DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged. This application is a continuation application of U.S. Application No. 18/176,137, filed February 28, 2023, which claims priority to and is a continuation application of U.S. Application No. 17/324,715, filed May 19, 2021 (now patented as US Patent No. 11,695,297), which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/027,563, filed on May 20, 2020 and U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/144,204, filed February 1, 2021.
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 07/11/2025 in which claims 1-17 have been canceled, claims 18-37 have been added and entered of record.
Claims 18-37 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 05/05/2025 were considered.
Note to Applicant
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 30 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 30 line 5 recites “a utility grid configured to generate second power” should be “a utility grid configured to provide second power”. The line also recites “first power” should be “the first power”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 34, the claim recites “a dynamic mode, wherein the controller causes the PV disconnect device to electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system when power output from the PV power generation system is higher than a power threshold”. The Specification does not have support for this limitation. The Specification discloses the dynamic mode is opposite to feed forward mode. The feed forward mode is when an instantaneous output of PV power exceeded an output power threshold (e.g. above storage capacity or demand of a plurality of loads [0154] (Fig. 10 wherein a power deviation event occurs when the power output of backup PV power generation system 160 is greater than the available storage capacity of energy storage system 150).
Regarding claim 35, the claim is rejected due to the rejection of claim 34 above.
Claims 34-35 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 34, the claim recites “a dynamic mode, wherein the controller causes the PV disconnect device to electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system when power output from the PV power generation system is higher than a power threshold”. It is unclear whether the claim is intended to claim the aforementioned claim limitation or just a typographical error. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as “a dynamic mode, wherein the controller causes the PV disconnect device to electrically [[disconnect]] connect the PV power generation system [[from]] to the energy control system when power output from the PV power generation system is higher than a power threshold”.
Regarding claim 37, the claim recites “the PV disconnect device further including an electromechanical relay”. It is unclear if the electromechanical relay is an addition to the PV disconnect device or the electromechanical relay is the PV disconnect device. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as recites “the PV disconnect device
Regarding claim 35, the claim is rejected due to the rejection of claim 34 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUGENO et al. (US 20160226255 A1), hereinafter SUGENO.
Regarding claim 18, SUGENO discloses an electrical system (Fig. 1), comprising:
an energy control system (Fig. 1, 4) including a controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82) in communication with the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4);
a utility grid (Fig. 1, 306) electrically coupled to the controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82);
a photovoltaic (PV) power generation system (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 15, and 16) electrically connected to the controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82) [0037]; and
a plurality of loads (Fig. 1, 3 and 13) electrically connected to the controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82),
wherein the controller is configured to electrically connect at least one of the utility grid (Fig. 1, 306) [0039] or the PV power generation system (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 15, and 16) [0036] to the plurality of loads (Fig. 1, 3 and 13) [0036] [0039].
Regarding claim 19, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 18 above, SUGENO discloses the electrical system further comprising:
a PV disconnect device (Fig. 1, 62 and 63) in communication with the controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82), the PV disconnect device configured to electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system [0048]; and
an energy storage system (Fig. 1, 73 and 74) electrically connected to the controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82).
Regarding claim 20, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 19 above, SUGENO also discloses the controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82) is configured to electrically connect the energy storage system (Fig. 1, 73 and 74) to at least one of the utility grid, the PV power generation system [0058], and the plurality of loads.
Regarding claim 21, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 18 above, SUGENO discloses the electrical system further comprising a PV disconnect device (Fig. 1, 62 and 63) including a sensor circuit configured to measure at least one of AC voltage, frequency, and current of power generated by the PV power generation system [0059].
Regarding claim 22, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 18 above, SUGENO discloses the electrical system further comprising a microgrid interconnection device (MID) (Fig. 1, switch between grid 1 and wattmeter 2, 52, and 53) configured to electrically disconnect the utility grid (Fig. 1, 1) from the PV power generation system (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 15, and 16), wherein the MID is in communication with the controller [0082].
Regarding claim 23, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 18 above, SUGENO discloses the electrical system further including an energy storage system (Fig. 1, 73 and 74) electrically connected to the controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82) [0037].
Regarding claim 24, SUGENO discloses an electrical system (Fig. 1), comprising:
an energy control system (Fig. 1, 4);
a utility grid (Fig. 1, 306) electrically coupled to the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4);
a photovoltaic (PV) power generation system (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 15, and 16) electrically coupled to the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4);
a microgrid interconnection device (MID) (Fig. 1, switch between grid 1 and wattmeter 2, 52, and 53) configured to electrically disconnect the utility grid (Fig. 1, 1) from the PV power generation system (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 15, and 16);
an energy storage system (Fig. 1, 73 and 74) electrically coupled with the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4);
a PV disconnect device (Fig. 1, 62 and 63) configured to electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system [0048].
