DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Re claim 1, this claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea under the mental process wherein the limitations “dynamically determining…”; “dynamically generating…”; and “automatically selecting…” are functions that can be reasonably done in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation evaluation judgement and opinion under Prong I step 2A.
Under Prong II step 2A, the other limitations in the claims including “at two or more gateway nodes…” are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Under step 2B, these additional elements above either individually or in combination are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application. Therefore, these additional elements do not recite an inventive concept, thus, the claimed invention is patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Re claims 9 and 15, these claims are system and non-transitory computer readable medium claims having similar limitations as cited in claim 1. Thus, these claims are analyzed and rejected in similar reason in claim 1 above. In addition, the additional elements including “storage…”; “a processor…” and “computer=readable instruction…” also mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application under Prong II. Therefore, these additional elements do not recite an inventive concept, thus, the claimed invention is patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Re claims 2, 7, 10, and 16, the limitations in these claims are analyzed as additional elements under Prong II as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application. Therefore, these additional elements do not recite an inventive concept, thus, the claimed invention is patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Re claims 3-6, 11-14, and 17-20, the limitations in these claims are similarly analyzed as additional mental process under Prong I and there is no additional element that would integrate into the practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iyer et al. (U.S. 2019/0386918 A1).
Re claim 1, Iyer et al. disclose in Figures 1-10 a method (e.g. abstract and Figures 1-2) comprising: dynamically determining, at two or more gateway nodes that each communicate with a plurality of branch nodes and a plurality of resources, a corresponding path between each of the plurality of branch nodes and each of the plurality of resources, wherein the corresponding path includes one or more virtual routers (e.g. Figures 1-2 with SP1 and SP2 and paragraphs [0018 – 0020]); dynamically generating, at the two or more gateway nodes, a corresponding router affinity that is assigned per-prefix of each of the plurality of resources (e.g. paragraphs [0024 – 0026, 0029, and 0036]); and automatically selecting, based on the corresponding router affinity, a corresponding per-prefix path between each of the plurality of branch nodes and each of the plurality of resources (e.g. Figure 2 and paragraphs [0053-0056]).
Re claim 2, Iyer et al. disclose in Figures 1-10 the plurality of resources are one of a virtual network (e.g. paragraphs [0052 and 0092]), an anycast virtual network, and/or firewall through which traffic flows to internet.
Re claim 3, Iyer et al. disclose in Figures 1-10 the corresponding per-prefix path has a length that increases as a number of virtual routers in the corresponding path increases (e.g. paragraphs [0024-0026]).
Re claim 4, Iyer et al. disclose in Figures 1-10 generating a per-prefix router affinity score to localize internet access on a given gateway node most closely associated with a given one of the plurality of branch nodes (e.g. abstract, paragraphs [0022, 0031, and 0036]).
Re claim 5, Iyer et al. disclose in Figures 1-10 the per-prefix router affinity score includes multiple affinity scores that span across a plurality of gateway nodes in order of preference to a given gateway (e.g. paragraphs [0116-0118]).
Re claim 6, Iyer et al. disclose in Figures 1-10 the corresponding router affinity has one or more redundant connections, where one or more failures occur through a full-mesh connectivity from the plurality of branch nodes to the two or more gateway nodes (e.g. Figures 1-2 as implied as two routing paths).
Re claim 9, it is system claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 9 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Re claim 10, it is system claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 10 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Re claim 11, it is system claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Re claim 12, it is system claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Re claim 13, it is system claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 5. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Re claim 14, it is system claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 6. Thus, claim 14 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Re claim 15, it is non-transitory computer readable medium claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Re claim 16, it is non-transitory computer readable medium claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Re claim 17, it is non-transitory computer readable medium claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Re claim 18, it is non-transitory computer readable medium claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Re claim 19, it is non-transitory computer readable medium claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 5. Thus, claim 19 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Re claim 20, it is non-transitory computer readable medium claim having similar limitations as cited in claim 6. Thus, claim 20 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al. (U.S. 2019/0386918 A1).
Re claim 7, Iyer et al. fail to disclose in Figures 1-10 the two or more gateway nodes comprise more than four gateway nodes. However, the examiner takes an official notice that typical network in the technology has many gateway nodes including at least four gateway nodes due to its complexity and scalability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to add at least 4 gateway nodes in the network into Iyer et al.’s invention because it would enable to increase the scalability and redundancy.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al. (U.S. 2019/0386918 A1) in view of Cidon et al. (U.S. 2019/0104053 A1).
Re claim 8, Iyer et al. fail to disclose in Figures 1-10 establishing a dangling virtual routing service coupled to a single one of a plurality of virtual routing services, so that all paths to and from the plurality of resources coupled to the dangling virtual routing service through the single one of the plurality of virtual routing services. However, Cidon et al. disclose establishing a dangling virtual routing service coupled to a single one of a plurality of virtual routing services, so that all paths to and from the plurality of resources coupled to the dangling virtual routing service through the single one of the plurality of virtual routing services (e.g. abstract and paragraphs [0088 and 0236]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to add establishing a dangling virtual routing service coupled to a single one of a plurality of virtual routing services, so that all paths to and from the plurality of resources coupled to the dangling virtual routing service through the single one of the plurality of virtual routing services as seen in Cidon et al.’s invention into Iyer et al.’s invention because it would enable to reduce the complexity of routing.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,031 in view of Iyer et al. (U.S. 2019/0386918 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every individual claims 1-20 of Patent No. 12,363,031 can anticipate every limitation of pending claims 1-20 respectively, except the Patent ‘031 does not mention the limitation “automatically selecting…of resources” as seen in claim 1 of pending application. However, this limitation is obviously can be seen as result of generating the routing paths for selection which can be reasonably seen in Iyer et al. Iyer et al. disclose automatically selecting, based on the corresponding router affinity, a corresponding per-prefix path between each of the plurality of branch nodes and each of the plurality of resources (e.g. abstract, Figure 2 with the path selection engine 220 and paragraph [0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to add automatically selecting, based on the corresponding router affinity, a corresponding per-prefix path between each of the plurality of branch nodes and each of the plurality of resources as seen in Iyer et al.’s invention into this pending application because it would enable to route to most proper path of communication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-12683896-B2
US-20250080464-A1
US-20230115001-A1
US-20230080537-A1
US-20220263789-A1
US-20210234898-A1
US-20190386918-A1
US-20190104053-A1
/PHUOC H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451