DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 13, 15, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 line 1: “The bladder component according to 8” should be --The bladder component according to claim 8--
Claim 13 line 4: “the second securing strap” should be --a second securing strap--
Claim 15 line 16: “the second securing strap” should be --a second securing strap--
Claim 16 line 4: “the second securing strap” should be --a second securing strap--
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/213,631 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 of the reference application discloses:
A bladder component for an article of footwear, comprising:
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet; and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond, wherein an interior chamber is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms:
(i) a foot support chamber portion for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot (lines 1-8),
wherein the foot support chamber portion includes a first side (line 11) and a second side (line 15) located opposite the first side (wherein a given portion including two sides includes one of two sides being opposite from the other), and
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming at least part of a first footwear upper component, wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from the first side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 2:
Claim 1 of the reference application discloses The bladder component of claim 1, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference application further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond further is shaped such that the interior chamber forms a second side chamber portion forming at least part of the first footwear upper component and/or a second footwear upper component, wherein the second side chamber portion extends outward from the second side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (lines 13-18).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/213,631 (reference application) in view of [Kraft, US 2015/0336328].
Regarding claim 5:
Claim 1 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
However, Kraft teaches providing a fabric layer engaged with a sheet of a bladder element (claim 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 1 bladder component such that it is further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose fabric layer is configured to strengthen and/or reinforce the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/213,631 (reference application) in view of [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963].
Regarding claim 6:
Claim 1 of the reference application discloses:
A bladder component for an article of footwear, comprising:
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet; and a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond, wherein an interior chamber is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms:
(i) a foot support chamber portion for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot,
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming at least part of a first securing strap, wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from a first side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion, and (claim 1 lines 1-12)
(iii) a second side chamber portion (claim 1 line 13) forming at least part of a first strap-engaging member (lines 14-15; i.e. the “second securing strap” wherein a securing strap is capable of engaging an unspecified strap such that it is a second securing strap as claimed), wherein the second side chamber portion extends outward from a second side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion, wherein the second side of the foot support chamber portion is opposite the first side of the foot support chamber portion (claim 1 lines 14-17),
Claim 1 of the reference application does not expressly disclose and wherein the first strap-engaging member is configured to releasably hold the first securing strap.
However, Griffiths teaches a bladder component 100 for footwear comprising first side chamber portion 301 comprising a strap engaging member 301 and second side chamber portion 302 comprising a first securing strap 302 wherein the first strap-engaging member 301 is configured to releasably hold (“detachable coupling”; para 34) the first securing strap 302.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 1 bladder component such that its first strap-engaging member is configured to releasably hold the first securing strap in order to yield the predicable result of a bladder whose first strap-engaging member and first securing strap are capable of securing the bladder around a foot of a wearer.
Claims 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/213,631 (reference application) and [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of [James, US 2021/0086434].
Regarding claim 8:
Claim 1 of the reference application in view of Griffiths teaches The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose wherein the outer perimeter bond further defines an inflation port.
However, James teaches a bladder (title; Abstract) for footwear (para 36; Fig. 24) wherein an outer perimeter (the outer perimeter enclosing interior cavity 66 of bladder 64A; Fig. 12; paras 63 and 80) is provided with an inflation port 63 wherein the inflation port 63 opens into (“allow inflation of...bladder”; para 63) a chamber portion 66 (para 63; para 80).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified claim 1 bladder component such that its outer perimeter bond further defines an inflation port and further wherein the inflation port opens into the foot support chamber portion in order to permit inflation of the foot support chamber portion via the inflation port, as taught by James (para 63).
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 1 of the reference application in view of Griffiths and James teaches The bladder component according to claim 8, as set forth above.
The modified claim 1 bladder component further meets the limitation wherein the inflation port opens into the foot support chamber portion (see above treatment of claim 8 where the limitation is addressed).
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/213,631 (reference application) and [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] as applied to claim 1 above in view of [Kraft, US 2015/0336328].
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 1 of the reference application in view of Griffiths teaches The bladder component according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference application does not expressly disclose further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
However, Kraft teaches providing a fabric layer engaged with a sheet of a bladder element (claim 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified claim 1 bladder component such that it is further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose fabric layer is configured to strengthen and/or reinforce the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/213,631 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 1 of the reference application discloses:
A bladder component for an article of footwear, comprising:
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet; and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond, wherein an interior chamber is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms:
(i) a foot support chamber portion for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot, and
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming at least part of a first securing strap, wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from a first side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (lines 1-12).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957 in view of [Bruno, US 2018/0263332].
Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 of the reference patent discloses:
A bladder component for an article of footwear (line 1), comprising:
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet (line 3); and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond, wherein an interior chamber is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms (lines 4-10):
(i) a foot support chamber portion for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot (lines 10-11), wherein the foot support chamber portion includes a first side (line 15) and a second side (line 20) located opposite the first side (lines 24-25), and
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming (line 13) at least part of a first footwear component (i.e. “securing strap”; line 14), wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from the first side of the foot support chamber portion (lines 15-16) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (lines 16-17).
Claim 1 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose:
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming at least part of a first footwear upper component
However, as set forth above, the first side chamber portion is forming at least part of a first footwear component (i.e. “securing strap”; line 14).
