Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the set of switching circuitry" in lines 8, 9, 10, 10-11, 12-13, 13, 14 and 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 recites switching circuitry in line 4 and a set of switches in line 7. Claims 11-15 are also rejected due to dependance on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al (US 2014/0269863) in view of Breems et al (WO 01/69876 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16-18, Fan discloses a system (Figure 3) comprising:
processing circuitry capable of providing a first set of values; transmission circuitry coupled to the processing circuitry and capable of producing a signal based on the first set of values (Figure 3: TX digital data 350 is adjusted by TX LO leakage estimation and correction 340 in combiners 326 and 327 and provides signals to the transmitter 360.);
receiver circuitry (Figure 3: loop-back circuitry for TX LO leakage calibration 310) coupled to the transmission circuitry that includes:
a first set of circuitry that includes: first and second inputs coupled to the transmission circuitry; first and second outputs (Figure 3: in filter 320, there comprises four inputs and four outputs of the buffers 311-314. In addition, the outputs of filters 315 and 316 are separated into four lines. These four lines will comprise four inputs to mixers 317 and 318 and will generate four outputs as shown in figure 3.);
a first mixer coupled to the first and second outputs of the first set of circuitry (Figure 3: mixer 317 or 318);
a first filter coupled to the first mixer (Figure 3: filter 319 or 321);
a first analog to digital converter coupled to the first filter and capable of providing a second set of values based on the first set of values (Figure 3: ADC 331 or 332);
a second set of circuitry that includes: first and second inputs coupled to the transmission circuitry; first and second outputs (Figure 3: in filter 320, there comprises four inputs and four outputs of the buffers 311-314. In addition, the outputs of filters 315 and 316 are separated to four lines. These four lines will comprise four inputs to mixers 317 and 318 and will generate four outputs as shown in figure 3.);
a second mixer coupled to the first and second outputs of the second set of circuitry (Figure 3: mixer 318 or 317);
a second filter coupled to the second mixer (Figure 3: filter 321 or 319); and
a second analog to digital converter coupled to the second filter and capable of providing a third set of values based on the first set of values (Figure 3: ADC 332 or 331);
wherein the processing circuitry is capable of determining an adjustment to apply to transmission of a fourth set of values based on the second set of values and the third set of values (Figure 3: TX digital data 350 is adjusted by TX LO leakage estimation and correction 340 in combiners 326 and 327 and provides signals to the transmitter 360.).
Fan does not disclose the first and second circuitry comprises a first set of switching circuitry that includes: first and second inputs coupled to the transmission circuitry; first and second outputs; and a first set of switches capable of: in a first configuration, coupling the first input of the first set of switching circuitry to the first output of the first set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the first set of switching circuitry to the second output of the first set of switching circuitry; and in a second configuration, coupling the first input of the first set of switching circuitry to the second output of the first set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the first set of switching circuitry to the first output of the first set of switching circuitry; and a second set of switching circuitry that includes: first and second inputs coupled to the transmission circuitry; first and second outputs; and a second set of switches capable of: in a first configuration, coupling the first input of the second set of switching circuitry to the first output of the second set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the second set of switching circuitry to the second output of the second set of switching circuitry; and in a second configuration, coupling the first input of the second set of switching circuitry to the second output of the second set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the second set of switching circuitry to the first output of the second set of switching circuitry.
