DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The massive drawings have not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the drawings.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the toner shutter" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the toner shutter" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nitta et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. US 2024/0152074 A1) in view of Tanimoto et al. (JP 2008-96852 A; cited in IDS filed 5/5/2025).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Nitta et al. discloses (as in claim 1) an image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a developing unit 50 including a developing roller 51, a storage frame 53 that includes a receiving opening 53b and a storage chamber 53a configured to contain toner to be supplied to the developing roller 51 (Figs. 1 and 3); an apparatus body 1A accommodating the developing unit 50 (Fig. 1); a toner cartridge 70 detachably attached to the developing unit 50, the toner cartridge 70 including a toner frame 71 that contains toner to be supplied to the developing unit 50 and that has a discharge opening 71b (Fig. 3), wherein the toner cartridge 70 is movable relative to the storage frame 53 between a mounting position at which the discharge opening 71b faces the receiving opening 53b (Fig. 4A) and a retreat position at which the toner cartridge 70 is moved from the mounting position, and at least part of the toner cartridge 70 is positioned outside of the apparatus body 1A when the toner cartridge 70 is at the retreat position (Figs. 4B, 6B, and 7A); a moving device 85 configured to move the toner cartridge 70 from the retreat position toward the mounting position (Fig. 8); and a drive device 98 including a drive source and configured to drive the moving device 85 (Figs. 12A and 12B); (as in claims 3 and 10) wherein the moving device 85 includes a tray 80 to which the toner cartridge 70 is removably mounted, and the tray 80 is movable between a storage position at which the toner cartridge 70 is positioned at the mounting position and an eject position at which the toner cartridge 70 is positioned at the retreat position (Figs. 12A and 12B); (as in claims 6 and 12) a rotary 90 supporting the developing unit 50 and capable of rotating (Fig. 1); and (as in claim 7) wherein a moving direction of the toner cartridge 70 when the toner cartridge 70 moves from the mounting position to the retreat position crosses a longitudinal direction of the toner cartridge 70 (Figs. 6B, 6C and 7A).
Nitta et al. differs from the instant claimed invention in not disclosing (as in claim 1) a developing shutter movable between a closed position at which the receiving opening is covered and an open position at which the receiving opening is exposed; wherein the developing shutter is configured to move from the closed position toward the open position by a force of the drive source when the toner cartridge moves from the retreat position toward the mounting position; (as in claim 4) wherein the developing shutter is configured to contact the toner cartridge moving from the retreat position toward the mounting position to move from the closed position toward the open position; (as in claim 11) wherein the toner shutter is configured to move from the open position toward the closed position by a force of the drive source when the toner cartridge moves from the mounting position toward the retreat position; and (as in claim 13) wherein a moving direction of the toner shutter when the toner shutter moves from the closed position to the open position crosses the longitudinal direction.
Tanimoto et al. discloses an image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a developing unit 70 including a developing roller 79, a receiving opening 77a, and a developing shutter 60; a toner cartridge 50 detachably attached to the developing unit 70 (Figs. 20 and 21), the toner cartridge 50 including a toner frame 51, a discharge opening 51a, and a toner shutter 52; the developing shutter 60 being configured to move from a closed position toward an open position by a force when the toner cartridge 50 moves from a retreat position toward a mounting position (Figs. 23-26); the toner shutter 52 being configured to move from the open position to the closed position by a force when the toner cartridge 50 moves from the mounting position toward the retreat position (Figs. 18-21); and a moving direction of the toner shutter 52 when the toner shutter 52 moves from the closed position to the open position crosses the longitudinal direction (Figs. 23-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the developing shutter and toner shutter as taught by Tanimoto et al. to the developing unit and toner cartridge of Nitta et al. to prevent toner leakage during mounting/detaching toner cartridge to the developing unit.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nitta et al. in view of Tanimoto et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Nitta et al. discloses an image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a developing unit 50 including a developing roller 51, a storage frame 53 that includes a receiving opening 53b and a storage chamber 53a configured to contain toner to be supplied to the developing roller 51 (Figs. 1 and 3); an apparatus body 1A accommodating the developing unit 50 (Fig. 1); a toner cartridge 70 detachably attached to the developing unit 50, the toner cartridge 70 including a toner frame 71 that contains toner to be supplied to the developing unit 50 and that has a discharge opening 71b (Fig. 3), wherein the toner cartridge 70 is movable relative to the storage frame 53 between a mounting position at which the discharge opening 71b faces the receiving opening 53b (Fig. 4A) and a retreat position at which the toner cartridge 70 is moved from the mounting position, and at least part of the toner cartridge 70 is positioned outside of the apparatus body 1A when the toner cartridge 70 is at the retreat position (Figs. 4B, 6B, and 7A); a moving device 85 configured to move the toner cartridge 70 from the retreat position toward the mounting position (Fig. 8); and a drive device 98 including a drive source and configured to drive the moving device 85 (Figs. 12A and 12B), wherein a moving direction of the toner cartridge 70 when the toner cartridge 70 moves from the mounting position to the retreat position crosses a longitudinal direction of the toner cartridge 70 (Figs. 6B, 6C and 7A).
