DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 04/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 3-20 are presented.
Claims 1, 6, and 12 are presented in independent form and are amended.
Dependent claims 3-4, 9, 13, and 15-16 are amended.
The present Office action treats claims 1 and 3-20 on the merits.
The present Office action is a final rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s REMARKS of 04/13/2026 (see p. 8-13 of the reply) are fully considered.
Regarding Claim Objections (p. 8): Applicant’s arguments are fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically: upon further review of the present disclosure, the amended claims, and Applicant’s remarks (p. 8 lines 7-16), the claim objections raised in the previous Office action are overcome.
Regarding Double Patenting (p. 8-10): Applicant’s arguments are fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically: upon further review of the present disclosure, the amended claims, the Terminal Disclaimers filed 01/30/2026, and Applicant’s remarks (p. 8-10), the provisional double patenting rejections and the double patenting rejections raised in the previous Office action are withdrawn.
Regarding Claim Rejections Under 35 USC §112 (p. 10-11): Applicant’s arguments are fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically: upon further review of the present disclosure, the amended claims, and Applicant’s remarks (p. 10-11), the 35 USC 112 rejection of claim 4 is overcome.
Regarding Claim Rejections Under 35 USC §103 (p. 11-13): Applicant’s arguments are fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/30/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 12,317,957 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/30/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 12,514,325 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Lakic, US 5,846,063, cited by Applicant on the IDS of 10/03/2025].
Regarding claim 1:
Lakic discloses (Figs. 20 and 29):
A bladder component 10 (i.e. “inner sole 10”; col. 15 line 28) for an article of footwear, comprising:
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet 12 (i.e. “first sheet 12...thermoplastic...rubber”; col. 10 lines 27-43); and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet 14 (i.e. “second sheet 14...thermoplastic...rubber”; col. 10 lines 27-43) joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond 16, 214 (i.e. the combined “peripheral seam 16” (col. 15 line 39) and the “peripheral seam[s] 214” (col. 15 line 38) of each side flap 208, 210), wherein an interior chamber (the interior chamber defined by the outer perimeter bond; no specific numeral is provided therefor; portions thereof identified hereinbelow) is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms:
(i) a foot support chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – a below) for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot, wherein the foot support chamber portion includes a first side (see annotated Fig. 29 – a below) and a second side (see annotated Fig. 29 – a below) located opposite the first side, and
(ii) a first side chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – a below) forming at least part of a first footwear upper component (configured to be provided “over the instep” (col. 15 line 33) such that the portion forms at least part of a first footwear upper component configured to be provided over an instep of a wearer’s foot), wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from the first side of the foot support chamber portion (as in Fig. 29) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (via at least 216; col. 15 lines 39-42);
wherein the outer perimeter bond further is shaped such that the interior chamber forms a second side chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – a below) forming at least part of the first footwear upper component and/or a second footwear upper component (configured to be provided “over the instep” (col. 15 line 33) such that the portion forms at least part of the first footwear upper component configured to be provided over an instep of a wearer’s foot in conjunction with the first side chamber portion and/or a second footwear upper component that is configured to be provided over an instep of a wearer’s foot), wherein the second side chamber portion extends outward from the second side of the foot support chamber portion (as in Fig. 29) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (via at least 216; col. 15 lines 39-42).
Lakic Figs. 20 and 29 does not expressly disclose wherein the foot support chamber portion is received in a recess defined in a plantar support surface of a sole component and wherein the foot support chamber portion is engaged with the sole component.
However and in further view of Lakic:
Lakic Fig. 46 teaches a foot support chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 46 – b below) received in a recess 107 (i.e. “recess 107”; col. 18 line 30) defined in a plantar support surface (see annotated Fig. 46 – a below) of a sole component 85 (i.e. “outer sole 85”; col. 18 line 30) and wherein the foot support chamber portion is engaged with the sole component (col. 18 lines 30-42; Fig. 46).
