DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 13: Line 1 of the claim, it appears the limitation “housing” should be --the housing-- for consistency of the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 21-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1: Line 7-8 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “individual through holes” is referencing the previously recited through holes. For the purpose of examination, they are considered to be directed to the same through holes. Line 8 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “individual receptacles” is referencing the previously recited receptacles. For the purpose of examination, they are considered to be directed to same receptacles. Line 16 of the claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “individual fasteners” is referencing the previously recited fasteners. For the purpose of examination, the limitations are considered to be directed to the same fasteners.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 11, 14-17, 19-22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lester et al. (US 2017/0346440 A1) in view of Kleiss et al. (US 8,471,144).
With regard to claim 1: Lester et al. discloses a junction box (figs. 11-16) comprising:
a housing (300) (figs. 13-16; par. [0036]) including:
a base (bottom wall of 300) (fig. 16),
sidewalls (vertical walls of 300) extending from the base (bottom wall of 300) (figs. 13-16), and
an interior cavity (interior of junction box) defined at least in part by the base (bottom wall) and the one or more sidewalls (vertical walls of 300) (figs. 13-16);
a lid (A) positionable on the housing (300) (fig. 13); and
at least one bracket (400) to attach the housing (300) to a solar array rail structure (500) (figs. 6-10), the at least one bracket (200) including:
a first portion (440) that extends perpendicular to a first sidewall (rear wall including beveled corners) of the one or more sidewalls (vertical walls of 300) (figs. 14-16), and
a second portion (N) connected to the first portion (440), the second portion (N) being substantially parallel to the first sidewall (rear wall including beveled corners), wherein the second portion (N) is interposed between a side of the solar array rail structure (500) and the first sidewall (rear wall including beveled corners) (figs. 15-16).
Lester et al. does not disclose receptacles on the sidewalls. Lester et al. further does not disclose that the lid includes through holes, where individual ones of the through holes align with individual ones of the receptacles, and wherein fasteners are disposable through the individual ones of the through holes and into the individual ones of the receptacles to secure the lid to the housing.
However, Kleiss et al. discloses a rectangular housing (1) comprising receptacles (A) on sidewalls (11, 12 and 13) (fig. 1); and a lid (15) including through holes (B), where individual ones of the through holes (B) align with individual ones of the receptacles (A), and wherein fasteners (screws) are disposable through the individual ones of the through holes (B) and into the individual ones of the receptacles (A) to secure the lid (15) to the housing (1) (fig. 1; col. 4, lines 63-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill In the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the junction box of Lester et al. to have the housing be a rectangular housing comprising receptacles on the sidewalls; and the lid including through holes, where individual ones of the through holes align with individual ones of the receptacles, and wherein fasteners are disposable through the individual ones of the through holes and into the individual ones of the receptacles to secure the lid to the housing such as taught by Kleiss in order to provide a housing and lid configuration that has a smaller footprint occupying an area and mitigates tampering. Lester et al. as modified by Kleiss et al. discloses that the housing remains connected to the solar array rail structure when the lid is disconnected form the housing.
Fig. 13: Lester et al. (US 2017/0346440 A1)
Fig. 1: Kleiss et al. (US 8,471,144)
With regard to claim 2: Lester et al. discloses that at least one of the first portion (440) of the at least one bracket (400) or the second portion (N) of the at least one bracket (400) engages with the solar array rail structure (500) (fig. 16).
With regard to claim 5: Lester et al. discloses that the at least one bracket (400) is configured to clamp to the solar array rail structure (500) (figs. 15-16).
With regard to claim 6: Lester et al. discloses that the at least one bracket (400) includes a third portion (480) that extends perpendicular to the first sidewall (rear wall including beveled corners) (fig. 16);
the first portion (440) attaches to a top surface of the solar array rail structure (500) (figs 15-16);
the third portion (480) attaches to a bottom surface of the solar array rail structure (500) (figs. 15-16); and
the second portion (N) is disposed along an edge surface of the solar array rail structure (500), the edge surface extending between the top surface and the bottom surface (fig. 16).