Nitta et al. differs from the instant claimed invention in not disclosing a toner shutter movable between a closed position at which the discharge opening is covered and an open position at which the discharge opening is exposed, wherein the toner shutter is configured to move from the closed position toward the open position by a force of the drive source when the toner cartridge moves from the retreat position toward the mounting position.
Tanimoto et al. discloses an image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a developing unit 70 including a developing roller 79, a receiving opening 77a, and a developing shutter 60; a toner cartridge 50 detachably attached to the developing unit 70 (Figs. 20 and 21), the toner cartridge 50 including a toner frame 51, a discharge opening 51a, and a toner shutter 52; the developing shutter 60 being configured to move from a closed position toward an open position by a force when the toner cartridge 50 moves from a retreat position toward a mounting position (Figs. 23-26); the toner shutter 52 being configured to move from the open position to the closed position by a force when the toner cartridge 50 moves from the mounting position toward the retreat position (Figs. 18-21); and a moving direction of the toner shutter 52 when the toner shutter 52 moves from the closed position to the open position crosses the longitudinal direction (Figs. 23-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the toner shutter as taught by Tanimoto et al. to the toner cartridge of Nitta et al. to prevent toner leakage during mounting/detaching toner cartridge to the developing unit.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nitta et al. in view of Tanimoto et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Nitta et al. discloses (as in claim 14) an image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a developing unit 50 including a developing roller 51, a storage frame 53 that includes a receiving opening 53b and a storage chamber 53a configured to contain toner to be supplied to the developing roller 51 (Figs. 1 and 3); a toner cartridge 70 detachably attached to the developing unit 50, the toner cartridge 70 including a toner frame 71 that contains toner to be supplied to the developing unit 50 and that has a discharge opening 71b (Fig. 3), wherein the toner cartridge 70 is movable relative to the storage frame 53 between a mounting position at which the discharge opening 71b faces the receiving opening 53b (Fig. 4A) and a retreat position at which the toner cartridge 70 is moved from the mounting position, wherein the toner cartridge 70 is configured to move between the mounting position and the retreat position in a state where the discharge opening 71b is positioned below the receiving opening 53b (Figs. 3 and 4B); (as in claim 17) an apparatus body 1A accommodating the developing unit 50 (Fig. 1); a moving device 85 configured to move the toner cartridge 70 from the retreat position toward the mounting position (Fig. 8); and a drive device 98 including a drive source and configured to drive the moving device 85 (Figs. 12A and 12B), wherein at least part of the toner cartridge 70 is positioned outside of the apparatus body 1A when the toner cartridge 70 is at the retreat position (Figs. 4B, 6B, and 7A); (as in claim 18) wherein the moving device 85 includes a tray 80 to which the toner cartridge 70 is removably mounted, and the tray 80 is movable between a storage position at which the toner cartridge 70 is positioned at the mounting position and an eject position at which the toner cartridge 70 is positioned at the retreat position (Figs. 12A and 12B); and (as in claim 19) a rotary 90 supporting the developing unit 50 and capable of rotating (Fig. 1).
Nitta et al. differs from the instant claimed invention in not disclosing (as in claim 14) a developing shutter movable between a first closed position at which the receiving opening is covered and a first open position at which the receiving opening is exposed; a toner shutter movable between a second closed position at which the discharge opening is covered and a second open position at which the discharge opening is exposed; and when the toner cartridge moves from the retreat position toward the mounting position, the toner shutter is configured to reach the second open position before the developing shutter reaches the first open position; (as in claim 20) wherein, when the developing shutter moves from the first closed position to the first open position, the developing shutter is configured to move so as to approach a rotation axis of the rotary in a direction orthogonal to the rotation axis.
Tanimoto et al. discloses an image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a developing unit 70 including a developing roller 79, a receiving opening 77a, and a developing shutter 60; a toner cartridge 50 detachably attached to the developing unit 70 (Figs. 20 and 21), the toner cartridge 50 including a toner frame 51, a discharge opening 51a, and a toner shutter 52; the developing shutter 60 being configured to move from a closed position toward an open position by a force when the toner cartridge 50 moves from a retreat position toward a mounting position (Figs. 23-26); the toner shutter 52 being configured to move from the open position to the closed position by a force when the toner cartridge 50 moves from the mounting position toward the retreat position (Figs. 18-21); and a moving direction of the toner shutter 52 when the toner shutter 52 moves from the closed position to the open position crosses the longitudinal direction (Figs. 23-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the developing shutter and toner shutter as taught by Tanimoto et al. to the developing unit and toner cartridge of Nitta et al. to prevent toner leakage during mounting/detaching toner cartridge to the developing unit.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 9 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/SOPHIA S CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
July 2, 2026