DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communication filed on 08/06/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 of US Application No. 19/198,612 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 323,477. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 - 18 of the U.S. Patent mentioned above, contain every element of claims 1 – 20 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claim of the instant application. Claims 1 – 20 of the instant application are therefore not patently distinct from claims 1 - 18 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,323,477 and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting.
"A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). " ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
U.S. Application 19/198,612
U.S. Patent No. 12,323,477
1. A computer system for dynamic syncing of content within a communication interface, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more computer-readable media having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors configure the computer system to:
receive an indication, from a first user at a first communication interface, to share digital content with a second user, wherein the digital content is contained within a digital file;
transmit a copy of the digital file to the second user, wherein the digital content within the copy of the digital file is displayed or played to the second user within a second communication interface;
receive a synchronization command from the first user wherein the synchronization command includes mapping data for multiple independently- executable assets; and
in response to the synchronization command, cause the second communication interface to mirror a first user's view of the digital content.
2. (Original) The computer system as recited in claim 1, further comprising executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
cause the digital content to be visually displayed to the second user through the second communication interface, wherein the second communication interface is configured to cause the digital content to respond to commands received from the second user.
3. (Original) The computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein the executable instructions for receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
receive from the first user a scroll offset indicating the scroll offset of the first user's view of the digital content.
4. (Original) The computer system as recited in claim 3, wherein the executable instructions for causing the second communication interface to mirror the first user's view of the digital content further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
convert the scroll offset to a normalized scroll offset based upon a predetermined page length of the digital content;
communicate the normalized scroll offset to the second user; and cause the second communication interface to move from a current view of the digital content to the normalized scroll offset.
5. (Original) The computer system as recited in claim 3, wherein the executable instructions for receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
receive from the first user a zoom offset indicating the zoom offset of the first user's view of the digital content.
6. (Original) The computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein the executable instructions for receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
receive from the first user a scrub position indicating a time stamp of the first user's view of the digital content.
7. (Original) The computer system as recited in claim 6, wherein the executable instructions for causing the second communication interface to mirror the first user's view of the digital content further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
communicate the scrub position to the second user; and cause the second communication interface to move from a current position of the digital content to the scrub position.
8. (Original) The computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein prior to receiving the synchronization command from the first user, the second user is allowed to interact with the digital content without constraint from the first user.
9. (Original) The computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein after receiving the synchronization command from the first user, the second user is only able to interact with a mirror of the first user's view of the digital content.
10. (Original) The computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein the digital content comprises an audio file.
11. (Currently Amended) A computer-implemented method, executed on one or more processors, for dynamic syncing of content within a communication interface, the computer- implemented method comprising:
receiving an indication, from a first user at a first communication interface, to share digital content with a second user, wherein the digital content is contained with a digital file;
transmitting a copy of the digital file to the second user, wherein the digital content within to copy of the digital file is displayed or played to the second user within a second communication interface;
receiving a synchronization command from the first user wherein the synchronization command includes mapping data for multiple independently-executable assets; and
in response to the synchronization command, causing the second communication interface to mirror a first user's view of the digital content.
12. (Original) The computer-implemented method as recited in claim 11, further comprising: causing the digital content to be visually displayed to the second user through the second communication interface, wherein the second communication interface is configured to cause the digital content to respond to commands received from the second user.
13. (Original) The computer-implemented method as recited in claim 11, wherein receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprises:
receiving from the first user a scroll offset indicating the scroll offset of the first user's view of the digital content.
14. (Original) The computer-implemented method as recited in claim 13, wherein causing the second communication interface to mirror the first user's view of the digital content further comprises:
converting the scroll offset to a normalized scroll offset based upon a predetermined page length of the digital content;
communicating the normalized scroll offset to the second user; and causing the second communication interface to move from a current view of the digital content to the normalized scroll offset.