Breems discloses a system for compensation of mismatch in quadrature devices. Figure 1 shows the input signal is separated into an I path and a Q path. The two signals are input to switching circuitry 3. The switching circuitry comprises two sets of switching circuitry comprising a total of four inputs and four outputs. The switches are capable of coupling the first input of the first set of switching circuitry to the first output of the first set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the first set of switching circuitry to the second output of the first set of switching circuitry; and coupling the first input of the second set of switching circuitry to the first output of the second set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the second set of switching circuitry to the second output of the second set of switching circuitry; and in a second configuration, coupling the first input of the second set of switching circuitry to the second output of the second set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the second set of switching circuitry to the first output of the second set of switching circuitry since Breems discloses the first switch is coupled between the first input and the first output, the second switch is coupled between the first input and the second output, the third switch is coupled between the second input and the second output and the fourth switch is coupled between the second input and the first output. Therefore, Breems discloses the recited configurations of the sets of switches. Breen discloses adverse amplitude and phase error effects can be reduced by alternatively switching as stated in page 2, lines 3-9. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sets of switching circuitry of Breen into the system of Fan.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, the combination discloses wherein: the producing of the signal by the transmission circuitry uses a local oscillator signal; and the adjustment is a compensation for an effect of the local oscillator signal (Fan: Figure 3: LO I and LO Q. The local oscillator signals are input to the mixers. TX LO leakage estimation and correction 340 provides signals to the transmitter. Breems: figure 1: LoQ and LOI signals are provided to the mixers.).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, the combination discloses wherein: the second set of values includes: a first subset associated with the first set of switches being in the first configuration; and a second subset associated with the first set of switches being in the second configuration; and the adjustment is based on a difference between the first subset of the second set of values and the second subset of the second set of values (Fan: paragraphs 0005-0009: Inputs are provided to mixer 317 and 318 in figure 3. A LO I and LO Q (local oscillator in-phase and quadrature) signal is provided to the mixers. The circuit further discloses filter 319, filter 321, ADC 331 and ADC 332. The ADCs are coupled to TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry. By accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination disclose an antenna coupled to the transmission circuitry (Fan: Figure 2 the transmitter outputs the signal to the PA 211 to transmit the RF signal. An antenna is necessary to transmit the RF signal.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses wherein: the first set of switching circuitry, the first mixer, the first filter, and the first analog to digital converter are associated with an in-phase signal chain; and the second set of switching circuitry, the second mixer, the second filter, and the second analog to digital converter are associated with a quadrature signal chain (Fan: figure 3 shows the I and Q signal chains. Breems: figure 1 shows the I and Q chains).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses correction circuitry coupled between the processing circuitry and the transmission circuitry and capable of applying the adjustment to the fourth set of values (Fan: figure 3: TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry.).
Regarding claim 10, Fan discloses a system (Figure 3) comprising: Receiving circuitry capable of receiving a signal that is based on a first set of values (Figure 3: loop-back circuitry for TX LO leakage calibration 310);
circuitry that includes: first and second inputs coupled to the transmission circuitry; first and second outputs (Figure 3: in filter 320, there comprises four inputs and four outputs of the buffers 311-314. In addition, the outputs of filters 315 and 316 are separated to four lines. These four lines will comprise four inputs to mixers 317 and 318 and will generate four outputs as shown in figure 3.);
a mixer coupled to the first and second outputs of the first set of circuitry (Figure 3: mixer includes mixers 317 and 318);
a filter coupled to the mixer (Figure 3: filter comprising filters 319 and 321);
an analog to digital converter coupled to filter and capable of providing a second set of values based on the first set of values (Figure 3: ADC comprises ADCs 331 and 332);
processing circuitry coupled to the receiving circuity and capable of determining a transmission adjustment based on the second set of values (Figure 3: TX digital data 350 is adjusted by TX LO leakage estimation and correction 340 in combiners 326 and 327 and provides signals to the transmitter 360.).
Fan does not disclose a set of switches capable of: in a first configuration, coupling the first input of the set of switching circuitry to the first output of the set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the set of switching circuitry to the second output of the set of switching circuitry; and in a second configuration, coupling the first input of the set of switching circuitry to the second output of first set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the set of switching circuitry to the first output of the set of switching circuitry.
Breems discloses a system for compensation of mismatch in quadrature devices. Figure 1 shows the input signal is separated into an I path and a Q path. The two signals are input to switching circuitry 3. The switching circuitry comprises two sets of switching circuitry comprising a total of four inputs and four outputs. Breems discloses a set of switches capable of: in a first configuration, coupling the first input of the set of switching circuitry to the first output of the set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the set of switching circuitry to the second output of the set of switching circuitry; and in a second configuration, coupling the first input of the set of switching circuitry to the second output of first set of switching circuitry and coupling the second input of the set of switching circuitry to the first output of the set of switching circuitry since Breems discloses the first switch is coupled between the first input and the first output, the second switch is coupled between the first input and the second output, the third switch is coupled between the second input and the second output and the fourth switch is coupled between the second input and the first output. Therefore, Breen discloses the recited configurations of the sets of switches. Breems discloses adverse amplitude and phase error effects can be reduced by alternatively switching as stated in page 2, lines 3-9. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sets of switching circuitry of Breems into the system of Fan.
