DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “second solar cells” as described in the specification with a numeral. On page 11, “the series of first and second solar cells 104, 106, 108, 110, 208” does not specify which is/are the second cells. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
As to Fig. 2, it is unclear what disclosed structure is represented by the horizontal line just above end edge 211, the line that bisects what are apparently panels or cells 204a, 204b, and 204c.
As to Fig. 2, it is unclear what disclosed structure is represented by the horizontal line through pane 102 just above the lead line for B1.
At page 10, the third solar cells are referred to as both 114 and 214.
Fig. 1 shows numeral 112, but the specification designates 112 as solar cells, 112 is not pointing to cells.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because, at line 1, “for window” should be --for a window--.
Claim 9 is objected to because the claim recites the EVA is configured to be “of about a softened state and then adhered directly to the second major surface of the panel”. Examiner suggests the language from the spec disclosing “configured to be slightly softened and then adhered…”.
Claim 10 is objected to because, at line 2, "series of solar cells" should be -at least one series of solar cells--.
Claim 11 is objected to because "90% or even at least 95% or visible light" should be --90% or 95% of visible light".
Claim 13 is objected to because, at line 3, “each solar” should be --each solar cell--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the cell face “directly or indirectly” bonded to the panel, which is confusing. The definition of indirect is not direct. If the face is recited as being in immediate physical contact with the panel or it is not in contact, then what is the purpose of the limitation vis-à-vis the structural relationship between the face and panel?
Claim 2 recites that the panel is a window panel, which is confusing. How can the device be “for” a window (preamble) and the device also comprise a window panel? Isn’t the device then a window? If the device comprises a pane, solar cells, and a frame “for a window”, then isn’t the device itself essentially a window?
Claim 3 recites the device provided in the form of a window unit for a building, such as an integrated glass unit, which is confusing because the limitation “such as” is unclear. It is assumed the claim recites the window is an integrated glass unit window.
Claim 10 recites that the area is at least 5, 10, 15, 20, 50, 100 or even 500 x larger than an area of the panel, which is confusing because a range within a range is recited in the same claim. Range 1 is 5X to infinity X because of “at least” (it is assumed Applicant inadvertently left out the word “least”). Then the range within that range would be 10X to infinity X and so on. See MPEP 2173.05c
Claim 11 recites that the area is transmissive for “at least 60%, 70%, 80%, 90% or 95%” of visible light incident of the receiving surface”, which is confusing because a range within a range is recited in the same claim. Range 1 is “60%- infinity” because of “at least”. Then the range within that range would be “70%-infinity” and so on. See MPEP 2173.05c
Claim 13 depends from cancelled claim 12, which is confusing. It is assumed claim 13 depends from claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites that “each solar cell has a rear surface that is associated to the second panel such that each solar cell is sandwiched between the first and second panel and each solar cell is associated to both the first and the second panel”, which is confusing first, because it is unclear if these cells are the first and/or second cells, or some other cells, and second, it is unclear how a cell can be sandwiched between the first and second panels, or even why another cell is necessary when there are already the first and second cells. And finally, it appears the claim is drawn to the “further” embodiment, device 300. Further embodiment 300 cannot apparently be used with device 200. It is assumed the claim recites fourth solar cells sandwiched between the second panel and an additional panel.
Claim 15 recites that the area is transmissive for “at least 60%, 70%, 80%, 90% or even at least 95%” of visible light”, which is confusing because a range within a range is recited in the same claim. Range 1 is “60%- infinity” because of “at least”. Then the range within that range would be “70%-infinity” and so on. See MPEP 2173.05c.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasiliev (10,988,978) in view Zhang (2015/0194555) and Majoch (EP3348737).
1.Vasiliev teaches device for window (para. 2) of a building or structure, the device comprising:
at least one series of solar cells 324, each solar cell having a light receiving surface which is capable of facing a second major surface of a panel and be bonded to the panel at the second major surface in a manner such that light can be received by the light receiving surface of the solar cell without propagating through a gap between the panel (by, for example, adhering directly the panel on the cell surface) and the light receiving surface of the solar cell;
wherein the at least one series of solar cells is positioned at and along an edge of the panel and between the edge and, when the panel is installed, an area of the panel that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light, and
wherein solar cells are only positioned at and along and one or more edges of the panel and not in the area that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light when the panel is installed.
Vasiliev does not expressly teach the panel having an area that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light and having opposite first and second major surfaces, the first major surface being a light receiving surface of the panel, the calls, as best understood, bonded to the panel. Majoch, fig. 4, teaches a panel 31 having an area that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light and having opposite first and second major surfaces, the first major surface being a light receiving surface of the panel, the panel second major surface being secured with solar cells 4, and Zhang teaches it is old in the art to bond cells to a substrate using an adhesive (“transparent adhesive”, paras. 13-14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the panel in Vasiliev for enhanced window system thermal resistance capacity and to bond the panel using an adhesive for a strong connection.
2. Vasiliev in view Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 1 wherein the panel is a panel of a window of a building or a vehicle and the device further comprises a frame structure for supporting the panel.
