DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 USC 119 (a)-(d) to application KR10-2024-0029769 filed 02/29/2024. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. As such, the effective filing date of the application is 02/29/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa et al. (US 20210188378 A1), hereinafter Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa discloses:
A mobile robot comprising:
a body; a pair of front drive wheels at a front portion of the body; a pair of rear drive wheels at a rear portion of the body; four auxiliary wheels on a lower surface of the body (see at least Fig. 1 and Fig. 2);
a front wheel switching device comprising a front linear actuator disposed at an upper portion of the body; and a rear wheel switching device comprising a rear linear actuator disposed at a lower portion of the body (see at least [0117]: “In an alternatively possible state of the two wheel driving mode, the relation between the drive wheels 8 and the auxiliary wheels 3 is reversed in the vehicle body front/rear direction. Namely, as shown in FIG. 11, the drive wheels 8 disposed on vehicle body front/rear one side are placed in contact with the ground surface and the auxiliary wheels 3 corresponding thereto are lifted afloat the ground surface, and the drive wheels 8 disposed on the other vehicle body front/rear side are set afloat and the auxiliary wheels 3 corresponding thereto are placed in contact with the ground surface.”)
wherein the front wheel switching device and the rear wheel switching device are configured to switch the pair of front drive wheels and the pair of rear drive wheels between a four-wheel mode and a two-wheel mode (See at least [0119]: “In the four-wheel traveling state described above, all of the four sets of drive wheels 8 are set under the traveling state; and in the two-wheel traveling state described above, two sets of drive wheels 8 on one vehicle body front/rear side of the four sets of drive wheels 8 are set to the traveling state and the auxiliary wheels 3 on the other side are placed in contact with the ground surface for the free movement condition.”)
wherein, in the four-wheel mode, the pair of front drive wheels and the pair of rear drive wheels are in contact with a moving surface, and the four auxiliary wheels are spaced apart from the moving surface (see at least [0116]: “In the case of traveling on a flat ground surface, as shown in FIGS. 9, 10 and 11, traveling is possible in any one of a plurality of different kinds of traveling modes. Namely, as shown in FIG. 9, a four-wheel traveling mode is possible in which all of the four traveling devices 2 (specifically the drive wheels 8) are placed in contact with the ground surface and also all of the four auxiliary wheels 3 are lifted afloat off the ground surface”)
and wherein, in the two-wheel mode, the pair of front drive wheels are spaced apart from the moving surface, the pair of rear drive wheels are in a center of the body, and the pair of rear drive wheels and the four auxiliary wheels are in contact with the moving surface (See at least [0116]: “and, as shown in FIG. 10, a two-wheel traveling mode is possible in which the drive wheels 8 disposed on one vehicle body front/rear direction side are set afloat and the auxiliary wheels 3 corresponding thereto are placed in contact with the ground surface, and also the drive wheels 8 disposed on the other vehicle body front/rear direction side are placed in contact with the ground surface and the auxiliary wheels 3 corresponding thereto are set afloat.”)
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the front wheel switching device is configured to move the pair of front drive wheels up and down with respect to the body; and wherein the rear wheel switching device is configured to move the pair of rear drive wheels forward and backward with respect to the body (see at least figures 9-16, which depict the wheels in a variety of configurations.)
Regarding claim 3, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 2, wherein the front linear actuator is configured to move the pair of front drive wheels up and down (see at least [0022]: “With the present invention described above, to the vehicle body, a plurality of traveling devices are supported via the respective bending link mechanisms to be pivotally lifted up/down independently. As the bending link mechanisms have their postures changed by the plurality of hydraulic cylinders, the height (relative height) of each one of the plurality of traveling devices relative to the vehicle body can be changed. Namely, the relative heights of the traveling devices provided on the front and rear sides on the right and left opposed sides of the vehicle body can be changed.”)
