100 gallons is 0.25% v/v.
Regarding claim 46, Parrish teaches that the mineral acid may be used in amounts of between about 1% and about 50% (weight:weight or volume:volume) in the water conditioning adjuvant composition. In some embodiments the amount is between about 1% and about 25%. In other embodiments, the amount of mineral acid may be about 1%, about 2%, about 3%, about 4%, about 5%, about 6%, about 7%, about 8%, about 9%, about 10%, about 12%, about 13%, about 14%, about 15%, about 16%, about 17%, about 18%, about 19%, about 20%, about 21%, about 22%, about 23%, about 24%, or about 25% of the water conditioning adjuvant composition ([0044]). Parrish further teaches AQ 284 comprises about 3.4% by volume sulfuric acid (5.34 gallons of AQ 283 comprises about 0.39 gallons of sulfuric acid and AQ 284 comprises 11.54 gallons total; 0.39 gallons sulfuric acid / 11.54 gallons total AQ 284 x 100% = 3.4% by volume sulfuric acid) (Tables 2-4).
Regarding claim 47, Parrish teaches that the adjuvant composition comprises 10-50% by weight or volume amine surfactant (Claims 20-21). Parrish further teaches AQ 284 comprises about 21.45% by weight tallow amine (TERWET comprises approximately 78% tallow amine; AQ 283 comprises 45 wt.% TERWET or about 35.1 wt.% tallow amine, and AQ 323 comprises 10 wt.% TERWET or about 7.8 wt.% tallow amine; AQ 284 comprises 50 lbs AQ 283 and 50 lbs AQ 323; 50 lbs AQ 283 comprises 50 x 0.351 = about 17.55 lbs tallow amine, and 50 lbs AQ 323 comprises 50 x 0.078 = about 3.9 lbs tallow amine; 17.55 + 3.9 = about 21.45 lbs tallow amine in 100 lbs AQ 284, or about
Regarding claim 48, Parrish teaches that the composition comprises 10-60% by weight or volume phospholipid (Claims 20-21). The phospholipid component of the drift reduction agent may be used in amounts of between about 10% and about 60% (weight:weight or volume:volume) of the drift reduction agent or of the combination water conditioning adjuvant and drift reduction agent. In some embodiments, the phospholipid component may be about 20%, about 22%, about 24%, about 26%, about 28%, about 30%, about 32%, about 34%, about 36%, about 38%, about 40%, about 42%, about 44%, about 46%, about 48%, about 50%, about 52%, about 54%, about 56%, about 58% or about 60% (weight: weight or volume:volume) of the drift reduction agent or of the combination composition comprising both water conditioning adjuvant and drift reduction agent. In some embodiments, the phospholipid component is less than or equal to 20%, is less than or equal to 22%, is less than or equal to 24%, is less than or equal to 26%, is less than or equal to 28%, is less than or equal to 30%, is less than or equal to 32%, is less than or equal to 34%, is less than or equal to 36%, is less than or equal to 38%, is less than or equal to 40%, is less than or equal to 42%, is less than or equal to 44%, is less than or equal to 46%, is less than or equal to 48%, or is less than or equal to 50%, less than or equal to 52%, less than or equal to 54%, less than or equal to 56%, less than or equal to 58%, or less than or equal to 60% (weight:weight or volume:volume) of the drift reduction agent or combination composition comprising both water conditioning adjuvant and drift reduction agent ([0049]). Parrish further teaches drift reduction composition AQ 323 comprises 40% AU810 (methylated seed oil), 10% TERWET, and 50% SOLEC 3F-UB (soy lecithin; i.e. a phospholipid) (Example 2, Table 3). AQ 284 comprises 50 wt.% AQ323, which comprises 50% soy lecithin. Thus, AQ 284 comprises 25 wt.% soy lecithin.
Regarding claim 49, Parrish teaches AQ 284 comprises 20 wt.% methylated seed oil (AU810) (Tables 3-4). Parrish also teaches in some embodiments the optional oils of the drift reduction agent comprise 10-50% by weight, or 34% to 40% by weight, or 36% to 38% by weight, of the combination composition comprising water conditioning adjuvant and drift reduction agent or of the drift reduction agent ([0050]).
Regarding claim 50, Parrish teaches AQ 284 comprises 21.5 wt.% diethylene glycol (DEG) (Tables 2 and 4). The water conditioning adjuvant composition optionally further comprises a glycol. Such glycols include diethylene glycol (DEG), triethylene glycol, tetraethylene glycol and pentaethylene glycol. Glycol can be added in an amount of between 5% and about 50% and up. Glycol can be added to the compositions in divided amounts, for example, about 5% to about 50% added prior to the addition of the mineral acid and/or the amine surfactant, followed by the remainder of the glycol. Among other benefits, glycol provides flowability to the composition ([0047]).
Regarding claims 51-52, Parrish teaches AQ 284 comprises about 3.4% by volume sulfuric acid, about 21.45% by weight tallow amine, and less than 5 wt.% water (Tables 2-4). Parrish teaches compositions comprising 1-25% by weight or volume concentrated mineral acid, 10-50% by weight or volume amine surfactant, 10-60% by weight or volume phospholipid, 10-50% by weight or volume oil and 5-50% by weight or volume glycol, and less than 5% (v/v) water before dilution of the composition in carrier water (Claims 18-21).
Regarding claims 53-55, Parrish teaches that the term “amine surfactant” means a surfactant comprising an amine group, including but not limited to octyl amine, lauryl amine, stearyl amine, oleyl amine, tallow amine, cetylamine, N-tetradecyl amine, cocoamine, hydrogenated tallow amine, di(hydrogenated) tallow amine, dicocoalkyl amine, N-tridecyltridecanamine, N-methyl stearylamine, distearyl amine, ether amine and dialkyl(C8-C20)amine ([0026], [0033], [0036], [0039], [0041]-[0042]; Examples; Claims 7-9).
Regarding claim 56, Parrish teaches AQ 284 comprises concentrated 98% sulfuric acid ([0063]; Tables 2-4; Claim 5).
Regarding claims 57-58, Parrish teaches examples of compositions comprising dicamba or glyphosate (Examples 8-13), and also teaches that the bioactive material includes herbicides, such as glyphosate, dicamba, 2,4-D, MCPA and MCPB ([0057]).
Contact Information
/N.W.S/
Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616