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses wherein: the producing of the signal by the transmission circuitry uses a local oscillator signal; and the adjustment is a compensation for an effect of the local oscillator signal (Fan: Figure 3: LO I and LO Q. The local oscillator signals are input to the mixers. TX LO leakage estimation and correction 340 provides signals to the transmitter. Breems: figure 1: LoQ and LOI signals are provided to the mixers.).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses wherein: the second set of values includes: a first subset associated with the first set of switches being in the first configuration; and a second subset associated with the first set of switches being in the second configuration; and the adjustment is based on a difference between the first subset of the second set of values and the second subset of the second set of values (Fan: paragraphs 0005-0009: Inputs are provided to mixer 317 and 318 in figure 3. LO I and LO Q (local oscillator in-phase and quadrature) signals are provided to the mixers. The circuit further discloses filter 319, filter 321, ADC 331 and ADC 332. The ADCs are coupled to TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry. By accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses wherein the set of switching circuitry, the mixer, the filter, and the analog to digital converter are associated with an in-phase signal chain (Fan: figure 3 shows the I and Q signal chains.).
5. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al (US 2014/0269863) in view of Breems et al (WO 01/69876 A1) further in view of Cope et al (US 2004/0227621.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fan and Breems discloses the system stated above. The combination does not disclose a set of capacitors coupled between the transmission circuitry and the receiver circuitry.
Cope discloses a coupling device coupled to an isolator comprised of a fiber optic transceiver. Capacitors 606 are electrically coupled between transmit circuitry 610 and receive circuitry 612 and transformer 720. This is shown in figure 7. The two capacitors 606 will help to isolate the transmitter from the receiver to minimize interference. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cope into the system of the combination of Fan and Breems.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 10 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9, 13 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,442. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference discloses additional limitations that are not required in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 10, the reference discloses the transceiver circuit recited in claims 1 and 13. The reference discloses a receiver receiving a signal based on values. First and second inputs, first and second outputs and a switch network. Claims 1 and 13 recite the first and second switch configurations recited in claim 10. Claims 1 and 13 of the reference further discloses a mixer coupled to the first and second outputs. Claims 8 and 13 of the reference discloses an A/D providing a second set of values based on the input to the ADC. Claims 9 and 14 of the reference further discloses the baseband filter coupled to output to the input to the ADC. Clams 1 and 13 of the reference further discloses processing circuitry in the IQMM estimation circuitry to determine transmission adjustment based on the output of the ADC.
Regarding claim 15, the reference discloses the switching network, mixer, filter and ADC as stated above. These components are associated with an in-phase signal chain since the in-phase quadrature mismatch estimation circuit receives the output of the ADC.
7. Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 11, 12 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9, 13 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,442 in view of Fan et al (US 2014/0269863). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference discloses additional limitations that are not required in the instant claims.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 16-19, the reference discloses the transceiver circuit recited in claims 1 and 13. The reference discloses a receiver receiving a signal based on values. First and second inputs, first and second outputs and a switch network. Claims 1 and 13 recite the first and second switch configurations recited in claim 10. Claims 1 and 13 of the reference further discloses a mixer coupled to the first and second outputs. Claims 8 and 13 of the reference discloses an A/D providing a second set of values based on the input to the ADC. Claims 9 and 14 of the reference further discloses the baseband filter coupled to output to the input to the ADC. Clams 1 and 13 of the reference further discloses processing circuitry in the IQMM estimation circuitry to determine transmission adjustment based on the output of the ADC. The reference discloses the first and second set of switching circuitry since the first switch is coupled between the first input and the first output, the second switch is coupled between the first input and the second output, the third switch is coupled between the second input and the second output and the fourth switch is coupled between the second input and the first output. Though the reference discloses a mixer, filter and ADC, the reference does not disclose first and second mixers, first and second filters and first and second ADCs.