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 3, wherein the front wheel switching device further comprises: an upper arm comprising a first end connected to the front linear actuator and a second end connected to the pair of front drive wheels; and a lower arm comprising a first end connected to the lower portion of the body and a second end connected to the pair of front drive wheels (see at least Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 4, wherein the front linear actuator comprises:
a front motor; a front screw configured to be rotated by the front motor; and a front nut that is screw-coupled to the front screw and to which the first end of the upper arm is connected, and wherein rotation of the front motor causes the first end of the upper arm to move linearly along the front screw (see at least Fig. 4.)
Regarding claim 8, Ishikawa discloses: The mobile robot of claim 2, wherein the rear linear actuator is configured to move the pair of rear drive wheels forward and backward with respect to the body (see at least Fig. 4, and figures 9-16.)
Regarding claim 9, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 8, wherein the body comprises: an upper support plate; a lower support plate below the upper support plate; and an inclined block on an upper surface of the lower support plate, the inclined block including an inclined surface, and wherein the rear linear actuator is on the inclined surface of the inclined block (see at least Fig. 1.)
Regarding claim 10, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 8, wherein the rear wheel switching device further comprises a support bar comprising a first end connected to the rear linear actuator and a second end connected to the pair of rear drive wheels (see at least Fig. 1.)
Regarding claim 11, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 10, wherein the rear linear actuator comprises: a rear motor; a rear screw configured to be rotated by the rear motor; and a rear nut which is screw-coupled to the rear screw and is connected to the support bar, and wherein rotation of the rear motor causes the support bar to move linearly along the rear screw (see at least Figures 1, 3, and 4.)
Regarding claim 12, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 8, wherein the rear wheel switching device further comprises: a fixed plate on the rear linear actuator; a movable plate parallel to the fixed plate and spaced apart from the fixed plate by a certain distance, wherein the pair of rear drive wheels are on the moveable plate; an upper link comprising a first end rotatably attached to the fixed plate and a second end rotatably attached to the movable plate; a lower link below the upper link, the lower link comprising a first end rotatably attached to the fixed plate and a second end rotatably attached to the movable plate; and a coil spring between the upper link and the lower link (see at least figures 1, 3, 7 and 8.)
Regarding claim 13, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 8, wherein the rear wheel switching device comprises: a fixed plate on the rear linear actuator; a movable plate parallel to the fixed plate and spaced apart from the fixed plate by a certain distance, wherein one of the pair of rear drive wheels is on the moveable plate; and a suspension between the movable plate and the fixed plate (see at least figures 1, 3, 7 and 8.)
Regarding claim 14, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 1, wherein each of the pair of front drive wheels and each of the pair of rear drive wheels comprises an in-wheel motor (see at least Fig. 1 and [0134]: “In the foregoing embodiment, each traveling device 2 is driven by the hydraulic motor 9. In place of this arrangement, it is also possible to arrange e.g. such that power of an engine mounted on the vehicle is supplied to the drive wheel 8 via a mechanical power transmission mechanism such as a chain transmission mechanism.”)
Regarding claim 16, Ishikawa discloses:
A mobile robot comprising: a body; a pair of front drive wheels at a front portion of the body;4 a pair of rear drive wheels at a rear portion of the body; a plurality of auxiliary wheels on a lower surface of the body (see at least [0117]: “In an alternatively possible state of the two wheel driving mode, the relation between the drive wheels 8 and the auxiliary wheels 3 is reversed in the vehicle body front/rear direction. Namely, as shown in FIG. 11, the drive wheels 8 disposed on vehicle body front/rear one side are placed in contact with the ground surface and the auxiliary wheels 3 corresponding thereto are lifted afloat the ground surface, and the drive wheels 8 disposed on the other vehicle body front/rear side are set afloat and the auxiliary wheels 3 corresponding thereto are placed in contact with the ground surface.”)