Bruno teaches a securing strap first footwear component is a first footwear upper component (claim 18).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 1 bladder component such that its first side chamber portion such that it is forming at least part of a first footwear upper component in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose first side chamber portion is configured to protect an upper part of a wearer’s foot.
Claim 2-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957 in view of [Bruno, US 2018/0263332].
Regarding claim 2:
Claim 1 of the reference patent discloses
A bladder component for an article of footwear (line 1), comprising:
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet (line 3); and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond, wherein an interior chamber is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms (lines 4-10):
(i) a foot support chamber portion for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot (lines 10-11), wherein the foot support chamber portion includes a first side (line 15) and a second side (line 20) located opposite the first side (lines 24-25), and
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming (line 13) at least part of a first footwear component (i.e. “securing strap”; line 14), wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from the first side of the foot support chamber portion (lines 15-16) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (lines 16-17).
wherein the outer perimeter bond further is shaped such that the interior chamber forms a second side chamber portion forming (line 18) at least part of a second footwear component (“a...strap-engaging member”; line 19), wherein the second side chamber portion extends outward from the second side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (lines 19-22).
Claim 1 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose:
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming at least part of a first footwear upper component
A second side chamber portion forming at least part of the first footwear upper component and/or a second footwear upper component
However, as set forth above, the first side chamber portion is forming at least part of a first footwear component (i.e. “securing strap”; line 14).
And the second side chamber portion is forming a at least part of a second footwear component (“a...strap-engaging member”; line 19)
Bruno teaches a securing strap first footwear component is a first footwear upper component (claim 18).
Bruno further teaches a strap-engaging footwear component 102V is a footwear upper component (para 27; Fig. 3A).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 1 bladder component such that its first side chamber portion such that it is forming at least part of a first footwear upper component and its second side chamber portion is forming at least part of a second footwear upper component in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose first side chamber portion and second side chamber portion are configured to protect an upper part of a wearer’s foot.
Regarding claim 3:
Claim 1 of the reference patent in view of Bruno teaches The bladder component according to claim 2, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference patent further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another in a hardware free manner (lines 25-27 and wherein no separate hardware components for releasably securing are claimed in claim 1 of the reference patent).
Regarding claim 4:
Claim 1 of the reference patent in view of Bruno teaches The bladder component according to claim 3, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference patent further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another (lines 25-27).
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957 in view of [Bruno, US 2018/0263332] as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of [Kraft, US 2015/0336328].
Regarding claim 5:
Claim 1 of the reference patent in view of Bruno teach The bladder component according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
However, Kraft teaches providing a fabric layer engaged with a sheet of a bladder element (claim 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified claim 1 bladder component such that it is further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose fabric layer is configured to strengthen and/or reinforce the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 6:
Claim 1 of the reference patent discloses:
A bladder component for an article of footwear, comprising (lines 1-2):
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet (line 3); and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond, wherein an interior chamber is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms (lines 4-10):
(i) a foot support chamber portion for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot (lines 11-12),
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming at least part of a first securing strap, wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from a first side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (lines 13-17), and
(iii) a second side chamber portion forming at least part of a first strap-engaging member, wherein the second side chamber portion extends outward from a second side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion, wherein the second side of the foot support chamber portion is opposite the first side of the foot support chamber portion, and wherein the first strap-engaging member is configured to releasably hold the first securing strap (lines 18-27).
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 7:
Claim 1 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Claim 7 of the reference patent is dependent upon claim 1 of the reference patent.
Claim 7 of the reference patent further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond includes a second bond segment (claim 7 line 2; i.e. the “third bond segment”) separating the foot support chamber portion and the second side chamber portion at the second side of the foot support chamber portion (claim 7 lines 3-6).
Claims 8-9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957 in view of [James, US 2021/0086434].
Regarding claim 8:
Claim 1 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose wherein the outer perimeter bond further defines an inflation port.
However, James teaches a bladder (title; Abstract) for footwear (para 36; Fig. 24) wherein an outer perimeter (the outer perimeter enclosing interior cavity 66 of bladder 64A; Fig. 12; paras 63 and 80) is provided with an inflation port 63 wherein the inflation port 63 opens into (“allow inflation of...bladder”; para 63) a chamber portion 66 (para 63; para 80).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 1 bladder component such that its outer perimeter bond further defines an inflation port and further wherein the inflation port opens into the foot support chamber portion in order to permit inflation of the foot support chamber portion via the inflation port, as taught by James (para 63).
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 1 of the reference patent in view of James teaches The bladder component according to claim 8, as set forth above.
The modified claim 1 bladder component further meets the limitation wherein the inflation port opens into the foot support chamber portion (see above treatment of claim 8 where the limitation is addressed).
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957 in view of [Kraft, US 2015/0336328]
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 1 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
However, Kraft teaches providing a fabric layer engaged with a sheet of a bladder element (claim 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 1 bladder component such that it is further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose fabric layer is configured to strengthen and/or reinforce the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957 in view of [Cohen, US 5,113,599]
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 1 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Claim 1 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose wherein the foot support chamber portion includes an outer sealed edge as part of the outer perimeter bond, wherein the outer sealed edge includes a first side passageway providing fluid communication with the first side chamber portion and a second side passageway providing fluid communication with the second side chamber portion, and wherein the outer sealed edge extends around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion.