Fan discloses the transceiver shown in figure 3. Inputs are provided to mixer 317 and 318. The circuit further discloses filter 319, filter 321, ADC 331 and ADC 332. The ADCs are coupled to TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry. Fan discloses by accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome (paragraphs 0005-0009). For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Fan into the system of the reference.
Regarding claims 3 and 20, the combination discloses wherein: the second set of values includes: a first subset associated with the first set of switches being in the first configuration; and a second subset associated with the first set of switches being in the second configuration; and the adjustment is based on a difference between the first subset of the second set of values and the second subset of the second set of values (Fan: paragraphs 0005-0009: By accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination disclose an antenna coupled to the transmission circuitry (Fan: Figure 2 the transmitter outputs the signal to the PA 211 to transmit the RF signal.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses wherein: the first set of switching circuitry, the first mixer, the first filter, and the first analog to digital converter are associated with an in-phase signal chain; and the second set of switching circuitry, the second mixer, the second filter, and the second analog to digital converter are associated with a quadrature signal chain (Fan: figure 3 shows the I and Q signal chains.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses correction circuitry coupled between the processing circuitry and the transmission circuitry and capable of applying the adjustment to the fourth set of values (the reference: claims 1 and 13. Fan: figure 3: TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry.).
Regarding claim 11, the reference discloses the system stated above. The reference does not disclose wherein: the signal is associated with a local oscillator signal; and the transmission adjustment is a compensation for an effect of the local oscillator signal.
Fan discloses the transceiver shown in figure 3. Inputs are provided to mixer 317 and 318. A LO I and LO Q (local oscillator in-phase and quadrature) signal is provided to the mixers. The circuit further discloses filter 319, filter 321, ADC 331 and ADC 332. The ADCs are coupled to TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry. Fan discloses by accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome (paragraphs 0005-0009). For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Fan into the system of the reference.
Regarding claim 12, the reference discloses the system stated above. The reference does not disclose wherein: the second set of values includes: a first subset associated with the first set of switches being in the first configuration; and a second subset associated with the first set of switches being in the second configuration; and the adjustment is based on a difference between the first subset of the second set of values and the second subset of the second set of values
Fan discloses the transceiver shown in figure 3. Inputs are provided to mixer 317 and 318. A LO I and LO Q (local oscillator in-phase and quadrature) signal is provided to the mixers. The circuit further discloses filter 319, filter 321, ADC 331 and ADC 332. The ADCs are coupled to TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry. Fan discloses by accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome (paragraphs 0005-0009). For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Fan into the system of the reference.
8. Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9, 13 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,442 in view of Fan et al (US 2014/0269863) further in view of Cope et al (US 2004/0227621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference discloses additional limitations that are not required in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses the system stated above. The combination does not disclose a set of capacitors coupled between the transmission circuitry and the receiver circuitry.
Cope discloses a coupling device coupled to an isolator comprised of a fiber optic transceiver. Capacitors 606 are electrically coupled between transmit circuitry 610 and receive circuitry 612 and transformer 720. This is shown in figure 7. The two capacitors 606 will help to isolate the transmitter from the receiver to minimize interference. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cope into the system of the combination of the reference and Fan.
9. Claims 1-4. 7, 8, 11, 12 and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,398 in view of Fan et al (US 2014/0269863). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference discloses additional limitations that are not required in the instant claims.
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 16-19, the reference discloses the system comprising the transmitter and the receiver recited in claim 18. The reference discloses a receiver receiving a signal based on values, first and second inputs, first and second outputs and first, second, third and fourth switches in claim 18. Claim 18 of the reference recites the first and second switch configurations, the complex mixer and the controller for correcting (adjusting) a transmitter as recited in claim 10. The reference does not disclose discloses the mixer, the reference does not disclose first and second mixers, filters and ADCs.
Fan discloses the transceiver shown in figure 3. Inputs are provided to mixer 317 and 318. A LO I and LO Q (local oscillator in-phase and quadrature) signal is provided to the mixers. The circuit further discloses filter 319, filter 321, ADC 331 and ADC 332. The ADCs are coupled to TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry. Fan discloses by accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome (paragraphs 0005-0009). For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Fan into the system of the reference.