a front wheel switching device comprising:
a front motor; a front screw configured to be rotated by the front motor; a front nut that is screw-coupled to the front screw; an upper arm comprising a first end connected to the front nut and a second end connected to the pair of front drive wheels; and a lower arm comprising a first end connected to a lower portion of the body and a second end connected to the pair of front drive wheels (see at least Figures 1-4. See further [0112]: “The traveling device 2 includes a rotation sensor S6 for detecting a rotational speed of the drive wheel 8. In operation, based on the rotational speed of the drive wheel 8 calculated by the rotation sensor S6, feeding of work oil to the hydraulic motor 9 will be controlled in such a manner that the rotational speed of the drive wheel 8 may become a target value.”)
and a rear wheel switching device comprising: a rear motor; a rear screw configured to be rotated by the rear motor; a rear nut which is screw-coupled to the rear screw; and a support bar connected to the rear nut and the pair of rear drive wheels, wherein rotation of the front motor causes the first end of the upper arm to move linearly along the front screw, and wherein rotation of the rear motor causes the support bar to move linearly along the rear screw (see at least Figures 1-4. See further [0112]: “The traveling device 2 includes a rotation sensor S6 for detecting a rotational speed of the drive wheel 8. In operation, based on the rotational speed of the drive wheel 8 calculated by the rotation sensor S6, feeding of work oil to the hydraulic motor 9 will be controlled in such a manner that the rotational speed of the drive wheel 8 may become a target value.”)
Regarding claim 17, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 16, wherein linear movement of the first end of the upper arm along the front screw causes the pair of front drive wheels to move up or down with respect to the body, and wherein linear movement of the support bar along the rear screw causes the pair of rear drive wheels to move up and forward, or down and backward, with respect to the body (see at least figures 9-16, which depict the wheels in a variety of configurations. See further [0022]: “With the present invention described above, to the vehicle body, a plurality of traveling devices are supported via the respective bending link mechanisms to be pivotally lifted up/down independently. As the bending link mechanisms have their postures changed by the plurality of hydraulic cylinders, the height (relative height) of each one of the plurality of traveling devices relative to the vehicle body can be changed. Namely, the relative heights of the traveling devices provided on the front and rear sides on the right and left opposed sides of the vehicle body can be changed.”)
Regarding claim 19, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 16, wherein the body comprises: an upper support plate; a lower support plate below the upper support plate; and an inclined block on an upper surface of the lower support plate, the inclined block including an inclined surface, and wherein the rear screw is on the inclined surface of the inclined block (see at least Fig. 1.)
Regarding claim 20, Ishikawa discloses:
A mobile robot comprising:
a body; a pair of front drive wheels at a front portion of the body; a pair of rear drive wheels at a rear portion of the body; a plurality of auxiliary wheels on a lower surface of the body (see at least [0117]: “In an alternatively possible state of the two wheel driving mode, the relation between the drive wheels 8 and the auxiliary wheels 3 is reversed in the vehicle body front/rear direction. Namely, as shown in FIG. 11, the drive wheels 8 disposed on vehicle body front/rear one side are placed in contact with the ground surface and the auxiliary wheels 3 corresponding thereto are lifted afloat the ground surface, and the drive wheels 8 disposed on the other vehicle body front/rear side are set afloat and the auxiliary wheels 3 corresponding thereto are placed in contact with the ground surface.”)
a front wheel switching device comprising: a front motor; a front screw configured to be rotated by the front motor; a front nut that is screw-coupled to the front screw; an upper arm comprising a first end connected to the front nut and a second end connected to the pair of front drive wheels; and a lower arm comprising a first end connected to a lower portion of the body and a second end connected to the pair of front drive wheels; and a rear wheel switching device comprising: a rear motor; a rear screw configured to be rotated by the rear motor; a rear nut which is screw-coupled to the rear screw; and a support bar connected to the rear nut and the pair of rear drive wheels (see at least Figures 1-4. See further [0112]: “The traveling device 2 includes a rotation sensor S6 for detecting a rotational speed of the drive wheel 8. In operation, based on the rotational speed of the drive wheel 8 calculated by the rotation sensor S6, feeding of work oil to the hydraulic motor 9 will be controlled in such a manner that the rotational speed of the drive wheel 8 may become a target value.”)
