DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The “Related Application Information” needs to be updated to include any “patent Numbers” for the allowed related patent applications.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUHLENFELD (US 2017273365 A1) in view of TORRES (US 2013 0203319 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Muhlenfeld discloses an adaptive support garment 100 in figure 1, para. (0037), comprising:
a support structure, (102) and paras. (0036-0040) configured to wrap around a portion of anatomy of a wearer and apply a compression on the portion of anatomy, the support structure including a tubular support structure (102) and paras. (0036-0040) open along a region to form a first edge at 112 para (0036-0037, in figure 12) and a second edge and
a compression apparatus of laces (134, 136) in fig. 12, to bring the first edge(at 124B, 122B,126B) and the second edge (at 122A,124A,126A) together.
However, Muhlenfeld does not disclose the support garment as including an adaptive engine coupled to the support structure and engaged with the compression apparatus wherein the adaptive engine is configured to increase or decrease tension on the compression apparatus to increase or decrease compression of the support structure on the portion of anatomy, respectively.
Torres discloses a support garment with a lace 240 ( in Torres, at para. (0038) one on each of the left and right sides of the garment) and that extends throughout the garment to adjust and tighten the garment and lace about the wearer for increased compression and that further includes an adaptive engine that tightens the lace as desired to increase and decrease the compression and tension of the lace about the wearer in use. (See Torres para. (0037 and figure 1). The tension adjusting tension or adaptive engine 110 is on the outside of the Torres bra 100 on the frontal center girth portion of the bra as in figure 1. The device includes a ratcheted spool of wire 130 with an adjusting dial 120 and the device is known as a BOA #L3. The device lifts and pulls on the shoulder straps that begin at the breasts and lift the breasts when adjusted.
Accordingly it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a t the time of the invention to modify the compressive adjustment of the bra of Muhlenfeld to further tighten the Muhlenfeld straps to compress the bra around the wearer in use and to do so with the Torres device used above.
In regard to claim 2, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment 100 as in fig. 1, para. (0037) as clamed in claim 1, and further wherein the compression apparatus (lace 134,136 as seen in figure 12 of Torres)forms a crisscross pattern over the region.
In regard to claim 3, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) as claimed in claim 2 and further wherein the crisscross pattern(lace 134, 136 in figure 12 , extends across a separation (at 112 in figure 12) between the first edge and the second edge along the region
In regard to claim 4, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) of claim 1 and Torres further discloses the adaptive engine as being disposed in a center of the support structure as seen in figure 1 at 120 of Torres.
In regard to claim 5, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment (100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) of claim 4 wherein the compression apparatus, lace , extends above and below the front central bottom- hem location of the garment that is the same location as the engine of Torres adaptive engine 120 in figure 1 and along a longitudinal axis of the support structure.
In regard to claim 6, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive garment (100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) of claim 1 and further wherein the Torres compression apparatus, lace in figure 1 , extends from opposing sides of the adaptive engine 120 in figure 1.
In regard to claim 7, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) of claim 6 and wherein the adaptive engine 120 in figure 1, of Torres includes a spool as in para. (0037 of figure 1)l configured to take up the compression apparatus (lace, 134,136)that is configured to exit the spool on the opposing sides of the spool.
In regard to claim 10 Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment (100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) of claim 1 and further wherein the compression apparatus forms a split helix pattern as seen in figure 1 of Muhlenfeld.
In regard to claim 11, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) as claimed in claim 10 and further wherein the split helix pattern is formed along a medial section of an inferior portion of the support structure and along a lateral section of the super portion of the support structure as seen in figure 1 of Muhlendfeld.
In regard to claim 12, Muhlenfeld discloses an adaptive support garment (100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037)comprising a support structure ( garment, ) configured to wrap around a portion (the torso as in figure 1) of anatomy of a wearer and apply a compression on the portion of anatomy; a compression apparatus (laces,134,136 in figure 1)forming a criss cross pattern 134,136 over a region of the support structure as seen in figure of Muhlenfeld.