15. (Original) The computer-implemented method as recited in claim 13, wherein receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprises:
receiving from the first user a zoom offset indicating the zoom offset of the first user's view of the digital content.
16. (Original) The computer-implemented method as recited in claim 11, wherein receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprises:
receiving from the first user a scrub position indicating a time stamp of the first user's view of the digital content.
17. (Original) The computer-implemented method as recited in claim 16, wherein causing the second communication interface to mirror the first user's view of the digital content further comprises:
communicating the scrub position to the second user; and causing the second communication interface to move from a current position of the digital content to the scrub position.
18. (Original) The computer-implemented. method as recited in claim 11, wherein prior to receiving the synchronization command from the first user, the second user is allowed to interact with the digital content without constraint from the first user.
19. (Original) The computer-implemented. method as recited in claim 11, wherein after receiving the synchronization command from the first user, the second user is only able to interact with a mirror of the first user's view of the digital content.
20. (Currently Amended) A computer-readable media comprising one or more non-transitory physical computer-readable storage media having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed at a processor, cause a computer system to perform a method for dynamic syncing of content within a communication interface, the method comprising:
receiving an indication, from a first user at a first communication interface, to share digital content with a second user, wherein the digital content is contained with a digital file;
transmitting a copy of the digital file to the second user, wherein the digital content within to copy of the digital file is displayed or played to the second user within a second communication interface;
receiving a synchronization command from the first user, wherein the synchronization command includes mapping data for multiple Independently-executable assets; and
in response to the synchronization command, causing the second communication interface to mirror a first user's view of the digital content.
1. A computer system for dynamic syncing of
content within a communication interface,
comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more computer-readable media having
stored thereon executable instructions that when
executed by the one or more processors
configure the computer system to:
receive an indication, from a first user at a first
communication interface, to share digital content
with a second user, wherein: the digital content is
contained within a digital file, and the digital
content comprises a video file or audio file
embedded within a text document;
transmit a copy of the digital file to the second
user, wherein the digital content within the copy
of the digital file is displayed or played to the
second user within a second communication
interface;
receive a synchronization command from the first
user, wherein the synchronization command
comprises multiple layers of spatial mapping,
the multiple layers of spatial mapping
comprising: a first layer that comprises a scroll
offset for the text document, and a second layer
that comprises a video file identifier or audio file
identifier and scrub position for the video file or
the audio file; and in response to the
synchronization command, cause the second
communication interface to mirror a first user's
view of the text document and the video file or
audio file.
2. The computer system as recited in claim 1,
further comprising executable instructions that
when executed cause the computer system to:
cause the digital content to be visually displayed
to the second user through the second
communication interface, wherein the second
communication interface is configured to cause
the digital content to respond to commands
received from the second user.
3. The computer system as recited in claim 1,
wherein the executable instructions for causing
the second communication interface to mirror
the first user's view of the digital content further
comprise executable instructions that when
executed cause the computer system to: convert
the scroll offset to a normalized scroll offset
based upon a predetermined page length of the
digital content, wherein the scroll offset is
tracked on a per-pixel basis of the first user's
view; communicate the normalized scroll offset
to the second user; and cause the second
communication interface to move from a current
view of the digital content to the normalized
scroll offset.
4. The computer system as recited in claim 1,
wherein the executable instructions for receiving
a synchronization command from the first user
further comprise executable instructions that
when executed cause the computer system to:
receive from the first user a zoom offset
indicating the zoom offset of the first user's view
of the digital content.
5. The computer system as recited in claim 1,
wherein the executable instructions for receiving
a synchronization command from the first user
further comprise executable instructions that
when executed cause the computer system to:
receive from the first user a scrub position
indicating a time stamp of the first user's view of
the digital content.
6. The computer system as recited in claim 5,
wherein the executable instructions for causing
the second communication interface to mirror
the first user's view of the digital content further
comprise executable instructions that when
executed cause the computer system to:
communicate the scrub position to the second
user; and cause the second communication
interface to move from a current position of the
digital content to the scrub position.
