DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. ' 609 (C), the applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated July 29th, 2025, is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. ' 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 6, 9-10, 13-14, 16, and 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,346,613. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent 12,346,613 contains every element of claims 1 and 4 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 1 and 4 of the instant application.
Claims 4 and 5 of U.S. Patent 12,346,613 contains every element of claim 6 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of U.S. Patent 12,346,613 contains every element of claim 7 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 8 of U.S. Patent 12,346,613 contains every element of claims 8 and 11 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 8 and 11 of the instant application.
Claim 9 and 10 of U.S. Patent 12,346,613 contains every element of claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 of the instant application.
Claims 13 and 14 of U.S. Patent 12,346,613 contains every element of claims 13 and 14 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 13 and 14 of the instant application.
Claim 16 of U.S. Patent 12,346,613 contains every element of claims 15 and 18 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 15 and 18 of the instant application.
Claims 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent 12,346,613 contains every element of claim 20 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 20 of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 6, 9-10, 13-14, 16, and 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,960,777. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent 11,960,777 contains every element of claims 1 and 4 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 1 and 4 of the instant application.
Claims 4 and 5 of U.S. Patent 11,960,777 contains every element of claim 6 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of U.S. Patent 11,960,777 contains every element of claim 7 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 8 of U.S. Patent 11,960,777 contains every element of claims 8 and 11 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 8 and 11 of the instant application.
Claim 9 and 10 of U.S. Patent 11,960,777 contains every element of claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 of the instant application.
Claims 13 and 14 of U.S. Patent 11,960,777 contains every element of claims 13 and 14 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 13 and 14 of the instant application.
Claim 16 of U.S. Patent 11,960,777 contains every element of claims 15 and 18 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 15 and 18 of the instant application.
Claims 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent 11,960,777 contains every element of claim 20 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 20 of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 12-13, and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,593,036. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent 11,593,036 contains every element of claims 1 and 4 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 1 and 4 of the instant application.
Claims 4 and 5 of U.S. Patent 11,593,036 contains every element of claim 6 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of U.S. Patent 11,593,036 contains every element of claim 7 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 7 of U.S. Patent 11,593,036 contains every element of claims 8 and 11 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 8 and 11 of the instant application.
Claim 8 and 9 of U.S. Patent 11,593,036 contains every element of claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 of the instant application.
Claims 12 of U.S. Patent 11,593,036 contains every element of claim 13 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 13 of the instant application.
Claim 13 of U.S. Patent 11,593,036 contains every element of claims 15 and 18 of the instant application and as such anticipates claims 15 and 18 of the instant application.
Claims 15 and 16 of U.S. Patent 11,593,036 contains every element of claim 20 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 20 of the instant application.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. [US2016/0080490] in view of Colgrove et al. [US2013/0042052]. Verma teaches online data movement without compromising data integrity. Colgrove teaches logical sector mapping in a flash storage array.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Verma teaches a method comprising:
generating, by a storage controller of a storage system [Verma paragraph 0062, first lines “…A computer system is provided including at least one processor…”], a plurality of parity shards for a data segment based on a number of parity units selected based on a parity configuration supported by the storage system [Verma paragraph 0035, most lines “…Embodiments may further include increasing the number of copies in a mirror and converting a parity (RAID5/6) to parity with mirroring (RAID5/6+1) dynamically and sparsely (only on the sections that need to be moved), removing a disk from a RAID array by mirroring its contents across the remaining disks to avoid compromising integrity, moving data across fault domains to increase the resiliency of a RAID array to more than its initial creation (e.g. migrating an array that can lose an enclosure to one that can lose a rack), and converting a mirror space to a parity space in place (or vice-versa) without rewriting the data…” and paragraph 0057, last lines “…As mentioned above, the resiliency schemes may include mirroring, parity or combinations thereof (including the various RAID implementations) or other resiliency schemes…”],
Verma fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of parity shards and the data segment are to be stored in fast durable storage of a storage element that integrates fast durable storage and bulk durable storage;
Colgrove teaches wherein the plurality of parity shards and the data segment are to be stored in fast durable storage of a storage element that integrates fast durable storage and bulk durable storage [Colgrove paragraph 0057, last lines “…A write request may be placed in an NVRAM buffer, such as RAM 172, and a write completion acknowledgment may be sent to a corresponding client computer of the client computers 110a-110c. At a later time, an asynchronous process may flush the buffered write requests to the storage devices 176a-176m…”(Where the RAM reads on fast storage and storage devices reads on bulk storage.)];
Verma and Colgrove are analogous arts in that the both deal with improving data storage performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verma’s storage system with various parity schemes with Colgrove’s use of NVRAM to hold data before it’s eventually moved to SSD storage which is bulk storage for the benefit of better utilizing available bandwidth and capacity by migrating on to new hardware without compromising the resiliency of the data [Verma paragraph 0033, last lines “…requiring storage that can adapt to these changes by allowing data to migrate away from drives that have reached their end of life, migrate onto new hardware, and shift around to better utilize the available bandwidth and capacity based on the workload. This is done in real time without compromising the integrity or resiliency of data…”].
