DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awada et al. (Pub No.: 2025/0056343) in view of Dudda et al. (Pub No.: 2016/0285679) and further in view of Johansson et al. (Pub No.: 2018/0332532).
Regarding claim 1, Awada et al. discloses a wireless device (see UE apparatus 7 in fig. 7) comprising:
one or more processors (see processor 701 in fig. 7); and
memory (see memory 702/703 in fig. 7) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive a configuration for a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) of the wireless device (Awada et al. see fig. 6, step 4; para. 0215, 0226; A RRC Reconfiguration (e.g. message) configuring the UE 440 for or with the one or more potential target cells for its L1/2 inter-cell mobility is provided to the UE 440 from the first CU 410). The UE receives the RRC reconfiguration for L1/2 inter-cell mobility;
receive an LTM cell switch command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Awada et al. see fig. 6, step 8; para. 0228; a MAC CE triggering the L1/2 inter-cell change from the cell A to the cell B is received by the UE 640). The UE receives the MAC CE for inter-cell change;
perform, based on receiving the LTM cell switch command MAC CE, an LTM cell switch to a candidate cell for the LTM (Awada et al. see fig. 6, step 8; para. 0223; a MAC CE triggering the L1/2 inter-cell change from the cell A to the cell B is received by the UE 640.); The UE performs inter-cell change based on the MAC CE;
detect, by the wireless device, a failure of the LTM cell switch (Awada et al. see fig. 5, step 3; para. 0223; In a step 3, the UE 540 detects a mobility failure, here a radio link failure.);
transmit, by the wireless device to the base station, a radio link failure (RLF) report comprising information indicating an elapsed time between a first time (read as the time of receiving the L1/2 HO command) associated with the LTM cell switch and a second time (read as the time of mobility failure) of determining the failure (Awada et al. see fig. 5, steps 4-6; para. 0107, 0208, 0223; the mobility failure information may comprise or represent, the time (e.g. time span or duration) that occurred between receiving the L1/2 HO command until the mobility failure (e.g. an RLF) has occurred. In para. 0223, …in a step 4 to generate mobility failure information, here a respective radio link failure report comprising the generated mobility failure information.). The UE transmits the radio link failure report to the base station, wherein the report includes the mobility failure information that comprises time that occurred between receiving the L1/2 HO command and the mobility failure,
wherein the first time associated with the LTM cell switch is a time of performing the LTM cell switch (Awada et al. see para. 0101-0103; [0103] ii. b) an indication about a time duration between the reception of a handover command triggering L1 inter-cell mobility execution until the detection of the mobility failure.). In other words, the time duration includes a first time of reception of the handover command causing the execution of the LTM cell switch to start. Thus, the first time is the time for activating/starting the LTM cell switch.
Awada et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature to receive, by the wireless device from a base station, a request for a report of the failure of the LTM cell switch; and transmit, the report indicating: a layer 1 measurement result of a serving cell of the wireless device; a layer 1 measurement result of a neighboring cell of the wireless device; a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the serving cell; and a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the neighboring cell.
Dudda et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to receive, by the wireless device from a base station, a request for a report of the failure of the cell switch (Dudda et al. see fig. 4a, step 403; para. 0077-0079; This is done via the UE Information Request procedure, where the eNB can ask for RLF report, as shown in FIG. 4A). The network requests the UE to transmit a RLF report that is related to cell switch failure (e.g., HO failure).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Dudda et al. such that the UE receives a request for a RLF report of the failure of the cell switch or LTM cell switch.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Dudda et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature to transmit, the report indicating: a layer 1 measurement result of a serving cell of the wireless device a layer 1 measurement result of a neighboring cell of the wireless device; a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the serving cell: and a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the neighboring cell.
Johansson et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to transmit, the report indicating: a layer 1 measurement result of a serving cell of the wireless device; a layer 1 measurement result of a neighboring cell of the wireless device; a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the serving cell; and a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the neighboring cell (Johansson et al. see para. 0022; Measurement and reporting module 207 performs various L1/L2 measurements and L3 filtering for reference signal received power and/or reference signal received quality (RSRP/RSRQ) over serving and neighboring cells, and then determines whether any measurement event is triggered for measurement reporting.). The UE performs various L1/L2 measurements and L3 filtering measurements over serving and neighboring cells and reports the measurement results.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Johansson et al. to perform various L1/L2 measurements and L3 filtering measurements for the serving and neighboring cells and reports the results accordingly.
The motivation would be to improve handover stability.