7. The computer system as recited in claim 1,
wherein prior to receiving the synchronization
command from the first user, the second user is
allowed to interact with the digital content
without constraint from the first user.
8. The computer system as recited in claim 1,
wherein after receiving the synchronization
command from the first user, the second user is
only able to interact with a mirror of the first
user's view of the digital content.
9. The computer system as recited in claim 1,
wherein the digital content comprises an audio
file.
10. A computer-implemented method, executed
on one or more processors, for dynamic syncing
of content within a communication interface, the
computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving an indication, from a first user at a first
communication interface, to share digital content
with a second user, wherein: the digital content
is contained within a digital file, and the digital
content comprises a video file or audio file
embedded within a text document;
transmitting a copy of the digital file to the
second user, wherein the digital content within
the copy of the digital file is displayed or played
to the second user within a second
communication interface;
receiving a synchronization command from the
first user, wherein the synchronization command
comprises multiple layers of spatial mapping,
the multiple layers of spatial mapping
comprising: a first layer that comprises a scroll
offset for the text document, and a second layer
that comprises a video file identifier or audio file
identifier and scrub position for the video file or
the audio file; and in response to the
synchronization command, causing the second
communication interface to mirror a first user's
view of the text document and the video file or
audio file.
11. The computer-implemented method as
recited in claim 10, further comprising: causing
the digital content to be visually displayed to the
second user through the second communication
interface, wherein the second communication
interface is configured to cause the digital
content to respond to commands received from
the second user.
12. The computer-implemented method as
recited in claim 10, wherein causing the second
communication interface to mirror the first user's
view of the digital content further comprises:
converting the scroll offset to a normalized scroll
offset based upon a predetermined page length
of the digital content, wherein the scroll offset is
tracked on a per-pixel basis of the first user's
view; communicating the normalized scroll offset
to the second user; and causing the second
communication interface to move from a current
view of the digital content to the normalized
scroll offset.
13. The computer-implemented method as
recited in claim 10, wherein receiving a
synchronization command from the first user
further comprises: receiving from the first user a
zoom offset indicating the zoom offset of the first
user's view of the digital content.
14. The computer-implemented method as
recited in claim 10, wherein receiving a
synchronization command from the first user
further comprises: receiving from the first user a
scrub position indicating a time stamp of the first
user's view of the digital content.
15. The computer-implemented method as
recited in claim 14, wherein causing the second
communication interface to mirror the first user's
view of the digital content further comprises:
communicating the scrub position to the second
user; and causing the second communication
interface to move from a current position of the
digital content to the scrub position.
16. The computer-implemented method as
recited in claim 10, wherein prior to receiving the
synchronization command from the first user, the
second user is allowed to interact with the digital
content without constraint from the first user.
17. The computer-implemented method as
recited in claim 10, wherein after receiving the
synchronization command from the first user, the
second user is only able to interact with a mirror
of the first user's view of the digital content.
18. A computer-readable media comprising one
or more non-transitory physical computer-
readable storage media having stored thereon
computer-executable instructions that, when
executed at a processor, cause a computer
system to perform a method for dynamic syncing
of content within a communication interface, the
method comprising:
receiving an indication, from a first user at a first
communication interface, to share digital content
with a second user, wherein: the digital content is
contained within a digital file, and the digital
content comprises a video file or audio file
embedded within a text document;
transmitting a copy of the digital file to the
second user, wherein the digital content within
the copy of the digital file is displayed or played
to the second user within a second
communication interface;
receiving a synchronization command from the
first user,
wherein the synchronization command comprises
multiple layers of spatial mapping, the multiple
layers of spatial mapping comprising: a first layer
that comprises a scroll offset for the text
document, and a second layer that comprises a
video file identifier or audio file identifier and
scrub position for the video file or the audio file;
and in response to the synchronization
command, causing the second communication
interface to mirror a first user's view of the text
document and the video file or audio file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 8 – 15, and 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohnen et al (US 2015/0326620; hereinafter Kohnen) in view of GEORGENYI et al (US 2019/0289070; hereinafter GEORGENYI).