Regarding claims 3 and 20, the combination discloses wherein: the second set of values includes: a first subset associated with the first set of switches being in the first configuration; and a second subset associated with the first set of switches being in the second configuration; and the adjustment is based on a difference between the first subset of the second set of values and the second subset of the second set of values (Fan: paragraphs 0005-0009: By accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination disclose an antenna coupled to the transmission circuitry (Fan: Figure 2 the transmitter outputs the signal to the PA 211 to transmit the RF signal.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses wherein: the first set of switching circuitry, the first mixer, the first filter, and the first analog to digital converter are associated with an in-phase signal chain; and the second set of switching circuitry, the second mixer, the second filter, and the second analog to digital converter are associated with a quadrature signal chain (Fan: figure 3 shows the I and Q signal chains.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses correction circuitry coupled between the processing circuitry and the transmission circuitry and capable of applying the adjustment to the fourth set of values (the reference: claims 18 and 20. Fan: figure 3: TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry.).
Regarding claim 10, the reference discloses the system comprising the transmitter and the receiver recited in claim 18. The reference discloses a receiver receiving a signal based on values, first and second inputs, first and second outputs and first, second, third and fourth switches in claim 18. Claim 18 of the reference recites the first and second switch configurations, the complex mixer and the controller for correcting (adjusting) a transmitter as recited in claim 10. The reference does not disclose the filter and ADC as recited in claim 10.
Fan discloses the transceiver shown in figure 3. Inputs are provided to mixer 317 and 318. The circuit further discloses filter 319, filter 321, ADC 331 and ADC 332. The ADCs are coupled to TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry. Fan discloses by accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome (paragraphs 0005-0009). For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Fan into the system of the reference.
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses wherein: the signal is associated with a local oscillator signal; and the transmission adjustment is a compensation for an effect of the local oscillator signal (the reference: claim 20: wherein the controller is further configured to provide a correction signal to the transmitter to correct the transmitter local oscillator leakage. Fan discloses the transceiver shown in figure 3. Inputs are provided to mixer 317 and 318. A LO I and LO Q (local oscillator in-phase and quadrature) signal is provided to the mixers.).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses wherein: the second set of values includes: a first subset associated with the first set of switches being in the first configuration; and a second subset associated with the first set of switches being in the second configuration; and the adjustment is based on a difference between the first subset of the second set of values and the second subset of the second set of values (Fan discloses the transceiver shown in figure 3. Inputs are provided to mixer 317 and 318. A LO I and LO Q (local oscillator in-phase and quadrature) signal is provided to the mixers. The circuit further discloses filter 319, filter 321, ADC 331 and ADC 332. The ADCs are coupled to TX LO leakage estimation and correction circuit 340 that provided and adjustment signal to the transmitter circuitry. Fan discloses by accurately measuring the DC signal in the receiver corresponding to TX LO leakage, reducing or removing error sources in the loopback circuitry, estimating the phase difference between the received carrier signal and the receiver LO signal, the previous issues with TX LO measurements may be overcome (paragraphs 0005-0009).).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses wherein the set of switching circuitry, the mixer, the filter, and the analog to digital converter are associated with an in-phase signal chain (Fan: figure 3 shows the I and Q signal chains.).
10. Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,398 in view of Fan et al (US 2014/0269863) further in view of Cope et al (US 2004/0227621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference discloses additional limitations that are not required in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses the system stated above. The combination does not disclose a set of capacitors coupled between the transmission circuitry and the receiver circuitry.
Cope discloses a coupling device coupled to an isolator comprised of a fiber optic transceiver. Capacitors 606 are electrically coupled between transmit circuitry 610 and receive circuitry 612 and transformer 720. This is shown in figure 7. The two capacitors 606 will help to isolate the transmitter from the receiver to minimize interference. For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cope into the system of the combination of the reference and Fan.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 5 and 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the cited references disclose specific circuitry and coupling as recited in claims 5 and 6.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 7/1/2026