However, Cohen teaches a bladder component for footwear (Abstract) wherein a foot support chamber portion 48 includes an outer sealed edge (defined by 36 around foot chamber support portion 48; Fig. 2) as part of an outer perimeter bond 36, wherein the outer sealed edge includes a first side passageway (between 48 and 50; Fig. 2) providing fluid communication with (col. 7 lines 34-36) a first side chamber portion 50 and a second side passageway (between 48 and 46) providing fluid communication with (col. 7 lines 34-36) a second side chamber portion 46.
Cohen is not expressly to scale, and Cohen does not expressly teach wherein the outer sealed edge extends around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion; however, looking to Fig. 2, Cohen appears to teach wherein the outer sealed edge extends around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion in that as drawn the area occupied by the outer sealed edge defined by 36 around foot chamber support portion 48 appears to be at least 90% of the outer periphery.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 1 bladder component such that the foot support chamber portion includes an outer sealed edge as part of the outer perimeter bond, wherein the outer sealed edge includes a first side passageway providing fluid communication with the first side chamber portion and a second side passageway providing fluid communication with the second side chamber portion, and wherein the outer sealed edge extends around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose side passageways permit fluid flow among and between chamber portions and wherein the outer sealed edge extends around the outer periphery in such a way and at such an extent as to provide substantial foot support via the areal extent of the foot support chamber portion afforded by providing the outer sealed edge extending around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion.
Claims 12 and 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 9 of the reference patent discloses:
A bladder component for an article of footwear, comprising (lines 1-2):
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet (line 3); and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond, wherein an interior chamber is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms (lines 4-10):
(i) a foot support chamber portion for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot (lines 11-12), and
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming at least part of a first securing strap, wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from a first side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (lines 13-17).
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 9 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Claim 9 of the reference patent further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion includes a first connecting portion located adjacent the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein the first securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a first strap free end (lines 28-32).
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 9 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Claim 9 of the reference patent further discloses wherein at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a first opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment (lines 33-37).
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim would have been obvious over the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 9 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Claim 9 of the reference patent further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion includes a first connecting portion located adjacent the first side of the foot support chamber portion (lines 28-30), wherein the first securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a first strap free end (lines 30-32),
Claim 9 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose and wherein the second securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a second strap free end.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 9 bladder component such that it is provided with a second securing strap, the second securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a second strap free end in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component that is capable of being secured by either or both of the first and second securing straps. It is noted that MPEP 2144 states and in relevant part “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim would have been obvious over the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 9 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component of claim 12, as set forth above.
Claim 9 of the reference patent further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion includes a first connecting portion located adjacent the first side of the foot support chamber portion (lines 28-30), wherein the first securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a first strap free end (lines 30-32),
Claim 9 of the reference patent further discloses:
wherein: at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment (lines 33-34), wherein a first opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment (lines 35-37).
Claim 9 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose and wherein the second securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a second strap free end; at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a second opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 9 bladder component such that it is provided with a second securing strap wherein the second securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a second strap free end; at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a second opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component that is capable of being secured by either or both of the first and second securing straps. It is noted that MPEP 2144 states and in relevant part “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim would have been obvious over the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 10 of the reference patent is dependent upon claim 9 of the reference patent, and Claim 9 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component of claim 12, as set forth above.
Claim 10 of the reference patent further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion includes a first connecting portion located adjacent the first side of the foot support chamber portion (claim 9; lines 28-30), wherein the first securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a first strap free end (claim 9; lines 30-32),
Claim 10 of the reference patent further discloses:
wherein:at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment (claim 9 lines 33-34), (b) a first opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment (claim 9 lines 35-37) (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment (claim 10 line 7), and (d) a second opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment (claim 10 lines 8-10), wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening, and wherein a first fluid passage is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment (claim 10 lines 11-15)
Claim 10 of the reference patent does not expressly disclose and wherein the second securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a second strap free end; and at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a third inwardly extending bond segment, (b) a third opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the third inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a fourth inwardly extending bond segment, and (d) a fourth opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the fourth inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the third inwardly extending bond segment and the third opening extend toward the fourth inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth opening, and wherein a second fluid passage is defined within the second securing strap between the third inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth inwardly extending bond segment.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the claim 10 bladder component such that it is provided with a second securing strap wherein the second securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a second strap free end; and at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a third inwardly extending bond segment, (b) a third opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the third inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a fourth inwardly extending bond segment, and (d) a fourth opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the fourth inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the third inwardly extending bond segment and the third opening extend toward the fourth inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth opening, and wherein a second fluid passage is defined within the second securing strap between the third inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth inwardly extending bond segment in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component that is capable of being secured by either or both of the first and second securing straps. It is noted that MPEP 2144 states and in relevant part “the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”.