Claim 14 is rejected similarly to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Awada et al. discloses a base station (read as DU, CU1 and/or CU2 in fig. 6) comprising: one or more processors (see processor 701 in fig. 7); and memory (see memory 702/703 in fig. 7) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to:
transmit, to a wireless device, a configuration for a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) of the wireless device (Awada et al. see fig. 6, step 4; para. 0215, 0226; A RRC Reconfiguration (e.g. message) configuring the UE 440 for or with the one or more potential target cells for its L1/2 inter-cell mobility is provided to the UE 440 from the first CU 410). The CU1 transmits the RRC reconfiguration for L1/2 inter-cell mobility;
transmit, to the wireless device, an LTM cell switch command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for triggering an LTM cell switch (Awada et al. see fig. 6, step 8; para. 0228; a MAC CE triggering the L1/2 inter-cell change from the cell A to the cell B is received by the UE 640). The DU transmits the MAC CE for inter-cell change;
receiving, by the base station from the wireless device, a radio link failure (RLF) report comprising: information indicating an elapsed time between a first time (read as the time of receiving the L1/2 HO command) associated with the LTM cell switch and a second time (read as the time of mobility failure) of the wireless device determining a failure of the LTM cell switch (Awada et al. see fig. 5, steps 4-6; para. 0107, 0208, 0223; the mobility failure information may comprise or represent, the time (e.g. time span or duration) that occurred between receiving the L1/2 HO command until the mobility failure (e.g. an RLF) has occurred. In para. 0223, …in a step 4 to generate mobility failure information, here a respective radio link failure report comprising the generated mobility failure information.). The base station receives the radio link failure report from the UE, wherein the report includes the mobility failure information that comprises time that occurred between receiving the L1/2 HO command and the mobility failure,
wherein the first time associated with the LTM cell switch is a time of performing the LTM cell switch (Awada et al. see para. 0101-0103; [0103] ii. b) an indication about a time duration between the reception of a handover command triggering L1 inter-cell mobility execution until the detection of the mobility failure.). In other words, the time duration includes a first time of reception of the handover command causing the execution of the LTM cell switch to start. Thus, the first time is the time for activating/starting the LTM cell switch.
Awada et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature for transmit, to the wireless device, a request for a report of a failure of the LTM cell switch; and receive, from the wireless device, the report indicating: a layer 1 measurement result of a serving cell of the wireless device; a layer 1 measurement result of a neighboring cell of the wireless device; a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the serving cell; and a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the neighboring cell.
Dudda et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature for transmit, to the wireless device, a request for a report of a failure of the LTM cell switch (Dudda et al. see fig. 4a, step 403; para. 0077-0079; This is done via the UE Information Request procedure, where the eNB can ask for RLF report, as shown in FIG. 4A). The network requests the UE to transmit a RLF report that is related to cell switch failure (e.g., HO failure).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Dudda et al. such that the network transmits a request for a RLF report of the failure of the cell switch or LTM cell switch.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Dudda et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature to receive, from the wireless device, the report indicating: a layer 1 measurement result of a serving cell of the wireless device; a layer 1 measurement result of a neighboring cell of the wireless device; a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the serving cell; and a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the neighboring cell.
Johansson et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to receive, from the wireless device, the report indicating: a layer 1 measurement result of a serving cell of the wireless device; a layer 1 measurement result of a neighboring cell of the wireless device; a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the serving cell; and a measurement result, filtered by layer 3 filter, of the neighboring cell (Johansson et al. see para. 0022; Measurement and reporting module 207 performs various L1/L2 measurements and L3 filtering for reference signal received power and/or reference signal received quality (RSRP/RSRQ) over serving and neighboring cells, and then determines whether any measurement event is triggered for measurement reporting.). The BS receives the various L1/L2 measurements and L3 filtering measurements over serving and neighboring cells.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Johansson et al. to receives various L1/L2 measurements and L3 filtering measurements for the serving and neighboring cells.
The motivation would be to improve handover stability.
Regarding claim 8, Awada et al. discloses the feature wherein the report is a radio link failure report (Awada et al. see fig. 5, step 4; para. 0107, 0223; the mobility failure information may comprise or represent, the time (e.g. time span or duration) that occurred between receiving the L1/2 HO command until the mobility failure (e.g. an RLF) has occurred. In para. 0223, …in a step 4 to generate mobility failure information, here a respective radio link failure report comprising the generated mobility failure information.). The UE transmits the radio link failure report to the base station, wherein the report includes the mobility failure information that comprises time that occurred between receiving the L1/2 HO command and the mobility failure.
Regarding claims 9, 13, 20, Awada et al. discloses the feature wherein the failure is one of a radio link failure and a handover failure (Awada et al. see fig. 5, steps 4-6; para. 0107, 0223; the mobility failure information may comprise or represent, the time (e.g. time span or duration) that occurred between receiving the L1/2 HO command until the mobility failure (e.g. an RLF) has occurred. In para. 0223, …in a step 4 to generate mobility failure information, here a respective radio link failure report comprising the generated mobility failure information.). The UE transmits the radio link failure report to the base station, wherein the report includes the mobility failure information that comprises time that occurred between receiving the L1/2 HO command and the mobility failure.
