DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss U.S. Pat 8,409,169 in view of Lippert et al U.S 2010/0256528.
Claim 1: Moss discloses an interventional device as best seen in fig. 6a, comprising: an elongated member 150 having a wall and an interior lumen, the elongated member including a plurality of fenestrations (it is noted that gap 149d, see col. 16, lines 16-38) extending through the wall and exposing the lumen, the plurality of fenestrations defining a plurality of axially extending beams (it is noted that arm 147a, see col. 18, lines 4-12) and a plurality of circumferentially extending rings (it is noted that band coils 155a-d, fig. 6d) arranged in a distributed pattern, wherein the distributed pattern includes a first beam pair of the elongated member defined as being positioned at a zero degree position, but is silent regarding wherein successive beam pairs are rotationally offset from the first beam pair to maximize the radial distribution of beam positions without surpassing a rotational offset limit, the rotational offset limit limiting the allowable rotation from one segment to the next. Lippert et al, in the same field of endeavor teaches an interventional device as shown in figures 7a-d, 9, wherein successive beam pairs are rotationally offset from the first beam pair to maximize the radial distribution of beam positions without surpassing a rotational offset limit, the rotational offset limit limiting the allowable rotation from one segment to the next (see paragraph 85). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention to provide the device of Moss with successive beam pairs are rotationally offset from the first beam pair to maximize the radial distribution of beam positions without surpassing a rotational offset limit, the rotational offset limit limiting the allowable rotation from one segment to the next as taught by Lippert in order to produce a better of the design configuration of the tube and further of providing a flexibility and torqueabilty and to avoid any bias of the device in a particular direction.
Claims 2-4, 6: Lippert et al teach in figures 7a-d, 9, the device has a beam with a cut pattern that includes an interior surface, exterior surface, and the lateral surfaces with the angles see (paragraphs 79, 83), but is silent regarding wherein the rotational offset limit restricts the rotational offset from one beam pair to the next to a value of about 60 to 120 degrees., wherein the rotational offset limit restricts the rotational
offset from one beam pair to the next to a value of about 70 to 110 degrees., wherein the rotational offset limit restricts the rotational offset from one beam pair to the next to a value of about 80 to 100 degrees. wherein the distributed pattern has a positional granularity of about 1 to 30 degrees or about 0.1 degree to 30 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the intravascular device disclosed by Moss by substituting the angles the beam was cut for the ones taught by Lippert et al. such that the rotational offset limit restricts the rotational offset from one beam pair to the next to a value of about 60 to 120 degrees., wherein the rotational offset limit restricts the rotational offset from one beam pair to the next to a value of about 70 to 110 degrees., wherein the rotational offset limit restricts the rotational offset from one beam pair to the next to a value of about 80 to 100 degrees. wherein the distributed pattern has a positional granularity of about 1 to 30 degrees or about 0.1 degree to 30 degrees is because it would only require the simple substitution of one known alternative configuration for another to produce nothing but predictable results. See KSR International Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 5: Lippert et al teach wherein successive beam pairs are positioned near the midpoint of a largest remaining positional gap without surpassing the rotational offset limit, such as being positioned as close to the midpoint of a largest remaining positional gap as the rotational offset limit allows (see figures 7a-d,9, paragraph 85).
Claims 7-9: Moss discloses wherein the interventional device is a micro-catheter device or a guidewire device (see fig. 1, col. 3, lines 20-23). , wherein the interventional device is a guidewire that includes a core, and wherein the elongated member is formed as a tube structure coupled to the core such that a distal section of the core passes into at least a portion of the tube structure. , further comprising one or more coils 135, fig. 4c disposed within the tube structure so as to be positioned between an outer surface of the distal section of the core and an inner surface of the tube structure.
Claims 10-12: Moss discloses wherein the core is formed from stainless steel or nitinol. , wherein the tube structure is formed from nitinol (see claim 3-Moss). , wherein the fenestrations are arranged in one or more of a one-beam, two-beam, or three-beam pattern (see fig 6a, 6d).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771