3. Vasiliev in view Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 1, Vasiliev in view Zhang and Majoch further teaching the window is an integrated glass unit window.
4. Vasiliev in view Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 1, Zhang further teaching the solar cells are, as best understood, bonded to the panel using an adhesive.
5. Vasiliev in view of Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 4, Zhang further teaching the adhesive has a refractive index that at least approximates that of the panel material because the adhesive is “transparent”, para. 14.
6. Vasiliev in view of Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 4, Zhang further teaching an outer layer of a polymeric material (the Zhang bonding is achieved using “transparent adhesive”, paras. 13-14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cells to have an outer layer of a polymeric material such as the adhesive for a strong connection.
7. Vasiliev in view of Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 6, Zhang further teaching the polymeric material is ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) or Polyvinyl butyral (PVB), para. 14.
8. Vasiliev in view of Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 6, Zhang further teaching the solar cells are directly bonded to the second major surface of the panel, paras. 13-14.
9. Vasiliev in view of Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 7, Zhang further teaching the EVA configured to be slightly softened and then adhered to the surface without additional adhesive because adhesives are typically in a softened state when applied so that they can stick to the things being adhered together before the adhesive hardens. If the adhesive is hard, it would not be able to be applied and it would not be sticky to perform its job.
10. Vasiliev does not expressly teach, as best understood, the at least one plurality of the series of solar cells positioned such that the panel is largely transparent for at least a portion of visible light and the area that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light is a central area and at least 5x larger than an area of the panel at which the series of the solar cells are positioned. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cells to be positioned as claimed for maximum solar exposure and minimal visibility reduction, the limitation simply reciting a range of obviously (to one skilled in the art) acceptable exposure percentages.
11. Vasiliev does not expressly teach the, as best understood, area that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light 1s transmissive for at least 60% of visible light incident of the receiving surface at normal incidence. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the transparent area to be visible light transmissive for the claimed % of visible light for maximum solar exposure and minimal visibility reduction, the limitation simply reciting a range of obviously (to one skilled in the art) acceptable percentages.
12. Vasiliev in view of Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 1, Vasiliev, fig. 9, further teaching the panel is a first 302 panel and the device comprises a second 304 panel that is positioned substantially parallel to the first panel in a manner such that light received by the light receiving surface of the first panel initially propagates through the first panel before being received by the second panel, wherein the second panel also has an area that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light and having opposite first and second major surfaces, the first major surface being a light receiving surface of the second panel.
13. Visiliev does not teach, as best understood, fourth solar cells sandwiched between the second panel and an additional panel. However, Visiliev, fig. 9, does teach fourth solar cells 310 sandwiched between two panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Visiliev to have fourth solar cells sandwiched between the second panel and an additional panel (to make Visiliev single second panel into a double panel) for additional thermal resistance and power generation.
14. Vasiliev in view of Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of claim 1, Majoch, Fig. 4, further teaching a series of solar cells 4 is at least one series of first solar cells and the device further comprises first 31 and second panels 32 and 33, wherein each solar cell of the solar cells has a light receiving surface which faces a panel and is directly or indirectly bonded to the panel at the second major surface in a manner such that light can be received by the light receiving surface of the solar cell without propagating through a gap between the second panel and the light receiving surface of the solar cell; wherein the at least one series of solar cells is positioned at and along an edge of the second panel, and between the edge and the area that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light, and wherein solar cells are only positioned along and in the proximity of one or more edge of the second panel and not in the area that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light, Fig. 4. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Vasiliev to have an additional panel (a panel covering cell 326 just like Majoch covers cell 4 as shown in Fig. 4) for enhanced thermal resistance.
15. Vasiliev does not expressly teach the area that is, as best understood, transparent for at least a portion of visible light may be transmissive for at least 60% or visible light incident on the second panel. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the area that is transparent for at least a portion of visible light may be transmissive for at least 60% visible light incident on the second panel for maximum solar exposure and minimal visibility reduction, the limitation simply reciting a range of obviously (to one skilled in the art) acceptable percentages.
16. Visiliev in view of Zhang and Majoch teaches the device of 1, Visiliev further teaching the panel further comprises a diffractive element material in order to facilitate redirection of incident infrared light to edges of the second panel, col. 6, lines 12-29.
17. Visiliev in view of Zhang teaches the device of, as best understood, claim 16, Visiliev further teaching the device comprises at least one series of third solar cells 325 that is positioned at least one edge surface of the "second" Visiliev in view of Zhang panel and oriented substantially perpendicular to a major surface of the second panel whereby the at least one series of third solar cells is positioned substantially perpendicular to the series of first solar cell at the first panel and the series of second solar cells at the second panel, Fig. 10 of Vasiliev wherein the series of third solar cells is positioned to receive at least a portion light redirected by the diffractive element and/or the luminescent material
18. Visiliev in view of Zhang teaches the device of claim 1, Visiliev further teaching the solar cells of the any of the series of solar cells are any of silicon-based or CIS- or ClGS-based, col. 4, lines 57- 62.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J KENNY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633