DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a user device" in line 11. It is unclear whether the user device recited in line 11 is the same or different than the user device recited in line 11. In order to advance prosecution, the examiner will interpret the user device in line 11 as the same user device in line 12. Applicant may overcome the rejection by deleting “a” before user device in line 12 and replacing with --the--. Appropriate correction or further explanation is required. Claims 14-20 are rejected due to their claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Britt (Pub. No.: 2016/0198536 A1).
1) In regard to claim 13, Britt discloses the claimed system (fig. 5) comprising:
one or more sensory nodes (fig. 5: 503 or 504) configured to:
sense information in an area (¶0065) that includes one or more controllable devices (fig. 5: 530 and 531); and
detect a condition within the area, based on the sensed information (¶0065);
a processor (fig. 5: 512) that is configured to:
determine a proximity of the one or more controllable devices to the one or more sensory nodes (¶0065);
generate an alert regarding the one or more controllable devices in response to determining the proximity of the one or more controllable devices (¶0065);
send the alert to a user device (¶0065); and
a user device (fig. 5: 135) configured to send a control signal to the one or more controllable devices, responsive to the sent alert, that causes the one or more controllable devices to go into an off state (¶0065).
2) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 13), Britt further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the user device is configured to send the control signal to the one or more controllable devices based, at least in part, on an occupancy of the area (¶0090).
3) In regard to claim 15 (dependent on claim 13), Britt further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more sensory nodes are further configured to determine trends in the sensed information, wherein the trends are based on previously sensed information within the area (¶0098).
4) In regard to claim 16 (dependent on claim 13), Britt further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more sensory nodes are further configured to detect a condition within the area based on the trends in the sensed information (¶0098).
5) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 13), Britt further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the user device is configured to send a control signal to the one or more controllable devices based, at least in part, on a type of detected condition (¶0065).
6) In regard to claim 18 (dependent on claim 13), Britt further discloses the system of claim 13, further comprising a transmitter configured to transmit the alert to a control unit of the controllable device (¶0065 and fig. 5).
7) In regard to claim 19 (dependent on claim 13), Britt further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the proximity is based on a predefined threshold (¶0068).
8) In regard to claim 20 (dependent on claim 13), Britt further discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the user device is configured to send the control signal to the one or more controllable devices based at least in part on the state of each of the one or more controllable devices (¶0065).
9) In regard to claim 1, claim 1 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 13 and the references applied.
10) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), claim 2 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 14 and the references applied.
11) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), claim 3 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 15 and the references applied.
12) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 3), claim 4 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 15 and the references applied.
13) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 1), claim 5 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 17 and the references applied.
14) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Britt further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a severity of the detected condition (¶0090).
15) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 6), Britt further discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising sending a control signal to the one or more controllable devices upon detecting a condition if the severity of the detected condition is above a predetermined threshold (¶0090).
16) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 1), Britt further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein sending a control signal to the one or more controllable devices is, at least in part, based on a location of a sensory node of the one or more sensory nodes that detected the condition (¶0065).
17) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 1), Britt further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising sending a status request signal to each of the one or more controllable devices, wherein the status request signal determines a state of each of the one or more controllable devices (¶0050).
18) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 9), Britt further discloses the method of claim 9, wherein sending a control signal to the one or more controllable devices is, at least in part, based on the state of each of the one or more controllable devices (¶0065).
19) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 1), Britt further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising sending an alert to a user device regarding the detected condition (¶0065).
20) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 11), Britt further discloses the method of claim 11, wherein sending a control signal to the one or more controllable devices is executed by the user device (¶0065).
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685