Regarding claim 1, Kohnen discloses a computer system for dynamic syncing of content within a communication interface (figs. 1B; 2B; 3A-3B), comprising:
one or more processors (paragraph [0069]; Kohnen discloses a processing unit (CPU or processor) 910); and
one or more computer-readable media having stored thereon executable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors configure the computer system (paragraph [0069]; Kohnen discloses a system bus 905 that couples various system components including the system memory 915, such as read only memory (ROM) 920 and random access memory (RAM) 925, to the processor 910)) to:
receive an indication, from a first user (Jane 102) at a first communication interface (virtual shared space 106), to share digital content with a second user (FIG. 1B; paragraphs [0025 - 0026]; Kohnen discloses that Jane 102 has shared or posted image 104 in virtual shared space 106 for mom 202 to view , wherein the digital content is contained within a digital file (paragraph [0050]; Kohnen discloses that an account can include a photos folder that is intended for photos and that provides specific attributes and actions tailored for photos; an audio folder that provides the ability to play back audio files and perform other audio related actions);
transmit a copy of the digital file to the second user, wherein the digital content within the copy of the digital file is displayed or played to the second user within a second communication interface (FIG. 2B; paragraphs [0026], [0039]; Kohnen discloses that each computing device, in this example, of the
personalized account can include a client-side application that communicates with the CMS to synchronize a copy of each respective content item stored locally on each computing device with the universal copy of a respective content item stored with the CMS. Users can then later access these content items and/or share them with other users by sending a share link to a respective content item that can be generated by the CMS, for example);
receive a synchronization command from the first user (paragraph [0039]; Kohnen discloses that each computing device, in this example, of the personalized account can include a client-side application that communicates with the CMS to synchronize a copy of each respective content item stored locally on each computing device with the universal copy of a respective content item stored with the CMS); and
in response to the synchronization command, cause the second communication interface to mirror a first user's view of the digital content (paragraphs [0040], [0043; Kohnen discloses that the link, in one example, is associated with a screen image mirror enabling each of the first and the second user to view the images of the slideshow and associated actions on each device 710. Further, the link can also be associated with establishing an audio connection between the first and second computing device).
Kohnen discloses all the limitations, but fails to specifically disclose wherein the synchronization command includes mapping data for multiple independently- executable assets.
GEORGENYI, in an analogous art, discloses that wherein the synchronization command includes mapping data for multiple independently- executable assets (paragraphs [0037], [0052], [0054], [0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kohnen showing that synchronization command includes mapping data for multiple independently-executable assets as evidenced by GEORGENYI for the purpose of providing the same viewing settings used by the first user on the second user’s device, thereby synchronizing the display to look the same on both devices.
Regarding claim 2, Kohnen discloses the computer system as recited in claim 1, further comprising executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
cause the digital content to be visually displayed to the second user through the second communication interface (paragraph [0026]; Kohnen discloses that FIG. 1B shows computing device 100 displaying image 104 through virtual shared space 106 which Jane 102 shares with her mother in accordance with at least one embodiment), wherein the second communication interface is configured to cause the digital content to respond to commands received from the second user (paragraph [0025]; Kohnen discloses that FIG. 1B shows computing device 100 displaying image 104 through virtual shared space 106 which Jane 102 shares with her mother in accordance with at least one embodiment).