Lakic teaches the sole component 85 is “provided with treads on its undersurface” and that the foot support chamber portion is “received within” the recess and “secured...attached” to the sole component (col. 18 lines 30-38).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the bladder component of Lakic Figs. 20 and 29 such that its foot support chamber portion is received in a recess defined in a plantar support surface of a sole component and wherein the foot support chamber portion is engaged with the sole component in order to seat the bladder component within the recess for the purpose of securing the bladder component thereto and further to provide a treaded surface under the bladder for the purpose of providing traction and/or bladder protection via the sole component.
Regarding claim 3:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Lakic as applied to claim 1 does not expressly disclose wherein the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another in a hardware free manner.
Lakic in describing the embodiment of Figs. 20 and 29 teaches releasable securement via hardware: “side flaps can be attached together, preferably by...bands 212 which carry...attachments 215 such as Velcro, at each of their ends” (col. 15 lines 33-35) and the bladder component is configured to be provided on “the inside of the uppers of the footwear” (col. 15 lines 43-44).
Nevertheless and in further view of Lakic:
Lakic Fig. 51 teaches a bladder component comprising a first side chamber portion 169 and a second side chamber portion 173 that are “substantially the same as flaps 164 of FIGS. 22 and 28 and 210 of FIG. 29” wherein no such hardware is provided (Fig. 51 does not show any releasable securement hardware, and Lakic in describing Fig. 51 (col. 19 lines 13-51) does not disclose any such releasable securement hardware.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Lakic such that the hardware 212, 215 is absent therefrom, and further such that the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber are brought into contact with each other such that the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another via mutual hardware-free contact with each other within an upper of an article of footwear such that the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another in a hardware free manner in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component that is more cost-effective and/or simpler to manufacture than a bladder component that comprises releasable-securement-hardware due to the absence of releasable-securement-hardware therefrom.
Regarding claim 4:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another (via 212 and 215 as described in col. 15 lines 31-37).
Regarding claim 5:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses further comprising a fabric layer 215 (i.e. “[]fabric...215”; col. 15 lines 34-35) engaged with (either directly or indirectly as being components of the same bladder component) the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Lakic, US 5,846,063, cited by Applicant on the IDS of 10/03/2025].
Regarding claim 6:
Lakic discloses (Figs. 20 and 29):
A bladder component 10 (i.e. “inner sole 10”; col. 15 line 28) for an article of footwear, comprising:
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet 12 (i.e. “first sheet 12...thermoplastic...rubber”; col. 10 lines 27-43); and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet 14 (i.e. “second sheet 14...thermoplastic...rubber”; col. 10 lines 27-43) joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond 16, 214 (i.e. the combined “peripheral seam 16” (col. 15 line 39) and the “peripheral seam[s] 214” (col. 15 line 38) of each side flap 208, 210), wherein an interior chamber (the interior chamber defined by the outer perimeter bond; no specific numeral is provided therefor; portions thereof identified hereinbelow) is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms:
(i) a foot support chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot,
(ii) a first side chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) forming at least part of a first securing strap 210 (i.e. “side flap 210”; col. 15 line 31), , wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from the first side (see annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) of the foot support chamber portion (as in Fig. 29) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (via at least 216; col. 15 lines 39-42);
(iii) a second side chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) forming at least part of a first strap-engaging member 208 (i.e. “flap 208”; col. 15 line 29), wherein the second side chamber portion extends outward from a second side (see annotated Fig. 29 – b presented in above treatment of claim 1) of the foot support chamber portion (as in Fig. 29) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (via at least 216; col. 15 lines 39-42), wherein the second side of the foot support chamber portion is opposite the first side of the foot support chamber portion (as in annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1), and wherein the first strap-engaging member is configured to releasably hold the first securing strap (via at least 212 and 215 as described in col. 15 lines 33-37).
Lakic Figs. 20 and 29 does not expressly disclose wherein the foot support chamber portion is received in a recess defined in a plantar support surface of a sole component and wherein the foot support chamber portion is engaged with the sole component.