Claims 12, 16, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5, and 6, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 1 of the reference patent discloses:
A bladder component for an article of footwear, comprising (lines 1-2):
a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet (line 3); and
a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet joined to the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet by an outer perimeter bond, wherein an interior chamber is defined between the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and the second thermoplastic elastomer sheet and inside of the outer perimeter bond, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms (lines 4-10):
(i) a foot support chamber portion for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot (lines 11-12), and
(ii) a first side chamber portion forming at least part of a first securing strap, wherein the first side chamber portion extends outward from a first side of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (lines 13-17).
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 5 of the reference patent discloses is dependent upon claim 1 of the reference patent, and claim 1 discloses The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Claim 5 of the reference patent further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond includes a first strap defining segment and a second strap defining segment, wherein an opening separates the first strap defining segment from the second strap defining segment and separates the first securing strap from the second securing strap (claim 5 lines 2-6).
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 6 of the reference patent discloses is dependent upon claim 1 of the reference patent, and claim 1 discloses The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Claim 6 of the reference patent further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond includes:(i) a first bond segment separating the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion at the first side of the foot support chamber portion, and (ii) a second bond segment separating the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion at the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein a first side fluid passageway extends between the first bond segment and the second bond segment to place the first side chamber portion in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (claim 6 lines 2-11).
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,957. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 10 of the reference patent is dependent upon claim 9 of the reference patent, and claim 9 of the reference patent discloses The bladder component according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Claim 10 of the reference patent further discloses wherein at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment (claim 9 lines 33-34), (b) a first opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment (claim 10 lines 5-6), (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment (claim 10 line 7), and (d) a second opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening, and wherein a first fluid passage is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment (claim 10 lines 8-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4, in reciting “wherein the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another” is not further limiting the subject matter of claim 3. It is noted that a given bladder component that meets the limitation “first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another in a hardware free manner” of claim 3 also meets the limitation “the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another” of claim 4.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] in view of [Watkins, US 2005/0048236].
Regarding claim 1:
Griffiths discloses (Figs. 1-5):
A bladder component 100 for an article of footwear, comprising:
a first plastic (para 29) sheet 101; and
a second plastic (para 29) sheet 102 joined to the first plastic sheet by an outer perimeter bond 103, wherein an interior chamber (the chamber between sheets 102 and 103 within which “fluid...air” is introduced; para 32) is defined between the first plastic sheet and the second plastic sheet and inside of (paras 29-31) the outer perimeter bond 103, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms:
(i) a foot support chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 1 – a below) for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot (“the underside of the wearer’s foot”; para 36), wherein the foot support chamber portion includes a first side (see annotated Fig. 1 – a below) and a second side (see annotated Fig. 1 – a below) located opposite the first side (Figs. 1-5), and
(ii) a first side chamber portion 301 forming at least part of a first footwear upper component 301, 302 (i.e. the first footwear upper component being the combined 301 and 302), wherein the first side chamber portion 301 extends outward from the first side of the foot support chamber portion (as in annotated Fig. 1 – a below) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (Figs. 1-5; paras 29-31).
Griffiths does not expressly disclose the first sheet is a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose the second sheet is a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
However and in further view of Griffiths: Griffiths discloses the sheets are plastic and are “polyurethane” (para 29). Griffiths is silent as to whether said polyurethane is a thermoplastic elastomer or not.
Watkins teaches plural layers of an inflatable bladder wherein sheet layers 28, 32, 34 each comprise thermoplastic elastomer (“thermoplastic elastomers of the urethane variety...referred to...as thermoplastic urethanes or...TPU”; paras 58-59; para 63). Watkins further teaches a layer of thermoplastic elastomer is capable of protecting an adjacent layer (para 63), is suited for providing “high quality welds” (para 63) and is “preferred because of” its “excellent processability” (para 59).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the bladder of Griffiths such that its first sheet is a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and its second sheet is a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet in order to afford the bladder component the capability of protecting a structure adjacent to each sheet, to allow for high quality welds, and/or to permit ease of processing, as taught by Watkins (paras 59 and 63).
Regarding claim 2:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Griffiths further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond further is shaped such that the interior chamber forms a second side chamber portion 302 forming at least part of the first footwear upper component (wherein the claimed first footwear upper component comprises 301 and 302 as set forth in above addressing of claim 1) and/or a second footwear upper component, wherein the second side chamber portion extends outward from the second side of the foot support chamber portion (Figs. 1-5 and as in annotated Fig. 1 – a presented in above addressing of claim 1) and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (Figs. 1-5; paras 29-31).
Regarding claim 3:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 2, as set forth above.
Griffiths further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured to one another (“detachable coupling”; para 34) in a hardware free manner (as provided for in the present specification, “the strap(s) will be releasably held by the strap- engaging member(s) in a "hardware free" manner” when “the strap-engaging member(s) may be integrally formed as part of the bladder component such that no separate hardware components are needed to releasably secure the strap(s)” (para 0023 as filed). In Griffiths, the first 301 and second 302 side chamber portions are each integrally formed as part of the bladder component, and no additional separate hardware components are needed to releasably secure first 301 and second 302 side portions; it is noted that each of magnets 305 is of either the first or second side portions; i.e. “magnets 305 a-c of one portion 301 couple with the magnets 305 a-c of the other portion 302”; para 38. In other words, first side chamber portion 301 comprises magnets 305; second side chamber portion 302 comprises other magnets 305, and each of first side chamber portion 301—with its magnets—and second side chamber portion 302—with its magnets—is integrally formed as part of the bladder component such that first side chamber portion 301 and second side chamber portion 302 are releasably secured to one another (“detachable coupling”; para 34) in a hardware free manner as claimed).