based on a determination that a condition for moving the data segment is satisfied [Verma paragraph 0046, first lines “…determining that data is to be moved from the first data store to the second data store…” and “…The determining module 106 may identify which data (among data 113) can be moved, which data must move and where the data is to be moved to…”], moving at least a portion of the data segment and the plurality of parity shards from the fast durable storage to the bulk durable storage [Colgrove paragraph 0057, last lines “…A write request may be placed in an NVRAM buffer, such as RAM 172, and a write completion acknowledgment may be sent to a corresponding client computer of the client computers 110a-110c. At a later time, an asynchronous process may flush the buffered write requests to the storage devices 176a-176m…”(Where the RAM reads on fast storage and storage devices reads on bulk storage.)], wherein the bulk durable storage uses another parity configuration [Verma paragraph 0057, most lines “…determining that a resiliency scheme for at least a specified portion of a data store is to be changed from a first resiliency scheme to a second, different resiliency scheme, the data store including one or more portions of data (310). For example, the determining module 106 of computer system 101 may determine that resiliency scheme 114A for at least some data 113 on the first data store 112 is to be changed to a second resiliency scheme 114B. As mentioned above, the resiliency schemes may include mirroring, parity or combinations thereof (including the various RAID implementations) or other resiliency schemes…”].
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, as per claim 1, Colgrove teaches the fast durable storage comprises nonvolatile random access memory [Colgrove paragraph 0057, last lines “…A write request may be placed in an NVRAM buffer, such as RAM 172…”].
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, as per claim 1, Colgrove teaches the bulk durable storage comprises one or more solid state drives [Colgrove paragraph 0057, last lines “…At a later time, an asynchronous process may flush the buffered write requests to the storage devices 176a-176m…” and paragraph 0040, middle lines “…The storage devices 176a-176 may be SSDs utilizing Flash memory…”].
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19 as per claim 1, Verma teaches selecting the number of parity units comprises selecting from among two or more levels of redundancy associated with different system performance or durability criteria [Verma paragraph 0035, most lines “…Embodiments may further include increasing the number of copies in a mirror and converting a parity (RAID5/6) to parity with mirroring (RAID5/6+1) dynamically and sparsely (only on the sections that need to be moved), removing a disk from a RAID array by mirroring its contents across the remaining disks to avoid compromising integrity, moving data across fault domains to increase the resiliency of a RAID array to more than its initial creation (e.g. migrating an array that can lose an enclosure to one that can lose a rack), and converting a mirror space to a parity space in place (or vice-versa) without rewriting the data…” and paragraph 0057, last lines “…As mentioned above, the resiliency schemes may include mirroring, parity or combinations thereof (including the various RAID implementations) or other resiliency schemes…”].
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, as per claim 1, Colgrove teaches further comprising modifying the data segment in the fast durable storage prior to moving the data segment to the bulk durable storage [Colgrove paragraph 0058, first half “…A deduplication table may utilize a key comprising a hash value determined from a data component associated with a storage access request. The initial steps of a deduplication operation may be performed concurrently with other operations, such as a read/write request, a garbage collection operation, a trim operation, and so forth. For a given write request, the data sent from one of the client computer systems 110a-110c may be a data stream, such as a byte stream…”].
Regarding claims 7 and 14, as per claim 1, Colgrove teaches modifying the data segment comprises performing a data optimization operation selected from data deduplication, data compression, or garbage collection [Colgrove paragraph 0058, first half “…A deduplication table may utilize a key comprising a hash value determined from a data component associated with a storage access request. The initial steps of a deduplication operation may be performed concurrently with other operations, such as a read/write request, a garbage collection operation, a trim operation, and so forth. For a given write request, the data sent from one of the client computer systems 110a-110c may be a data stream, such as a byte stream…”].
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. [US2016/0080490] in view of Colgrove et al. [US2013/0042052] in view of Sprouse et al. [US2016/0117253]. Verma teaches online data movement without compromising data integrity. Colgrove teaches logical sector mapping in a flash storage array. Sprouse teaches method for improving mixed random performance in low queue depth workloads.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18 as per claim 1,Both Verma and Colgrove fail to explicitly teach the condition for moving the data segment comprises detecting that a complete RAID stripe has been formed in the fast durable storage.
However, Sprouse does teach the condition for moving the data segment comprises detecting that a complete RAID stripe has been formed in the fast durable storage [Sprouse paragraph 0059, last half “…during the read mode, all writes (e.g., both host writes and garbage collection writes) are buffered in a capacitor backed RAM (e.g., DRAM or SRAM, sometimes called a write cache) until a predetermined criteria is met (e.g., until the buffer is full, until enough data has accrued to complete a RAID stripe, etc.). During this time, read commands are serviced quickly since there are no blocking write operations. In some embodiments, when the predetermined criteria is met (e.g., when the buffer is full, when enough data has accrued to complete a RAID stripe, etc.), the storage device switches to the write mode, during which the storage device issues as many writes in parallel as possible…”].
Verma, Colgrove, and Sprouse are analogous arts in that the all deal with improving data storage performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verma and Colgrove with Sprouse’s use of detecting when the cache has a complete RAID stripe for the benefit of improving random performance in low queue depth workloads by optimizing the flush of cache data [Sprouse paragraph 0011, most lines “…improving mixed random performance in low queue depth workloads. Some embodiments include systems, methods and/or devices to schedule a regular flush of a write cache in accordance with a determination that a workload is a non-qualifying workload and to schedule an optimized flush of the write cache…”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ives et al. [US9,383,940] Ives teaches a first RAID group with a first level of protection and a second RAID group with a second level of protection.
/ERIC CARDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139