However and in further view of Lakic:
Lakic Fig. 46 teaches a foot support chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 46 – b presented in above treatment of claim 1) received in a recess 107 (i.e. “recess 107”; col. 18 line 30) defined in a plantar support surface (see annotated Fig. 46 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) of a sole component 85 (i.e. “outer sole 85”; col. 18 line 30) and wherein the foot support chamber portion is engaged with the sole component (col. 18 lines 30-42; Fig. 46).
Lakic teaches the sole component 85 is “provided with treads on its undersurface” and that the foot support chamber portion is “received within” the recess and “secured...attached” to the sole component (col. 18 lines 30-38).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the bladder component of Lakic Figs. 20 and 29 such that its foot support chamber portion is received in a recess defined in a plantar support surface of a sole component and wherein the foot support chamber portion is engaged with the sole component in order to seat the bladder component within the recess for the purpose of securing the bladder component thereto and further to provide a treaded surface under the bladder for the purpose of providing traction and/or bladder protection via the sole component.
Regarding claim 7:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond includes a second bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – b below) separating the foot support chamber portion and the second side chamber portion at the second side of the foot support chamber portion.
Regarding claim 8:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond further defines an inflation port 216 (i.e. “opening 216 in the peripheral seam...whereby” elements 208 and 201 “are...inflated” (col. 15 lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 9:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 8, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein the inflation port 216 opens into the foot support chamber portion (col. 15 lines 39-42; Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 10:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses further comprising a fabric layer 215 (i.e. “[]fabric...215”; col. 15 lines 34-35) engaged with (either directly or indirectly as being components of the same bladder component) the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Regarding claim 11:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein the foot support chamber portion includes an outer sealed edge 16 as part of the outer perimeter bond, wherein the outer sealed edge includes a first side passageway 216 providing fluid communication with the first side chamber portion and a second side passageway 216 providing fluid communication with the second side chamber portion (col. 15 lines 37-42; Fig. 29), wherein the outer sealed edge appears to extend around at least 90% of an outer periphery of the foot support chamber portion (as in Fig. 29 wherein outer sealed edge 16 appears to extend around at least 90% of an outer periphery of the foot support chamber portion).
Lakic is not expressly to scale, and Lakic does not expressly disclose wherein the outer sealed edge extends around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Lakic such that the outer sealed edge extends around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion, as it appears to extend in Fig. 29, in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose side passageways permit fluid flow among and between chamber portions and wherein the outer sealed edge extends around the outer periphery in such a way and at such an extent as to provide substantial foot support via the areal extent of the foot support chamber portion afforded by providing the outer sealed edge extending around at least 90% of an outer periphery of the foot support chamber portion.
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Lakic, US 5,846,063, cited by Applicant on the IDS of 10/03/2025].
Regarding claim 12:
Lakic discloses (Figs. 20 and 29):
A bladder component 10 (i.e. “inner sole 10”; col. 15 line 28) for an article of footwear, comprising:
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet 12 (i.e. “first sheet 12...thermoplastic...rubber”; col. 10 lines 27-43); and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet 14 (i.e. “second sheet 14...thermoplastic...rubber”; col. 10 lines 27-43) joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond 16, 214 (i.e. the combined “peripheral seam 16” (col. 15 line 39) and the “peripheral seam[s] 214” (col. 15 line 38) of each side flap 208, 210), wherein an interior chamber (the interior chamber defined by the outer perimeter bond; no specific numeral is provided therefor; portions thereof identified hereinbelow) is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms:
(i) a foot support chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot,
(ii) a first side chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) forming at least part of a first securing strap 210 (i.e. “side flap 210”; col. 15 line 31), , wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from the first side (see annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) of the foot support chamber portion (as in Fig. 29) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (via at least 216; col. 15 lines 39-42);
(iii) a second side chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1), wherein the second side chamber portion extends outward from a second side (see annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) of the foot support chamber portion (as in Fig. 29) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (via at least 216; col. 15 lines 39-42), wherein the second side of the foot support chamber portion is opposite the first side of the foot support chamber portion (as in annotated Fig. 29 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1).