Regarding claim 4:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 3, as set forth above.
Griffiths further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion and the second side chamber portion are releasably secured (“detachable coupling”; para 34) to one another.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] and [Watkins, US 2005/0048236] as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of [Kraft, US 2015/0336328].
Regarding claim 5:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
However, Kraft teaches providing a fabric layer engaged with a sheet of a bladder element (claim 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that it is further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose fabric layer is configured to strengthen and/or reinforce the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] in view of [Watkins, US 2005/0048236].
Regarding claim 6:
Griffiths discloses (Figs. 1-5):
A bladder component 100 for an article of footwear, comprising:
a first plastic (para 29) sheet 101; and
a second plastic (para 29) sheet 102 joined to the first plastic sheet by an outer perimeter bond 103, wherein an interior chamber (the chamber between sheets 102 and 103 within which “fluid...air” is introduced; para 32) is defined between the first plastic sheet and the second thermoplastic plastic sheet and inside of (paras 29-31) the outer perimeter bond 103, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms:
(i) a foot support chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 1 – b below) for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot (“the underside of the wearer’s foot”; para 36),
(ii) a first side chamber portion 301 forming at least part of a first securing strap (see annotated Fig. 1 – b below), wherein the first side chamber portion 301 extends outward (Figs. 1-5 and as in annotated Fig. 1 – b below) from a first side (see annotated Fig. 1 – b below) of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (Figs. 1-5; paras 29-31), and
(iii) a second side chamber portion 302 forming at least part of a first strap-engaging member (see annotated Fig. 1 – b below), wherein the second side chamber portion 302 extends outward (Figs. 1-5 and as in annotated Fig. 1 – b below) from a second side (see annotated Fig. 1 – b below) of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (Figs. 1-5; paras 29-31), wherein the second side of the foot support chamber portion is opposite the first side of the foot support chamber portion (Figs. 1-5 and as in annotated Fig. 1 – b below), and wherein the first strap-engaging member is configured to releasably hold the first securing strap (“detachable coupling”; para 34).
Griffiths does not expressly disclose the first sheet is a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose the second sheet is a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
However and in further view of Griffiths: Griffiths discloses the sheets are plastic and are “polyurethane” (para 29). Griffiths is silent as to whether said polyurethane is a thermoplastic elastomer or not.
Watkins teaches plural layers of an inflatable bladder wherein sheet layers 28, 32, 34 each comprise thermoplastic elastomer (“thermoplastic elastomers of the urethane variety...referred to...as thermoplastic urethanes or...TPU”; paras 58-59; para 63). Watkins further teaches a layer of thermoplastic elastomer is capable of protecting an adjacent layer (para 63), is suited for providing “high quality welds” (para 63) and is “preferred because of” its “excellent processability” (para 59).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the bladder of Griffiths such that its first sheet is a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and its second sheet is a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet in order to afford the bladder component the capability of protecting a structure adjacent to each sheet, to allow for high quality welds, and/or to permit ease of processing, as taught by Watkins (paras 59 and 63).
Regarding claim 7:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Griffiths further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond includes a second bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1 – c below) separating the foot support chamber portion and the second side chamber portion at the second side of the foot support chamber portion (as in annotated Fig. 1 – c below).
Regarding claim 11:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Griffiths further discloses wherein the foot support chamber portion includes an outer sealed edge (see annotated Fig. 1 – e below) as part of the outer perimeter bond, wherein the outer sealed edge includes a first side passageway (see annotated Fig. 1 – e below) providing fluid communication with the first side chamber portion and a second side passageway (see annotated Fig. 1 – e below) providing fluid communication with the second side chamber portion, and wherein the outer sealed edge appears to extend around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion (as in annotated Fig. 1 – e below).
Griffiths is not expressly to scale, and Griffiths does not expressly teach wherein the outer sealed edge extends around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that the outer sealed edge extends around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion, as it appears to extend in Fig. 1, in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose side passageways permit fluid flow among and between chamber portions and wherein the outer sealed edge extends around the outer periphery in such a way and at such an extent as to provide substantial foot support via the areal extent of the foot support chamber portion afforded by providing the outer sealed edge extending around at least 90% of an outer periphery of foot support chamber portion.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] and [Watkins, US 2005/0048236] as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of [James, US 2021/0086434].
Regarding claim 8:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
In Griffiths, an inflation port 206 is provided, albeit not in such a way that the outer perimeter bond defines the inflation port.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose wherein the outer perimeter bond further defines an inflation port.