memory storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions (see at least Fig. 26, control device 117. See further [0147]: “Inside the vehicle body 1, there is provided a control device 117 for controlling operations of the work oil feeding device 107. The control operations by the control device 117 will not be detailed herein. Briefly, however, based on instruction information inputted via an unillustrated manual input device (e.g. a remote controller, etc.) or based on instruction information set and stored in advance, the work oil feeding states by the first hydraulic control section 115 to the plurality of hydraulic motors 109 are controlled and also the work oil feeding states by the second hydraulic control section 116 to the plurality of hydraulic cylinders 105, 106 are controlled. By operations of the hydraulic cylinders 105, 106, the respective postures of the plurality of bending link mechanisms 104 can be changed.”)
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the mobile robot to:
cause the front nut to move linearly along the front screw by controlling the front motor to rotate the front screw, wherein linear movement of the front nut causes the pair of front drive wheels to move up or down with respect to the body, and cause the support bar to move linearly along the rear screw by controlling the rear motor to rotate the rear screw, wherein linear movement of the rear nut along the rear screw causes the pair of rear drive wheels to up and forward, or down and backward, with respect to the body, and wherein, when the pair of front drive wheels move upward with respect to the body, and the pair of rear drive wheels move up and forward with respect to the body, the plurality of auxiliary wheels make contact with a surface in contact with the pair of rear drive wheels (see at least figures 1-4, and 9-16, which depict the wheels in a variety of configurations. See further [0022]: “With the present invention described above, to the vehicle body, a plurality of traveling devices are supported via the respective bending link mechanisms to be pivotally lifted up/down independently. As the bending link mechanisms have their postures changed by the plurality of hydraulic cylinders, the height (relative height) of each one of the plurality of traveling devices relative to the vehicle body can be changed. Namely, the relative heights of the traveling devices provided on the front and rear sides on the right and left opposed sides of the vehicle body can be changed.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa in view of Strong (US 20060254840 A1), hereinafter Strong.
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa discloses:
The mobile robot of claim 4.
Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose, but Strong, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches wherein the upper arm comprises a suspension (see at least [0144]: “Given the adjustable axle assembly 86A as configured, the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R are rotatably suspended from the two swing arms 110L and 110R proximate the distal ends 114L and 114R thereof. As particularly illustrated in FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 6A, and 6B, suspension of the pair of rear drive wheels 56L and 56R from the pair of swing arms 110L and 110R is particularly achieved with both a pair of short suspension arms 130L and 130R and also a pair of strut assemblies 168L and 168R. The suspension arms 130L and 130R themselves have, first of all, first ends pivotally fastened at pivot points 128L and 128R to the swing arms 110L and 110R proximate the distal ends 114L and 114R thereof.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Ishikawa with the suspension system of Strong. This is because as stated by Strong: “Given such a suspension configuration, the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R themselves are particularly rotatably mounted to the middle sections of the two suspension arms 130L and 130R by means of a pair of hub-and-bearing assemblies 170L and 170R as particularly illustrated in FIGS. 1A through 3 and 5 through 6B. In this way, the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R are thereby ultimately rotatably mounted on the ends of the adjustable axle assembly 86A such that the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R are aligned substantially in parallel and are in mechanical, hydraulic, and/or electrical communication with a power source (not shown) mounted to the frame 22.”
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ishikawa and Strong teaches the mobile robot of claim 6.
Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose, but Strong, in analogous field of endeavor teaches wherein the suspension comprises a coil spring and a shock absorber (see at least [0144]: “Given the adjustable axle assembly 86A as configured, the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R are rotatably suspended from the two swing arms 110L and 110R proximate the distal ends 114L and 114R thereof. As particularly illustrated in FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 6A, and 6B, suspension of the pair of rear drive wheels 56L and 56R from the pair of swing arms 110L and 110R is particularly achieved with both a pair of short suspension arms 130L and 130R and also a pair of strut assemblies 168L and 168R. The suspension arms 130L and 130R themselves have, first of all, first ends pivotally fastened at pivot points 128L and 128R to the swing arms 110L and 110R proximate the distal ends 114L and 114R thereof. In addition, the suspension arms 130L and 130R also have second ends indirectly connected to the swings arms 110L and 110R proximate the pivotal ends 112L and 112R thereof via the strut assemblies 168L and 168R. The two strut assemblies 168L and 168R themselves, in turn, include both coil springs 164L and 164R and also shock absorbers (or dampers) 166L and 166R.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Ishikawa with the suspension system of Strong. This is because as stated by Strong: “Given such a suspension configuration, the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R themselves are particularly rotatably mounted to the middle sections of the two suspension arms 130L and 130R by means of a pair of hub-and-bearing assemblies 170L and 170R as particularly illustrated in FIGS. 1A through 3 and 5 through 6B. In this way, the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R are thereby ultimately rotatably mounted on the ends of the adjustable axle assembly 86A such that the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R are aligned substantially in parallel and are in mechanical, hydraulic, and/or electrical communication with a power source (not shown) mounted to the frame 22.”
Regarding claim 18, Ishikawa discloses the mobile robot of claim 16.
Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose, but Strong, in analogous field of endeavor teaches wherein the upper arm comprises a coil spring and a shock absorber (see at least [0144]: “Given the adjustable axle assembly 86A as configured, the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R are rotatably suspended from the two swing arms 110L and 110R proximate the distal ends 114L and 114R thereof. As particularly illustrated in FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 6A, and 6B, suspension of the pair of rear drive wheels 56L and 56R from the pair of swing arms 110L and 110R is particularly achieved with both a pair of short suspension arms 130L and 130R and also a pair of strut assemblies 168L and 168R. The suspension arms 130L and 130R themselves have, first of all, first ends pivotally fastened at pivot points 128L and 128R to the swing arms 110L and 110R proximate the distal ends 114L and 114R thereof. In addition, the suspension arms 130L and 130R also have second ends indirectly connected to the swings arms 110L and 110R proximate the pivotal ends 112L and 112R thereof via the strut assemblies 168L and 168R. The two strut assemblies 168L and 168R themselves, in turn, include both coil springs 164L and 164R and also shock absorbers (or dampers) 166L and 166R.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Ishikawa with the suspension system of Strong. This is because as stated by Strong: “Given such a suspension configuration, the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R themselves are particularly rotatably mounted to the middle sections of the two suspension arms 130L and 130R by means of a pair of hub-and-bearing assemblies 170L and 170R as particularly illustrated in FIGS. 1A through 3 and 5 through 6B. In this way, the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R are thereby ultimately rotatably mounted on the ends of the adjustable axle assembly 86A such that the two rear drive wheels 56L and 56R are aligned substantially in parallel and are in mechanical, hydraulic, and/or electrical communication with a power source (not shown) mounted to the frame 22.”
Claims 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa in view of Kamikawa et al. (US 20240294218 A1), hereinafter Kamikawa.
Regarding claim 15, Ishikawa discloses the mobile robot of claim 1.
Ishikawa does not explicitly disclose, but Kamikawa, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches wherein each of the four auxiliary wheels comprises an omni wheel (see at least [0036]: “A rear middle wheel 13HM is provided at a leading end of the rear middle leg 12HM. The rear middle wheel 13HM is a passive wheel (non-drive wheel) that passively rotates by a force applied from the outside, and is an omnidirectional wheel that can move in all directions.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Ishikawa with the omni wheel as taught by Kamikawa. This is because, as stated in Kamikawa [0006]: “The present technology has been achieved in view of such a situation, and an object thereof is to enable a mobile object performing multi-leg movement to move stably.”
Conclusion
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/E.R.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3658