However, Muhlenfeld does not specifically disclose an adaptive engine(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) coupled to the support structure and engaged with the compression apparatus(laces 134,136 in fig. 1) and wherein the adaptive engine is configured to increase or decrease tension on the compression apparatus to increase or decrease compression of the support structure on the portion of anatomy, respectively.
Torres discloses a support garment with a lace 240 ( one on each of the left and right sides of the garment) and that extends throughout the garment to adjust and tighten the garment and lace about the wearer for increased compression and that further includes an adaptive engine that tightens the lace as desired to increase and decrease the compression and tension of the lace about the wearer in use. (See Torres para. (0037 and figure 1). The tension adjusting tension or adaptive engine 110 is on the outside of the Torres bra 100 on the frontal center girth portion of the bra as in figure 1. The device includes a ratcheted spool of wire 130 with an adjusting dial 120 and the device is known as a BOA #L3. The device lifts and pulls on the shoulder straps that begin at the breasts and lift the breasts when adjusted.
Accordingly it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a t the time of the invention to modify the compressive adjustment of the bra of Muhlenfeld to further tighten the Muhlenfeld straps to compress the bra around the wearer in use.
In regard to claim 13, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) as claimed in claim 12 and further wherein the support structure comprises a first edge and a second edge drawn together to form a tubular support structure, and wherein the criss cross pattern (134,136 in fig.12)extends across a separation(at 112 in fig. 12, between the first edge and the second edge along the region at left and right side of the medial line 112 in figure 12.
In regard to claim 14, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment (100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037)as claimed in claim 1 2 and Torres further discloses the adaptive engine 120 in figure 1 that is positioned within the region of the support structure bra as previously discussed above.
In regard toc alim 15, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support apparatus(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) as claimed in claim 14 and further wherein the adaptive engine 120 in figure 1 of Torres is positioned over a center of the region of the support structure.
In regard to claim 16, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) as claimed in claim 15 and Torres further discloses the compression apparatus, lace 134,136 in figure Para. (0037) of Torres that extends from opposing sides of the adaptive engine 120.
In regard to claim 17 Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) as claimed in clam 16 and further wherein the compression apparatus of Muhlenfeld forms a criss cross pattern (134,136 in fig. 12) across the region of the support structure above and below the adaptive engine location of the front center of the garment - as it is located in Torres 120 in figure 1 of Torres.
In regard to claim 18 Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) of claim 12 and further wherein the compression apparatus includes a first compression apparatus (lace ) and a second compression apparatus (lace ) separate from the first compression apparatus as in figure 1 of Muhlenfeld.
In regard to claim 19, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment(100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037) as claimed in claim 18 and wherein the first compression apparatus forms a first zone extending proximally form a proximal side of the adaptive engine and the second compression apparatus forms a second lacing zone extending distally from a distal side of the adaptive engine.
However, Muhlenfeld does not disclose the adaptive engine tightening apparatus. Torres discloses the use of an adaptive engine as discussed above in regard toc alim 1 on page 4 above.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to on e having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the bra of Muhlenfeld with the teaching of Torres to include an adaptive engine 120 in figure 1 of Torres to easily tighten and un tighten the laces as desired to increase the compression of the tubular bra about the wearer as desired when worn to provide additional support and comfort to the wearer of the bra in use.
In regard to claim 20, Muhlenfeld discloses the adaptive support garment (100 in figure 1 and para,. (0037)of claim 19, and further wherein the second compression apparatus is routed from a distal end of the adaptive support garment along a perimeter of the support structure to a proximal end.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11825886. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant is claiming the same support garment structure with the tubular structure, compression apparatus that brings a first and second edge together and an adaptive engine coupled to the support structure and engaged with the compression apparatus of the lace to increase or decrease the tension on the compression apparatus as in claim 1 and wherein the support garment further includes the crisscross pattern over the support structure as in claim 12. Claims 2-11 are rejected since they depend from claim 1 and claims 13-20 are rejected because they depend from claim 12 .
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and with the filing of the proper Terminal Disclaimer as outlined above.
None of the cited references alone or in combination disclose the support structure as further including the zipper structure as claimed in claims 8 and 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GLORIA M HALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732