However, James teaches a bladder (title; Abstract) for footwear (para 36; Fig. 24) wherein an outer perimeter (the outer perimeter enclosing interior cavity 66 of bladder 64A; Fig. 12; paras 63 and 80) is provided with an inflation port 63 wherein the inflation port 63 opens into (“allow inflation of...bladder”; para 63) a chamber portion 66 (para 63; para 80).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that its outer perimeter bond further defines an inflation port and further wherein the inflation port opens into the foot support chamber portion in order to permit inflation of the foot support chamber portion via the inflation port, as taught by James (para 63).
Regarding claim 9:
Griffiths in view of Watkins and James teaches The bladder component according to claim 8, as set forth above.
The modified Griffiths further meets the limitation wherein the inflation port opens into the foot support chamber portion (see above treatment of claim 8 where the limitation is addressed).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] and [Watkins, US 2005/0048236] as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of [Kraft, US 2015/0336328].
Regarding claim 10:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 6, as set forth above.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
However, Kraft teaches providing a fabric layer engaged with a sheet of a bladder element (claim 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that it is further comprising a fabric layer engaged with the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component whose fabric layer is configured to strengthen and/or reinforce the first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] in view of [Watkins, US 2005/0048236].
Regarding claim 12:
Griffiths discloses (Figs. 1-5):
A bladder component 100 for an article of footwear, comprising:
a first plastic (para 29) sheet 101; and
a second plastic (para 29) sheet 102 joined to the first plastic sheet by an outer perimeter bond 103, wherein an interior chamber (the chamber between sheets 102 and 103 within which “fluid...air” is introduced; para 32) is defined between the first plastic sheet and the second plastic sheet and inside of (paras 29-31) the outer perimeter bond 103, and wherein the outer perimeter bond is shaped such that the interior chamber forms:
(i) a foot support chamber portion (see annotated Fig. 1 – f below) for supporting at least a portion of a plantar surface of a wearer's foot (“the underside of the wearer’s foot”; para 36), and
(ii) a first side chamber portion 301 forming at least part of a first securing strap (see annotated Fig. 1 – c below), wherein the first side chamber portion 301 extends outward (Figs. 1-5 and as in annotated Fig. 1 – c below) from a first side (see annotated Fig. 1 – c below) of the foot support chamber portion and is in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (Figs. 1-5; paras 29-31).
Griffiths does not expressly disclose the first sheet is a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose the second sheet is a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet.
However and in further view of Griffiths: Griffiths discloses the sheets are plastic and are “polyurethane” (para 29). Griffiths is silent as to whether said polyurethane is a thermoplastic elastomer or not.
Watkins teaches plural layers of an inflatable bladder wherein sheet layers 28, 32, 34 each comprise thermoplastic elastomer (“thermoplastic elastomers of the urethane variety...referred to...as thermoplastic urethanes or...TPU”; paras 58-59; para 63). Watkins further teaches a layer of thermoplastic elastomer is capable of protecting an adjacent layer (para 63), is suited for providing “high quality welds” (para 63) and is “preferred because of” its “excellent processability” (para 59).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the bladder of Griffiths such that its first sheet is a first thermoplastic elastomer sheet and its second sheet is a second thermoplastic elastomer sheet in order to afford the bladder component the capability of protecting a structure adjacent to each sheet, to allow for high quality welds, and/or to permit ease of processing, as taught by Watkins (paras 59 and 63).
Regarding claim 13:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Griffiths further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion includes a first connecting portion (see annotated Fig. 1 – g below) located adjacent the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein the first securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a first strap free end (see annotated Fig. 1 – g below), and wherein the second securing strap 302 extends from the first connecting portion (when connected thereto and as described in para 37 and shown in Figs. 4-5) to a second strap free end (see annotated Fig. 1 – g below).
Regarding claim 17:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Griffiths further discloses wherein the first side chamber portion includes a first connecting portion (see annotated Fig. 1 – g presented in above addressing of claim 13) located adjacent the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein the first securing strap extends from the first connecting portion to a first strap free end (as in annotated Fig. 1 – g presented in above addressing of claim 13).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] and [Watkins, US 2005/0048236] as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of [Panian, US 2021/0120915].
Regarding claim 14:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 13, as set forth above.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a first opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment; and at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a second opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment.
However, Panian teaches a bladder (Abstract) for footwear (para 2) wherein the bladder comprises a foot support chamber portion 218a, a first side chamber portion 218b, and a second side chamber portion 218b wherein an outer perimeter bond 216 includes a first inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – a below), wherein a first opening 230 extends through (para 71) the outer perimeter bond 216 at the first inwardly extending bond segment; and the outer perimeter bond includes a second inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – a below), wherein a second opening 230 extends through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment.
Panian further teaches “the perforations 230 allow air to pass through the portions of the seam 216 between the chambers 218 a-218 c where the barrier layers 210 are joined to each other. Thus, the perforations 230 provide ventilation and breathability” (para 71).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion, wherein a first opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment; and the outer perimeter bond includes a second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a second opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the second side chamber portion 302 in order to provide ventilation and/or breathability, as taught by Panian (para 71).
In adopting the modification, one would arrive at “at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a first opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment; and at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a second opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment” as claimed in that the first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion would be “at” the first strap free end in that the term “at” means “In or near the area occupied by; in or near the location of” (at. (n.d.) American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. (2011). Retrieved September 25 2025 from https://www.thefreedictionary.com/at), and the first strap free end is near the area occupied by the first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion. In like manner, the second strap free end is near the area occupied by the second inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the second side chamber portion.