Regarding claim 3, Kohnen and GEORGENYI disclose the computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein the executable instructions for receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
receive from the first user a scroll offset indicating the scroll offset of the first user's view of the digital content (paragraphs [0037], [0052], [0059], [0064]; GEORGENYI discloses that the host computer may receive information regarding the current zoom level of the current page, along with the horizontal and vertical scroll positions (e.g., “offsets”) of the page). Same motivation as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Kohnen and GEORGENYI disclose the computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein the executable instructions for causing the second communication interface to mirror the first user’s view of the digital content (Kohnen: paragraph [0082]) further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
convert the scroll offset to a normalized scroll offset based upon a predetermined page length of the digital content; communicate the normalized scroll offset to the second user; and
cause the second communication interface to move from a current view of the digital content to the normalized scroll offset, wherein the scroll offset is tracked on a per-pixel basis of the firs user’view.
(fig. 1; paragraphs [0037], [0050], [0052], [0059], and [0064]). Same motivation as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Kohnen and GEORGENYI disclose the computer system as recited in claim 3, wherein the executable instructions for receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to:
receive from the first user a zoom offset indicating the zoom offset of the first user's view of the digital content (GEORGENYI: fig. 1; paragraphs [0037], [0050], [0052], [0059], and [0064]; GEORGENYI discloses that the target computer receives information regarding, e.g., changes in the Zoom level and scroll offsets to the page being rendered on a display of the host computer, so that annotations can be properly synchronized to the target computer). Same motivation as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Kohnen and GEORGENYI disclose the computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein prior to receiving the synchronization command from the first user, the second user is allowed to interact with the digital content without constraint from the first user (paragraphs [0054 – 0055], [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Kohnen and GEORGENYI disclose the computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein after receiving the synchronization command from the first user, the second user is only able to interact with a mirror of the first user’s view of the digital content (paragraphs [0039], [0043]).
Regarding claim 10, Kohnen and GEORGENYI disclose the computer system as recited in claim 1, wherein the digital content comprises an audio file (paragraphs [0043], [0050]).
Claims 6 – 7 and 16 - 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohnen et al (US 2015/0326620; hereinafter Kohnen) in view of GEORGENYI et al (US 2019/0289070; hereinafter GEORGENYI), and further in view of HUANG et al (US 2019/0236547; hereinafter HUANG).
Regarding claim 6, Kohnen and GEORGENYI disclose all the limitations in claim 1, but fails to specifically disclose that the executable instructions for receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to: receive from the first user a scrub position indicating a time stamp of the first user’s view of the digital content.
HUANG, in an analogous art, discloses that the executable instructions for receiving a synchronization command from the first user further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to: receive from the first user a scrub position indicating a time stamp of the first user’s view of the digital content (figs. 1 – 3; paragraphs [0023 - 0024], [0042 - 0043], [0047], [0061]; HUANG discloses that playback timeline service 252 initializes and maintains a value for the parameter, Current Timeline Time, which represents the point in time in the timeline that is currently being presented. Playback timeline service 252 synchronizes Current Timeline Time with both the activity timeline as the user scrolls (moves the timeline) forward or backward in time; and with Current Playback Time as the user plays, pauses, fast forwards, reverses or repositions the recorded session video file).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Kohnen and GEORGENYI by receiving from the first user a scrub position indicating a time stamp of the first user’s view of the digital content as evidenced by HUANG for the purpose of viewing the video at the same time, thereby allowing for collaboration with multiple users in real-time.
Regarding claim 7, Kohnen and HUANG disclose the computer system as recited in claim 6, wherein the executable instructions for causing the second communication interface to mirror the first user’s view of the digital content further comprise executable instructions that when executed cause the computer system to: communicate the scrub position to the second user; and cause the second communication interface to move from a current position of the digital content to the scrub position (HUANG: paragraphs: [0023], [0042], [0046 – 0047], [0061]). Same motivation as in claim 6.
Claims 11 – 12 and 14 - 20 incorporate substantively all the limitations of claims 1 – 2 and 4 - 10 in method and computer product form rather than system form. The reasons for rejecting claims 1 – 2 and 4 - 10 apply in claims 11 – 12 and 14 - 20. Therefore, claims 11 – 12 and 14 – 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Contact Information
/YVES DALENCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457