Regarding claim 25, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 24 above, SUGENO also discloses the PV disconnect device includes a feedforward mode (when excessive power is generated [0068]) and a dynamic mode (when no excessive power is generated [0068]).
Regarding claim 26, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 25 above, SUGENO also discloses the feedforward mode causes the PV disconnect device to electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system when power output from the PV power generation system is higher than a power threshold [0068].
Regarding claim 27, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 25 above, SUGENO also discloses:
the dynamic mode causes the PV disconnect device to electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system when power output from the PV power generation system is higher than a power threshold established by an algorithm [0068], and
the algorithm receives data from at least one of the PV power generation system, the energy storage system [0068], a plurality of loads, and the utility grid.
Regarding claim 28, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 24 above, SUGENO also discloses the PV disconnect includes a sensor circuit (wattmeters 2, 71, and 72) configured to measure at least one of voltage, frequency, and current of power output from the PV power generation system [0057]-[0060].
Regarding claim 29, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 28 above, SUGENO also discloses the PV disconnect device includes a controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82) configured to receive a signal [0060] [0068] from the sensor circuit (wattmeters 2, 71, and 72) and electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system based at least in part on the signal [0068].
Regarding claim 29, SUGENO discloses an electrical system (Fig. 1) comprising:
an energy control system (Fig. 1, 4);
a photovoltaic (PV) power generation system (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 15, and 16) configured to generate first power [0048], the PV power generation system electrically coupled to the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4);
a utility grid (Fig. 1, 1) configured to generate second power and receive first power [0062], the utility grid electrically coupled to the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4);
a plurality of loads (Fig. 1, 3 and 13) electrically connected to the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4);
a microgrid interconnection device (MID) (Fig. 1, switch between grid 1 and wattmeter 2, 52, and 53) configured to electrically disconnect the utility grid from the PV power generation system [0066];
an energy storage system (Fig. 1, 73 and 74) electrically coupled with the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4); and
a PV disconnect device (Fig. 1, 62) electrically connected to the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4), the PV disconnect device including:
a sensor circuit (wattmeters 2, 71, and 72) configured to measure at least one of voltage and current of the first power [0057]-[0060],
a controller (Fig. 1, 75 and 82) in communication with the energy control system (Fig. 1, 4), the controller configured to cause the PV disconnect device to electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system [0048] after a power deviation event [0068].
Regarding claim 31, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 30 above, SUGENO also discloses the power deviation event is determined by the controller, based at least in part on:
a power output of the PV power generation system [0068];
an available storage capacity of the energy storage system; and
a load demand by the plurality of loads.
Regarding claim 32, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 31 above, SUGENO also discloses the power deviation event includes when the power output of the PV power generation system is greater than the available storage capacity of the energy storage system [0068].
Regarding claim 33, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 31 above, SUGENO also discloses the power deviation event includes when the load demand by the plurality of loads decreases below a threshold value within a set time period [0068].
Regarding claim 34, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 30 above, SUGENO also discloses the PV disconnect device includes:
a feedforward mode, wherein the controller causes the PV disconnect device to electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system when power output from the PV power generation system is higher than a power threshold (when excessive power is generated [0068]); and
a dynamic mode, wherein the controller causes the PV disconnect device to electrically disconnect the PV power generation system from the energy control system when power output from the PV power generation system is higher than a power threshold established by an algorithm (when no excessive power is generated [0068]).
Regarding claim 35, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 34 above, SUGENO also discloses the algorithm configured to receive data from at least one of the PV power generation system, the energy storage [0068] system, the plurality of loads, and the utility grid.
Regarding claim 36, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 34 above, SUGENO also discloses the electrical system further comprising a second PV disconnect device (Fig. 1, 63), wherein:
the PV power generation (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 15, and 16) includes a first PV panel array (Fig. 1, 5) and a second PV panel array (Fig. 1, 15),
the PV disconnect device is configured to electrically disconnect the first PV panel array from the energy control system [0048] after a power deviation event [0068], and
the second PV disconnect device is configured to electrically disconnect the second PV panel array from the energy control system [0048] after the power deviation event [0068].
Regarding claim 37, SUGENO discloses the electrical system of claim 30 above, SUGENO also discloses the electrical system further including an electromechanical relay [0068] coupled to the PV power generation system (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 15, and 16), wherein the electromechanical relay is in communication with the energy control system [0048].
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836