Regarding claim 15:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 13, as set forth above.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose wherein: at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment, (b) a first opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment, and (d) a second opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening, and wherein a first fluid passage is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment; and at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a third inwardly extending bond segment, (b) a third opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the third inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a fourth inwardly extending bond segment, and (d) a fourth opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the fourth inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the third inwardly extending bond segment and the third opening extend toward the fourth inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth opening, and wherein a second fluid passage is defined within the second securing strap between the third inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth inwardly extending bond segment.
However, Panian teaches a bladder (Abstract) for footwear (para 2) wherein the bladder comprises a foot support chamber portion 218a, a first side chamber portion 218b, and a second side chamber portion 218b wherein an outer perimeter bond 216 includes a first inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – b below); a first opening 230 extending through (para 71) the outer perimeter bond 216 at the first inwardly extending bond segment; a second inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – b below); wherein a second opening 230 extending through (para 71) the outer perimeter bond 216 at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening (as in annotated Fig. 1A – b below), and wherein a first fluid passage 228 is defined within the first side chamber portion between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment (Fig. 2; and as in annotated Fig. 1A – b below).
Panian further teaches the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a third inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – b below), (b) a third opening 230 extending through the outer perimeter bond at the third inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a fourth inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – b below), and (d) a fourth opening 230 extending through the outer perimeter bond at the fourth inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the third inwardly extending bond segment and the third opening extend toward the fourth inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth opening (as in annotated Fig. 1A – b below), and wherein a second fluid passage 228 is defined within the second side chamber portion between the third inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth inwardly extending bond segment (Fig. 2; and as in annotated Fig. 1A – b below).
Panian further teaches “the perforations 230 allow air to pass through the portions of the seam 216 between the chambers 218 a-218 c where the barrier layers 210 are joined to each other. Thus, the perforations 230 provide ventilation and breathability” (para 71).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that the outer perimeter bond includes (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion, (b) a first opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion, and (d) a second opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening, and wherein a first fluid passage is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment; such that the outer perimeter bond further includes (a) a third inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the second side chamber portion, (b) a third opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the third inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a fourth inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the second side chamber portion, and (d) a fourth opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the fourth inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the third inwardly extending bond segment and the third opening extend toward the fourth inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth opening, and wherein a second fluid passage is defined within the second securing strap between the third inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth inwardly extending bond segment in order to provide ventilation and/or breathability, as taught by Panian (para 71).
In adopting the modification, one would arrive at “wherein: at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment, (b) a first opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment, and (d) a second opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening, and wherein a first fluid passage is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment; and at the second strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a third inwardly extending bond segment, (b) a third opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the third inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a fourth inwardly extending bond segment, and (d) a fourth opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the fourth inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the third inwardly extending bond segment and the third opening extend toward the fourth inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth opening, and wherein a second fluid passage is defined within the second securing strap between the third inwardly extending bond segment and the fourth inwardly extending bond segment” as claimed in that the first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion would be “at” the first strap free end in that the term “at” means “In or near the area occupied by; in or near the location of” (at. (n.d.) American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. (2011). Retrieved September 25 2025 from https://www.thefreedictionary.com/at), and the first strap free end is near the area occupied by the first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion. In like manner, the first strap free end is near the area occupied by the second inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion; the second strap free end is near the area occupied by the third inwardly extending bond segment extending between the foot support chamber portion and the second side chamber portion; and the second strap free end is near the area occupied by the fourth inwardly extending bond segment extending between the foot support chamber portion and the second side chamber portion.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] and [Watkins, US 2005/0048236] as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of [Spahn, US 2012/0253250].
Regarding claim 16:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Griffiths further discloses wherein the outer perimeter bond includes a first strap defining segment (see annotated Fig. 1 – h below).
Griffiths does not expressly disclose and a second strap defining segment wherein an opening separates the first strap defining segment from the second strap defining segment and separates the first securing strap from the second securing strap.
However, Spahn teaches (Figs. 1-8) a bladder component 1 for footwear wherein an above-ankle portion of the bladder component (Fig. 1) is provided with plural securing straps 3, 4, 5 and strap-engaging members 13 configured to releasably hold (para 18) respective securing straps wherein an opening (the opening between 3 and 4; Fig. 3) separates a first strap defining segment (a segment of 3) from a second strap defining segment (a segment of 4) and separates a first securing strap 3 from a second securing strap 4.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that its outer perimeter bond includes a second strap defining segment, wherein an opening separates the first strap defining segment from the second strap defining segment and separates the first securing strap from the second securing strap in order to yield the predictable result of a bladder component that is capable of being more durably secured about a limb of a wearer due to the presence of the plural securing straps.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] and [Watkins, US 2005/0048236] as applied to claim 17 above and further in view of [Panian, US 2021/0120915].
Regarding claim 18:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose wherein at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a first opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment.
However, Panian teaches a bladder (Abstract) for footwear (para 2) wherein the bladder comprises a foot support chamber portion 218a, a first side chamber portion 218b, and a second side chamber portion 218b wherein an outer perimeter bond 216 includes a first inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – a presented in above treatment of claim 14), wherein a first opening 230 extends through (para 71) the outer perimeter bond 216 at the first inwardly extending bond segment.