Lakic Figs. 20 and 29 does not expressly disclose wherein the foot support chamber portion is received in a recess defined in a plantar support surface of a sole component and wherein the foot support chamber portion is engaged with the sole component.
However and in further view of Lakic:
Lakic Fig. 46 teaches a foot support chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 46 – b presented in above treatment of claim 1) received in a recess 107 (i.e. “recess 107”; col. 18 line 30) defined in a plantar support surface (see annotated Fig. 46 – a presented in above treatment of claim 1) of a sole component 85 (i.e. “outer sole 85”; col. 18 line 30) and wherein the foot support chamber portion is engaged with the sole component (col. 18 lines 30-42; Fig. 46).
Lakic teaches the sole component 85 is “provided with treads on its undersurface” and that the foot support chamber portion is “received within” the recess and “secured...attached” to the sole component (col. 18 lines 30-38).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the bladder component of Lakic Figs. 20 and 29 such that its foot support chamber portion is received in a recess defined in a plantar support surface of a sole component and wherein the foot support chamber portion is engaged with the sole component in order to seat the bladder component within the recess for the purpose of securing the bladder component thereto and further to provide a treaded surface under the bladder for the purpose of providing traction and/or bladder protection via the sole component.
Regarding claim 13:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion includes a first connecting portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – c below) located adjacent the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein the first securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a first strap free end (see annotated Fig. 29 – c below), and wherein a second securing strap 208 extends from (when attached to first securing strap as described in col. 15 lines 32-37) the first connecting portion to a second strap free end (see annotated Fig. 29 – c below).
Regarding claim 14:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 13, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein: at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – d below), wherein a first opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – d below) extends through (col. 10 lines 58-60) the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment; and at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a second inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – d below), wherein a second opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – d below) extends through (col. 10 lines 58-60) the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment.
Regarding claim 15:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 13, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein: at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below), (b) a first opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below) extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below), and (d) a second opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below) extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening (as in annotated Fig. 29 – e below), and wherein a first fluid passage (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below) is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment; and at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a third inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below), (b) a third opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below) extending through the outer perimeter bond at the third inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a fourth inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below), and (d) a fourth opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below) extending through the outer perimeter bond at the fourth inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the third inwardly extending bond segment and the third opening extend toward the fourth inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth opening (as in annotated Fig. 29 – e below), and wherein a second fluid passage (see annotated Fig. 29 – e below) is defined within a second securing strap 208 between the third inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth inwardly extending bond segment.
Regarding claim 16:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond includes a first strap defining segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – f below) and a second strap defining segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – f below), wherein an opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – f below) separates the first strap defining segment from the second strap defining segment and separates the first securing strap from a second securing strap 208.
Regarding claim 17:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion includes a first connecting portion (see annotated Fig. 29 – c presented in above addressing of claim 13) located adjacent the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein the first securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a first strap free end (see annotated Fig. 29 – c presented in above addressing of claim 13).
Regarding claim 18:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – d presented in above addressing of claim 14), wherein a first opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – d presented in above addressing of claim 14) extends through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment.
Regarding claim 19:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – e presented in above treatment of claim 15), (b) a first opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – e presented in above treatment of claim 15) extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – e presented in above treatment of claim 15), and (d) a second opening (see annotated Fig. 29 – e presented in above treatment of claim 15) extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening (as in annotated Fig. 29 – e presented in above treatment of claim 15), and wherein a first fluid passage (see annotated Fig. 29 – e presented in above treatment of claim 15) is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment.
Regarding claim 20:
Lakic teaches The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Lakic further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond includes: (i) a first bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – g below) separating the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion at the first side of the foot support chamber portion, and (ii) a second bond segment (see annotated Fig. 29 – g below) separating the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion at the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein a first side fluid passageway (see annotated Fig. 29 – g below) extends between the first bond segment and the second bond segment to place the first side chamber portion in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRADY ALEXANDER NUNNERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3732