DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al. (USPN 2018/0247453).
With respect to claim 1, Nakashima teaches a head-wearable electronic device (Figs. 1-21) comprising:
communication circuitry (Figs. 1-21. At least Fig. 2, item 250 and paragraph [0059]);
at least one display configured to be positioned in front of eyes of a user wearing the head-wearable electronic device (Figs. 1-21. At least Fig. 1, item 120 and paragraph [0035] teach a HMD);
at least one camera configured to obtain an image usable for identifying a user gesture (Figs. 1-21. At least Fig. 1, items 150 and 160 and paragraphs [0040], [0046], [0047], [0099], [0119] and [0143] teach a camera detecting user motion and paragraphs [0121], [0122] and [0185] teach modifying the avatar based on user detected motion);
memory comprising one or more storage media storing instructions (Figs. 1-21. At least Fig. 2, item 220 and paragraphs [0053]-[0056] teach memory); and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Figs. 1-21. At least Fig. 2, item 210 and paragraph [0053]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to:
display, via the at least one display, a first avatar corresponding to another user different from the user of the head-wearable electronic device (Figs. 1-21. At least Figs. 16-20 and paragraphs [0184]-[0207] teach avatars 6B and 6C corresponding to another user. Examiner notes either avatar reads on “a first avatar”);
identify a size of the first avatar displayed in the at least one display (Figs. 1-21. Claim 5 and Figs. 16-20 and paragraphs [0191] and [0198] teach avatar information including size);
based on the size of the first avatar being identified as larger than a reference size, transmit, to an electronic device of the other user, information indicating the user gesture to cause the electronic device of the other user to display a second avatar which corresponds to the user and represents the user gesture (Figs. 1-21. At least Figs. 16-20 and paragraphs [0198]-[0207] teach detecting a difference in avatar size and adjusting the display based on the result. Fig. 21 and paragraphs [0200], [0204] and [0207] teach a situation where an avatar is larger than another avatar and a chair is used to bring the smaller avatar to the same eye height. Paragraph [0185] teaches the second avatar represents user gesture/movement); and
based on the size of the first avatar being identified as smaller than the reference size, transmit, to the electronic device of the other user, another information to cause the electronic device of the other user to control motion of the second avatar, wherein the other information is generated based on a controller coupled through the communication circuitry (Figs. 1-21. At least Claim 5 and Figs. 16-20 and paragraphs [0198]-[0207] teach detecting a difference in avatar size and adjusting the display based on the result. Paragraphs [0200], [0204] and [0207] teach a situation where an avatar is smaller than another avatar and the larger avatar eye height is adjusted. Paragraph [0045]-[0047] and [0185] teach the second avatar represents user gesture/movement including attached controller motion).
However, Nakashima fails to expressly teach all of the limitations in a single embodiment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the various teachings of Nakashima because paragraph [0030] suggest modifications to the disclosed embodiments.
With respect to claim 2, Nakashima teaches the head-wearable electronic device of claim 1, discussed above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to:
receive a user input indicating to select the first avatar (Figs. 16-20 and paragraphs [0184]-[0207] teach interaction with other avatars. At least paragraph [0187] teaches the user can select an avatar to interact with by looking at them); and
based on the user input, identify the size of the first avatar displayed in the at least one display (Figs. 16-20 and paragraphs [0184]-[0207] teach interaction with other avatars is adjusted based on size information).
With respect to claim 3, Nakashima teaches the head-wearable electronic device of claim 2, discussed above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to, based on the user input indicating to select the first avatar from among a plurality of avatars, identify the size of the first avatar from among the plurality of avatars (Figs. 16-20 and paragraphs [0184]-[0207] teach interaction with other avatars is adjusted based on size information).
With respect to claim 6, Nakashima teaches the head-wearable electronic device of claim 1, discussed above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to, identify the size of the first avatar displayed in the at least one display, based on a first coordinate value indicating a first location of the first avatar and a second coordinate value indicating a second location of the second avatar (Figs. 16-20 and paragraphs [0184]-[0207] teach interaction with other avatars is adjusted based on size information. Paragraphs [0073]-[0079] teach the virtual space is based on a coordinate system).
With respect to claim 7, Nakashima teaches the head-wearable electronic device of claim 1, discussed above, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to, based on the size of the first avatar being identified as smaller than the reference size, control the second avatar based on the controller (Figs. 1-21. At least Claim 5 and Figs. 16-20 and paragraphs [0198]-[0207] teach detecting a difference in avatar size and adjusting the display based on the result. Paragraphs [0200], [0204] and [0207] teach a situation where an avatar is smaller than another avatar and the larger avatar eye height is adjusted. Paragraph [0045]-[0047] and [0185] teach the second avatar represents user gesture/movement including attached controller motion).
Claim 8, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions, corresponds to and is analyzed and rejected for substantially the same reasons as the device of Claim 1, discussed above.
The further limitations of claims 9-10 and 13-14 are rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 2-3 and 6-7, discussed above.
Claim 15, a method, corresponds to and is analyzed and rejected for substantially the same reasons as the device of Claim 1, discussed above.
The further limitations of claims 16-17 and 20 are rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 2-3 and 6, discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record teaches a HMD including avatar interaction based on the sizes of the avatars (see at least Nakashima et al. USPN 2018/0247453). The prior art of record further teaches a HMD and deactivating a camera (Figs. 19 and 20 and paragraph [0194] of Lin USPN 2022/0121292 teach deactivating a camera if the distance to an object is too great and conserving power).
However, Examiner is unable to find any motivation or obviousness rationale to modify Nakashima to deactivate a camera based on the size of an avatar. To the contrary, Examiner notes paragraph [0121] and [0155] of Nakashima teach social interaction based on a camera capturing the face and body movements of the user is performed after determining avatar sizes.
Specifically, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest Applicant’s specifically claimed “head-wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to: based on the size of the first avatar being identified as larger than the reference size, activate the at least one camera to obtain the information; and based on the size of the first avatar being identified as smaller than the reference size, deactivate the at least one camera” (claim 4 – emphasis added);
Claims 11 and 18 recite similar language and are objected to as allowable for substantially the same reasons as claim 4, discussed above.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are dependent on claims 4, 11 and 18, respectively, and are allowable for substantially the same reasons, discussed above.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Lin (USPN 2022/0121292) teaches a HMD and deactivating a camera.
Conclusion
/ANTONIO XAVIER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622