Panian further teaches “the perforations 230 allow air to pass through the portions of the seam 216 between the chambers 218 a-218 c where the barrier layers 210 are joined to each other. Thus, the perforations 230 provide ventilation and breathability” (para 71).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion, wherein a first opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment in order to provide ventilation and/or breathability, as taught by Panian (para 71).
In adopting the modification, one would arrive at “wherein at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes a first inwardly extending bond segment, wherein a first opening extends through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment” as claimed in that the first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion would be “at” the first strap free end in that the term “at” means “In or near the area occupied by; in or near the location of” (at. (n.d.) American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. (2011). Retrieved September 25 2025 from https://www.thefreedictionary.com/at), and the first strap free end is near the area occupied by the first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion.
Regarding claim 19:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose wherein at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment, (b) a first opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment, and (d) a second opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening, and wherein a first fluid passage is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment.
However, Panian teaches a bladder (Abstract) for footwear (para 2) wherein the bladder comprises a foot support chamber portion 218a, a first side chamber portion 218b, and a second side chamber portion 218b wherein an outer perimeter bond 216 includes a first inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – b presented in above addressing of claim 15); a first opening 230 extending through (para 71) the outer perimeter bond 216 at the first inwardly extending bond segment; a second inwardly extending bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – b presented in above addressing of claim 15); wherein a second opening 230 extending through (para 71) the outer perimeter bond 216 at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening (as in annotated Fig. 1A – b presented in above addressing of claim 15), and wherein a first fluid passage 228 is defined within the first side chamber portion between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment (Fig. 2; and as in annotated Fig. 1A – b presented in above addressing of claim 15).
Panian further teaches “the perforations 230 allow air to pass through the portions of the seam 216 between the chambers 218 a-218 c where the barrier layers 210 are joined to each other. Thus, the perforations 230 provide ventilation and breathability” (para 71).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that the outer perimeter bond includes such that the outer perimeter bond includes (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion, (b) a first opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion, and (d) a second opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening, and wherein a first fluid passage is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment in order to provide ventilation and/or breathability, as taught by Panian (para 71).
In adopting the modification, one would arrive at “wherein at the first strap free end, the outer perimeter bond includes: (a) a first inwardly extending bond segment, (b) a first opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the first inwardly extending bond segment, (c) a second inwardly extending bond segment, and (d) a second opening extending through the outer perimeter bond at the second inwardly extending bond segment, wherein the first inwardly extending bond segment and the first opening extend toward the second inwardly extending bond segment and the second opening, and wherein a first fluid passage is defined within the first securing strap between the first inwardly extending bond segment and the second inwardly extending bond segment” as claimed in that the first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion would be “at” the first strap free end in that the term “at” means “In or near the area occupied by; in or near the location of” (at. (n.d.) American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. (2011). Retrieved September 25 2025 from https://www.thefreedictionary.com/at), and the first strap free end is near the area occupied by the first inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion. In like manner, the first strap free end is near the area occupied by the second inwardly extending bond segment between the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Griffiths, US 2018/0014963] and [Watkins, US 2005/0048236] as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of [Panian, US 2021/0120915].
Regarding claim 20:
Griffiths in view of Watkins teaches The bladder component according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Griffiths does not expressly disclose wherein the outer perimeter bond includes:(i) a first bond segment separating the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion at the first side of the foot support chamber portion, and (ii) a second bond segment separating the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion at the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein a first side fluid passageway extends between the first bond segment and the second bond segment to place the first side chamber portion in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion.
However, Panian teaches a bladder (Abstract) for footwear (para 2) wherein the bladder comprises a foot support chamber portion 218a, a first side chamber portion 218b, and a second side chamber portion 218b wherein an outer perimeter bond 216 includes (i) a first bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – c below) separating the foot support chamber and the first side chamber portion at a first side of the foot support chamber portion, and (ii) a second bond segment (see annotated Fig. 1A – c below) separating the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion at the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein a first side fluid passageway 228 extends between the first bond segment and the second bond segment (Fig. 2 and as in annotated Fig. 1A – c below) to place the first side chamber portion in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion (para 70). In Panian, the first and second segments are provided with openings 230 extends therethrough (para 71).
In Panian, “the perforations 230 allow air to pass through the portions of the seam 216 between the chambers 218 a-218 c where the barrier layers 210 are joined to each other. Thus, the perforations 230 provide ventilation and breathability” (para 71).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Griffiths such that its outer perimeter bond includes:(i) a first bond segment separating the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion at the first side of the foot support chamber portion, and (ii) a second bond segment separating the foot support chamber portion and the first side chamber portion at the first side of the foot support chamber portion, wherein a first side fluid passageway extends between the first bond segment and the second bond segment to place the first side chamber portion in fluid communication with the foot support chamber portion and further wherein said first and second bond segments are provided with openings in order to provide ventilation and/or breathability, as taught by Panian (para 71).
Conclusion
/GRADY ALEXANDER NUNNERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3732