With regard to claim 7: Lester et al. discloses a junction box (figs. 11-16) comprising:
a housing (300) (figs. 13-16; par. [0036]);
a connector (400) to attach the housing (300) to a solar array rail structure (500), the connector (400) including:
a first portion (440) that engages with a top surface of the solar array rail structure (500) (figs. 15-16),
a second portion (480) that engages with a bottom surface of the solar array rail structure (500), wherein a distance disposed between the first portion (440) and the second portion (480) is adjustable to attach the connector to the solar array rail structure (500) (figs. 15-16), and
a third portion (M) that connects the housing (300) (figs. 15-16); and
a lid (A) removably connected to the housing (300) (figs. 15-16).
Lester et al. discloses the housing (300) including a first, second, third and fourth sidewall (vertical major walls of 300) (figs. 13-16).
Lester et al. does not disclose that the lid is connected to the housing via a first fastener disposed at an intersection of the first sidewall and the second sidewall, a second fastener disposed at an intersection of the second sidewall and the third sidewall, a third fastener disposed at an intersection of the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall, and a fourth fastener disposed at an intersection of the fourth sidewall and the first sidewall.
However, Kleiss et al. discloses a lid (15) connected to rectangular housing via a first fastener (screw) disposed at an intersection of the first sidewall (11) and the second sidewall (one of the side walls 13), a second fastener (screw) disposed at an intersection of the second sidewall (one of the side walls 13) and the third sidewall (12), a third fastener (screw) disposed at an intersection of the third sidewall (12) and the fourth sidewall (another of the side walls 13), and a fourth fastener (screw) disposed at an intersection of the fourth sidewall (another of the side walls 13) and the first sidewall (11) (fig. 1; col. 4, lines 63-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the junction box of Lester et al. to have the lid connected to the housing of a rectangular shape via a first fastener disposed at an intersection of the first sidewall and the second sidewall, a second fastener disposed at an intersection of the second sidewall and the third sidewall, a third fastener disposed at an intersection of the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall, and a fourth fastener disposed at an intersection of the fourth sidewall and the first sidewall such as taught by Kleiss et al. in order to provide a housing and lid configuration that has a smaller footprint occupying an area and mitigates tampering. Lester et al. as modified by Kleiss et al. discloses that the housing remains connected to the solar array rail structure when the lid is disconnected form the housing.
With regard to claim 8: Lester et al. discloses that the housing defines an interior cavity (interior of junction box); and
the lid (A) connects to the housing (300) to enclose the interior cavity (figs. 13-16).
With regard to claim 9: The interior cavity (interior of junction box) of Lester et al. is configured to receive one or more electrical connections.
With regard to claim 11: The connector (400) of Lester electrically grounds (via 450, grounding pin) the junction box to the solar array rail structure (500) (figs. 15-16).
With regard to claim 14: Lester et al. discloses an assembly that attaches to a solar array rail structure (figs. 11-16), the assembly comprising:
a junction box including:
a housing (300, junction box) (figs. 13-16; par. [0036]) having:
an interior bottom surface (formed from bottom wall) (figs. 15-16), and
sidewalls (vertical walls of the housing) extending upwardly from a periphery of the interior bottom surface (figs. 15-16), and
a lid (A) that attaches to the sidewalls (vertical walls of the housing) (figs. 13-16) and
a connector (400) to attach the junction box (300) to a solar array rail structure (500), the connector (400) including:
a first portion (440) disposable against a first surface of the solar array rail structure (500) (figs. 13-15),
a second portion (480) disposable against a second surface of the solar array rail structure (500), the second surface being opposite the first surface (figs. 13-15), and
a third portion (N) at least partially disposable against a third surface (vertical surface extending between the first and second surfaces) of the solar array rail structure (500), the third portion (N) being substantially parallel to the third surface and disposable directly adjacent to a first sidewall of the sidewalls (vertical walls) of the housing) (fig. 16).
Lester et al. does not disclose receptacles at corners of the sidewalls, respectively. Lester further does not disclose that the lid attaches to the sidewalls via fasteners that are disposed through the lid and into the receptacles, respectively.