Claim(s) 3-7, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awada et al. (Pub No.: 2025/0056343) in view of Dudda et al. (Pub No.: 2016/0285679) and Johansson et al. (Pub No.: 2018/0332532) as applied to claim 1 or 14 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (Pub No.: 2024/0147321).
Regarding claims 3, 16, Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and Johansson et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive a second configuration for early timing advance acquisition (ETA) of the candidate cell.
Zhou et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive a second configuration for early timing advance acquisition (ETA) of the candidate cell (Zhou et al. see para. 0371, 0392; FIG. 41 shows an example of early TA acquisition (or ETA)-based HO procedure (e.g., early time alignment procedure). A network (e.g., a base station, a source base station, a source gNB) may configure a wireless device to perform measurement reporting (possibly including the configuration of measurement gaps) for a plurality of neighbor cells (e.g., Cell 1 from a candidate target base station 1, Cell 2 from a candidate target base station 2, etc.)..). The UE is configured (e.g., receiving configuration information) to perform measurement reporting for ETA of the candidate cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and Johansson et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Zhou et al. to receive configuration for ETA acquisition.
The motivation would be to improve transmission stability.
Regarding claims 4, 17, Zhou et al. discloses the feature wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive, via a serving cell and after receiving the second configuration, an ETA command for an ETA of the candidate cell (Zhou et al. see para. 0392; The DCI may comprise a first field indicating the second cell of a plurality of third cells and a second field. The DCI may be configured to trigger a RA procedure for early TA acquisition for the second cell as a candidate target PCell.). The DCI commands the UE to perform ETA of the candidate cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and Johansson et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Zhou et al. to trigger/command the UE to perform ETA of the candidate cell.
The motivation would be to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claims 5, 18, Zhou et al. discloses the feature wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit, based on receiving the ETA command, a random access preamble via the candidate cell (Zhou et al. see fig. 41, UE transmits Preamble to candidate target cell 1; para. 0392; The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the preamble via the second cell.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and Johansson et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Zhou et al. to transmit, based on receiving the ETA command, a random access preamble via the second cell.
The motivation would be to increase transmission efficiency.
Regarding claims 6, 19, Zhou et al. discloses the feature wherein the receiving the LTM cell switch command MAC CE is after the transmitting the random access preamble (Zhou et al. see para. 0460; The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit), based on the DCI, a preamble via the first candidate cell. The wireless device may, without receiving a random access response (RAR) associated with the preamble and based on the sent (e.g., transmitted) preamble being associated with the cell switching procedure, receive, via the source cell, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell, wherein the MAC CE comprises a timing advance value for the first candidate cell.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and Johansson et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Zhou et al. to receive the LTM cell switch command MAC CE after transmitting the preamble.
The motivation would be to increase transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Zhou et al. discloses the feature wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to receive a timing advance value of the candidate cell (Zhou et al. see para. 0460; The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit), based on the DCI, a preamble via the first candidate cell. The wireless device may, without receiving a random access response (RAR) associated with the preamble and based on the sent (e.g., transmitted) preamble being associated with the cell switching procedure, receive, via the source cell, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell, wherein the MAC CE comprises a timing advance value for the first candidate cell.). The MAC CE comprises a timing advance value.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and Johansson et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Zhou et al. to the MAC CE that comprises a timing advance value.
The motivation would be to increase transmission efficiency.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awada et al. (Pub No.: 2025/0056343) in view of Dudda et al. (Pub No.: 2016/0285679) and Johansson et al. (Pub No.: 2018/0332532) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (Pub No.: 2013/0165108).
Regarding claim 10, Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and Johansson et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit, to a base station, an indication that the report is available, wherein the indication that the report is available is associated with one or more of: a radio resource control connection setup procedure; a radio resource control connection resume procedure; and/or a radio resource control connection reestablishment procedure.
Xu et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit, to a base station, an indication that the report is available, wherein the indication that the report is available is associated with one or more of: a radio resource control connection setup procedure; a radio resource control connection resume procedure; and/or a radio resource control connection reestablishment procedure (Xu et al. see para. 0079-0081; after the RRC connection re-establishment process is successful or an RRC connection establishment process is successful, the UE indicates to the network that there is RLF report information.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Awada et al. in view of Dudda et al. and Johansson et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Xu et al. to transmit an indication that a report is available, wherein the report is associated with RRC reestablishment.
The motivation would be to increase transmission reliability.
Examiner's Note
The Applicant is welcome to request a telephonic interview if the Applicant has any questions or requires any additional information that would further or expedite the prosecution of the application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ramachandra et al. (Pub No.: 2023/0269647) discloses a method performed by a wireless device includes declaring a radio link failure (RLF) in a source cell of a source network node during a dual active protocol stack handover (DAPS HO) from the source cell of the source network node to a target cell of a target network node. The wireless device stores information associated with the DAPS HO and information associated with the RLF. The wireless device transmits the information to an access node.
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464