However, Kleiss et al. discloses a rectangular housing (1) comprising receptacles (A) on corners of sidewalls (11, 12 and 13), respectively (fig. 1); and a lid (15) that attaches to the sidewalls (11, 12 and 13) via fasteners that are disposed through the lid and into the receptacles, respectively (fig. 1; col. 4, lines 63-67).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the junction box of Lester et al. to have the lid connected to the housing of a rectangular shape, wherein receptacles at corners of the sidewalls, respectively; and the lid attaches to the sidewalls via fasteners that are disposed through the lid and into the receptacles, respectively such as taught by Kleiss et al. order to provide a housing and lid configuration that has a smaller footprint occupying an area and mitigates tampering.
With regard to claim 15: Lester et al. discloses that prior to being connected to the solar array rail structure (500), a first distance is disposed between the first portion (440) and the second portion (480) (fig. 16); and
after being connected to the solar array rail structure (500), a second distance is disposed between the first portion (440) and the second portion (480), the second distance being less than the first distance upon clamping (figs. 11 and 16; par. [0029]).
With regard to claim 16: Lester et al. discloses that the sidewalls (vertical walls of the housing) include a first sidewall (rear wall) (figs. 13-16);
the first portion (440) and the second portion (480) extends perpendicular to the first sidewall (rear wall) (fig. 16); and
the third portion (N) extends substantially parallel to the first sidewall (rear wall) (fig. 16).
With regard to claim 17: Lester et al. discloses that the connector (400) attaches to the housing (300) (figs. 15-16).
With regard to claim 19: The housing of Lester et al. defines an interior cavity (interior of junction box) to receive one or more electrical connections.
With regard to claim 20: Lester et al. discloses that the solar array rail structure (500) is clampable between the first portion (440) and the second portion (480) (figs. 11 and 16).
With regard to claim 21: Lester et al. as modified by Kleiss et al. discloses that the sidewalls are adjoined at corners of the housing; and receptacles are disposed at each corner, respectively.
With regard to claim 22: Lester et al. as modified by Kleiss et al. discloses that the housing includes a foot disposed around the exterior of the housing; and the receptacles are located internal to the footprint.
With regard to claim 24: Lester et al. as modified by Kleiss et al. discloses that the housing defines an internal cavity; and the receptacles are disposed within the interior cavity.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lester et al. (US 2017/0346440 A1) in view of Kleiss et al. (US 8,471,144) and in further view of Wentworth (US 9,496,697 B1).
With regard to claim 3: Lester et al. in view of Kleiss et al. does not disclose a DIN rail disposed within the interior cavity.
However, Wentworth discloses a DIN rail (30) disposed within an interior cavity of a junction box secured to a base (base surface) utilizing fastening means (70, screws) (figs. 2-3; col. 5, lines 50-56), wherein the base (base surface) includes holes to receive the fastening means (70) (figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the junction box of Lester et al. previously modified by Kleiss et al. to include a DIN rail disposed within the interior cavity such as taught by Wentworth in order to provide a means of snapping in a variety of conductor units, such as a direct wire to wire unit or a fused wire to wire unit.
With regard to claim 13: Lester et al. discloses that housing (300) includes a base (bottom wall) (fig. 16).
Lester et al. in view of Kleiss et al. does not disclose one or more holes disposed through the base.
However, Wentworth discloses a DIN rail (30) disposed within an interior cavity of a junction box secured to a base (base surface) utilizing fastening means (70, screws) (figs. 2-3; col. 5, lines 50-56), wherein the base (base surface) includes holes to receive the fastening means (70) (figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the junction box of Lester et al. previously modified by Kleiss et al. to include one or more holes disposed through the base such as taught by Wentworth in order to provide a means for receiving fasteners for attaching a DIN rail, which would allow for snapping of a variety of conductor units, such as a direct wire to wire unit or a fused wire to wire unit.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lester et al. (US 2017/0346440 A1) in view of Kleiss et al. (US 8,471,144) and in further view of Schuit et al. (US 2017/0155356 A1).
With regard to claim 23: Lester et al. in view of Kleiss et al. does not disclose that the first portion or the second portion is biasable.
However, Schuit et al. discloses a connector (13000) for a solar array having first and second portions (13012 and 13006, 130007), where the second portion (13006 and 130007) is biasable (via spring ledge, 13006) (fig. 79; par. [0254]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the junction box of Lester et al. previously by Kleiss et al. to have the second portion be biasable such as taught by Schuit et al. in order to provide a means of further engaging the solar rail structure and mitigating disengagement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633